DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2.Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Covell et al. (US 20050078613).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Covell discloses a method for forming a virtual subroom communication (SRC) between at least two main room participants (MRP) of a virtual main room communication (MRC) (Paragraphs: 0016, 0028 and 0063: Covell discuses a system wherein two or more rooms connected for purposes of communication; and also among participants that share the same physical or virtual space; and how the system provide a remote conference environment that maintains the thread of the original discussion of the main group while also providing any number of parallel discussion forums), comprising the following steps: selecting at least two main room participants (MRP) of the main room communication (MRC) as subroom participants (SRP) for a subroom communication (SRC) (Paragraphs: 0019 and 0031-0032: Covell discusses how the system allows the people included in the parallel conversation to discuss their side topic while the original discussion continues unhindered while they are in the same room or different rooms), forming a multidirectional subroom audio connection (SRAC) between the at least two subroom participants (SRP) as a virtual subroom communication (SRC) (Paragraphs: 0041, 0053 and 0062-0063: Covell discuses communication such as audio and/or video conferencing between remote participants who are in rooms or environments that include others which are not included in the side conversation; and how the system allow conversations in audio- or video-conferencing environment in natural ways, without side tracking other participants that share the same physical or virtual space), disconnecting the main room audio connection (MRA) of the subroom participants (SRP) to the main room communication (MRC) (Paragraphs: 0039, 0053 and 0062: Covell discusses how a user has turned down or muted the volume on the main collaboration to better understand a parallel conversation; and if the user participating in a private conversation and in several open-audience conversations, one or more of the levels of the open-audio conversations may be lowered or mute); wherein the step of disconnection takes place before and/or during the formation of the multidirectional subroom audio connection (SRAC) (Paragraphs: 0019, 0032 and 0050: Covell discusses how the parallel conversation is a private request including an explicit list of which members of at least two parties may be allowed to access the parallel conversation; wherein the managing entity allows only specified users access to the parallel conversation that others in the meeting environment have no need to know, or the like (i.e. upon disconnection of other participant takes place before multidirectional subroom audio connection begin); and how the system establish a second communications path referred to herein as a parallel conversation or aside, and the parallel conversation allows the people included in the parallel conversation to discuss their side topic while the original discussion continues unhindered).
Covell discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically mentioning “forming a unidirectional main room transmission (MRT) of the main room communication (MRC) into the subroom communication (SRC)”
Covell however discloses how the system monitor membership in the various lines of conversation and adjust the mixing levels that are provided on the personal audio device, to allows the user to listen to any or all of the conversations in which he is a member; and how two or more conversations (discussions, etc.) are maintained within the confines of the remote collaboration without negatively impacting each other; and how the system provide a remote conference environment that maintains the thread of the original discussion of the main group while also providing any number of parallel discussion forums (Covell: Paragraphs: 0039, 0016 and 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to interpret the members listening a conversation transmitted from the mail room as “a unidirectional main room transmission of the main room communication into the subroom communication” as disclosed by Covell, thus allowing to performs the parallel conversations without deleteriously effecting the original and ongoing conference conversation, thereby allowing to performs the parallel conversations without deleteriously effecting the original and ongoing conference conversation, thereby allowing for a more natural flow of group energies and synergies, as disclosed by Covell.
Considering claim 2, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the main room transmission (MRT) into the subroom communication (SRC) comprises a main room audio transmission (MRAT) and/or a main room video transmission (MRVT) (Paragraphs: 0016-0017, 0048 and 0053: Covell discusses how member navigate between any of the conversations using visual or audio cues; and how a single room, or two or more rooms connected for purposes of communication).
Considering claim 3, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in addition to the main room audio connection (MRA), the main room video connection (MRA) of the subroom participants (SRP) to the main room communication (MRC) is also disconnected (Paragraphs: 0041 and 0062-0063: Covell discusses how a user taking part in a private-aside initiate their masked audio or video for the main conversation or any of the parallel asides).
Considering claim 5, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the main room transmission (MRT) has a transmission volume (TV) which preferably is adjustable (Paragraphs: 0039 and 0055).
Considering claim 6, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein when forming the main room transmission (MRT), the transmission volume (TV) is less than the volume of the subroom audio connection (SRAC) (Paragraphs: 0039 and 0055).
Considering claim 7, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the main room transmission (MRT) represents a direct transmission of the main room communication (MRC) (Paragraphs: 0040, 0045 and 0052: Covell discusses how communications path established using a phone or network line which is wired directly to the room).
Considering claim 8, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in addition to the subroom audio connection (SRAC), a subroom video connection (SRVC) is formed for the subroom communication (SRC) (Paragraphs: 0019, 0041 and 0053: Covell discusses how a person or persons in one room wish to discuss with a person or persons in the same or another room).
Considering 9, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein at the formation of the virtual subroom communication (SRC) is suppressed if all main room participants (MRP) are selected as subroom participants (SRP) (Paragraphs: 0040-0041: Covell discloses during a private-aside, a masking or camouflaging of any or all of the participants is used; and if a member is taking part in a private aside, any audio or video images of the member may be adjusted such that the private aside is masked).
Considering claim 10, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the main room participants (MRP) have been selected as subroom participants (SRP), they go through an admission step, preferably accepting and/or rejecting this selection (Paragraphs: 0020, 0025 and 0029: Covell discloses how the system forming and dissolving, moving between different people, and adding or removing members of the conferring parties).
Considering claim 11, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after a main room participant (MRP) has been selected as a subroom participant (SRP), the latter is blocked from further selection as a subroom participant (SRP) (Paragraphs: 0039, 0041 and 0062: Covell discloses how another member of the remote collaboration may not receive an indication (either audio and/or video) that a parallel conversation is occurring; and forming group and subgroup with different level to share information).
Considering claim 12, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the subroom communication (SRC) blocks recording (Paragraphs: 0039 and 0063: Covell discusses how the user may record any of the conversations taking place; and how setting may use to activate recording, i.e. it is obvious that the system may set not to record or block recording of the subroom communication).
Considering claim 13, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein following the termination of a subroom communication (SRC), the subroom participants (SRP) of this subroom communication (SRC) are saved for the history of the main room communication (MRC) (Paragraphs: 0024 and 0039: the user records the main collaboration discussion).
Considering claim 14, Covell further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein to make an addition to a formed subroom communication (SRC), at least one other main room participant (MRP) is selected as an additional subroom participant (SRP) (Paragraphs: 0016-0017 and 0019).
3.Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Covell et al. (US 20050078613) in view of Miao et al. (US 20050122389).
Considering claim 15, Covell fail to disclose the method according to claim 15. Miao however discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the subroom communication (SRC) has a subroom encryption (SRE) which differs from a main room encryption (MRE) (Paragraphs: 0025 and 0052-0054: Miao discusses how a conferencing information include settings from remote sub-conferencing nodes such as settings (i.e. obvious to set the encryption code to vary from the main conference room) wherein the conferencing controller restrict access to authorized users, encrypt or decrypt messages containing the information to preserve confidentiality of data exchanged; and how the conference controller encrypt and decrypt messages being passed between it and the sub-conferences to maintain confidentiality).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Covell, and modify a system wherein the subroom communication has a subroom encryption which differs from a main room encryption, as taught by Miao, thus allowing to determine how streams are transmitted to sub-conferences and to selects a portion of the information and transmits it to the sub-conferences, as discussed by Miao.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argues, the Office Action equates Covell's disclosure of muting or attenuating audio volume with the claimed "disconnecting" limitation. However, muting or attenuating an audio signal is fundamentally different from disconnecting an audio connection. Disconnecting an audio connection requires an interruption or termination of the transmission of audio signals between participants. In contrast, muting or attenuating merely alters the amplitude or composition of a transmitted signal without affecting the underlying signal transmission pathway. Applicant's specification makes clear that "disconnecting" means that "audio signals, e.g. words spoken by a subroom participant, are only transmitted to the selected other subroom participants via the selected subroom audio connection and are no longer introduced into the main room communication." (Specification, page 4, third paragraph). This describes a complete termination of signal transmission to the main room, not merely a reduction in volume; and (Covell et al.) already supports parallel conversations without disrupting the main conversation by keeping all connections open and mixing audio streams.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior arts of the record discloses how the parallel conversation is a private request including an explicit list of which members of at least two parties may be allowed to access the parallel conversation; wherein the managing entity allows only specified users access to the parallel conversation that others in the meeting environment have no need to know, or the like (i.e. upon disconnection of other participant takes place before multidirectional subroom audio connection begin); and the prior arts of the record also discloses how the system establish a second communications path referred to herein as a parallel conversation or aside, and the parallel conversation allows the people included in the parallel conversation to discuss their side topic while the original discussion continues unhindered (Covell: Paragraphs: 0019, 0032 and 0050). Therefore, the prior arts of the record disclose the argued claims limitation.
Applicants also argues that the prior arts of the record (Covell et al.) fails to disclose or suggest forming a unidirectional main room transmission as required by claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior arts of the record discloses how the system allows the user to listen to any or all of the conversations in which he is a member; and how two or more conversations (discussions, etc.) are maintained within the confines of the remote collaboration without negatively impacting each other; and how the system provide a remote conference environment that maintains the thread of the original discussion of the main group while also providing any number of parallel discussion forums (Covell: Paragraphs: 0039, 0016 and 0053).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691