DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 5/14/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1 and 35 have been amended. Claims 3-5 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2 and 6-37 are pending. Claims 1-2, 6-34 and 36-37 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 6-34 and 36-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/14/2026.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 5/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 35 under § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues that KODEMURA does not teach the newly amended limitation of the polyvalent metal salt is copper gluconate. The Examiner agrees that KODEMURA is silent as to the newly amended limitation of the polyvalent metal salt being copper gluconate. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hosaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0203320), hereinafter HOSAKA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODEMURA et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0101503), hereinafter KODEMURA, in view of Hosaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0203320), hereinafter HOSAKA.
Regarding claim 35, KODEMURA teaches: A rubber article (KODEMURA teaches a rubber article [0187].), which is reinforced by an organic fiber material, (KODEMURA teaches a reinforced organic fiber material [0187].), wherein the organic fiber material comprises an organic fiber and adhesive layer coating a surface of the organic fiber (KODEMURA teaches the organic fiber material comprises an organic fiber and adhesive layer [0187].), wherein the adhesive layer is made of an adhesive composition (KODEMURA teaches a composition [Abstract; 0017; 0173; 0208].), the adhesive composition comprising: (A) a rubber latex having unsaturated diene (KODEMURA teaches a rubber latex having unsaturated diene [Abstract; 0017].), and (B) a polyvalent metal salt (KODEMRUA teaches a polyvalent metal salt [0173].), and further comprising at least one component selected from the group consisting of the following (C) to (F): (C) an aqueous component having a plurality of phenolic hydroxy groups in molecule, (D) a water-soluble component containing an amide bond structure, (E) an amine compound, and (F) polyvinyl alcohol (KODEMURA teaches a water-soluble component (sodium salt of a naphthalene sulfonic acid and formalin) [0208].), . . . .
KODEMURA teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the (B) polyvalent metal salt is copper gluconate. In the same field of endeavor, rubber articles, HOSAKA teaches a polyvalent metal salt that is copper gluconate [0116]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify KODEMURA, by substituting the polyvalent metal salt with copper gluconate, as suggested by HOSAKA, in order to have an increased polishing rate [0116].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748