DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/028874 filed on July 27, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 4, 2024 and October 28, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I including claims 11-15 and 17 in the reply filed on October 28, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roy (US 8,178,795).
In regards to claim 11, Roy teaches a cable protection member (10, figure 4) for protecting a cable (32), the cable protection member (10) comprising: a cable insertion hole (30; figure 3) through which the cable (32) is inserted; and a pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) divisible in a diameter direction of the cable insertion hole (30); the pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) comprising diameter-direction coupling portions (12) to be immovably coupled (system releases (12) engage apertures (26, left) and click into place, column 4, lines 40-45) in a direction away from each other in the diameter direction of the cable insertion hole (30, figure 2), and the cable insertion hole (30) being formed inside the pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) that are being coupled via the diameter-direction coupling portions (12).
In regards to claim 12, Roy teaches the cable protection member (10) according to claim 11, comprising a cylindrical portion (see the figure below) comprising the cable insertion hole (30), wherein the pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) each comprise a cylindrical half-body portion (see figure 3) that is formed in an elongated shape (extending downward; figure 2 below) having a semicircular arc cross-section (see the figure below) and constitutes the cylindrical portion with the pair of protection member (24a, 24b) sections coupled to each other (figure 5), and the diameter-direction coupling portions (12) extend along a longitudinal direction of the cylindrical half-body portion (see the figure below) on both sides of the cylindrical half-body portion in a circumferential direction (see figure 5).
In regards to claim 13, Roy teaches the cable protection member according to claim 12, wherein the diameter-direction coupling portions comprise a locking groove (26) provided at one cylindrical half-body portion (see figure 2 above) of the pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) and a locking projection (12, right) which is provided at the cylindrical half-body portion of another protection section of the pair of protection member sections and can be locked with the locking groove (clicked into place, column 4, line 66).
In regards to claim 15, Roy teaches the cable protection member according to claim 12, comprising a flange portion (see the figure below) provided at an end portion of the cylindrical portion in a longitudinal direction and having an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the cylindrical portion (see the figure below), the cable insertion hole (30) extending through the flange (see the figure below), wherein the pair of protection member sections (24a. 24b) each comprise a flange half-body portion which is provided at an end portion of the cylindrical half-body portion in the longitudinal direction (see the figure below), have an inner circumferential surface continuous (without interruption) with an inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical half-body portion (see the figure below) , and constitute the flange portion with the pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) coupled to each other (see the figure below).
In regards to claim 17, Roy teaches the cable protection member according to claim 11, wherein the pair of protection member sections (24a, 24b) each comprise a second longitudinal coupling portion (26, 12; right) to be immovably coupled to each other in both directions of a longitudinal direction of the protection member sections that are being coupled to each other (system releases (12) engage apertures (26, left) and click into place, column 4, lines 40-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 8,178,795) in view of Carpenter (US 5,462,312).
In regards to claim 14, Roy teaches the cable protection member according to claim 13.
Roy does not teach the locking groove comprises a circumferential groove extending in the circumferential direction of the cylindrical half-body portion and a radial groove extending from an end portion of the circumferential groove to an inner side in a radial direction of the cylindrical half-body portion, and the locking projection comprises a circumferential projection which can be locked with the circumferential groove and a radial projection which can be locked with the radial groove.
Carpenter teaches a locking groove (78) comprises a circumferential groove extending in the circumferential direction of the cylindrical half-body portion (72) and a radial groove extending from an end portion of the circumferential groove to an inner side in a radial direction of the cylindrical half-body portion (see the figure below), and the locking projection comprises a circumferential projection which can be locked with the circumferential groove and a radial projection which can be locked with the radial groove (see the figure below).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made the locking groove comprises a circumferential groove extending in the circumferential direction of the cylindrical half-body portion and a radial groove extending from an end portion of the circumferential groove to an inner side in a radial direction of the cylindrical half-body portion, and the locking projection comprises a circumferential projection which can be locked with the circumferential groove and a radial projection which can be locked with the radial groove, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oliver (US 4,849,723) teaches a cable feedthrough. Koscik (US 3,836,269) teaches a grommet.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848