DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 14-15, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blahnik et al. (US 20180210173, hereinafter Blahnik).
Regarding claim 1 Blahnik discloses, an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a first lens unit (camera lens 16);
a second lens unit (lens 10) operable to be placed into optical alignment with the first lens unit (¶0002, fig. 1); and
an image sensor (sensor 20, fig. 1) operable to acquire an image based on light signals passing through the first and second lens units when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (fig. 1, ¶0010, ¶0014, ¶0021, ¶0031),
wherein at least one of the first or second lens units has a telecentric image plane or a telecentric object plane (In an exemplary embodiment, the object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit are matched to one another in respect of telecentricity, numerical aperture, and/or field dimension – ¶0017.
In this context, the object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit are telecentric, have the same numerical aperture, and/or have the same field dimension. – ¶0018).
Regarding claim 2 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 including an electronic device (fig. 4) having first and second parts that are coupled together (300 & 400, fig. 4), wherein the first and second parts are separated from one another by a space (this limitation could reasonably be understood met by defining a bare minimum space in the meeting place between units 300 and 400, while leaving vastly other portions thereof to be portions of units 300 and 400 separately, fig. 4) when the first (300, fig. 4) and second lens units (400, fig. 4) are optically aligned with one another (Abstract, ¶0018-0021),
wherein the first lens unit and the image sensor are disposed within the first part, and the second lens unit is disposed within the second part (evident from fig. 4),
wherein, when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see fig. 4, ... three lens-element units LE1, LE2, LE3 and a total of four lens elements, namely a first lens element 22, a second lens element 24, a third lens element 26, and a fourth lens element 28, along a central optical axis A. – ¶0046):
the second lens unit has a telecentric image plane such that light rays passing through the second lens unit are focused on an intermediate image plane located in the space (¶0017-0021), and
the first lens unit has a telecentric object plane that coincides with the intermediate image plane (By way of this relationship, also referred to as Kepler's condition, the focal points of the two lens-element units coincide and the intermediate image is imaged on the sensor area of the camera module by the second lens-element unit together with the optical unit of the camera module – ¶0014).
Regarding claim 3 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a stack of lenses (figs. 1-4, ¶0046).
Regarding claim 4 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a refractive lens (figs. 1-4, Abstract, The refractive power of the overall design is positive – ¶0046).
Regarding claim 7 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first and second parts are operable to be moved relative to one another and to be placed in an overlapping position such that the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see ¶0018-0021, ¶0067, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 2 wherein the second lens unit is disposed between first and second coverglasses (second lens unit is disposed between first and second coverglasses 22 and 28, fig. 1), and wherein the first lens unit is disposed between a third coverglass and the image sensor (first lens unit 16 is disposed between a third coverglass 14 and the image sensor 20, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10 Blahnik discloses, an electronic device (fig. 4, ¶0003) comprising:
first and second parts that are coupled together (fig. 4), the first part housing a first lens unit (lens element system 300) and an image sensor (camera module 12, fig. 4), and the second part housing a second lens unit (lens element system 400, fig. 4),
wherein the first and second parts are operable to be moved relative to one another and to be placed in an overlapping position such that the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see ¶0018-0021, ¶0067), wherein, when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see fig. 4):
the first and second parts are separated from one another by a space (this limitation could reasonably be understood met by defining a bare minimum space in the meeting place between units 300 and 400, while leaving vastly other portions thereof to be portions of units 300 and 400 separately, fig. 4),
the second lens unit has a telecentric image plane such that light rays passing through the second lens unit are focused on an intermediate image plane located in the space (fig. 4, ¶0018-0021), and
the first lens unit has a telecentric object plane that coincides with the intermediate image plane (The object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit are configured to generate an intermediate image between the object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit. – Abstract
This means that the image-side supplementary optical unit is designed in such a way that the intermediate plane, which is provided in accordance with a Kepler-type design, is imaged substantially 1:1 onto the sensor plane of the camera module, and vice versa. – ¶0031);
the image sensor being operable to acquire an image based on light signals passing through the first and second lens units when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (Abstract, fig. 4, ¶0018-0021).
Regarding claim 14 Blahnik discloses, the electronic device of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a stack of lenses (figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 15 Blahnik discloses, the electronic device of claim 14 wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a refractive lens (figs. 1-4, Abstract, The refractive power of the overall design is positive – ¶0046).
Regarding method claim(s) 17, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the apparatus claim(s) 7 as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blahnik in view of Devlin et al. (US 20210028215 A1; hereinafter Devlin).
Regarding claim 5 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, except, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens.
However, metalenses have been proposed to be used in camera equipment before. E.g., Devlin discloses that lenses can be made of metalenses (Abstract, ¶0002-0003, ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik with the teaching of Devlin of using metalenses within a train of lenses used for optical lens system, so that at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens, because, metalenses are able to design better, efficient and simpler telecentric optical systems (¶0095).
Regarding claim 6 Blahnik discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second lens units includes a respective stack of lenses,
Blahnik is not found disclosing expressly, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens.
However, metalenses have been proposed to be used in camera equipment before. E.g., Devlin discloses that lenses can be made of metalenses (Abstract, ¶0002-0003, ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik with the teaching of Devlin of using metalenses within a train of lenses used for optical lens system, so that at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens, because, metalenses are able to design better, efficient and simpler telecentric optical systems (¶0095).
Regarding claim 16 Blahnik discloses, the electronic device of claim 15 except, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens.
However, metalenses have been proposed to be used in camera equipment before. E.g., Devlin discloses that lenses can be made of metalenses (Abstract, ¶0002-0003, ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik with the teaching of Devlin of using metalenses within a train of lenses used for optical lens system, so that at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens, because, metalenses are able to design better, efficient and simpler telecentric optical systems (¶0095).
Claims 8, 11-13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blahnik in view of Jung et al. (US 20220252863 A1; hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 8, Blahnik discloses the apparatus of claim 7 except, wherein the first and second parts are coupled to one another by a hinge about which at least one of the first or second parts can rotate.
However, Jung discloses that first and second optical modules 100 & 200 may face each other to be aligned optically (figs. 7-9, ¶0066) by means of a hinge that rotates bodies 20 and 30 around the hinge (figs. 1-2, ¶0066, abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik to include the teaching of Jung of using hinge structure so that supplementary lens group 200 rotates with respect to primary lens group 100 to be aligned in optical axis, to obtain, wherein the first and second parts are operable to be moved relative to one another and to be placed in an overlapping position such that the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claim 11 Blahnik discloses, the electronic device of claim 10 except, further comprising an interactive display screen on at least one of the first or second parts.
However, Jung discloses, a display unit and cover glasses 22 and 32 may be disposed on one surface of the main bodies 20 and 30. A first display unit and a first cover glass 22 may be disposed on one surface of the first main body 20. A second display unit and a second cover glass 32 may be disposed on one surface of the second main body 30. The first display unit and the second display unit may be integrally formed. The first display unit and the second display unit may be foldable. The first display unit and the second display unit are foldable. The first cover glass 22 and the second cover glass 32 may be integrally formed. The first cover glass 22 and the second cover glass 32 may be foldable. The first cover glass 22 and the second cover glass 32 may be folded. A first display unit may be disposed inside the first cover glass 22. A second display unit may be disposed in the second cover glass 32. The display unit may output an image photographed by the camera module. When the main bodies 20 and 30 are foldable so that the first main body 20 and the second main body 30 face each other, the first cover glass 22 and the second cover glass 32 face each other, and the first optical module 100 and the second optical module 200 may face each other [¶0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to include the telecentric optical paths of Blahnik in the optical modules 100 and 200 of Jung’s smartphone 10, to obtain, device further comprising an interactive display screen on at least one of the first or second parts, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the overall versatility and usability of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 12 Blahnik in view of Jung discloses, the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the electronic device is a smartphone (Jung: ¶0064).
Regarding claim 13 Blahnik in view of Jung discloses, the electronic device of claim 12 wherein the first and second parts are coupled to one another by a hinge (see figs. 1-2 of Jung, ¶0066) about which at least one of the first or second parts can rotate (see figs. 1-2 of Jung, ¶0066).
Regarding method claim(s) 18, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the apparatus claim(s) 8 as described above.
Claims 19-22, 25, 27, 29, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blahnik in view of Zhang et al. (CN 202022640806 U; hereinafter Zhang, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 19, Blahnik discloses an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a first lens unit (camera lens 16);
a second lens unit (lens 10) operable to be placed into optical alignment with the first lens unit (¶0002, fig. 1); and
d light rays that pass through the first and second lens units when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (fig. 1, ¶0010, ¶0014, ¶0021, ¶0031),
wherein at least one of the first or second lens units has a telecentric image plane or a telecentric object plane (In an exemplary embodiment, the object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit are matched to one another in respect of telecentricity, numerical aperture, and/or field dimension – ¶0017.
In this context, the object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit are telecentric, have the same numerical aperture, and/or have the same field dimension. – ¶0018).
Blahnik is not found disclosing a light emitter operable to produce light rays.
However, Zhang discloses internal reflection type telecentric lens (abstract), wherein, a reflecting device is arranged in the telecentric lens; the incident discrete collimated light beam is reflected and emitted from the lens assembly to form a speckle light lattice on the imaging surface (page 6, ¶4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the optical device of Blahnik, in the portable projection device meant to be used in a mobile phone or the like as disclosed in Zhang (see Zhang page 2, background ¶2), to obtain, a light emitter operable to produce light rays, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the versatility and usability of the overall device.
Regarding claim 20, Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 19. Blahnik further discloses apparatus including an electronic device having first and second parts that are coupled together (300 & 400, fig. 4), wherein the first and second parts are separated from one another by a space (this limitation could reasonably be understood met by defining a bare minimum space in the meeting place between units 300 and 400, while leaving vastly other portions thereof to be portions of units 300 and 400 separately, fig. 4) when the first (300, fig. 4) and second lens units (400, fig. 4) are optically aligned with one another (Abstract, ¶0018-0021),
wherein the first lens unit and the light emitter are disposed within the first part, and the second lens unit is disposed within the second part (evident from fig. 4),
wherein, when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see fig. 4, ... three lens-element units LE1, LE2, LE3 and a total of four lens elements, namely a first lens element 22, a second lens element 24, a third lens element 26, and a fourth lens element 28, along a central optical axis A. – ¶0046):
the first lens unit has a telecentric image plane such that light rays produced by the light emitter and passing through the first lens unit are focused on an intermediate image plane located in the space (¶0017-0021),
and the second lens unit has a telecentric object plane that coincides with the intermediate image plane (By way of this relationship, also referred to as Kepler's condition, the focal points of the two lens-element units coincide and the intermediate image is imaged on the sensor area of the camera module by the second lens-element unit together with the optical unit of the camera module – ¶0014).
Regarding claim 21 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the apparatus of claim 19, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a stack of lenses (evident from Blahnik figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 22 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the apparatus of claim 19, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a refractive lens (Blahnik, figs. 1-4, Abstract, The refractive power of the overall design is positive – ¶0046).
Regarding claim 25 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the apparatus of claim 20 wherein the first and second parts are operable to be moved relative to one another and to be placed in an overlapping position such that the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (Blahnik, see ¶0018-0021, ¶0067, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 27 Blahnik discloses, an electronic device (fig. 4, ¶0003) comprising:
first and second parts that are coupled together (fig. 4), the first part housing a first lens unit (lens element system 300)
wherein the first and second parts are operable to be moved relative to one another and to be placed in an overlapping position such that the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see ¶0018-0021, ¶0067), wherein, when the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another (see fig. 4):
the first and second parts are separated from one another by a space (this limitation could reasonably be understood met by defining a bare minimum space in the meeting place between units 300 and 400, while leaving vastly other portions thereof to be portions of units 300 and 400 separately, fig. 4),
the first lens unit has a telecentric image plane such that the light rays
the second lens unit has a telecentric object plane that coincides with the intermediate image plane (The object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit are configured to generate an intermediate image between the object-side lens-element unit and the image-side lens-element unit. – Abstract
This means that the image-side supplementary optical unit is designed in such a way that the intermediate plane, which is provided in accordance with a Kepler-type design, is imaged substantially 1:1 onto the sensor plane of the camera module, and vice versa. – ¶0031).
Blahnik is not found disclosing a light emitter operable to produce light rays.
However, Zhang discloses internal reflection type telecentric lens (abstract), wherein, a reflecting device is arranged in the telecentric lens; the incident discrete collimated light beam is reflected and emitted from the lens assembly to form a speckle light lattice on the imaging surface (page 6, ¶4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the optical device of Blahnik, in the portable projection device meant to be used in a mobile phone or the like as disclosed in Zhang (see Zhang page 2, background ¶2), to obtain, a light emitter operable to produce light rays, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the versatility and usability of the overall device.
Regarding method claim(s) 29, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the apparatus claim(s) 25 as described above.
Regarding claim 31 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the method of claim 29, wherein the light rays pass through the first and second lens units and form a pattern on one or more objects (Zhang, projection pattern, page 7, ¶4).
Claims 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blahnik in view of Zhang and further in view of Jung.
Regarding claim 30 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the method of claim 29, except, including rotating at least one of the first and second parts about a hinge that couples the first and second parts together.
However, Jung discloses that first and second optical modules 100 & 200 may face each other to be aligned optically (figs. 7-9, ¶0066) by means of a hinge that rotates bodies 20 and 30 around the hinge (figs. 1-2, ¶0066, abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik to include the teaching of Jung of using hinge structure so that supplementary lens group 200 rotates with respect to primary lens group 100 to be aligned in optical axis, to obtain, wherein the first and second parts are operable to be moved relative to one another and to be placed in an overlapping position such that the first and second lens units are optically aligned with one another, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Claims 23-24, 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blahnik in view of Zhang and further in view of Devlin et al. (US 20210028215 A1; hereinafter Devlin).
Regarding claim 23 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, except, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens.
However, metalenses have been proposed to be used in camera equipment before. E.g., Devlin discloses that lenses can be made of metalenses (Abstract, ¶0002-0003, ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik with the teaching of Devlin of using metalenses within a train of lenses used for optical lens system, so that at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens, because, metalenses are able to design better, efficient and simpler telecentric optical systems (¶0095).
Regarding claim 24 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second lens units includes a respective stack of lenses,
Blahnik is not found disclosing expressly, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens.
However, metalenses have been proposed to be used in camera equipment before. E.g., Devlin discloses that lenses can be made of metalenses (Abstract, ¶0002-0003, ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik with the teaching of Devlin of using metalenses within a train of lenses used for optical lens system, so that at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens, because, metalenses are able to design better, efficient and simpler telecentric optical systems (¶0095).
Regarding claim 28, Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses the electronic device of claim 27 except, wherein at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens.
However, metalenses have been proposed to be used in camera equipment before. E.g., Devlin discloses that lenses can be made of metalenses (Abstract, ¶0002-0003, ¶0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Blahnik with the teaching of Devlin of using metalenses within a train of lenses used for optical lens system, so that at least one of the first or second lens units includes a metalens, because, metalenses are able to design better, efficient and simpler telecentric optical systems (¶0095).
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blahnik in view of Zhang and further in view of DE JAGER et al. (US 20160266498 A1; hereinafter DE JAGER).
Regarding claim 26 Blahnik in view of Zhang discloses, the apparatus of claim 19, except, wherein the light emitter includes addressable VCSELs.
However, DE JAGER discloses light emitter includes addressable VCSELs (abstract, ¶0020, 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to implement the projection emitter of Zhang using addressable VCSELs of De Jager, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are –Zhu et al. (US 20220203832 A1), YAMAMOTO (US 20100315598 A1) – who disclose optical modules having tele-centrism feature.
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638