DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed June 09, 2026 amends claims 1-20. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3,5-11,13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Harris (US 8639767 B1) (hereinafter Harris) in view of D'AMICO (WO 2017139281 A1) (hereinafter D'AMICO).
Regarding claim 1, Harris discloses a notification apparatus (FIG. 1, system of monitoring content, generating alerts) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (col. 12, lines 28-39, computer 110 and content device 130 may comprise one or more processors, memory, one or more storage devices, memory store computer-executable instructions to be executed by processor as well as data that may be manipulated by the processor) to:
an activity range estimation unit that generates generate location information indicating an activity range of a user of an account, based on public information that is associated with the account and is available on the Internet (Abstract, The system track an activity and monitored activity tracked based on monitored content and communicate notifications, thereby leveraging content from social media to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, other information, col. 10, lines 15-34, tracking module 113 track the movement by sampling one or more candidate geo-locations in a vicinity around a one or more geo-locations and activity to be tracked, tracking module 113 associate content with activity as activity moves, content such as videos, audio files, photos, text, and/or other content over networks such as the Internet has grown at impressive rates. Many Internet and other online service providers make this type of content available to enable users to post and share); and
a notification unit that transmits transmit notification information to a user for which the location information satisfies a first notification condition (col. 3, lines 46-67, FIG. 1 system 100 of monitoring content, generating alerts, and communicating notifications, geofeed includes a collection of content geographically definable location (hereinafter, a "geo-location"). and content providers may include, for example, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), geo-location specified by a boundary, geo coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, altitude/depth), an address, a school, a place name, a point of interest, a zip code, a city, a state, a country, and/or other information that can spatially identify an area).
Even though Harris discloses transmit notification information to a user for which the location information satisfies a first notification condition [col. 3, lines 46-67], Harris fails to disclose transmit notification information to a user of the account.
In analogous art, D'AMICO discloses transmit notification information to a user of the account (page 50, lines 5-20, managing admins and jurisdictions, users, alerts, contents, social media monitoring, alert management, alerts, user monitor Twitter®, Facebook®, other social media applications, news feeds, page 55, lines 23-26, user choose preferred alert type for each location saved under their account, user receive types of alerts for that particular location, Page 59, lines 9-15, alert system need to account for current location of a user, send alerts to that particular location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of monitoring content, generating alerts, determining trends, and communicating notifications related to geofeeds, including content related to geographically definable locations that is aggregated from a plurality of social media or other content providers disclosed by Harris to use systems for threat management at threat locations and target locations as taught by D'AMICO to use location of networked subscriber device determined from a user checking in to given location via social media and to determined positional data generated by positional tracking logic embedded in networked subscriber device for sending notification to aware people [D'AMICO, page 21, lines 17-25].
Regarding claim 2, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to extract the account performing posting satisfying a second notification condition, based on a posted matter that is associated with the account and is available on the Internet (col. 5, lines 1-15, alert conditions may be satisfied when new content (e.g., a new TWITTER post) is posted and/or when there is an increase or spike in the number of content that appears over a predefined and configurable period of time in one or more geo-locations, and
transmit the notification information to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition and the account performs posting satisfying the second notification condition (col. 5, lines 58-67, Alert module 112 identify when subject matter appears in content based on subject matter indicators related to the content. Subject matter indicators include (e.g., a HASHTAG, in FACEBOOK post, etc.), certain images used in relation to content, other subject matter indicators, generate alerts when specified subject matter appears in content related to geofeeds). .
Regarding claim 3, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine attribute information of a user of the account, based on the public information (col. 2, lines 34-39, monitor a cluster of content that share similar topics or other attributes, col. 7,lines 34-45, Content related to different locations may be grouped into a cluster by common attributes such as a type of location, keyword (or set of keywords), and/or time), and
transmit the notification information to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition and the attribute information satisfies a third notification condition (col. 9, lines 1-10, alert module 112 generate an alert based on a historical, current, and/or future (e.g., predicted) behavior of a user, transmit an in real-time based on the alert, col. 12, lines 8-25, alert conditions that when satisfied cause a geofeed-based alert to be generated for geofeeds to be monitored, one or more alert conditions specified for that alert have been satisfied, Abstract, system communicate notification that include the alerts, thereby leveraging content from social media or other providers to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, and/or other information).
Regarding claim 5, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 2, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of text data including a predetermined keyword, posting of text data with a predetermined content, posting of sound data including the predetermined keyword, posting of sound data with the predetermined content, posting of still image data indicating a predetermined situation, and posting of moving image data indicating the predetermined situation (col. 3, lines 46-65, content (as "geofeed content") may include, video, audio, images, text, hyperlinks, and/or other content that may be relevant to a geo-location. The content providers include, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), online knowledge, or other providers that can distribute content that may be relevant to a geo-location, col.5, lines 31-38, Alert module 112 compare current activity level to historical 30-day average and if it determines that current activity level exceeds historical level (or exceeds by a predetermined threshold), an alert may be generated and/or triggered).
Regarding claim 6, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 5, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of text data including the predetermined keyword, and posting of sound data including the predetermined keyword, within a most recent predetermined period, and the predetermined period differs for each of the predetermined contents (col. 3, lines 46-65, content (as "geofeed content") may include, video, audio, images, text, hyperlinks, and/or other content that may be relevant to a geo-location. The content providers include, social media platforms, col. 2, lines 23-35, alert conditions may include, volume alert condition (e.g., an increase such as a spike in the volume of content), a subject matter alert condition (e.g., a particular keyword appearing in the content), a temporal alert condition (e.g., specified content being published, created, etc., during a specified time period)).
Regarding claim 7, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 5, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of text data with the predetermined content, and posting of sound data with the predetermined content, within a most recent predetermined period, and the predetermined period differs for each of the predetermined contents (col. 5, lines 1-15,one or more volume alert parameters that specify volume alert conditions. Volume alert conditions may be satisfied when new content (e.g., a new TWITTER post) is posted and/or when there is an increase or spike in the number of content that appears over a predefined and configurable period of time in one or more geo-locations, col. 14, lines 46-67, FIG. 5, interface 500 provide a geofeed-based alert that generated when alert module 112 detects an increase (and/or spike) in the volume of geofeed content (e.g., number of social media posts) during a specified time period).
Regarding claim 8, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 5, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of still image data indicating the predetermined situation, and posting of moving image data indicating the predetermined situation, within a most recent predetermined period, and the predetermined period differs for each of the predetermined contents (col. 3, lines 46-65, content (as "geofeed content") may include, video, audio, images, text, hyperlinks, and/or other content that may be relevant to a geo-location. The content providers include, social media platforms, col. 7, lines 50-67,
alert conditions satisfied when one or more particular geo-locations have been recently specified by content consumers during one or more recent time periods at volumes).
Regarding claim 9, Harris discloses the notification apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to transmit the notification information not merely to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition, but also to a user satisfying a predetermined relationship with a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition (col. 5, lines 58-67
particular keyword (or set of keywords) used in relation to content (e.g., a HASHTAG, words appearing in a FACEBOOK post, etc.), certain images used in relation to content, and/or other subject matter indicators. Thus, alert module 112 may be configured to generate alerts when specified subject matter appears in content related to geofeeds).
Regarding claim 10, Harris discloses a notification method (FIG. 1, system of monitoring content, generating alerts) comprising, executing by a computer (col. 12, lines 28-39, computer 110 and content device 130 comprise one or more processors, memory, one or more storage devices, memory store computer-executable instructions to be executed by processor as well as data that may be manipulated by the processor):
generating location information indicating an activity range of a user of an account, based on public information that is associated with the account and is available on the Internet (Abstract, The system track an activity and monitored activity tracked based on monitored content and communicate notifications, thereby leveraging content from social media to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, other information, col. 10, lines 15-34, tracking module 113 track movement by sampling candidate geo-locations in a vicinity around geo-locations and activity to be tracked, tracking module 113 associate content with activity as activity moves, content such as videos, audio files, photos, text, or other content over networks such as the Internet has grown at impressive rates. Many Internet and other online service providers make this type of content available to enable users to post and share); and
transmitting notification information to a user for which the location information satisfies a first notification condition (col. 3, lines 46-67, FIG. 1 system 100 of monitoring content, generating alerts, and communicating notifications, geofeed includes a collection of content geographically definable location (hereinafter, a "geo-location"). and content providers may include, for example, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), geo-location specified by a boundary, geo coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, altitude/depth), an address, a school, a place name, a point of interest, a zip code, a city, a state, a country, and/or other information that can spatially identify an area).
Even though Harris discloses transmit notification information to a user for which the location information satisfies a first notification condition [col. 3, lines 46-67] Harris fails to disclose transmit notification information to a user of the account.
In analogous art, D'AMICO discloses transmit notification information to a user of the account (page 50, lines 5-20, managing admins and jurisdictions, users, alerts, contents, social media monitoring, alert management, alerts, user monitor Twitter®, Facebook®, other social media applications, news feeds, page 55, lines 23-26, user choose preferred alert type for each location saved under their account, user receive types of alerts for that particular location, Page 59, lines 9-15, alert system need to account for current location of a user, send alerts to that particular location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of monitoring content, generating alerts, determining trends, and communicating notifications related to geofeeds, including content related to geographically definable locations that is aggregated from a plurality of social media or other content providers disclosed by Harris to use systems for threat management at threat locations and target locations as taught by D'AMICO to use location of networked subscriber device determined from a user checking in to given location via social media and to determined positional data generated by positional tracking logic embedded in networked subscriber device for sending notification to aware people [D'AMICO, page 21, lines 17-25].
Regarding claim 11, Harris discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer (FIG. 1, system of monitoring content, generating alerts, col. 12, lines 28-39, computer 110 and content device 130 comprise processors, memory, one or more storage devices, memory store computer-executable instructions to be executed by processor as well as data that manipulated by the processor) to:
generate location information indicating an activity range of a user of an account, based on public information that is associated with the account and is available on the Internet (Abstract, The system track an activity and monitored activity tracked based on monitored content and communicate notifications, thereby leveraging content from social media to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, other information, col. 10, lines 15-34, tracking module 113 track the movement by sampling one or more candidate geo-locations in a vicinity around a one or more geo-locations and activity to be tracked, tracking module 113 associate content with activity as activity moves, content such as videos, audio files, photos, text, or other content over networks such as Internet has grown at impressive rates. Many Internet and other online service providers make this type of content available to enable users to post and share); and
transmit notification information to a user for which the location information satisfies a first notification condition (col. 3, lines 46-67, FIG. 1 system 100 of monitoring content, generating alerts, and communicating notifications, geofeed includes a collection of content geographically definable location (hereinafter, a "geo-location"). and content providers may include, for example, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), geo-location specified by a boundary, geo coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, altitude/depth), an address, a school, a place name, a point of interest, a zip code, a city, a state, a country, and/or other information that can spatially identify an area).
Even though Harris discloses transmit notification information to a user for which the location information satisfies a first notification condition [col. 3, lines 46-67], Harris fails to disclose transmit notification information to a user of the account.
In analogous art, D'AMICO discloses transmit notification information to a user of the account (page 50, lines 5-20, managing admins and jurisdictions, users, alerts, contents, social media monitoring, alert management, alerts, user monitor Twitter®, Facebook®, other social media applications, news feeds, page 55, lines 23-26, user choose preferred alert type for each location saved under their account, user receive types of alerts for that particular location, Page 59, lines 9-15, alert system need to account for current location of a user, send alerts to that particular location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of monitoring content, generating alerts, determining trends, and communicating notifications related to geofeeds, including content related to geographically definable locations that is aggregated from a plurality of social media or other content providers disclosed by Harris to use systems for threat management at threat locations and target locations as taught by D'AMICO to use location of networked subscriber device determined from a user checking in to given location via social media and to determined positional data generated by positional tracking logic embedded in networked subscriber device for sending notification to aware people [D'AMICO, page 21, lines 17-25].
Regarding claim 13, Harris discloses the notification method according to claim 10, wherein the computer determines attribute information of a user of the account, based on the public information (col. 2, lines 34-39, monitor a cluster of content that share similar topics or other attributes, col. 7,lines 34-45, Content related to different locations may be grouped into a cluster by common attributes such as a type of location, keyword (or set of keywords), and/or time), and
transmits the notification information to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition and the attribute information satisfies the third notification condition (col. 9, lines 1-10, alert module 112 generate an alert based on a historical, current, and/or future (e.g., predicted) behavior of a user, transmit an in real-time based on the alert, col. 12, lines 8-25, alert conditions that when satisfied cause a geofeed-based alert to be generated for geofeeds to be monitored, one or more alert conditions specified for that alert have been satisfied, Abstract, system communicate notification that include the alerts, thereby leveraging content from social media or other providers to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, and/or other information).
Regarding claim 14, Harris discloses the notification method according to claim 13, wherein the computer extracts the account performing posting satisfying a second notification condition, based on a posted matter that is associated with the account and is available on the Internet (col. 5, lines 1-15, alert conditions may be satisfied when new content (e.g., a new TWITTER post) is posted and/or when there is an increase or spike in the number of content that appears over a predefined and configurable period of time in one or more geo-locations), and
transmits the notification information to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition, the attribute information satisfies the third notification condition, and the account performs posting satisfying the second notification condition (col. 9, lines 1-10, alert module 112 generate an alert based on a historical, current, and/or future (e.g., predicted) behavior of a user, transmit an in real-time based on the alert, col. 12, lines 8-25, alert conditions that when satisfied cause a geofeed-based alert to be generated for geofeeds to be monitored, one or more alert conditions specified for that alert have been satisfied, Abstract, system communicate notification that include the alerts, thereby leveraging content from social media or other providers to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, and/or other information).
Regarding claim 15, Harris discloses the notification method according to claim 12, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of text data including a predetermined keyword, posting of text data with a predetermined content, posting of sound data including the predetermined keyword, posting of sound data with the predetermined content, posting of still image data indicating a predetermined situation, and posting of moving image data indicating the predetermined situation (col. 3, lines 46-65, content (as "geofeed content") may include, video, audio, images, text, hyperlinks, and/or other content that may be relevant to a geo-location. The content providers include, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), online knowledge, or other providers that can distribute content that may be relevant to a geo-location, col.5, lines 31-38, Alert module 112 compare current activity level to historical 30-day average and if it determines that current activity level exceeds historical level (or exceeds by a predetermined threshold), an alert may be generated and/or triggered).
Regarding claim 16, Harris discloses the notification method according to claim 15, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of text data including the predetermined keyword, and posting of sound data including the predetermined keyword, within a most recent predetermined period, and
the predetermined period differs for each of the predetermined keywords (col. 3, lines 46-65, content (as "geofeed content") may include, video, audio, images, text, hyperlinks, and/or other content that may be relevant to a geo-location. The content providers include, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), online knowledge, or other providers that can distribute content that may be relevant to a geo-location, col.5, lines 31-38, Alert module 112 compare current activity level to historical 30-day average and if it determines that current activity level exceeds historical level (or exceeds by a predetermined threshold), an alert may be generated and/or triggered).
Regarding claim 17, Harris discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the program causing the computer to extract the account performing posting satisfying a second notification condition, based on a posted matter that is associated with the account and is available on the Internet (col. 5, lines 1-15, alert conditions may be satisfied when new content (e.g., a new TWITTER post) is posted and/or when there is an increase or spike in number of content that appears over a predefined and configurable period of time in one or more geo-locations), and
transmits the notification information to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition and the account performs posting satisfying the second notification condition (col. 9, lines 1-10, alert module 112 generate an alert based on a historical, current, and/or future (e.g., predicted) behavior of a user, transmit an in real-time based on the alert, col. 12, lines 8-25, alert conditions that when satisfied cause a geofeed-based alert to be generated for geofeeds to be monitored, one or more alert conditions specified for that alert have been satisfied, Abstract, system communicate notification that include the alerts, thereby leveraging content from social media or other providers to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, and/or other information).
Regarding claim 18, Harris discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the program causing the computer to determine attribute information of a user of the account, based on the public information (col. 2, lines 34-39, monitor a cluster of content that share similar topics or other attributes, col. 7,lines 34-45, Content related to different locations grouped into cluster by common attributes such as a type of location, keyword (or set of keywords), and/or time), and
transmits the notification information to a user of the account for which the location information satisfies the first notification condition, the attribute information satisfies the third notification condition (col. 9, lines 1-10, alert module 112 generate an alert based on a historical, current, and/or future (e.g., predicted) behavior of a user, transmit an in real-time based on the alert, col. 12, lines 8-25, alert conditions that when satisfied cause a geofeed-based alert to be generated for geofeeds to be monitored, one or more alert conditions specified for that alert have been satisfied, Abstract, system communicate notification that include the alerts, thereby leveraging content from social media or other providers to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, and/or other information)..
Regarding claim 20, Harris discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 17, wherein posting satisfying the second notification condition includes at least one of posting of text data including a predetermined keyword, posting of text data with a predetermined content, posting of sound data including the predetermined keyword, posting of sound data with the predetermined content, posting of still image data indicating a predetermined situation, and posting of moving image data indicating the predetermined situation (col. 3, lines 46-65, content (as "geofeed content") may include, video, audio, images, text, hyperlinks, and/or other content that may be relevant to a geo-location. The content providers include, social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FLICKR, etc.), online knowledge, or other providers that can distribute content that may be relevant to a geo-location, col.5, lines 31-38, Alert module 112 compare current activity level to historical 30-day average and if it determines that current activity level exceeds historical level (or exceeds by a predetermined threshold), an alert may be generated and/or triggered).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including ALL of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed June 09, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2, lines 22-25, and page 4, lines 3-4, and page 3, lines 18-22-page 4, lines 1-2, the applicant argues that the reference(s) do not teach or even suggest generate information related to an activity based on public information each and every limitation as claimed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Harris teaches
system track an activity and monitored activity tracked based on monitored content and communicate notifications, thereby leveraging content from social media to convey real-time information on subject matter, trends, activities, other information [Abstract], and, tracking module 113 track the movement by sampling one or more candidate geo-locations in a vicinity around a one or more geo-locations and activity to be tracked, tracking module 113 associate content with activity as activity moves, content such as videos, audio files, photos, text, and/or other content over networks such as the Internet has grown at impressive rates. Many Internet and other online service providers make content available to enable users to post and share [col. 10, lines 15-34] and as in FIG. 1 system 100 of monitoring content, generating alerts, and communicating notifications, geofeed includes a collection of content geographically definable location (hereinafter, a "geo-location"). and content providers include social media platforms (e.g., FACEBOOK, TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, etc.), geo-location specified by a boundary, geo coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, altitude/depth) [col. 3, lines 46-67], and
D'AMICO teaches managing admins and jurisdictions, users, alerts, contents, social media monitoring, alert management, alerts, user monitor Twitter®, Facebook®, other social media applications, news feeds [page 50, lines 5-20] and, user choose preferred alert type for each location saved account, user receive types of alerts for that particular location [page 55, lines 23-26] and, alert system need to account for current location of a user, send alerts to that particular location [Page 59, lines 9-15].
Thus, Harris (US 8639767 B1) (hereinafter Harris) in view of D'AMICO (WO 2017139281 A1) disclose the applicant’s whole invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIRZA F ALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688