DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16, 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022173231 A1 (to Choi et al) – US 2022173231 is relied upon for translation.
With respect to claim 11, Choi teaches a battery cell (Figure 3, 160) comprising:
a housing having a top surface, a bottom surface, and at least one side surface (as illustrated), and
an auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) arranged at least partially on the side surface and the bottom surface (as illustrated), wherein
the housing has a recess/(vent unit (165)) on the bottom surface (as illustrated), and
the auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) completely covers the recess/(vent unit (165)) (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 12, Choi teaches wherein the auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) is configured, upon a malfunction of the battery cell (160) and expansion of the at least one side surface of the housing in a lateral direction, to be displaced such that the recess (165) is no longer completely covered by the auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) (as illustrated in Figure 4) (para. [0070]).
With respect to claim 13, Choi teaches wherein
the housing encloses a cavity in which a functional battery element is arranged (para. [0037]-[0038]).
With respect to claim 14, Choi teaches wherein the recess (165) penetrates the bottom surface at least partially (as illustrated in Figure 3).
With respect to claim 15, Choi teaches wherein the recess (165) completely penetrates the bottom surface (as illustrated in Figure 3).
With respect to claim 16, Choi teaches wherein the cavity (of battery cell (160)) is completely encapsulated by the housing and the auxiliary device (400) (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 18, Choi teaches an energy store/(battery module (30)) (Figure 3) having:
a plurality of battery cells (160) according to claim 11, wherein
the side surfaces of directly adjacent battery cells (160) are opposite one another (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 19, Choi teaches method for venting a battery cell according to claim 11 in the event of a malfunction of the battery cell, the method comprising:
upon expansion of the side surface of the housing in a lateral direction,
displacing the auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) (Figure 3) on the bottom surface in such a manner that the recess (165) is no longer completely covered by the auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) (as illustrated in Figure 4) (para. [0070]).
With respect to claim 21, Choi teaches wherein gas is generated in the cavity during the malfunction, and the gas escapes from the cavity via the recess (165) (para. [0076]-[0077]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022173231 A1 (to Choi et al), as applied to claim 11 above.
With respect to claim 17, Choi teaches wherein a material of the auxiliary device/(potting resin (400)) can comprise an acrylic resin (para. [0044]) which has a smaller coefficient of expansion than a material of the housing – which is typically made of a metal.
With respect to claim 20, though Choi does not explicitly teach wherein a cavity of the housing is enlarged during the expansion, Choi does teach that the battery cell (160) internal pressure increases to a certain pressure prior to gas discharge (para. [0070]); therefore, it would be obvious that a cavity of the housing is enlarged during the expansion due to pressure build-up.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 8/8/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725