Status of Claims
The amendments to the claims filed April 4, 2024 are acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 14-17 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/077790, filed October 6, 2022, which claims priority of EPO 21201584.6, filed October 8, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on April 4, 2024. All references have been considered except where marked with a strikethrough.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any of the errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6 and 10-11, drawn to a compound wherein the compound is 2-Cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl-phenyl)-3-cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide) in the reply filed on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-9 and 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 2-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are indefinite for the reasons that follow:
Claim 2 recites the limitations "salts" or “solvates” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 2 depends from claim 1 which does not recite a salt or solvate. Claims 3-4 depend from claim 2 and include the limitations “salts” or “solvates” and therefore are also indefinite.
It is suggested that Applicant amend claim 1 to incorporate lines 3-4 of claim 2 into claim 1 as a way of overcoming the rejections.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "preferable" at each recitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “0.1 mg-10g”, and the claim also recites “5 mg-5g” and “10 mg-2g” which are narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112d
Claims 2-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2-4 depend from claim 1 and require a “salt” or “solvate” which is not required by claim 1. Claims 2-4 are therefore broader in scope than claim 1 and thus rejected for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which they depend. It is suggested that Applicant amend claim 1 to incorporate lines 3-4 of claim 2 into claim 1 as a way of overcoming the rejections of claims 2-4
Claims 5-6, 10 and 11 depend from claim 1 and recite the phrases “wherein the non-alcoholic fatty liver disease is…of the liver” (claim 5); “wherein the non-alcoholic fatty liver disease is… of the liver” (claim 6); “further comprising gamma-Aminobutyric-acid” (claim 10); and “wherein said compound is administered at daily dosages…human body” (claim 11). None of these phrase provide further structural limitation to the invention of claim 1 which is a compound. The phrases thus do not have any patentability weight and the claims are rejected for failing to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasse et al. (WO2015/140081 A1)(hereinafter “Hasse”).
The instant claims are drawn to a compound for use in treating non-alcoholic fatty liver disease and related diseases, wherein the compound is 2-Cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl-phenyl)-3-cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide. The claims additionally recite the phrases “for use in treating…diseases” (claim 1); “wherein the non-alcoholic fatty liver disease is… of the liver” (claim 6); “further comprising gamma-Aminobutyric-acid” (claim 10); and “wherein said compound is administered at daily dosages…human body” (claim 11) which appear to be intended uses of the claimed compound that do not provide further structural limitation to the invention of claim 1 which is a compound.
Examiner notes that the patentability of a claimed compound depends on the structure of the compound and whether the structure of the claimed compound is novel or nonobvious over the prior art. The additionally recited phrases of the claims noted above (e.g. “for use in treating…diseases”) do not provide any structural limitation to the claimed compound and therefore are not limitations which can distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 1, 5-6 and 10-11, Hasse teaches compound 2-Cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl-phenyl)-3- cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide (See page 20, Example 6; also claim 3) which corresponds to the compound of instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, Hasse teaches 2-Cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl-phenyl)-3- cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide and its tautomeric isoform (claim 3). A person of ordinary skill in the art would easily recognize that prior art compound 2-Cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl-phenyl)-3- cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide is the enol tautomer shown in formula (I) and that the enol tautomer is in equilibrium with the tautomeric isoform (i.e. keto form) shown in formula (I). As evidenced by Patrick G (Organic Chemistry, 2nd Ed, 2012, Section J2 Properties) ketones are in rapid equilibrium with an isomeric structure called an enol. The two forms are called tautomers and the process of equilibration is called tautomerism (Figure 4. Keto-enol tautomerism). Because of this tautomerism, the compound of claim 1 also includes the keto form or, alternatively, the equilibrium depicted in formula (I).
Regarding claim 3, Hasse teaches the enol or keto tautomer (page 2, formula (I) or a tautomeric isoform thereof).
Hasse teaches all structural limitations of the claimed invention and therefore anticipates the claims.
“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).” (MPEP 2112). “A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus has all the structural limitations of the claim” (MPEP 2114). “(T)he recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse et al. (WO2015/140081 A1)(hereinafter “Hasse”).
Hasse teaches compound 2-Cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl-phenyl)-3- cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide and the keto tautomer as noted above, the teachings of which are incorporated herein by reference. The keto tautomer corresponds to a racemic mixture of both R and S enantiomers.
Hasse further teaches wherein the compounds of the invention are useful for the treatment of diseases (claim 9; pages 1-2) and that compounds of the invention include compounds that are either pure R or pure S (page 6, compounds may include compounds that are stereomerically pure).
The difference between Hasse and the instant claims is that the instant claims require that the compound is the R or S enantiomer. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to isolate either the R or S enantiomer of the claims because Hasse had disclosed that compounds of the invention could be stereomerically pure (i.e. R or S).
One would have been motivated as a matter of practicing the invention of Hasse and obtaining a stereomerically pure compound to treat disease.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Hasse had already disclosed that compounds of the invention could be stereomerically pure which corresponds to either the R or S enantiomer as is claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,472,324 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the patent claims.
Patents claim 1-3 and 5-7 are drawn to a compound of formula (I) or a tautomeric isoform thereof.
Patent claim 4 recites a composition comprising a compound of claim 1.
Patent claim 8 depends from patent claim 1 and recites wherein the compound is 2-cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl -phenyl)-3-cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide which is the compound of instant claim 1.
As noted in the above rejection, 2-cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl -phenyl)-3-cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide (the enol form of the compound) includes the keto tautomer.
The patent claims meet all structural limitations of claimed invention and therefore anticipate the claims.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,472,324 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over the patent claims.
The patent claims are drawn to 2-cyano-N-(4-cyano-3-methyl -phenyl)-3-cyclopropyl-3-hydroxy-thioacrylamide, including the keto form, as noted above. Patent claim 9 further recites a method of treating disease.
The difference between the patent claims and instant claim 4 is that the instant claim recites wherein the compound is the R or S enantiomer. However, the R or S enantiomer of the instant claims would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because one would have recognized that the keto form of the compound consisted of R and S enantiomers that could be separated using conventional methods in the art (e.g. chiral resolution).
One would have been motivated as a matter of assessing disease treatment with enantiomerically pure compounds.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the keto form was racemic and it would have been routine to isolate separate enantiomers to assess their individual activity.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
July 7, 2026
/KEVIN S MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624