DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-14are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amine et al. (US 2014/0351870) in view of Winograd et al. (US 2024/0348579).
Claim 1 and 12, Amine teaches A media receiver (103) for receiving and outputting media content and providing a plurality of different interactive services associated with the output media content (i.e. Netflix, amazon prime, etc.), the media receiver being controllable by a user by means of a remote control (102, 105, 106) arranged to transmit to the media receiver one or more interactive service selection signals (i.e. selecting content and services), each of which is transmitted in response to a corresponding predetermined user action (i.e. dedicated button), wherein the number of different interactive service selection signals is fewer than the number of different interactive services (i.e. one selection, Netflix), the media receiver including a mapping function for mapping a received interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of virtual user inputs (i.e. applications execution) corresponding to a selected one of the different interactive services (i.e. Netflix, amazon, etc.), such that a corresponding available one of the interactive services is activated (p. 0040).
Amine is silent regarding the specific feature of:
“the media receiver arranged to receive a program stream including media content together with metadata and/or program code defining a plurality of different interactive services, each of which is associated with the media content, the media receiver”.
Winograd teaches regarding the specific feature of:
“the media receiver arranged to receive a program stream including media content together with metadata (i.e. metadata) and/or program code (i.e. watermarks) defining a plurality of different interactive services, each of which is associated with the media content, the media receiver” (p. 0003, 0040-0041, 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided interactive services as taught by Winograd to the system of Amine to provide interactive services associated with the content (p. 0059).
Claim 2, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 1, wherein the predetermined user action comprises pressing a key or button on the remote control (i.e. dedicated button for service) (p. 0040).
Claim 3, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 2, wherein the remote control includes one or more interactive services selection buttons or keys corresponding to one or more respective interactive service selection signals (i.e. dedicated button for service) (p. 0040).
Claim 4, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 3, wherein the remote control includes a single interactive services selection button or key (i.e. Netflix dedicated button) and the mapping function maps the corresponding received interactive service selection signal to a selected one of a plurality of different interactive services (i.e. dedicated button mapped to Netflix) (p. 0040).
Claim 8, Amine teaches the media receiver of claim 1, where the mapping is based on the availability of the interactive services (i.e. dedicated buttons for available service) (p. 0040).
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1.
Claim 14 recites “a non-transitory computer program comprising program code arranged” to perform the steps of claim 13.
Amine teaches “a non-transitory computer program comprising program code arranged” to perform the steps of claim 13 (p. 0112).
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amine et al. (US 2014/0351870) in view of Winograd et al. (US 2024/0348579), and further in view of Emmanuel et al. (US 2022/0329898).
Claim 6, Amine is silent regarding the media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on contextual information available at the media receiver.
Emmanuel teaches the media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on contextual information available at the media receiver (i.e. users likes or dislikes) (p. 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 7, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on a media service currently output by the media receiver.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on a media service currently output by the media receiver (i.e. point in video where exited last) (p. 0131-0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 9, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on timing information.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on timing information (i.e. point in video where exited last) (p. 0131-0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 10, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on user preference or behaviur.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping is based on user preference or behaviur (i.e. users likes or dislikes) (p. 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Claim 11, Amine is silent regarding The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping function comprises a machine learning algorithm.
Emmanuel teaches The media receiver of claim 1, wherein the mapping function comprises a machine learning algorithm (p. 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided context mapping as taught by Emmanuel to the system of Amine to allow for intelligent mapping of buttons (p. 0062).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-14have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6-14 are rejected.
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 1/15/2026