Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is drawn to a computer readable medium. The BRI of machine readable media can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007). When the BRI encompasses transitory forms of signal transmission, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 as failing to claim statutory subject matter would be appropriate. Thus, a claim to a computer readable medium that can be a compact disc or a carrier wave covers a non-statutory embodiment and therefore should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See, e.g., Mentor Graphics v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d at 1294-95, 112 USPQ2d at 1134 (claims to a “machine-readable medium” were non-statutory, because their scope encompassed both statutory random-access memory and non-statutory carrier waves)
Claims 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to “comparing test results” and showing “possible sameness” without significantly more. Examiner considers the “comparing test results” and showing “possible sameness” to encompass mental steps. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because once the mental step/determination is done, no further step or integration is performed. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the prior art (as discussed below) teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perrson (US 2019/0192996).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-8, Persson teaches receiving a waste oil in a receiving tank (5); forwarding waste oil from a first one of at least one receiving tank to treatment tank (7) the oil treatment comprising a decanter/centrifuge, and measuring at least one property of the oil by censor 11 which measures density before treatment [0025-0030], see figure. Perrson adjusts one or more settings of the oil treatment based on the density and it’s correspondence to a threshold [0030]. The centrifuge/decanter purifies the waste oil, which would decrease water content/sludge content/and particle size [0026]. Perrson teaches that depending on if the detected property corresponds to a threshold, the product may be transferred to another destination or another part of the system for purification [0030].
Perrson teaches that there can be 2 water storage tanks (15 and 22). Perrson teaches that depending on what the measurement is, streams can be sent to either of the water storage tanks or further treatment in the preparation tank (5) [0031].
Regarding claim 2, Perrson teaches measuring density or determining water content [0029-0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson (US 2019/0192996) in view of Coutinho (US 2008/0221226).
Regarding claims 3-4, Perrson teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Perrson does not explicitly disclose sending the products to external laboratory.
However, Examiner notes that it is conventional in the art to use external laboratories to measure properties for commercial sale. Coutinho teaches sending products to external laboratories to text additional properties and to monitor process efficiency [0039-0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used well known laboratories/as disclosed by Coutinho, in order to determine the properties of the products obtained, so they may be accurately described for sale.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson (US 2019/0192996.
Regarding claim 11, Perrson teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Perrson teaches measuring properties and controller used to adjust the process.
While Perrson does not explicitly disclose computer readable medium, Examiner notes that computer readable mediums such as compact disks, hard disk drives, and usb drives, are well known in the art to perform control processes as described by Perrson.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to appropriately select a well known computer readable medium, in order to implement the process control process described by Perrson.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771