DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/5/2024 and 3/20/2026 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0155421 A1) to Kawana et al. (hereinafter Kawana) in view of the teachings of (US 2019/0008730 A1) to Fujimi et al. (hereinafter Fujimi).
Kawana is directed toward a two-paste dental curable composition. Kawana discloses at paragraph [0015] a two-paste dental curable composition. Kawana discloses at paragraph [0016] a first monomer having an acid group and a second monomer having no acid group, which reads on Applicants monomer (A) and monomer (B). Kawana discloses at paragraph [0069] an organic peroxide compound. Kawana discloses at paragraph [0068] a transition metal complex may be included. Kawana discloses at paragraph [0017] a silane coupling agent is included of Formula (I):
That reads on Applicants silane coupling agent (F). Kawana discloses at paragraph [0027] a silane coupling agent of 5-(meth)acryloxypentyltrimethoxysilane and other that reads on Applicants species. Kawana discloses each and every element, but is silent regarding the use of an ascorbic acid compound.
Fujimi is directed toward a two-paste dental curable composition. Kawana and Fujimi are both directed toward a two-paste dental curable composition and therefore are analogous art. Fujimi teaches at paragraph [0013] that the composition can incorporate an ascorbate and a vanadium compound to accelerate curing.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Kawana in view of the teachings of Fujimi to control the cure rate that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-13 and 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the use of a ligand in a 2 part dental composition.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766