DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/31/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the previously applied 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 1/5/2026. Applicant’s amendment to the claims has not overcome the previously applied prior art and introduces new grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claims 4-5 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 1-2, “wherein two of the handle guide module are” should read ---further comprising two of the handle guide module, wherein the two handle guide modules are---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites “and two of the cables are respectively introduced through respective one of the shaft holes and the through hole into the handle guide module” in lines 5-7. There is no support in the disclosure as originally filed for two cables being introduced through one of the shaft holes and the through hole. Therefore, this limitation represents new matter. Instead, it appears the disclosure supports a cable introduced through one of the shaft holes and the through hole. To properly represent the originally filed disclosure, the Office suggests amending this limitation of claim 12 similar to ---and the cable is introduced through one of the shaft holes and the through hole into the handle guide module---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortuin et al. (US 2022/0184445, filed on 03/20/2020) and further in view of Rubin et al. (US 11,123,609).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fortuin et al. teaches a mat-type exercise device (apparatus 10) comprising:
a device body (portable support structure 12) which supplies an exercise load (via resistance mechanism 16 housed therein);
a cable (20) which extends outward from the device body and transmits the exercise load supplied from the device body (par. [0026], “a single inextensible tether in the form of a cable 20 which is connected to the resistance mechanism via the pulley system”); and
a handle guide module (guide pulleys 31 and respective openings in structure 12 allowing passage of cable 20 to extend therethrough) which is installed in the device body and guides a movement of the cable out of the device body such that the cable is moved in at least one direction along a surface of the device body (see Figs. 1-2 showing routing of cable 20 through guide pulleys 31 and resistance mechanism 16).
Fortuin et al. as modified does not teach wherein the handle guide module comprises a handle cover which is installed inside the device body such that the handle cover is rotatable relative to a first direction as an axis and guides a movement of the cable in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, the handle cover has a cable moving hole through which the cable extending from the inside of the device body passes through, and the cable moving hole is formed by extending along the first direction and guides a movement of the cable in the first direction.
Rubin et al., in the same field of endeavor with regards to cables of exercise devices extending through guide modules, teaches a cable (106) extending through a handle guide module (fairlead 124 and spool 304) installed in a device body (platform 100), wherein the handle guide module comprises a handle cover (in the broadest reasonable interpretation, either rollers 142A, 142B or rollers 144A, 144B of fairlead 124 may constitute a handle cover as each set of rollers guides the cable through and out of the device body similar to the disclosed and illustrated handle cover of the instant invention) which is installed inside the device body (see Fig. 6) such that the handle cover is rotatable relative to a first direction as an axis (rollers 142A, 142B of fairlead 124 rotatable relative to a first direction as an axis and/or rollers 144A, 144B of fairlead 124 rotatable relative an alternative first direction as an axis) and guides movement of the cable in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (upward/downward movement of cable 106 intersects respective rotation axes of rollers 142A, 142B and rollers 144A, 144B, see Figs. 8A-8C), wherein the handle cover has a cable moving hole (i.e., hole between rollers 142A, 142B or hole between rollers 144A, 144B of fairlead 124) through which the cable extending from the inside of the device body passes through, and the cable moving hole is formed by extending along the first direction and guides a movement of the cable in the first direction (interpreting rollers 142A, 142B as constituting the handle cover, the opening between rollers 142A, 142B similarly extends in the first direction and guides movement of the cable by limiting the movement of the cable in the first direction to a confined area; alternatively, interpreting 144A, 144B as constituting the handle cover, the opening between rollers 144A, 144B similarly extends in the alternative first direction and guides movement of the cable by limiting the movement of the cable in the alternative first direction to a confined area)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle guide module of Fortuin et al. to include a handle cover installed inside the device body such that the handle cover is rotatable relative to a first direction as an axis and guides a movement of the cable in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, the handle cover having a cable moving hole, as is similarly taught by Rubin et al., for the purpose of providing enhanced guidance to the cable out of the device body and reducing friction of the cable as it is extended and retracted through the device body (Rubin et al. col. 10 lines 61-64, “the fairlead 124 generally includes a fairlead body 140 that supports bearings that direct and reduce friction of the cable 106 as the cable 106 is extended and retracted through the fairlead 124”).
Regarding claim 2, Fortuin et al. as modified by Rubin et al. further teaches wherein two of the handle guide module (31) are respectively installed in each of edges of opposite sides of the device body (12) in a longitudinal direction thereof (see Figs. 1-2, guide pulleys 31 located on each of two opposed sides of portable support structure 12), and the cable (20) extends from each of the opposite sides of the device body (12) in the longitudinal direction through each of the handle guide modules to the outside (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Fortuin et al. as modified by Rubin et al. further teaches wherein a handle installation hole is formed vertically through an upper surface of the device body (i.e., hole formed by fairlead 124 that houses rollers 142A, 142B; the Office notes this limitation is broad and therefore any hole that operates to install a structure in the upper surface of the device body constitutes an installation hole); the handle guide module further comprises a discharge cover which covers the handle installation hole (in the broadest reasonable interpretation, rollers 142A, 142B constitute a discharge cover as they act to discharge the cable from within the device body to the exterior of the device body to be engaged by a user, similar to the illustrated and disclosed discharge cover of the instant application; under this interpretation, rollers 144A, 144B are interpreted to be the handle cover, see rejection to claim 1 above) and has an upper discharge hole and a lower discharge hole formed vertically through the discharge cover (i.e., upper and lower holes forming opening between rollers 142A and 142B); and while an upper surface of the handle cover (rollers 144A, 144B) is in contact with the lower discharge hole (as illustrated in Figs. 8B-8C), the handle cover rotates relative to the first direction as an axis (rollers 144A, 144B of fairlead 124 rotatable relative to alternative first direction as an axis, see Figs. 8B-8C).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortuin et al. (US 2022/0184445, filed on 03/20/2020) in view of Rubin et al. (US 11,123,609), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ihli et al. (US 8,465,401).
Regarding claim 3, Fortuin et al. as modified does not teach a handle casing to which an end of the cable is fastened outside the device body, and to which an exercise handle is detachably coupled, wherein when the cable is pulled from the inside of the device body, the handle casing is held in the handle guide module.
Ihli et al., in the same field of endeavor with regards to cables extending through cable guide modules, teaches a cable (620) extending through a cable guide module (bearing 640 and internal components of resistance device 600, see Figs. 4-5) and further comprising a handle casing (insomuch as applicant has illustrated and disclosed “a handle casing,” the Office takes the position that bead/stop 624 of Ihli et al. constitutes a handle casing) to which an end of the cable is fastened outside of a device body (housing 692, see Figs. 4-5), and to which an exercise handle (90) is detachably coupled (via carabineer 622), wherein when the cable is pulled from the inside of the device body, the handle casing is held in the handle guide module (insomuch as applicant has illustrated and disclosed this limitation, the Office takes the position that the handle casing/bead/stop 624 of Ihli et al. achieves the same functionality as it will be held by the bearing 640 when the cable is outside the device body/housing 692).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise device of Fortuin et al. to further comprise a handle casing to which an end of the cable is fastened outside the device body, and to which an exercise handle is detachably coupled, as is similarly taught by Ihli et al., for the purpose of allowing a user to interchange handles as desired based on the type of exercise being performed and to easily replace the handles should they become worn or damaged. As modified, the handle casing will similarly be held in the handle guide module of Fortuin et al. when the cable is pulled from the inside of the device body, as by the handle casing being held in the opening of the handle guide module allowing passage of the cable therethrough.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection indicated above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a mat-type exercise device in combination with all of the structural and functional limitations, and further comprising wherein the upper surface of the handle cover in contact with the lower discharge hole has a round dome shape.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a mat-type exercise device in combination with all of the structural and functional limitations, and further comprising wherein the discharge cover has a cone shape in which an inner diameter of the upper discharge hole is larger than an inner diameter of the lower discharge hole.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a mat-type exercise device in combination with all of the structural and functional limitations, and further comprising wherein the handle guide module further comprises: a handle body, a handle shaft member located under the handle cover, a pair of shaft support members which support the handle shaft member such that the handle shaft member rotates, and wherein the rotation of the handle shaft member is transmitted through the handle body to the handle cover.
Claims 10-12 depend from claim 9 and are indicated as allowable subject matter for the same reasons as claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art to Fortuin et al. and Ihli et al. do not teach the limitations of amended claim 1. The Office agrees with this assertion. The Office has relied upon prior art to Rubin et al. to teach the limitations now added to independent claim 1. Applicant argues Rubin et al. teaches a square opening formed between pairs of rollers 142A/B and 144A/B such that the cable 106 moves freely in one direction (i.e., up and down) but that its movement is restricted by the square opening in a first direction (i.e., parallel to the axis of rotation of either rollers 142A/B or 144A/B). Specifically, it appears applicant’s argument is that the cable moving hole of Rubin et al. fails to permit movement of the cable in the first direction. However, the Office notes the language of the claim is broad and only requires that the cable moving hole “guides a movement of the cable in the first direction.” The term “guide” is broadly defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary as “a device for steadying or directing the motion of something.” The opening of Rubin et al. satisfies this limitation as it guides the movement of the cable in the first direction by limiting or directing movement of the cable. Therefore, applicant’s arguments that the prior art of Rubin et al., as relied upon to modify the prior art to Fortuin et al., fail to teach the invention as claimed is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN M FISK/Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784