DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Angell (WO2019/038521).
Regarding claim 1, Angell discloses:
A cartridge (cartridge 2, fig. 1) comprising:
a first chamber configured to store liquid (space outside the air channel and inside the housing part 32, page 10, last paragraph);
a second chamber configured to allow air to pass therethrough (housing inner tube 62, fig. 3a, page 7, fourth paragraph);
a wick (capillary wick, page 8, third paragraph) extending across the second chamber and configured to receive the liquid from the first chamber (page 10, last paragraph to page 11, first paragraph); and
a heating coil configured to heat the wick (heater 40, page 11, second paragraph),
wherein the wick is a silica wick (Fig. 7 showing results of a silica glass fiber wick by the vapor provision system of figs. 1-2, page 23, paragraphs 3-4).
wherein the heating coil has an electrical resistance in a range of 1.0 ohm to 1.3 ohms (1.2 ohms, Table 1, page 24).
Regarding claim 3, Angell discloses wherein the heating coil has an electrical resistance in a range of 1.2 ohms to 1.25 ohms (1.2 ohms, Table 1, page 24).
Regarding claims 12-13, Angell discloses leads electrically connected to two ends of the heating coil and extending away from the wick (leads 41, page 8, fourth paragraph), wherein the leads are made of a material having a lower temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR) than a material of the heating coil and are made of nickel (the leads comprise N6 Nickel wire (page 8, fourth paragraph)) and the heating coil is made of nichrome (page 8, fourth paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Angell discloses:
an aerosol-generating device comprising: the cartridge described in claim 1 (cartridge 2);
a body configured to allow the cartridge to be coupled thereto (control unit 4, fig. 1, page 4, third paragraph);
and an elongated insertion space defined in the body (receptable 8) and configured to allow communication between the cartridge and an outside of the aerosol generating device (via air inlet openings 14, fig. 1, page 6, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angell (WO2019/038521).
Regarding claim 2, Angell does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical resistance of the heating coil is 1.15 ohms.
However, Angell discloses the heating coil has an electrical resistance of 1.2 ohms (Table 1, page 24) which is merely close, ~4%, to the claimed 1.15 ohms. The Courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Angell discloses wherein the heating coil has a length of more than 3 mm in a longitudinal direction of the wick (length the coil may extend along the wicking material, page 19, last paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of 3.0 mm to 3.5 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Angell discloses the coil is wound more than seven times around the wick (complete turns of wire around the wick material, page 19, sixth paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of seven to nine times around the wick and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Angell discloses the coil is wound more than seven times around the wick (complete turns of wire around the wick material, page 19, sixth paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed eight times around the wick and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Angell discloses wherein the heating coil comprises a wire wound around the wick such that turns of the wire are spaced apart from each other by an interval of more than 0.4 mm in the longitudinal direction of the wick (pitch, page 19, fifth paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of 0.38 mm to 0.42 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 7, Angell discloses a pair of wick grooves formed at opposite sides of the second chamber each configured to accommodate a corresponding end of the wick (recesses 110, 90, fig. 2, page 8, fifth paragraph), wherein the heating coil is wound around the wick between the pair of wick grooves (fig. 2).
Angell is silent to a distance between the pair of wick grooves is in a range of 4.7 mm to 5.1 mm.
However, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A. Therefore it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to make the distance between the pair of wick grooves be in a range of 4.7 mm to 5.1 mm as this merely involves a change in size without resulting in a different performance.
Regarding claim 8, Angell discloses wherein the wick has a length of more than 10 mm (page 21, last paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of 6 mm to 12 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Angell discloses wherein the wick has an outer diameter of more than 2.7 mm (characteristic diameter, page 16, first paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of 2.5 mm to 3.0 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Angell discloses wherein the wick has an outer diameter of more than 2.2 mm (characteristic diameter of more than 2.7 with a tolerance of -0.5 mm, page 16, first paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed 2.5 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Angell discloses wherein a central portion of the wick around which the heating coil is wound has an outer diameter of more than 1.9 mm and less than 2.1 mm (inner diameter for the coil which corresponds to the outer diameter of the portion of the wick compressed by the heating element, page 19, fourth paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of 1.9 mm to 2.1 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Angell discloses wherein a peripheral portion of the wick around which the heating coil is not wound has an outer diameter of more than 2.7 mm (characteristic diameter, page 16, first paragraph). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of 2.5 mm to 3.0 mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angell (WO2019/038521) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gallagher (US2022/0015448).
Regarding claim 14, Angell discloses in this example the heater wire comprises a nickel chrome (NiChrome) alloy, for example an 80:20 Ni:Cr alloy. However, it will be appreciated in other examples different materials may be used, for example other electrically resistive wires of the kind previously used in electronic cigarettes (page 18, second paragraph).
Angell does not appeal to disclose wherein the heating coil comprises 316L stainless steel.
Gallagher, directed to a nicotine electronic vaping device, teaches a resistance heated constructed from 316L grade stainless steel.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to make the heating coil of Angell constructed from 316L stainless steel as taught by Gallagher, because both Angell and Gallagher are directed to resistive heaters for electronic vaping devices, and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
/N.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755