DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beghdadi et al (Synthesis and polymerization of C-vinyl- and N-vinyl-1,2,3-triazoles, Polym. Chem., 2012, 3, 1680-1692).
Beghdadi teaches the following radical polymerization reaction scheme (see page 1687):
Thus, all limitations of claims 1-3 and 6 are met.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haddleton et al (US 20090082224)
Haddleton teaches a process for making a polymer having pendant side groups comprising: (i) polymerizing an olefinically unsaturated monomer functionalized with an azide group (meeting the limitations of claim 5) by living radical polymerization, most preferably RAFT (meeting the limitations of claim 4), transitional metal mediated living radical polymerization (TMM-LRP) and/or atom transfer radical polymerization, to produce a polymer intermediate (see Abstract).
In particular, the reference discloses a synthesis of the following polymer:
Where circle represented a Wang resin and R is (R =Poly(MMA-co-hostasol) (meeting the limitations of claims 2 and 6, see 0203).
Regarding claim 3, Haddleton teaches polymerizable vinyl halides (see 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beghdadi as applied to claims above 1-3 and 6, and further in view of Ricardo et al (Synthesis of Functionalized Polytriazoles via One-Pot Sequential Copper-Catalyzed Azide–Alkyne [3+2] Cycloaddition and Atom Transfer Radical Addition (ATRA), Isr. J. Chem. 2012, 52, 320 – 327).
Beghdadi fails to teach atomic transfer radical polymerization.
Ricardo teaches a The formation of functionalized triazoles was achieved utilizing a ligand-free catalytic system for the cycloaddition between tripropargylamine and vinylbenzyl azide and subsequent addition of tris(2-pyridyl)methylamine (TPMA) ligand in the atom transfer radical addition (ATRA) step (see Abstract).
Ricardo discloses that the corresponding products were obtained in modest yields (50–80 %). The presented methodology enables efficient synthesis of functionalized polytriazoles, which could have a potential use as chelating agents for a variety of transition metals (see Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use ATRA methodology for Beghdadi’s polymer synthesis in order to obtain a polymer with moderately high yield with potential use as chelating agents for a variety of transition metals.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765