DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amine et al. (US 2014/0351870) in view of Winograd et al. (US 2024/0348579).
Claim 1 and 12, Amine teaches A media receiver (103) for receiving and outputting media content and providing a plurality of different interactive services associated with the output media content (i.e. Netflix, amazon prime, etc.), the media receiver being controllable by a user by means of a remote control (102, 105, 106) arranged to transmit to the media receiver one or more interactive service selection signals (i.e. selecting content and services), each of which is transmitted in response to a corresponding predetermined user action (i.e. dedicated button), wherein the number of different interactive service selection signals is fewer than the number of different interactive services (i.e. one selection, Netflix), the media receiver including a mapping function for mapping a received interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of virtual user inputs (i.e. applications execution) corresponding to a selected one of the different interactive services (i.e. Netflix, amazon, etc.), such that a corresponding available one of the interactive services is activated (p. 0040).
Amine is silent regarding the specific feature of:
“the media receiver arranged to receive a program stream including media content together with metadata and/or program code defining a plurality of different interactive services, each of which is associated with the media content, the media receiver”.
Winograd teaches regarding the specific feature of:
“the media receiver arranged to receive a program stream including media content together with metadata (i.e. metadata) and/or program code (i.e. watermarks) defining a plurality of different interactive services, each of which is associated with the media content, the media receiver” (p. 0003, 0040-0041, 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided interactive services as taught by Winograd to the system of Amine to provide interactive services associated with the content (p. 0059).
Claim 2, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 1, wherein the predetermined user action comprises pressing a key or button on the remote control (i.e. dedicated button for service) (p. 0040).
Claim 3, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 2, wherein the remote control includes one or more interactive services selection buttons or keys corresponding to one or more respective interactive service selection signals (i.e. dedicated button for service) (p. 0040).
Claim 4, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 3, wherein the remote control includes a single interactive services selection button or key (i.e. Netflix dedicated button) and the mapping function maps the corresponding received interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of different interactive services (i.e. dedicated button mapped to Netflix) (p. 0040).
Claim 8, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 1, where the mapping is based on the availability of the interactive services (i.e. dedicated buttons for available service) (p. 0040).
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1.
Claim 14 recites “a non-transitory computer program comprising program code arranged” to perform the steps of claim 13.
Amine teaches “a non-transitory computer program comprising program code arranged” to perform the steps of claim 13 (p. 0112).
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amine et al. (US 2014/0351870) in view of Winograd et al. (US 2024/0348579), and further in view of Emmanuel et al. (US 2022/0329898).
Claim 6, Amine is silent regarding the media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on contextual information available at the media receiver.
Emmanuel teaches the media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on contextual information available at the media receiver (i.e. users likes or dislikes) (p. 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 7, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on a media service currently output by the media receiver.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on a media service currently output by the media receiver (i.e. point in video where exited last) (p. 0131-0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 9, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on timing information.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on timing information (i.e. point in video where exited last) (p. 0131-0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 10, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on user preference or behaviur.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on user preference or behaviur (i.e. users likes or dislikes) (p. 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 11, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping function comprises a machine learning algorithm.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping function comprises a machine learning algorithm (p. 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, Applicant argues that Independent Claim 1 is directed to a media receiver and specifies that the media receiver includes, inter alia, "a mapping function for mapping a received interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of virtual user inputs" with each virtual user input "corresponding to a selected one of the different interactive services." Accordingly, the mapping function, as recited in independent Claim 1, maps a single interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of associated virtual user inputs. Applicant respectfully submits that Amine and Winograd, taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the foregoing limitations of independent Claim 1. Independent Claims 13 and 14 include similar limitations, and are patentable for the same reasons.
The Office Action asserts that paragraph [0040] of Amine teaches the foregoing limitations of independent Claim 1. However, Applicant submits that paragraph [0040] of Amine includes no such teaching, and instead merely discloses that access to content and services from OTT providers "may be access[ed] via remote control 102, 105, 106 via dedicated buttons on the remote control 102, 105, 106 or top level menu selection " Amine, 1 [0040] (emphasis added). That is, paragraph [0040] of Amine describes a system wherein each selection signal (whether a dedicated button or a menu item) is associated with a single content provider or service. Amine does not teach or suggest a mapping function within the media receiver that dynamically maps a selection signal to one of a plurality of virtual user inputs. Instead, each selection signal in Amine is directly linked to a specific service in a one-to-one relationship, activating that service without any intermediate mapping to a plurality of virtual user inputs.
In response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reading the claims in the broadest sense, the limitation “a mapping function for mapping a received interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of virtual user inputs” merely requires that a button is mapped to an interactive service selection signal. A dedicated button on the remote control is mapped to a particular service signal to activate that service (Netflix, Amazon prime). Because this button can have service mapped to it, is it interpreted as a virtual input. Furthermore, Anime also has disclosure throughout the reference where dedicated buttons can be mapped to URLs for faster access to websites. This is substituting many keypresses with a single keypress, this can also be interpreted as an interactive service signal mapped to a virtual input. The Applicant’s argument regarding, “mapping function within the media receiver that dynamically maps a selection signal to one of a plurality of virtual user inputs” is silent and/or not clearly described in the claims. It is suggested to Applicant to further highlight this intended feature for proper examination.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6-14 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 7/27/2026