DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 51-70 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 51-54, 63-64, 66-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (US 9,693,356).
In regard to claim 51, Ren disclosed a method of transferring data between a server and an equipment which cannot establish a direct wireless communication with the server,
wherein a first user device is configured to transfer a first data and a second data with the equipment by using a first wireless communication channel between the equipment and the first user device, (Ren column 2 line 65 – column 3 line 1)
the method comprising:
the first user device establishing a second communication channel for transferring the second data with the server; (Ren column 5 lines 19-24)
estimating a capacity of the first wireless communication channel for transferring the second data between the equipment and the first user device; and (Ren column 12 lines 4 – 21)
based on the estimated capacity, transferring the second data between the equipment and the server, wherein the second data is transferred between the server and the first user device by using the second communication channel and between the first user device and the equipment by using the first wireless communication channel, (Ren column 12 lines 4 – 21)
wherein the equipment is configured such that the equipment cannot establish the direct wireless communication with the server. (Ren column 1 lines 63-64)
In regard to claim 52, Ren disclosed wherein the capacity of the first wireless communication channel comprises any of: a bandwidth, a throughput, a latency, a bit-error rate, BER, and a packet-error rate, PER, of the first wireless communication channel, or (Ren column 12 lines 4-21)
wherein the step of estimating a capacity of the first wireless communication channel for transferring the second data between the equipment and the first user device comprises:
estimating the capacity of the first wireless communication channel for transferring the second data between the equipment and the first user device based on:
a property of the first wireless communication channel; and/or
a requirement of transfer of the second data.
(Ren column 12 lines 4-21)
In regard to claim 53, Ren disclosed:
when a priority of the transfer of the second data is high, or when a priority of the transfer of the second data is higher than a priority of transfer of the first data,
prioritising the transfer of the second data over the transfer of the first data, and/or
sending a request to the first user device for changing the transfer of the first data for prioritising the transfer of the second data.
(Ren column 10 lines 3 – 15)
In regard to claim 54, Ren disclosed a second user device,
the second user device is capable of transferring a corresponding first data with the equipment by using the first wireless communication channel between the equipment and the second user device, (Ren column 5 lines 19-24)
wherein the step of estimating a capacity of the first wireless communication channel for transferring the second data further comprises:
estimating a second capacity of the first wireless communication channel for transferring the second data between the equipment and the second user device; (Ren column 12 lines 4 – 21)
wherein the step of transferring the second data between the equipment and the server comprises:
transferring a first part of the second data between the equipment and the server via the first user device, based on the first estimated capacity; and (Ren column 12 lines 4 – 21)
transferring a second part of the second data between the equipment and the server via the second user device, based on the second estimated capacity; (Ren column 12 lines 4 – 21)
wherein the first and second part of the second data are a same part of the second data, or different parts of the second data. (Ren column 12 lines 4 – 21)
In regard to claim 63, Ren disclosed wherein the first wireless communication channel is established only when the first user device is within a predetermined distance from the equipment. Ren column 9 lines 40-42 disclose wireless communication technologies that can only be established within a certain distance between nodes.
Claim 64 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 51.
Claim 66 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 63.
Claim 67 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 52.
Claim 68 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 53.
Claim 69 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 54.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 55 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Loo et al. (US 12,210,726)
In regard to claim 55, Ren failed to disclose:
before establishing the first wireless communication channel, authenticating the first user device by comparing an identity of the first user device and/or the equipment with identities of at least one trust list.
However, Loo disclosed:
before establishing the first wireless communication channel, authenticating the first user device by comparing an identity of the first user device and/or the equipment with identities of at least one trust list. Loo column 6 lines 40-65
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use authentication of IoT devices with Ren in order to provide better network security.
Claim 70 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 55.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Han et al. (US 2024/0121296
In regard to claim 56, Ren failed to disclose:
creating a virtual network interface for the first user device using a proxy of the equipment;
establishing, by the first user device, the first wireless communication channel with the proxy.
However, Han disclosed:
creating a virtual network interface for the first user device using a proxy of the equipment; Han [0073]
establishing, by the first user device, the first wireless communication channel with the proxy. Han [0073]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a virtual network interface using a proxy with Ren for purposes of network security.
Claims 62 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Turock et al. (US 2025/0124520)
In regard to claim 62, Ren failed to disclose the second data comprise any of a firmware, a log file, usage metrics, a software package, a data stream, a remote management message, a digital signage.
However, Turock disclosed the second data comprise any of a firmware, a log file, usage metrics, a software package, a data stream, a remote management message, a digital signage. Turock [0038]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit firmware over the Ren network in order to update IoT equipment in Ren with the latest firmware.
Claim 65 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 62.
Claims 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Han in view of Javali et al. (US 10,205,804)
In regard to claim 57, Ren and Han failed to disclose:
the proxy establishing a first tunnel between the proxy and the first user device by negotiating with the first user device;
the proxy sending an initial request (SYN) to the first user device through the first tunnel for initiating a first flow of communication session with the server;
the first user device forwarding the initial request (SYN) to the server through the second communication channel;
initiating the first flow of the communication session towards the equipment by sending an initial response (SYN + ACK) to the first user device through the second communication channel;
the first user device forwarding the initial response (SYN + ACK) to the proxy;
the proxy sending an acknowledgement (ACK) to the first user device through the first tunnel for indicating acceptance of the first flow of the communication session initiated by the server;
the first user device forwarding the acknowledgement (ACK) to the server through the second communication channel;
wherein after the server receives the acknowledgement (ACK), the first flow of the communication session through the first user device is established.
However, Javali disclosed:
the proxy establishing a first tunnel between the proxy and the first user device by negotiating with the first user device;
the proxy sending an initial request (SYN) to the first user device through the first tunnel for initiating a first flow of communication session with the server;
the first user device forwarding the initial request (SYN) to the server through the second communication channel;
initiating the first flow of the communication session towards the equipment by sending an initial response (SYN + ACK) to the first user device through the second communication channel;
the first user device forwarding the initial response (SYN + ACK) to the proxy;
the proxy sending an acknowledgement (ACK) to the first user device through the first tunnel for indicating acceptance of the first flow of the communication session initiated by the server;
the first user device forwarding the acknowledgement (ACK) to the server through the second communication channel;
wherein after the server receives the acknowledgement (ACK), the first flow of the communication session through the first user device is established.
Javali column 5 lines 14-19, column 6 lines 18-40
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a three way handshake when establishing a TCP connection over a proxy in the Ren / Han combination so that the TCP connection can be created.
In regard to claim 58, Javali disclosed a second user device, the method further comprising:
after the second user device establishing the corresponding first wireless communication channel with the proxy, the proxy sending a first message (ADD_ADDR) to the server through the first tunnel, for informing the existence of the second user device;
the proxy establishing a second tunnel between the proxy and the second user device by negotiating with the second user device;
the proxy sending an initial request (SYN) to the first user device through the second tunnel for initiating a second flow of the communication session with the server;
the second user device forwarding the initial request (SYN) to the server through the second communication channel;
initiating the second flow of the communication session towards the equipment by sending an initial response (SYN+ACK) to the second user device through the second communication channel;
the second user device forwarding the initial response (SYN+ACK) to the proxy;
the proxy sending an acknowledgement (ACK) to the second user device through the second tunnel for indicating acceptance of the second flow of the communication session initiated by the server;
the second user device forwarding the acknowledgement (ACK) to the server through the second communication channel;
wherein after the server receives the acknowledgement (ACK), the second flow of the communication session through the second user device is established.
Javali column 5 lines 14-19, column 6 lines 18-40
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Han in view of Javali in view of Boucadair et al. (US 2018/0351852)
In regard to claim 59, Ren / Han / Javali failed to disclose:
when the established first wireless communication channel of the first user device is interrupted or terminated, terminating the first flow of the established communication session by having the proxy send a second message (REMOVE_ADDR) to the server to terminating the first flow through the second tunnel.
However, Boucadair disclosed:
when the established first wireless communication channel of the first user device is interrupted or terminated, terminating the first flow of the established communication session by having the proxy send a second message (REMOVE_ADDR) to the server to terminating the first flow through the second tunnel. Boucadair [0032], [0128]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to terminate the tunnel in Javali when not in use by using the REMOVE_ADDR message in order to terminate the TCP tunnel.
Claims 60 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Di et al. (CN 107147519 B)
In regard to claim 60, Ren failed to disclose:
when the second data is an upload data from the equipment to the server, the server sending a response to the first user device indicating whether the second data is successful received or not;
the first user device forwarding the response to the equipment.
However, Di disclosed:
when the second data is an upload data from the equipment to the server, the server sending a response to the first user device indicating whether the second data is successful received or not;
the first user device forwarding the response to the equipment.
Di: “Specifically, the firmware data can be the firmware downloading server in the remote server sends to the device. In an alternative embodiment, the firmware download server verifies the update license after receiving the update license sent by the device, and returns the firmware data to the device under the condition of successful verification, the device updates firmware according to the firmware data.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify data reception in Ren when performing a TCP data connection in Ren.
In regard to claim 61, Ren failed to disclose:
when the second data is a download data from the server to the equipment, the equipment sending a response to the first user device indicating whether the second data is successful received or not;
the first user device forwarding the response to the server.
However, Di disclosed:
when the second data is a download data from the server to the equipment, the equipment sending a response to the first user device indicating whether the second data is successful received or not;
the first user device forwarding the response to the server.
Di: “Specifically, the firmware data can be the firmware downloading server in the remote server sends to the device. In an alternative embodiment, the firmware download server verifies the update license after receiving the update license sent by the device, and returns the firmware data to the device under the condition of successful verification, the device updates firmware according to the firmware data.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify data reception in Ren when performing a TCP data connection in Ren.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paulraj et al. US 2024/0095020
Jeffrey R. Swearingen
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2445
/Jeffrey R Swearingen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445