DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this regular application filed on 04/05/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fine et al. (US 2011/0180149 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 29-30, Fine et al. discloses an open-air catalytic reactor (Fig.1:10) used for atmospheric air treatment [0003] is capable of removing greenhouse gases and a method of that is capable of catalyzing removal of greenhouse gases from atmospheric air [0003 and 0009], comprising:
an airfoil [0005]; and
catalytic material on the surface of said airfoil shape (Fig.1:108),
an artificial light source (page 6, claim 26) positioned to activate the catalytic material by light delivery thereto;
at least one airfoil of a horizontal axis wind turbine [0025];
catalytic material on the surface of said airfoil (Fig.1:108);
an artificial light source (page 6, claim 26) positioned to illuminate the at least one airfoil and activate the catalytic material by light delivery thereto;
providing an airfoil [0025] coated with a catalytic material;
moving said airfoil through atmospheric air [0040] as a rotating blade of a horizontal axis
wind turbine; and
illuminating the catalytic material (page 6, claim 26) using an artificial illumination source, while the airfoil is rotating.
Regarding claim 2, Fine et al. discloses that the catalytic material comprises a photocatalyst [0039].
Regarding claim 3, Fine et al. discloses that the catalytic material fully covers the airfoil [0040].
Regarding claim 4, Fine et al. discloses that the catalytic material comprises a plurality of mutually distinct compositions on the same said airfoil [0040 and 0043].
Regarding claim 5, Fine et al. discloses that the plurality of mutually distinct compositions are distributed on a respective plurality of mutually distinct regions [0040].
Regarding claim 6, Fine et al. discloses that the catalytic material is applied to said airfoil as catalytic material upon a film substrate [0042].
Regarding claim 8, Fine et al. discloses that the artificial light source is embedded on said airfoil [0040].
Regarding claim 9, Fine et al. discloses that the artificial light source is external to said airfoil and projecting light toward said airfoil from a distance [0040].
Regarding claim 19, Fine et al. discloses a horizontal axis wind turbine; wherein the airfoil is a blade of said horizontal axis wind turbine [0025].
Regarding claim 20, the horizontal axis wind turbine in Fine et al. is capable of powering the artificial light source [0025 and 0040].
Regarding claim 21, Fine et al. open-air catalytic reactor [0009] is capable of catalyzing greenhouse gases, including N2O and CH₄.
Regarding claim 22, Fine et al. discloses that the plurality of mutually distinct compositions of catalytic material [0024 and 0039] are distributed to said respective plurality of mutually distinct regions according to positions which relatively optimize reacting with a respective greenhouse gas, according to conditions of airflow near the airfoil.
Regarding claim 23, Fine et al. discloses that the mutually distinct compositions are capable of being distinguished [0009 and 0039] according to which of a respective plurality of greenhouse gases they most efficiently react with.
Regarding claim 24, Fine et al. discloses that the mutually distinct regions [0024] comprise at least one region on a suction surface of said airfoil.
Regarding claim 25, Fine et al. discloses that the mutually distinct regions [0024] comprise at least one region on a pressure surface of said airfoil.
Regarding claim 26, Fine et al. discloses that the mutually distinct regions [0024] comprise at least one region at a tip of said airfoil, and another region at a base of said airfoil.
Regarding claim 27, Fine et al. discloses that the catalytic material comprises Ag-TiO₂ and Ag-ZnO [0039].
Regarding claim 28, Fine et al. discloses that the catalytic material comprises an electrocatalyst [0039-0040].
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799