DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-19 and 23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 8 and 10, these claims respectively recite the limitation "notify the verification certification data", and how this type of notification can be properly evaluated is not clear. The specification @ paragraph [0066] appears to describe this feature, but throughout the specification various devices are notified but never data; it is not clear how data could be notified since it is not functionally capable of receiving a notification. Therefore, the claim does not point out distinctly what the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LORESKAR et al. (‘LORESKAR’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20200259668).
As per claim 1, LORESKAR teaches
An installation control device comprising: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: (paragraph [0041])
receive verification certification data including first authenticity information of target software and indicating that safety of the target software has been verified; (software provider certificate signed showing application can be trusted, paragraph [0040])
compare the first authenticity information included in the verification certification data with second authenticity information of the target software; (software provider certificate hash verified by comparing against hash of application code to be installed, paragraph [0040], where application code can include application certificate, see paragraphs [0037]-[0038])
and perform control in such a way that the target software is installed when the first authenticity information is same as the second authenticity information. (install corresponding application, paragraph [0040])
As per claim 2, LORESKAR teaches
receive the verification certification data in response to receiving an instruction to install the target software” (installation command, paragraph [0032]; before installing the certificate is provided, paragraph [0040]).
As per claim 3, LORESKAR teaches
perform control in such a way that installation of the target software is not executed when the verification certification data is not obtained (before installing the certificate is provided, paragraph [0040]).
As per claim 4, LORESKAR teaches
perform control in such a way that installation of the target software is not executed when the first authenticity information and the second authenticity information do not match. (software provider certificate hash verified by comparing against hash of application code to be installed, paragraph [0040], where application code can include application certificate, see paragraphs [0037]-[0038]; install corresponding application, paragraph [0040])
As per claim 5, LORESKAR teaches
acquire the verification certification data, the target software, and the second authenticity information; and receive the verification certification data from a sharing system that holds the verification certification data. (software provider certificate, application, application certificate, paragraphs [0040],[0045])
As per claim 6, LORESKAR teaches
execute installation of the target software according to control by the installation control device. (install application, paragraph [0040])
As per claim 7, LORESKAR teaches
A system including a sharing system and the installation control device according to claim 1, the sharing system comprising: at least one second memory storing a set of instructions and at least one second processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: receive verification certification data including first authenticity information of target software and indicating that safety of the target software has been verified; notify the installation control device of the verification certification data. (third party who manages the certificates associated with the chain of trust, paragraph [0036])
As per claim 8, LORESKAR teaches
notify the verification certification data in response to receiving a request for the verification certification data from the installation control device. (paragraph [0046],[0050])
As per claim 9, LORESKAR teaches
receive the target software and the first authenticity information; provide the target software and the first authenticity information to a verification device that verifies safety of the target software; and receive the verification certification data from the verification device. (software provider certificate, application, application certificate, paragraphs [0040],[0045]; validate the specified application using the software provider certificate, to determine whether the provider of the application can be trusted or the application code can be trusted, paragraph [0040)
As per claim 10, LORESKAR teaches
store the received target software and the received first authenticity information in the information storage; provide the target software and the first authenticity information read from the information storage; store the received verification certification data in the information storage; and notify the verification certification data read from the information storage. (receive application code, paragraph [0040]; store application certificate locally and make available later, paragraph [0037])
As per claim 11, LORESKAR teaches
the installation control device executes installation of the target software when determining that installation of the target software is permitted. (application code installation, paragraph [0040])
As per claims 12-19
These claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claims 1-8 and are similarly rejected.
As per claim 23
This claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barrett et al. (‘Barrett’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20180184250) teaches:
“If the identity verification module 214 receives a certificate (or a value) from a user device 120, the identity verification module 214 compares the received certificate (or value) to a certificate associated with the dedicated application that is stored in the identity data store 216 or to a predetermined value to verify the authenticity of the dedicated application. When the two certificates (e.g., X.509 certificates) match or when the received certificate (or value) matches the predetermined value, the identity verification module 214 confirms that authenticity of the dedicated application installed on the user device 120. In other words, the dedicated application installed on the user device is not tampered or modified by any means” (Barrett, paragraph [0034]).
/JAY A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151