DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/681,975 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘975 application claims differ only in adding an associated adapter in which the connector would be mated to and in the dependent claims 2-3, a groove/projection securing feature. The inventive structure in the current case and the copending application relate to the misalignment adjustment structure in the connector. Remaining claims are structural obvious variations of the internal flanges and projections which are disclosed in both applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0004254 to Yoshino et al. in view of US 2025/0130374 to Kirkpatrick et al. and further in view of US 2003/0215191 to Inagaki et al.
Yoshino discloses in the abstract and figures 1-6, an optical connector (10) comprising:
a glass fiber (2),
a front end portion (towards 60 in figure 3);
a rear end portion (end towards 2 in figure 3) located on a side opposite to the front end portion (figure 3); and
a ferrule assembly (60) having a ferrule fixed to a tip end portion (40) and a holding portion (30; figure 7) to which a rear end portion of the ferrule is fixed and which is provided with a flange (53);
a housing having an inner wall surface that defines an internal space in which at least the holding portion of the ferrule assembly is accommodated, a flat surface that constitutes a part of the inner wall surface and is provided at a position facing a part of an outer peripheral surface of the flange, and a positioning portion that limits movement of the holding portion in the internal space (figures 7-12 show how the holding portion secures the ferrule in the housing); and
an elastic member (80) that biases the flange toward the positioning portion,
wherein the reference surface includes two contact parts with the flange contacting them to prevent rotational movement (figures 7-12 show there is some allowance for rotation before fixing).
As to claim 4, the claim recites a general “floating” terminology defined as the position changes as the ferrule is pushed through. Figure 8 shows some degree of movement and the spring allows for movement in the longitudinal direction.
As to claim 5, the outer shape of the flange is quadrangular (53; figure 6).
As to claim 6, an outer portion is curved (RD; figure 10).
However, Yoshino fails to explicitly disclose a resin coated fiber where a portion of the “end” is removed. It is noted that independent claims 9-10 disclose this removal to secure an end in the ferrule.
Kirkpatrick discloses a well known resin coated fiber which is common in the art (abstract and paragraph 100-101 and 121 describes the resin removal to allow for strength and proper mounting). Such fibers are also known as plastic optical fibers and are used for their bendability and resistance to damage. With regard to claim 5, fiber bundles are disclosed by Kirkpatrick.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that multiple types of fibers and fiber bundles may be used within a ferrule. Kirkpatrick teaches such bundles with resin portions removed for proper mounting within a ferrule.
Yoshino in view of Kirkpatrick fails to disclose the recessed reference surface (claim 2) and corresponding projection (claim 3). It is noted that such alignment structures are common in the art.
Inagaki discloses such a well known recessed surface with projections (figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add recessed portions with corresponding projections to lock a flange in place to prevent misalignment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2003/0215191.
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874