DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnan et al. US Patent Application Publication 2014/0200550.
As to claim 1, Farnan teaches a delivery system (Figs. 1-7B; Abstract, claim 1) comprising:
a cannula having an anchor structure 142 (Fig. 4A; para. 0072) configured from transition from a first delivery configuration (Fig. 4B, para. 0077) to a second, deployed configuration (Fig. 4C; para. 0078);
a delivery sheath 78 (Figs. 2A, 2B, 4C; paras. 0061, 0078);
a capsule 178, 270 receiving the anchor structure 142 in the first, delivery configuration (Figs. 4B, 6G; paras. 0077, 0101, 0104); and
a delivery catheter 174, 210 including a pusher 182 (Fig. 4A, 4C, 6G) configured to advance the capsule relative to the cannula, the capsule being arranged at an end of the delivery catheter (Fig.4C, 6G; paras. 0078, 0101-0104),
the delivery catheter 174, 210 being configured to extend through the cannula 90 and operable to advance the capsule 178 through an opening (Figs. 4B, 6G).
Farnan further teaches first and second anchors 202, 206 (Fig. 6A) deploy a first portion 202 of the anchor structure 142 on a left side on a first side of the opening from the capsule 178 (Fig.4C) – where Farnan teaches first anchor 202 will engage the intra-atrial septum 42 within the left atrium 46 (Fig. 1; para. 0080) and;
deploy a second portion 206 of the anchor structure 142 against a second side of the opening – where Farnan teaches the second anchor 206 will engage the intra-atrial septum 42 within the right atrium 68 (Fig. 1; para. 0080) such that the anchor structure 142,150 defines the second, deployed configuration – where Fig 6F shows the struts 158, first anchor 202, and second anchor 206 fully deployed (paras. 0080). Farnan teaches a balloon 270 is used to deploy the second anchor 206 (Figs. 6G, 6F; para. 0101). Farnan teaches after confirming that the second anchor 206 is fully deployed, the delivery catheter 210 can be uncoupled from the transseptal tip 186 and fully retracted. The balloon catheter 266 is then deflated and retracted as well. (para. 0104)
With respect to claim 1 and its dependent claims, the limitation “optionally collapse the capsule” is cited as an optional feature and is also directed to an intended use of the delivery system. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04 [R]
Farnan teaches the cannula is withdrawn after deployment of the anchor structure in response to force applied to the delivery catheter by a physician (Figs. 6G-6H, 6L, 6P; paras. 0059, 0074, 0099, 0109, 0125).
Farnan teaches the present invention substantially as claimed except Farnan teaches using a delivery catheter 174 and a delivery catheter 210 to advance the anchors 202 and 206 through the sheath 78. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a single delivery catheter, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
As to claim 2, Farnan teaches the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the capsule is segmented - with a body 182, adjacent transition portion, and sheath tip 178 (Fig. 4B) to facilitate collapse and withdrawal through the cannula to the first, delivery configuration after deployment of the anchor structure (para. 0099). The capsule 270 is segmented with a proximal transition portion, a linear portion, and a distal transition portion (Fig. 6G).
As to claim 3, Farnan teaches the delivery system of claim 2, wherein the capsule 178, 270 is discontinuous about a circumference of the capsule to facilitate collapse of the capsule in response to tension applied to the delivery catheter (Figs. 6C,6D,6F,6G).
As to claim 4, Farnan teaches the delivery system of claim 3, wherein the capsule 178, 270 includes a series of segments extending along a length and spaced about the circumference of the capsule -- with a body 182, adjacent transition portion, and sheath tip 178 (Fig. 4B) to facilitate collapse and withdrawal through the cannula to the first, delivery configuration after deployment of the anchor structure (para. 0099). The capsule 270 is segmented with a proximal transition portion, a linear portion, and a distal transition portion (Fig. 6G).
.
As to claim 5, Farnan teaches the delivery system of claim 4, wherein the capsule 2710 includes a tapered proximal end and a tapered distal end to facilitate collapse and withdrawal through the cannula after deployment of the anchor structure (Figs. 6F-6H; paras. 0036-0037).
As to claim 9, Farnan teaches the present invention substantially as claimed. Farnan does not specifically teach the capsule 178 includes a hydrophilic coating. However, Farnan does teach a hydrogel coating (para. 0061)and in some embodiments a lubricious coating or layer (para. 0115) for the benefit of aiding in the movement of the flexible body with respect to the vascular network (para. 0115). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the capsule with a hydrophilic coating for the same benefits.
As to claim 10, Farnan teaches the delivery system of claim 1, further comprising a hemostasis plug (para. 0063).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6 requires a tapered distal end having a continuous circumference in combination with a tapered proximal end that includes portions of the series of segments. The examiner has interpreted the ‘series of segments’ as the transition portions (tapered portions) of the capsule. The capsules 178 and 270 do not teach or suggests an additional series of segments with respect to the tapered portions. Claims 7 and 8 depend from claim 6.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marseille et al. US Patent Application Publication 2017/0119944 is cited to show a cannula device having first and second anchor elements.
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781