DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the elongated elements" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first end" in line 7. It is unclear and indefinite to which first end is referring to? Is it the first end of the elongated element? Or is it the first end of the pathway?
Claims 12-17 are rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 11. Claims 12-17 are also indefinite.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the MI signals" in line 2. It is unclear and indefinite to which MI signals are referring to? Are there the received MI signals? Or are there the generated MI signals?
Claim 13 is rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 12. Claim 13 is also indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the cable" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the MI signals" in line 3. It is unclear and indefinite to which MI signals are referring to? Are there the received MI signals? Or are there the generated MI signals?
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the air" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the first elements" in lines 2, 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the size" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "its first end" in line 3. It is unclear and indefinite to which the first end is associated to? Is it the first end of the elongated element? Or is it the first end of the conductive medium?
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the input MI signals" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: elongated element in claim 1, 3, 18; first and second end tuning element in claim 9; one capacitive element in claim 10, a first element in claim 11; second elements in claim 11, 14.
The structure described in the specification paragraph [0034] for the elongated element is described as a hardware tubing used in underground mining.
The structure described in the specification paragraph for the first and second end tuning element is described as hardware capacitors.
The structure described in the specification paragraph [0062] for the one capacitive element is described as a storage device as a hardware capacitor.
The structure described in the specification paragraph [0040], [0042] for the first and second element is described as hardware terminations converter that convert the MI signals to electrical signals.
Therefore, Examiner finds the claims are reasonably supported by the structure described in the specification pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) and (b) (or 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs, pre-AIA ) whether 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12-13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis et al. (US2017/0074630A1) hereafter Kotsonis, in view of Muller et al. (ES2812705T3) hereafter Muller.
Regarding claim 1, Kotsonis discloses a system, the system including a range extension system (fig 1:100, par[0030], [0032]: FIG. 1, a WEBS 100 includes a base station 114, a magnetic transmitter system (MTS) 118, at least one initiating apparatus (IA) 102, and at least one electromagnetic receiver system (ERS) 108. When base station 114 sends the communications over the initial link 103 to the MTS 118, the MTS 118 then sends the communications via the forward link 104 by generating and modulating a magnetic field that extends TTE to a magnetic receiver system (MRS) 120 of the IA 102) for extending a range (par[0033], [0034]: An effective transmission range of the EM signals TTE along the back link 106 (i.e., from the IA 102 to the ERS 108)—referred to as an EM range 132—may be up to 100 meters (m) in some earths, or up to 50 m, 25 m or 20 m in other earths. The ERS 108 (which may be referred to as a “repeater”) includes at least one relay receiver module 110 able to detect the EM signals from the IA 102 via the back link 106, and one or more relay stations 112 in communication with each relay receiver module 110 (via a wired or wireless link) using an inter-repeater link 109) of magnetic induction (MI) signals (par[0033]: The use of a repeater system to extend the MI signals. The ERS 108 (which may be referred to as a “repeater”) includes at least one relay receiver module 110 able to detect the EM signals from the IA 102 via the back link 106, and one or more relay stations 112 in communication with each relay receiver module 110 (via a wired or wireless link) using an inter-repeater link 109.) along a pathway for commercial/civil blasting operations (fig 1, par[0023]: a wireless electronic blasting system (WEBS) for blasting may be a system for controlling and initiating a blast, for example, using buried explosives in surface mining, underground mining, quarrying, civil construction, and/or seismic exploration on or in land or in the ocean) that use a wireless blasting-related device (fig 1:102; par[0024], [0032]: An initiating apparatus (IA) as used herein may be referred to as a wireless initiation apparatus, a wireless initiating device (if it is a one-piece unit in a housing), a wireless receiver, or, if intended to be destroyed by the blast, a disposable receiver (“DRX”). The IAs 102 may be in respective separate boreholes, or one borehole may include a plurality of explosive columns, separated by stemming material, each with an IA 102), the range extension system (par[0033]: range extension repeater) including an element (par[0053]: the IA antenna may extend about ½ way up the length of the borehole. In other embodiments, the IA antenna may extend up about the full length of the borehole to the collar of the borehole.) configured to extend the range of the MI signals along the pathway (par[0033], [0034]: An effective transmission range of the EM signals TTE along the back link 106 (i.e., from the IA 102 to the ERS 108)—referred to as an EM range 132—may be up to 100 meters (m) in some earths, or up to 50 m, 25 m or 20 m in other earths. The ERS 108 (which may be referred to as a “repeater”) includes at least one relay receiver module 110 able to detect the EM signals from the IA 102 via the back link 106, and one or more relay stations 112 in communication with each relay receiver module 110 (via a wired or wireless link) using an inter-repeater link 109).
Kotsonis does not explicitly disclose the system comprising an elongated element.
Muller discloses the system comprising an elongated element (fig 1:14; par[0033]: Figure 1 of the accompanying drawings illustrates an apparatus 10 according to the invention. The apparatus includes a coil 12 into which an elongated signal transmission conductor 14 is wound).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis and the Muller references since both pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the elongated feature as disclosed by Muller to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing an effective tool for use in a blasting system and, more particularly, relates to apparatus that includes an elongated flexible signal transmission conductor which, in use, is connected to a detonator.
Regarding claim 4, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 1 including the wireless blasting-related device, a wireless MI signal survey device, or a wireless blast monitoring-and-tracking marker (Kotsonis fig 1:102; par[0024], [0032]: the wireless blasting-related device: An initiating apparatus (IA) as used herein may be referred to as a wireless initiation apparatus, a wireless initiating device (if it is a one-piece unit in a housing), a wireless receiver, or, if intended to be destroyed by the blast, a disposable receiver (“DRX”). The IAs 102 may be in respective separate boreholes, or one borehole may include a plurality of explosive columns, separated by stemming material, each with an IA 102),.
Regarding claim 5, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the elongated element includes at least one electrical conductor configured to carry electrical signals that represent the MI signals along the elongated element in or on the electrical conductor (Kotsonis fig 2:109; par[0036], [0053]: the WEBS 100 can be configured for tunnel use (e.g., in underground mining), as shown in FIGS. 1D and 1E. In tunnel use, the relay receiver module 110 is placed in a tunnel 134 within the EM range 132 for all of a group of the IAs 102. The tunnel 134 can include a plurality of the relay receiver modules 110, e.g., placed along the tunnel 134, or placed in respective holes 130 off the tunnel 134, as shown in FIG. 3. The tunnel 134 can include a single relay receiver module placed in a main portion of the tunnel 134, as shown in FIG. 4. The relay receiver modules 110 can connect via the inter-repeater link 109 cables to the relay station 112 at a safe distance from the IAs 102.).
Regarding claim 6, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the electrical conductor includes an electrical cable configured to extend from the first element to the second element, and configured to conduct the electrical signals (Kotsonis fig 1:109; par[0036]: The relay receiver modules 110 can connect via the inter-repeater link 109 cables to the relay station 112 at a safe distance from the IAs 102).
Regarding claim 7, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the electrical signals include modulation frequencies that are in the MI signals (Kotsonis par[0028], [0038]: The terms electromagnetic (EM) receiver, EM transmitter, EM signal(s), EM range, EM frequencies, and EM propagation refer to the use of far-field radio frequency (RF) modulation and detection techniques, as known in the art. The magnetic field at the location of the IA 102 can be modulated to represent a specific command, and the IA 102 can be configured to demodulate the magnetic communication signal to determine the command.).
Regarding claim 8, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 7, including a frequency-tuning circuit to control/tune a resonant frequency of the extension system to match the modulation frequencies of the MI signals (Kotsonis par[0051]: The IA 102 may also include an EM transmitter system (ETS) 128 that is electronically in communication with, and connected—at least indirectly—to the BCS 122. The ETS 128 includes one or more EM antennas configured to generate the EM signals for the back link 106. The ETS 128 may be referred to as a “source”. These antennas (referred to as “IA antennas”) may be coil antennas tuned to a selected transmission frequency using a tuneable matching network 222 (e.g., including a switching capacitor resistive-capacitive tank, or a current driver) of the transmission component 218).
Regarding claim 9, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the frequency-tuning circuit (Kotsonis par[0051]: FIG. 1, the ERS 108 (which may be referred to as a “repeater”) includes at least one relay receiver module 110 able to detect the EM signals from the IA 102 via the back link 106, and one or more relay stations 112 in communication with each relay receiver module 110 (via a wired or wireless link) using an inter-repeater link 109. In embodiments, the back link 106 may be two-way (and be referred to as a “two-way back communications link”) and the ERS 108 may include an EM transmitter or EM transceiver (in the relay receiver module 110) for transmitting EM signals along the back link 106 to the IA 102. Thus, the relay receiver module 110 may function as a transceiver, both receiving and sending information along the back link 106.) includes: a first-end tuning element connected in series or in parallel with a first-end antenna; and/or a second-end tuning element connected in series or in parallel with a second-end antenna (Kotsonis par[0075]: In applications with a plurality of IAs 102, the IAs 102 may transmit at different respective EM frequencies (i.e., in parallel). Such a parallel modulation scheme may allow for all deployed IAs 102 to respond at once, thus the communication time may be limited regardless of the number of IAs 102 being detected, e.g., requiring only 3 to 10 minutes (mins) for all IAs 102 in a group. In other applications, the EM signals from respective IAs may be time-delayed for different selected response delay times so that an identity of each IA 102 can be determined (in the base station 114) from the received response time, and/or from the sequence and ordering of the received EM response signals. Some applications may include a first group of IAs 102 configured to transmit in parallel or series to a first relay receiver module 110, and a different second group of IAs 102 configured to transmit in parallel or series to a second relay receiver module 110).
Regarding claim 10, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the frequency-tuning circuit includes an electronic tuning circuit with at least one capacitive element to tune the resonant frequency during use (Kotsonis par[0051]: The IA 102 may also include an EM transmitter system (ETS) 128 that is electronically in communication with, and connected—at least indirectly—to the BCS 122. The ETS 128 includes one or more EM antennas configured to generate the EM signals for the back link 106. The ETS 128 may be referred to as a “source”. These antennas (referred to as “IA antennas”) may be coil antennas tuned to a selected transmission frequency using a tuneable matching network 222 (e.g., including a switching capacitor resistive-capacitive tank, or a current driver) of the transmission component 218).
Regarding claim 11, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim1, wherein the extension system includes: a first element (Kotsonis fig 1:112; par[0031], [0032]: the base station 114 may be configured to communicate via base link 107 to the ERS 108, and the ERS 108 may be further configured to transmit communications to the IA 102 over the back link 106. in the WEBS 100, the one or more IAs 102 are located in one or more respective boreholes in the earth, and receive communications from the base station 114 via the MTS 118 and, in some embodiments, from the base station 114 via the ERS 108) configured to be coupled to a first end of the elongated element, wherein the first element is configured to be placed towards a first end of the pathway, wherein the first element is configured to receive the MI signals at a start of the pathway (Kotsonis par[0031], [0032]: the base station 114 may be configured to communicate via base link 107 to the ERS 108, and the ERS 108 may be further configured to transmit communications to the IA 102 over the back link 106. in the WEBS 100, the one or more IAs 102 are located in one or more respective boreholes in the earth, and receive communications from the base station 114 via the MTS 118 and, in some embodiments, from the base station 114 via the ERS 108); and/or a second element configured to be coupled to a second end of the elongated element (Kotsonis fig 1:110, par[0033]: the ERS 108 (which may be referred to as a “repeater”) includes at least one relay receiver module 110 able to detect the EM signals from the IA 102 via the back link 106, and one or more relay stations 112 in communication with each relay receiver module 110 (via a wired or wireless link) using an inter-repeater link 109), wherein the second end is opposite the first end, wherein the second element is configured to be placed at a second end of the pathway (Kotsonis fig 1:112&110; par[0034], [0035], [0037]: If deployed on the surface, the relay receiver module 110 and the relay station 112 can be deployed after the blasting is clear site traffic etc., for ease of cable placement (including the inter-repeater link 109). An effective transmission range of the EM signals TTE along the back link 106 (i.e., from the IA 102 to the ERS 108)—referred to as an EM range 132—may be up to 100 meters (m) in some earths, or up to 50 m, 25 m or 20 m in other earths. The base station 114 can also have a wired or wireless receiver, receiver and transmitter, or transceiver for receipt of communication along base link 107 from the ERS 108, and, in embodiments, return communication from the base station 114 to the ERS 108.), wherein the second element is configured to receive the electrical signals from the elongated element, convert the electrical signals to generated MI signals, and transmit the generated MI signals to the wireless blasting-related device (Kotsonis par[0033]: FIG. 1, the ERS 108 (which may be referred to as a “repeater”) includes at least one relay receiver module 110 able to detect the EM signals from the IA 102 via the back link 106, and one or more relay stations 112 in communication with each relay receiver module 110 (via a wired or wireless link) using an inter-repeater link 109. In embodiments, the back link 106 may be two-way (and be referred to as a “two-way back communications link”) and the ERS 108 may include an EM transmitter or EM transceiver (in the relay receiver module 110) for transmitting EM signals along the back link 106 to the IA 102. Thus, the relay receiver module 110 may function as a transceiver, both receiving and sending information along the back link 106.).
Regarding claim 12, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the first element includes at least one first- end antenna configured to transduce the MI signals in intervening media from an MI transmitter into the electrical signals in the electrical conductor (Kotsonis par[0031], [0032]: the base station 114 may be configured to communicate via base link 107 to the ERS 108, and the ERS 108 may be further configured to transmit communications to the IA 102 over the back link 106. in the WEBS 100, the one or more IAs 102 are located in one or more respective boreholes in the earth, and receive communications from the base station 114 via the MTS 118 and, in some embodiments, from the base station 114 via the ERS 108.), and wherein the second element includes at least one second-end antenna configured to transduce the electrical signals from the electrical conductor into the generated MI signals for the wireless blasting-related device (Kotsonis par[0034], [0037]: An effective transmission range of the EM signals TTE along the back link 106 (i.e., from the IA 102 to the ERS 108)—referred to as an EM range 132—may be up to 100 meters (m) in some earths, or up to 50 m, 25 m or 20 m in other earths. The base station 114 can also have a wired or wireless receiver, receiver and transmitter, or transceiver for receipt of communication along base link 107 from the ERS 108, and, in embodiments, return communication from the base station 114 to the ERS 108.).
Regarding claim 13, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the first-end antenna is formed of a first-end portion of the cable arranged around an MI antenna of the MI transmitter; and/or wherein the second-end antenna is formed of a second-end portion of the cable arranged in a coil with a plurality of turns (Kotsonis par[0051]: The ETS 128 may be referred to as a “source”. These antennas (referred to as “IA antennas”) may be coil antennas tuned to a selected transmission frequency using a tuneable matching network 222 (e.g., including a switching capacitor resistive-capacitive tank, or a current driver) of the transmission component 218. The IA antenna may be single solenoid coils with a cross sectional area that is as large as possible while remaining inside a housing of the IA 102, e.g., a 60-mm diameter. These coils may have, for example, between 50 and 500 turns, and a high quality factor (Q)).
Regarding claim 17, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 11, including a plurality of the first element and/or a plurality of the second element coupled to the elongated element (Kotsonis fig 4-5) and (Kotsonis fig 4:110; par[0036], [0075]: In tunnel use, the relay receiver module 110 is placed in a tunnel 134 within the EM range 132 for all of a group of the IAs 102. The tunnel 134 can include a single relay receiver module placed in a main portion of the tunnel 134, as shown in FIG. 4. Some applications may include a first group of IAs 102 configured to transmit in parallel or series to a first relay receiver module 110).
Regarding claim 20, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the range extension system forms a distribution network of the input MI signals by the elongated element including a plurality of elongated branches with respective second ends (Kotsonis fig 1:110&114; par[0074], [0082]: The IA 102 may send test signals along the back link 106, and receive corresponding test response signals from the ERS 108, to determine the most available frequency. The relay receiver module 110 and/or the ETS 128 (when operating as a receiver in the two-way back link embodiments. The relay receiver module(s), the relay station(s) 112, and/or the base station 114 may extract the response data from the response signals, e.g., by storing and applying a preselected demodulation scheme that matches the modulation scheme (or protocol) used in the IA 102.) may filter pre-determined noise sources) connected to the first end to emit/transmit generated MI signals from the second ends (Kotsonis par[0082]: The relay receiver module(s) 110 and/or the relay station(s) 112 may generate relay response data representing performance of the EM system, including, for example, times at which the EM signals are detected, the identification of the IAs 102 from which they originate, and any system diagnostics (e.g., including a Signal-to-Noise ratio for each EM signal). The relay receiver module(s), the relay station(s) 112, and/or the base station 114 may extract the response data from the response signals, e.g., by storing and applying a preselected demodulation scheme that matches the modulation scheme (or protocol) used in the IA 102).
2. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis in view of Muller, and further in view of Corre (US2014/0166301A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the elongated element has a longitudinal length that is significantly greater than its average cross-sectional diameter.
Corre discloses the system wherein the elongated element has a longitudinal length that is significantly greater than its average cross-sectional diameter (par[0035], [0036]: the pipe has a diameter smaller than 20 cm, preferably smaller than 15 cm; the pipe has a length smaller than 30 m, preferably 20 m, and/or larger than 5 m, preferably 10 m. ).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Corre references since both pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the specific elongated feature as disclosed by Corre to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering several structural, electrical, and mechanical advantages, primarily centered on improved material efficiency, enhanced structural strength, and better electrical percolation.
3. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis in view of Muller, and further in view of Hesse et al. (US2022/0221599A1) hereafter Hesse.
Regarding claim 3, Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system including a plurality of the elongated elements configured to extend to mutually different lengths along the pathway.
Hesse discloses the system including a plurality of the elongated elements configured to extend to mutually different lengths along the pathway (par[0008], [0009], [0045]: the optical fibers of the plurality of polymeric bodies may have different lengths. This means that the path lengths of the particles of the particle beam until they hit the scintillators from the opposite side are different. the arrangement of a plurality of polymeric bodies with optical fibers of different lengths can result in a so-called macropixel. the length of each polymeric body (110) may be determined by the respective optical fiber (112) if the same scintillator (114) is used for each polymeric body (110). Similarly, the length of the scintillator may affect the length of the polymeric body (110).).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Hesse references since both pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the length feature as disclosed by Hesse to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering several structural, electrical, and mechanical advantages, several advantages, primarily in optimizing performance, improving signal control, or enhancing physical interaction.
4. Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis in view of Muller, and further in view of Appleby et al. (US2017/0074625A1) hereafter Appleby.
Regarding claim 14, Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the second element is configured to fasten mechanically to the wireless blasting-related device by way of an adaptor configured to hold the second element aligned to an MI Receiver/receiver magnetometer of the wireless blasting-related device and/or to keep the second element close to the MI Receiver/receiver magnetometer of the wireless blasting-related device.
Appleby discloses the system wherein the second element is configured to fasten mechanically to the wireless blasting-related device by way of an adaptor (par[0067], [0083], [0086]: As shown in FIG. 3, the primer unit 300 includes: [0084] the IA 200; [0085] an explosive capsule 302 (also referred to as a “match”) with the Light-Sensitive Explosive (LSE); [0086] a connector 304 (e.g., a screw-threaded connector) that provides a mechanical interface for connecting the IA 200 to the capsule 302. The initiating apparatus 200 may be an integrated device with the components forming a unit inside the housing 216, as shown in FIG. 2. The light source 215 and electronic components 202 to 214 in the IA 200 and the conductors 218 may be mounted on a printed circuit in a housing 216 of the initiating apparatus 200. Alternatively, the components of the initiating apparatus 200 may be formed inside a plurality of separate housings that are connected to communicate electrically with each other.) configured to hold the second element aligned to an MI Receiver/receiver magnetometer of the wireless blasting-related device and/or to keep the second element close to the MI Receiver/receiver magnetometer of the wireless blasting-related device (par[0068]: The magnetic receiver 204 includes one or more magnetic field sensors. The magnetic receiver 204 may be a magneto-inductive receiver with one or more magneto-inductive sensors, e.g., commercially available magneto-inductive receivers. The magnetic receiver 204 may be a quasi-static magnetic field sensor, or magnetometer, including one or more magnetometer sensors, e.g. commercially available magneto-resistive devices.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Appleby references since all pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the magnetometer feature as disclosed by Appleby to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering mechanical attachment and alignment, magnetic induction (MI) using an adapter that ensures the receiver is precisely aligned with the magnetic field to receive these signals, as the signal strength is highly dependent on alignment.
Regarding claim 18, Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the elongated element guides the MI signals into and along the pathway, and wherein the MI signals travel in and along the elongated element as magnetic signals by modulation of a magnetic field in the elongated element.
Appleby discloses the system wherein the elongated element guides the MI signals into and along the pathway, and wherein the MI signals travel in and along the elongated element as magnetic signals by modulation of a magnetic field in the elongated element (par[0049], [0059], [0060]: The signal generator 108 includes one or more electronic modulation components (e.g., circuits, modules, processors, and/or computer-readable memory) configured to modulate signals for transmission by the magnetic field. The electronic modulation components may provide modulation based on Frequency-Shift Keying (FSK), Pulse Width Modulation (PWM), Amplitude Modulation (AM), and/or Frequency Modulation (FM). the magnetic receiver 204 (which may be referred to as a “magnetic receiver component”) for detecting transmitted magnetic signals provided by the modulated magnetic field at the location of the magnetic receiver 204 (the transmitted magnetic signals may be referred to as being transmitted “in” the magnetic field)).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Appleby references since all pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the modulation feature as disclosed by Appleby to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering an alignment of magnetic induction (MI) using an adapter that ensures the receiver is precisely aligned with the magnetic field to receive these signals, as the signal strength is highly dependent on alignment.
5. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis in view of Muller, and further in view of Bruwer et al. (US2021/0285795A1) hereafter Bruwer.
Regarding claim 15, Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the first element includes a first-end projection with high magnetic permeability configured to confine and guide the MI signals to the first-end antenna from the air, wherein the first-end projection includes a rigid rod or a flexible rod or flexible rope.
Bruwer discloses the system wherein the first element includes a first-end projection with high magnetic permeability configured to confine and guide the MI signals to the first-end antenna from the air, wherein the first-end projection includes a rigid rod or a flexible rod or flexible rope (par[0016], [0063]: Using material with a high magnetic permeability (compared with air) it is proposed to create guides (flux-guides) for the magnetic fields. This allows the capturing of magnetic fields at a preferred location within the magnetic circuit and to route (guide) these fields to the magnetic field sensors located at another point along the magnetic circuit. The flux-guides can be made with ferromagnetic metal such as iron rods or ferromagnetic material/compounds such as ferrite, all with high magnetic permeability compared to the surrounding air. The present invention is not limited only to these materials for the construction of flux-guides, but may use any suitable magnetic material which has a sufficiently high relative magnetic permeability.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Bruwer references since all pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the high magnetic permeability feature as disclosed by Bruwer to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering increased communication range and signal strength, reduced path loss, reduced interference (EMI Control), stabilized communication channels, and enhanced coupling coefficient.
6. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis in view of Muller, and further in view of Sano et al. (US2019/0089216A1) hereafter Sano.
Regarding claim 16, Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the extension system includes mutual spacing between adjacent ones of a plurality of the first elements, wherein the mutual spacing is substantially the size of the first elements to mitigate interference between the adjacent ones of the first elements.
Sano discloses the system wherein the extension system includes mutual spacing between adjacent ones of a plurality of the first elements, wherein the mutual spacing is substantially the size of the first elements to mitigate interference between the adjacent ones of the first elements (par[0007], [0051], [0052]: The end portions of the mutually facing two permanent magnets in this region are spaced from each other by the predetermined radial spacing. Thus, appropriate setting of the predetermined radial spacing makes it possible to reduce a possibility of interference between the magnetic fluxes of the permanent magnets of the adjacent layers, and mitigate magnetic saturation, so as to curb deterioration of the maximum torque characteristic, etc. The above relationship for reducing interference in the flow of the magnetic flux between two adjacent layers may also be applied to the case where the permanent magnets in the magnetic pole 38 have a plural-layer structure having three or more layers.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Sano references since all pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the mutual spacing feature as disclosed by Sano to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering a reduction of mutual coupling, a mitigation of surface waves, a balance of size and performance, an improved radiation pattern, and a reduction of EMI in layouts.
7. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotsonis in view of Muller, and further in view of Jabusch (US2005/0115708A1).
Regarding claim 19, Kotsonis in view of Muller discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the elongated element has including a conductive medium (Kotsonis par[0078]: The EM receiver 108 is depicted in FIG. 1 and, as discussed above, includes the relay stations 112 and the relay receiver module 110. The relay receiver module 110 of the ERS 108 may include a wired interface for connection to one or more wires in the conductive cable for wired communication along the inter-repeater link 109 from the relay receiver module 110 to the relay station(s) 112.) configured to receive a modulated induced current representing the MI signals induced at its first end (Kotsonis par[0051]: The ETS 128 includes one or more EM antennas configured to generate the EM signals for the back link 106. The ETS 128 may be referred to as a “source”. These antennas (referred to as “IA antennas”) may be coil antennas tuned to a selected transmission frequency using a tuneable matching network 222 (e.g., including a switching capacitor resistive-capacitive tank, or a current driver) of the transmission component 218).
Kotsonis in view of Muller does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the elongated element has high electrical conductivity, forming a high conductivity guide including a conductive medium.
Jabusch discloses the system wherein the elongated element has high electrical conductivity, forming a high conductivity guide including a conductive medium (par[0040]: the term "signal transmission through the non-magnetic metal section 44" means the electromagnetic signals are electrically conducted through the sidewall 66 of the non-magnetic metal section 44. In this regard, the non-magnetic metal section 44 is selected to have a high electrical conductivity such that the electromagnetic signals are efficiently conducted through the sidewall 66 without a substantial loss of power.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Kotsonis, Muller and Jabusch references since all pertain to the field of blasting systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Kotsonis with the high conductivity feature as disclosed by Jabusch to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of offering the primary advantage of enabling efficient, rapid, and accurate monitoring of ionic content or thermal properties. These systems allow for precise, non-destructive measurements of materials.
Conclusion
US9450684B2 to Roper discloses an apparatus for controlling buried devices by means of a very low frequency (VLF) modulated magnetic field capable of providing through-the-earth (TTE) communications. The system comprises a plurality of VLF transmission loop antennas positioned to cover a desired coverage area and configured to transmit a magneto-inductive signal to a desired operating depth. One or more VLF receivers are configured to receive one or more magneto-inductive signals from the one or more VLF transmission antennas.
US8886117B1 to Hong discloses a through-the-earth (TTE) communication system has a transmitter that uses an electromagnetic antenna to propagate a magnetic communication signal through the earth. The antenna comprises a coil that is wrapped a core of magnetic material. The transmitter converts voice into a pulsed direct current (DC) signal that is applied to the coil of the antenna. The antenna transforms the pulsed DC signal into a pulsed DC magnetic field that propagates through the earth, and the DC magnetic field may pass through soil, water, or other substances within the earth. A receiver at the earth's surface or other location senses the pulsed magnetic field and converts the sensed magnetic energy into a voice signal.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688