DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krill et al. (US 9,963,417) in view of Krill (EP 3786148).
The claims are drawn to a process for the production of alkyl methacrylate comprising:
Krill et al. teach a process for producing methyl methacrylate by reacting methacrolein with oxygen and methanol in the presence of a heterogeneous noble metal catalyst in an oxidative esterification reaction. The stationary concentration of methacrolein is less than or equal to 12% by weight based on the total weight of the reaction mixture in the reactor (abstract).
The methacrolein starting material is prepared by reacting propanal with formaldehyde. According to an embodiment of the invention, the oxidative esterification reaction takes place with a molar ratio of methanol to methacrolein from 1:1 to 50:1 (col. 3, line 63 to col. 4, line 22).
According to Krill et al., a mixture of methanol and methacrolein is fed into a reactor filled with a corresponding fixed bed catalyst; after reaction, the mixture is fed from the reactor to a heat exchanger where it is cooled; the cooled mixture is fed to a gas/liquid separator where the gas is continuously separated from the liquid phase; the off-gas is disposed of or recycled; the liquid phase may be neutralized, and then the reaction mixture comprising methyl methacrylate is separated from the neutralization vessel for purification, while the rest of the reaction mixture is fed back to the main reactor.
In a specific example, a mixture of 30.9 wt.% of methacrolein and 69.1 wt.% of methanol is fed to a tube reactor along with a mixture of oxygen and nitrogen gas. The tube reactor contains 15g of catalyst comprising 0.9% gold, 1.1% nickel oxide on SiO2/MgO. The product mixture was analyzed by gas chromatography (col.5, line24 to col. 7, line 3).
Krill et al. do not expressly teach the concentration of alcohol or methacrolein in the liquid stream exiting the reactor system, the amount of oxygen in the gas phase exiting the reactor system, or that the liquid phase stream exiting the reactor system comprising a certain concentration of an alkyl isobutyrate.
However, Krill (EP 3786148) teaches a process for making methyl methacrylate by reaction of methanol and methacrolein in the presence of a nano-sized gold catalyst in slurry form, wherein the reaction output comprises isobutyric acid methyl ester (methyl isobutyrate) in an amount smaller than 1000 ppm; about 46.3% by weight of methanol, and about 9.4% by weight of methacrolein are present in the liquid stream exiting the reactor; the gas stream exiting the reactor comprises about 4.5% oxygen (0040-0058).
The instant claims are rendered obvious by the combined reference teachings, since Krill teaches the same process for making methyl methacrylate that is taught by Krill et al., and teaches the reactor output not expressly taught by Krill et al., but recited by the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/698,828 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a process for producing an alkyl methacrylate by first producing methacrolein from propionaldehyde and formaldehyde, and then reacting the methacrolein with an alkyl alcohol. The difference between the instant claims and those in the reference application is that the reference application specifically make methyl methacrylate, wherein methanol is the alkyl alcohol reacted with methacrolein, while the instant claims more broadly recited the production of an alkyl methacrylate, wherein methacrolein is reacted with an alkyl alcohol. This is not a patentable distinction because the instant claims recited the use of an alkyl alcohol having from 1 to 12 carbon atoms, which includes methanol. Therefore, the instant claims are rendered obvious by claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 5-11 of copending Application No. 18/695,395 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a process for producing an alkyl methacrylate by first producing methacrolein from propionaldehyde and formaldehyde, and then reacting the methacrolein with an alkyl alcohol. The difference between the instant claims and those in the reference application is that the reference application specifically make methyl methacrylate, wherein methanol is the alkyl alcohol reacted with methacrolein, while the instant claims more broadly recited the production of an alkyl methacrylate, wherein methacrolein is reacted with an alkyl alcohol. This is not a patentable distinction because the instant claims recited the use of an alkyl alcohol having from 1 to 12 carbon atoms, which includes methanol. Therefore, the instant claims are rendered obvious by claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692