DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6,7,9,11,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deliwala et al., (Deliwala) US 2020/0161502 in view of Soref et al., (Soref) USPAT 6,154,475.
Regarding claim 1, Deliwala discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, a multi-wavelength emitting structure (an LED 1000 which operates in a wavelength range of 2-15 m: para [0065], [0113]) comprising: a substrate (LED 1000 includes a growth substrate 1030, fig 10; para [0113]); and a vertical structure over the substrate and extending vertically away from the substrate along an axis (a superlattice heterostructure with tunnel junctions 1040 is placed on top of the growth substrate 1030 and extends away from the growth substrate 1030 vertically on an axis; fig 10; para [0113]), the vertical structure comprising: a first active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at a first wavelength; a second active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (the superlattice heterostructure includes alternating layers of semiconducting crystal layers which form light emitting structures cascaded by tunnel junctions, the different layers including a first active region of layers and a second active region of different layers for emitting light at a first and different second wavelengths, respectively; para [0020], [0069]-[0072], [0113]),
wherein the second active region is closer to the substrate than the first active region and spaced apart from the first active region (the second active region of layers is the region of layers closer to the growth substrate 1030 and is spaced apart by intermediate layers; fig 10; para [0113]); wherein the one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the first wavelength; and an electrically conductive material along sidewalls of at least one of the first active region or the second active region (the layers of active regions include layers of semiconducting crystals, the layers acting like walls against each other, para [0020], [0069]-[0071], [0113]).
Deliwala differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions.
Soref shows in Fig.1, and discloses (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40)(the layers could be p-i-p, n-i-p, different polarities).
Soref is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Deliwala. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Soref in the device of Deliwala because it would provide a device that can increase the useable thickness of a quantum-parallel superlattice stack, (2) improved waveguide-filling factor relative to quantum cascade laser (col.10, line 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 1. ANALOG further discloses wherein one of the first active region or the second active region absorbs light from the other one of the first active region or the second active region (light is emitted by light emitting structures within the superlattice, the light emitting structures of each layer absorbing at least some of the emitted light from the other layer; para [0020], [0069]-[0071], [0113]).
Regarding claim 3, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 1. ANALOG further discloses wherein: the electrically conductive material is a first electrically conductive material, the vertical structure further comprises a second electrically conductive material, and the first active region and the second active region are connected by the electrically conductive material (the superlattice includes layers of semiconducting crystals, which includes a first layer of gallium antimonide and a second layer of indium arsenide, the first and second active regions being connected by the semiconducting crystals; para [0020], [0069]-[0071], [0113]).
Regarding claim 4, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, ANALOG discloses the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 3. ANALOG further discloses wherein the second electrically conductive material comprises at least one of gallium antimonide, indium arsenide, an alloy, or a superlattice (the second layer of semiconducting crystal is comprised of indium arsenide: para [0020], [0069]-[0071]. [0113]).
Regarding claim 6, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 1. ANALOG further discloses wherein: one of the first active region or the second active region has a p-n configuration or a p-i-n configuration, and the other one of the first active region or the second active region has a n-p configuration or a n-i-p configuration (the layered superlattice of semiconducting materials includes a first active region of layers contains layers in an order of p-type block 540, an intermediate layer junction 530, and an n-type block 520, and second active region of layers containing layers in an order of n-type block 520, an intermediate layer of tunnel junction 510, and a p-type block 540, as depicted in the structure of fig 5 which is found in fig 10; para [0088]-[0089], [0113]).
Regarding claim 7, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 1. ANALOG further discloses further comprising: a first terminal and a second terminal, each including a metal layer, wherein: the first terminal is in contact with the first active region, and the second terminal is in contact with the substrate (a first electrode 1080 is in contact with the layers of a first active region, and a second ring electrode 1010 is in contact with growth substrate 1030; fig 10; para [0113]).
Regarding claim 9, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, As per claim 9, the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 1. ANALOG further discloses wherein: the vertical structure further comprises an electrically conductive material covering all areas and sidewalls of the vertical structure except for a window at a first surface of the vertical structure for light emission from the first and second active regions, and the first surface is opposite to a second surface of the vertical structure that is adjacent to the substrate (the superlattice heterostructure 1040 includes semiconducting layers and junctions which occupy all areas and internal walls of the structure except for a first bottom surface for light to be emitted and reflected from the first and second active regions of layers, and a second surface on top which is adjacent to the substrate 1030; fig 10; para [0113]).
Regarding claim 11, Deliwala discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, a multi-wavelength photodetector structure (a photodetector 1000 which operates in a wavelength range of 2-15 m; para [0065], [0113]) comprising: a substrate (photodetector 1000 includes a growth substrate 1030; fig 10; para [0113]); and a vertical structure over the substrate and extending away from the substrate along an axis (a superlattice heterostructure with tunnel junctions 1040 is placed on top of the growth substrate 1030 and extends away from the substrate 1060 vertically on an axis; fig 10; para [0113]), the vertical structure comprising: a first active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light detection at a first wavelength; a second active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light detection at a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (the superlattice heterostructure includes alternating layers of semiconducting crystal layers which form
light emitting structures cascaded by tunnel junctions, the different layers including a first active region of layers and a second active region of different layers for detecting light at a first and different second wavelengths, respectively; para [0020], [0069]-[0072], [0113]), wherein the second active region is closer to the substrate than the first active region and spaced apart from the first active region (the second active region of layers is the region of layers closer to the substrate 1060; fig 10; para [0113]); and an electrically conductive material along sidewalls of at least one of the first active region or the second active region (the layers of active regions include layers of semiconducting
crystals, the layers acting like walls against each other; para [0069]-[0071]: [0113]).
Deliwala differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions.
Soref shows in Fig.1, and discloses (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40)(the layers could be p-i-p, n-i-p, different polarities).
Soref is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Deliwala. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Soref in the device of Deliwala because it would provide a device that can increase the useable thickness of a quantum-parallel superlattice stack, (2) improved waveguide-filling factor relative to quantum cascade laser (col.10, line 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Deliwala discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, an integrated circuit (IC) device for medium wavelength infrared (MWIR) [0094] or long wavelength infrared (LWIR), the device comprising: a substrate (an LED 1000 which operates in a wavelength range of 2-15 m: para [0065], [0113]); and an epitaxial structure [0030] over the substrate and extending away from the substrate, the epitaxial structure comprising: a first active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at a first center wavelength (the superlattice heterostructure includes alternating layers of semiconducting crystal layers which form light emitting structures cascaded by tunnel junctions, the different layers including a first active region of layers and a second active region of different layers for emitting light at a first and different; second wavelengths, respectively; para [0020], [0069]-[0072], [0113]),; a second active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at a second center wavelength different from the first center wavelength, wherein a distance from the second active region to the substrate is shorter than a distance from the first active region to the substrate; and a middle region between the first active region and the second active region, the middle region including an absorbing material to absorb at least a portion of a shorter wavelength light emission of the first active region or the second active region (the layers of active regions include layers of semiconducting crystals, the layers acting like walls against each other, para [0020], [0069]-[0071], [0113]).
Deliwala differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions.
Soref shows in Fig.1, and discloses (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40)(the layers could be p-i-p, n-i-p, different polarities).
Soref is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Deliwala. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Soref in the device of Deliwala because it would provide a device that can increase the useable thickness of a quantum-parallel superlattice stack, (2) improved waveguide-filling factor relative to quantum cascade laser (col.10, line 1-5).
Regarding claims 19,20, Deliwala discloses and shows in FIG. 1-10, an IC device wherein the middle region further includes dopants to form one of a common anode [0093] or a common cathode for the first and second active regions; wherein the middle region further includes dopants to form an anode [0093] for one of the first active region or the second active region and a cathode for the other one of the first active region or the second active region [0099].
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 10. 12, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 6,891,869 82 to Augusto, C. (hereinafter "AUGUSTO").
Regarding claim 1, Augusto discloses a multi-wavelength emitting structure (a wavelength-selective photo-emitter; col 16, lines 59-67) comprising: a substrate (the wavelength-selective photo-emitter includes a crystalline substrate and insulator layer as a base; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43); and a vertical structure over the substrate and extending vertically away from the substrate along an axis (a structure of active layers and insulators extends vertically away from the crystalline substrate along an axis; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43), the vertical structure comprising: a first active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at a first wavelength; a
second active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (the structure of active layers include a first active layer comprised of superlattices for light emission and a second active layer comprised of superlattices for light emissions, the wavelength of light emitted from the second active layer being a second, different wavelength; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43), wherein the second active region is closer to the substrate than the first active region and spaced apart from the first active region (the second active layer is closer to the crystalline substrate and is spaced separated from the upper first
active layer by intermediate layers; fig 2A; col 13. lines 17-43): and an electrically conductive material along sidewalls of at least one of the first active region or the second active region (contact conductors, which are electrically conductive, is positioned alongside walls of the first and second active layers; fig 2A; col 11, lines 42-51; col 13, lines 17-43).
Augusto differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions.
Soref shows in Fig.1, and discloses (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40)(the layers could be p-i-p, n-i-p, different polarities).
Soref is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Augusto. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Soref in the device of Augusto because it would provide a device that can increase the useable thickness of a quantum-parallel superlattice stack, (2) improved waveguide-filling factor relative to quantum cascade laser (col.10, line 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Augusto in view of Soref discloses: a first terminal and a second terminal, each including a metal layer, wherein: the first terminal is in contact with the first active region, and the second terminal is in contact with the substrate (a first conductor, which acts 35 3 terminal and includes a layer of metal, is in contact with the first active layer, and a second conductor which acts as a second terminal also includes a layer of metal and contacts the insulator layer of the crystalline substrate base; fig 2A; col 11, lines 42-51; col 13, lines 17-43).
Regarding claim 8, Augusto in view of Soref discloses the multi-wavelength emitting structure of claim 7. AUGUSTO further discloses further comprising: a third terminal including a metal layer, wherein: the vertical structure further comprises a middle region between the first active region and the second active region, and the third terminal is in contact with the middle region (the wavelength-selective photon-emitting structure includes a third intermediate conductor which contacts a middle active layer region that is positioned between the first active layer and second active layer as shown in fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43).
Regarding claim 10, Augusto in view of Soref discloses wherein the vertical structure further comprises a middle region between the first active region and the second active region, the middle region including an absorbing material that absorbs a shorter wavelength light emission of the first active region or the second active region (the wavelength-selective photon-emitting structure includes a middle active layer region that is positioned between the first active layer and the second active layer, the middle active layer being configurable to absorb photons in a configuration that includes wavelengths shorter than the first active layer; col 13, lines 17-43; col 16, lines 53-57).
Regarding claim 11, Augusto discloses a multi-wavelength photodetector structure (a wavelength-selective photo-emitter; col 16, lines 59-67) comprising: a substrate (the wavelength-selective photo-emitter includes 3 crystalline substrate and insulator layer as a base; fig. 2A; col 13, lines 17-43); and a vertical structure over the substrate and extending away from the substrate along an axis (a structure of
active layers and insulators extends vertically away from the crystalline substrate along an axis; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43), the vertical structure comprising: a first active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light detection at a first wavelength; a second active region including one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light detection at a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (the structure of active layers include a first active layer comprised of superlattices for light emission and a second active layer comprised of superlattices for light emissions, the wavelength of light emitted from the second active layer being a second, different wavelength; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43), wherein the second active region is closer to the substrate than the first active region and spaced apart from the first active region (the second active layer is closer to the crystalline substrate and is spaced separated from the upper first active layer by intermediate layers; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43); and an electrically conductive material along sidewalls of at least one of the first active region or the second active region (contact conductors, which are electrically conductive, is positioned along side walls of the first and second active layers; fig 2A; col 11, lines 42-51; col 13, lines 17-43).
Augusto differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions.
Soref shows in Fig.1, and discloses (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) a device wherein one or more cascade stages of superlattices for light emission at the second wavelength are separated into two distinct vertically separated active regions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40) that are doped such that polarities of the two distinct vertically separated active regions, along the axis, are in opposite directions (col.5,line 30-40, col.6, line 25-35, col.9, line 20-40)(the layers could be p-i-p, n-i-p, different polarities).
Soref is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Augusto. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Soref in the device of Augusto because it would provide a device that can increase the useable thickness of a quantum-parallel superlattice stack, (2) improved waveguide-filling factor relative to quantum cascade laser (col.10, line 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Augusto in view of Soref discloses wherein: the electrically conductive material is a first electrically conductive material, the vertical structure further comprises a middle region between the first active region and the second active region, and the middle region includes a second electrically conductive material (the wavelength-selective photon-emitting structure includes a middle active layer region that is positioned between the first active layer and the second active layer, the middle active layer also including second contact conductors and being electrically conductive; fig 2A; col. 11, lines 42-51: col 13, lines 17-43).
Regarding claim 14, Augusto in view of Soref discloses further comprising: a first terminal and a second terminal, each including a metal layer, wherein: the first terminal is in contact with the first active region, and the second terminal is in contact with the substrate (a first conductor, which acts as a terminal and includes a layer of metal, is in contact with the first active layer, and a second conductor which acts as a second terminal also includes a layer of metal and contacts the insulator layer of the crystalline substrate base; fig 2A; col 11, lines 42-51; col. 13, lines 17-43).
Regarding claim 15, Augusto in view of Soref discloses the multi-wavelength photodetector structure further comprising: a first terminal, a second terminal, and a third terminal, each including a metal layer, wherein: the first terminal is in contact with the first active region, the second terminal is in contact with the substrate, the vertical structure further comprises a middle region between the first active region and the second active region, and the third terminal is in contact with the middle region (the wavelength-selective photon-emitting structure includes a first contact conductor contacts the first active layer, a second contact conductor contacts the second active layer, and a third intermediate contact conductor connecting to the middle active layer region that is positioned between the first active layer and second active layer as shown in fig 2A, the contact conductors acting as terminals and including layers of metal; col 11, lines 42-51; col 13. lines 17-43).
Regarding claim 16, Augusto in view of Soref discloses the multi-wavelength photodetector structure wherein the vertical structure further comprises a middle region between the first active region and the second active region, the middle region including an absorbing material that absorbs light of a shorter wavelength of the first wavelength or the second wavelength (the wavelength-selective photon-emitting structure includes a middle active layer region that is positioned between the first active layer and the
second active layer, the middle active layer being configurable to absorb photons in a configuration that includes wavelengths shorter than the first active layer; col 13, lines 17-43; col 16, lines 53-57).
Regarding claim 17, Augusto in view of Soref discloses the multi-wavelength photodetector structure further discloses wherein: the vertical structure further comprises at least one of: a third active region comprising one or more cascaded stages of superlattice for light detection at the first wavelength, and a fourth active region comprising one or more cascaded stages of superlattice for light detection at the second wavelength, and a sensing ratio between the first active region and the second active region is different than a sensing ratio between the third active region and the fourth active region (the structure of active layers extending vertically from the crystalline substrate includes a third intermediate active layer comprised of a superlattice for light detection at a wavelength that is configurable to be the first wavelength; fig 2A; col 13, lines 17-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deliwala in view of Soref as applied to claims 1-4,6,7,9,11 and further in view of US 2004/0121507 A1 to Bude et., al (hereinafter " Bude ").
Regarding claim 5, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses the multi-wavelength emitting structure.
Deliwala in view of Soref differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein along the axis, a polarity of the first active region is opposite to a polarity of the second active region.
Bude discloses wherein along the axis, a polarity of the first active region is opposite to a polarity of the second active region (along an axis of a photodetector having an array of active regions, the active regions are established with opposing polarities; abstract; para [0104]-[0109]).
Bude is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Deliwala in view of Soref. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bude in the device of Deliwala in view of Soref to gain the advantages of ensuring that there are always high fields that accelerate the generated photocarriers so that the drift transit time is minimized (see BUDE para [0109]).
Regarding claim 13, Deliwala in view of Soref discloses the multi-wavelength photodetector structure.
Deliwala in view of Soref differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose wherein along the axis, a polarity of the first active region is opposite to a polarity of the second active region.
Bude discloses wherein along the axis, a polarity of the first active region is opposite to a polarity of the second active region (along an axis of a photodetector having an array of active regions, the active regions are established with opposing polarities; abstract; para [0104]-[0109]). It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the active regions of ANALOG to include wherein along the axis a polarity of the first active region is opposite to a polarity of the second active region as taught by Bude to gain the advantages of ensuring that there are always high fields that accelerate the generated photocarriers 50 that the drift transit time is minimized (see Bude para [0109]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent reference
Wang US 2021/0313774 discloses a QCL element operating in the near-infrared wavelength range, having a quantum cascade laser element 1000 having a semiconductor superlattice structure (QCL structure 100) sandwiched between a pair of conductive sections 20 and 30. The semiconductor superlattice structure serves as an active region that emits electromagnetic waves. The active region has a plurality of unit structures 10U that are stacked on top of each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813