DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 4/5/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-37 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-29, drawn to a composition.
Group II, claim(s) 30-34, drawn to a product.
Group III, claim(s) 35, drawn to a product.
Group IV, claim(s) 36, drawn to a product.
Group V, claim(s) 37, drawn to a product.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-V lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of: claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of KODEMURA et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0101503), hereinafter KODEMURA. KODEMURA teaches: An adhesive composition (KODEMURA teaches a composition [Abstract]), comprising: (A) a rubber latex having unsaturated diene (KODEMURA teaches a rubber latex having unsaturated diene [Abstract; 0017].), and (B) a polyvalent metal salt (KODEMRUA teaches a polyvalent metal salt [0173].), and further comprising at least one component selected from the group consisting of the following (C) to (F): (C) an aqueous component having a plurality of phenolic hydroxy groups in molecule, (D) a water-soluble component containing an amide bond structure, (E) an amine compound, and (F) polyvinyl alcohol (KODEMURA teaches a water-soluble component (sodium salt of a naphthalene sulfonic acid and formalin) [0208].).
During a telephone conversation with Tatsuya Sawada on 3/13/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group III, claim 35. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1-34 and 36-37 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KODEMURA et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0101503), hereinafter KODEMURA.
Regarding claim 35, KODEMURA teaches: A rubber article (KODEMURA teaches a rubber article [0187].), which is reinforced by the organic fiber material according to claim 30 (KODEMURA teaches a reinforced organic fiber material according to claim 30 [0187] and a composition according to claim 1 [Abstract; 0017; 0173; 0208].).
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748