DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 17, 24 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites the limitation “meal-anti-sintering agent” instead of “metal-anti-sintering agent.”
Claim 24 recites the limitation “Al(N03)3, A12(S04)3, Ba(N03)2 , TiCl4, and Mg(N03)2” instead of “Al(N03)3, Al2(S04)3, Ba(N03)2 , TiCl4, and Mg(N03)2.”
Claim 27 recites the limitation “NiCl2, BaCl2, NaCl, and KCl” instead of “NiCl2, BaCl2, NaCl, and KCl.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 20 recites the limitation “a ceramic precursor to be converted into ceramic by heat.” This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires the method to include converting the ceramic precursor into ceramic by heat or if this is instead claiming an intended use of the ceramic precursor without actually requiring that the ceramic precursor be converted into ceramic by heat. For the purposes of search and examination, this will be treated as an intended use limitation as claim 20 does not explicitly require a step of converting the ceramic precursor into ceramic by heat.
Instant claims 21-24 depend on instant claim 20 and are indefinite for at least the same reasons.
Additionally, instant claim 22 recites the limitation “the ceramic converted from the ceramic precursor.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, instant claim 22 recites the limitation “the metal powder recovered by removing the anti-sintering agent.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, instant claim 23 recites the limitation “the ceramic precursor includes at least any one among metal oxide, metal nitride, metal oxynitride, metal sulfide, metal chloride and combination thereof.” However, para [35] of the instant specification lists nitrates and sulfates as examples of said ceramic precursor. Thus, it is unclear whether nitrates and sulfates are considered within the instant limitation as falling under the category of “combination thereof,” and if so, what other compounds fall under the category “combination thereof.” For the purposes of search and examination, metal nitrates and metal sulfates have been interpreted in light of the specification as meeting the limitation by falling under the category of “combination thereof.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20, 23 and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2004-339601A to Yokoi et al (an English language translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding 15 and 28 Yokoi discloses a method for heat treatment of nickel metal powder, comprising: preparing a metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite that includes nickel metal powders dispersed and disposed spaced apart from one another inside the anti-sintering agent; and heat-treating the metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4).
Yokoi anticipates instant claims 15 and 28 because Yokoi discloses a method containing all the limitations of instant claims 15 and 28.
Regarding claim 16, Yokoi discloses wherein the preparation of the metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite includes: preparing an anti-sintering agent solution in which the anti-sintering agent is dissolved in a solvent; preparing a metal powder dispersion by adding and then dispersing the metal powder into the anti-sintering agent solution; and spray-drying the dispersed particle dispersion (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, Yokoi discloses removing the anti-sintering agent from the metal-anti-sintering agent composite to recover the metal powder after the heat treatment step is conducted (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, Yokoi discloses the removal of the anti-sintering agent is performed by washing the metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite with a washing solution capable of dissolving the anti-sintering agent (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, Yokoi discloses the heat treatment step is conducted in a reducing or inert atmosphere (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, instant claim 20 is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, the anti-sintering agent of Yokoi is NaCl or KCl (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4). The limitation “a ceramic precursor to be converted into ceramic by heat” has been interpreted as an intended use of the ceramic precursor as instant claim 20 does not appear to require any positively recited method steps that the ceramic precursor is actually converted into ceramic by heat. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, both KCl and NaCl are known as precursor ingredients for ceramics which, along with elements, can be converted into ceramic by heat. As such instant claim 20 appears to meet the limitations of indefinite claim 20.
Regarding claim 23 and 25-27, Yokoi discloses the anti-sintering agent (i.e. ceramic precursor) is NaCl or KCl (Yokoi, abstract, Examples 1-3, para [0022-0030], claims 1-4).
Claim(s) 15, 17-22, 25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 103508736 to Wang et al (an English language translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding 15 and 28 Wang discloses a method for heat treatment of nickel metal powder, comprising: preparing a metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite that includes nickel metal powders dispersed and disposed spaced apart from one another inside the anti-sintering agent; and heat-treating the metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite (Wang, abstract, Embodiments 1-2, para [0041-0050], claims 4-10).
Wang anticipates instant claims 15 and 28 because Wang discloses a method containing all the limitations of instant claims 15 and 28.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Wang discloses washing the metal powder-anti-sintering agent composite with ethanol and acetic acid (i.e. a washing solution capable of dissolving the anti-sintering agent) after the heat treatment step is conducted (Wang, para [0026-0027], claim 10).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses the heat treatment step is conducted at normal pressure with no special atmosphere mentioned, i.e. in air atmosphere (Wang, abstract, Embodiments 1-2, para [0041-0050], claims 4-10).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Wang discloses the anti-sintering agent includes a ceramic precursor which is converted into ceramic in the heat treatment step (Wang, abstract, Embodiments 1-2, para [0041-0050], claims 4-10).
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses after the heat treatment is conducted, the ceramic converted from the ceramic precursor remains on at least a part of the surface of the metal powder recovered by removing the anti-sintering agent.
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses the anti-sintering agent includes a metal salt (Wang, abstract, Embodiments 1-2, para [0041-0050], claims 4-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 24, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103508736 to Wang et al (an English language translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claims 15, 17-22, 25 and 28 above, and further in view of US 6,352,681 to Horikawa et al.
Wang discloses a method as set forth above. The method of Wang uses barium hydroxide as anti-sintering agent and ceramic precursor to form BaTiO3 (Wang, abstract, Embodiments 1-2, para [0041-0050], claims 4-10).
Horikawa discloses that barium chloride and barium nitrate are known substitutable equivalents to barium hydroxide for the purpose of the formation of barium titanate (Horikawa, abstract, column 3 lines 21-34).
Regarding claims 23, 24, 26 and 27, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the barium hydroxide of Wang with barium chloride or barium nitrate as suggested by Horikawa. The motivation for doing so is that Horikawa discloses that barium chloride and barium nitrate are known substitutable equivalents to barium hydroxide for the purpose of the formation of barium titanate (Horikawa, abstract, column 3 lines 21-34) and substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.06 and 2143 B).
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738