DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-13, 16-18 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 12-13, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser (US20160092656 in view of Terai (US20200243177).
As per claim 1, Glaser teaches a method for creating a medical report, the medical report being indicative of a follow-up examination of a patient, the method comprising
receiving a selection of at least one reference report text of the patient, wherein the reference report text has at least one reference data element associated with a software-implemented mark-up element (para. 16: user can select a report template), wherein the mark-up element is at least one of: a node element of a hierarchical graph identifying a location within a hierarchical structure, or an annotation element indicative of a medical annotation, and wherein the mark-up element comprises a marker indicating that the at least one reference data element requires input in the follow-up examination (Fig. 2A & 3; para. 52: medical report generation with reports having a hierarchical data structure with data fields; placeholder field displayed to user requesting input);
creating a partial follow-up report text, having at least an empty data element, associated with the mark-up element (Fig. 2A & 3; para. 52: medical report generation with reports having a hierarchical data structure with data fields; placeholder field displayed to user requesting input);
displaying the created partial follow-up report text (Fig. 3: report displayed to user);
displaying a call-to-action element indicating a value of the corresponding reference data element (Fig. 4; para. 44-45: user interface displays placeholder field for content to be inserted into placeholder fields via image display; image display indicates values to be inserted into placeholder);
receiving an input element in response to the displayed call-to-action element (Fig. 4; para. 44-45 user selects data to be inserted into placeholder field);
and
creating the follow-up report text based on the partial follow-up report text and the received input element, wherein the created follow-up report text has at least the input element associated with the mark-up element, at the same node element of the hierarchical graph when the mark-up element is the node element, or with the same annotation element indicative of a medical concept in a medical ontology when the mark-up element is the annotation element (Fig. 2C & 4; para. 42, 44-45: system creates report with data inserted into various placeholder fields that are associated with hierarchical data table).
Glaser does not expressly teach displaying a call-to-action element based at least on the received selection of reference report text, the call-to-action element requesting input.
Terai, however, teaches to a medical report generating method where a user interface is displayed to the user and an element is displayed to user requesting input for a specific field (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Terai with Glaser based on the motivation of prevent the image interpreting doctor from overlooking the update candidate items while generating the current medical report. (Terai – para. 58).
As per claim 3, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 1. Glaser teaches further comprising:
receiving user input in the displayed follow-up report text (Fig. 4; para. 44-45 user selects data to be inserted into placeholder field); and
establishing an association between the received user input and the at least one reference data element (Fig. 2C & 4; para. 42, 44-45: system creates report with data inserted into various placeholder fields that are associated with hierarchical data table),
wherein the displaying of the call-to-action element is further based on the established association (Fig. 2C & 4; para. 42, 44-45: system creates report with data inserted into various placeholder fields that are associated with hierarchical data table).
As per claim 4, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 1. Glaser does not expressly teach further comprising: generating a graphical or textual indication, indicative of a temporal evolution, the evolution comprising at least the reference data element and the input element.
Terai, however, teaches to the system determines whether update has been performed and changes element display (para. 124).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 5, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 1. Glaser does not expressly teach wherein the received selection comprises multiple reference reports.
Terai, however, teaches to where medical reports obtained using patient id (para. 41).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 8, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 1. Glaser does not expressly teach wherein the call-to-action element comprises a graphical instruction or an audio instruction.
Terai, however, teaches to a pop up display element with graphical text (Fig. 13).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 10, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 1. Terai teaches wherein the call-to-action element is further configured to display one or more multimedia elements associated with the reference data element (Fig. 4; para. 44-45: user interface displays placeholder field for content to be inserted into placeholder fields via image display; image display indicates values to be inserted into placeholder).
As per claim 12, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 10. Glaser teaches wherein the one or more multimedia elements comprise a picture element of a medical image recording associated with the reference data element in the at least one selected reference report text (Fig. 4; para. 44-45: user interface displays placeholder field for content to be inserted into placeholder fields via image display; image display indicates values to be inserted into placeholder).
As per claim 13, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 12. Glaser teaches further comprising: loading, responsive to the reception of the selection, the medical image recording element (Fig. 4; para. 44-45: user interface displays placeholder field for content to be inserted into placeholder fields via image display; image display indicates values to be inserted into placeholder).
As per claim 16, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 12. Glaser does not expressly teach wherein receiving of the input element comprises receiving one or more of the following:
one or more keystrokes from a keyboard device;
one or more touch commands from a touch-sensitive device;
one or more clicks from a pointing input device;
a vocal command from an audio capture device; or
an input command from a virtual reality device or augmented reality device.
Terai, however, teaches to a mouse input device (para. 51);
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
As per claim 18, Glaser teaches a computer system for creating a follow-up medical report, the follow-up medical report being indicative of a follow-up examination of a patient, the system comprising:
a processing unit (claim 16: processor);
an input receiving unit to receive input from a user and to communicate the input to the processing unit (claim 16: computer receiving input); and
a displaying unit configured to display information to the user (claim 16: computer outputting data),
wherein the processing unit is configured to:
receive, with the input receiving unit, a selection of at least one reference report text of the patient, wherein the reference report text has at least one reference data element associated with a software-implemented mark-up element, wherein the mark-up element is at least one of: a node element of a hierarchical graph identifying a location within a hierarchical structure, or an annotation element indicative of a medical annotation, and wherein the mark-up element comprises a marker indicating that the at least one reference data element requires input in the follow-up examination (Fig. 2A & 3; para. 52: medical report generation with reports having a hierarchical data structure with data fields; placeholder field displayed to user requesting input);
create a partial follow-up report text, having at least an empty data element, associated with the mark-up element (Fig. 2A & 3; para. 52: medical report generation with reports having a hierarchical data structure with data fields; placeholder field displayed to user requesting input);
display, with the displaying unit, the created partial follow-up report text (Fig. 3: report displayed to user);
displaying a call-to-action element indicating a value of the corresponding reference data element (Fig. 4; para. 44-45: user interface displays placeholder field for content to be inserted into placeholder fields via image display; image display indicates values to be inserted into placeholder);
receiving an input element in response to the displayed call-to-action element (Fig. 4; para. 44-45 user selects data to be inserted into placeholder field);
creating the follow-up report text based on the partial follow-up report text and the received input element, wherein the created follow-up report text has at least the input element associated with the mark-up element, at the same node element of the hierarchical graph when the mark-up element is the node element, or with the same annotation element indicative of a medical concept in a medical ontology when the mark-up element is the annotation element (Fig. 2C & 4; para. 42, 44-45: system creates report with data inserted into various placeholder fields that are associated with hierarchical data table).
Glaser does not expressly teach displaying a call-to-action element based at least on the received selection of reference report text, the call-to-action element requesting input.
Terai, however, teaches to a medical report generating method where a user interface is displayed to the user and an element is displayed to user requesting input for a specific field (Fig. 13).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser and Terai as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Kuhn (US20060004745).
As per claim 6, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 5, but do not expressly teach wherein the multiple reference reports have a common structure.
Kuhn, however, teaches to storing and obtaining multiple reports in a common structured format (para. 110).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Kuhn with Glaser and Terai based on the motivation of providing improved methods and systems for creating and sharing structured reports (Kuhn – para. 6).
As per claim 7, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 5, but do not expressly teach wherein a first reference report from the multiple reference reports has a first structure and a second reference report from the multiple reference reports has a second structure, the first and second structures not being identical.
Kuhn, however, teaches to storing and obtaining multiple reports in a common structured format (para. 110). Kuhn also teaches to obtaining structured reports in different formats and converting the reports in a single common format (para. 47).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 14, and incorporated herein.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser and Terai as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Buurman (WO2009007909A1)
As per claim 11, Glaser and Terai teach the method according to claim 10, but do not expressly teach wherein the one or more multimedia elements comprise a picture element of a graph indicative of a temporal evolution of the reference data element.
Buurman, however, teaches to grouping of measurements for clinical reporting where a display interface extracts historical measurements and outputs the measurements via a table (Figs. 2 & 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Buurman with Glaser and Terai based on the motivation of providing a useful way of identifying potentially relevant information comprised in a plurality of medical reports (Buurman – pg. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8 regarding claim 18 being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretation has been removed.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-11 regarding claims 1, 3-8, 10-13, 16-18 being rejected under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection has been removed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection on pages 12-13 in regards to claims 1, 3-8, 10-13, 16-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Walker (US20080109250) teaches to the assembly and communications of a generic reporting engine for offering clinical structured reports using the Internet in an encrypted manner is provided. This method of rendering structured reports employs a DICOM Structured Reporting (SR) software database engine that maps clinical report data into a clinical structured reporting data format.
Martin (US20090326985) teaches to accessing clinical data and its transfer to and from a health care provider within a clinical setting. In particular, the invention involves delivery of clinical data after its completion into an automatically pre-populated templated daily progress note.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jonathan Ng/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619