DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first bottom spline pocket and the bottom spline insert of claim 2 must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “its” in line 7, line 12, line 21, line 23 and in line 24. Numerous elements are previously introduced and thus, it is unclear as to which each refers. It appears this language is intended to refer to “each bottom subpanel,” “each top subpanel,” “each bottom subpanel,” “an adjacent bottom subpanel,” “and “the adjacent bottom subpanel” respectively and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 2, claim 2 recites, “its” in line 7. Numerous elements are previously introduced and thus, it is unclear as to which each refers. It appears this language is intended to refer to “the adjacent bottom subpanel” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 7, claim 7 recites, “its” in line 8, line 12, line 23, line 24, line 39 and in line 41. Numerous elements are previously introduced and thus, it is unclear as to which each refers. It appears this language is intended to refer to “a respective adjacent bottom subpanel,” “the respective adjacent bottom subpanel,” “an adjacent bottom subpanel,” “the adjacent bottom subpanel,” “a respective adjacent top subpanel” and “the respective adjacent top subpanel” respectively and will be interpreted as such.
In addition, claim 7 recites, “the spline connections” on page 4, line 10, “the plurality of top subpanels” on page 5, line 7, “the plurality of top subpanels” on page 5, line 8, “the top segmented layer” on page 5, line 10, “the top segmented layer” on page 5, line 11, “the plurality of top subpanels” on page 5, line 12, “its respective adjacent top subpanels” on page 5, lines 12-13, “each top subpanel” on page 5, line 14, “its respective adjacent top subpanel” on page 5, line 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the one or more bottom spline connections,” “the plurality of mass timber top subpanels,” “the plurality of mass timber top subpanels,” “a top segmented layer,” “a top segmented layer,” “the plurality of mass timber top subpanels,” “a respect adjacent mass timber top subpanel,” “each mass timber top subpanel,” “a respective adjacent mass timber top subpanel” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 8, claim 8 recites, “the… plurality of top subpanels” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the… plurality of mass timber top subpanels” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 3-6 and 9-13 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epinosa (US 2020/0299962) in view of Schilcher (US 2018/0355604) and Conboy (US 2019/0171998).
Re claim 1, Epinosa discloses a structural panel (Fig. 3 8) made substantially from mass timber ([0032] disclosing CLT, [0043] of Applicant’s specification including CLT) for use as a flooring panel or wall panel ([0032]), the structural panel (8) having a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 8) and a transverse axis (transverse axis of 8), comprising:
a bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments), defining a first plane (plane that shown in examiner comments), the bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments) comprising a plurality of bottom subpanels (4), the bottom subpanels (4) being substantially planar (Fig. 3), arranged side-by-side (Fig. 3) in the first plane (plane of 4), and oriented in line with (Fig. 3) the transverse axis (transverse axis of 8) of the structural panel (8), with each bottom subpanel (4) fixedly connected to ([0029]) one or more of its respective adjacent bottom subpanels (4);
a top segmented layer (see examiner comments), defining a second plane (plane that shown in examiner comments), the top segmented layer (see examiner comments) comprising a plurality of top subpanels (4), the top subpanels (4) being substantially planar (Fig. 3), arranged side-by-side (Fig. 3) in the second plane (plane of 4), and oriented in line with (Fig. 3) the transverse axis (transverse axis of 8), with each top subpanel (of 4) fixedly connected to ([0029]) one or more of its respective adjacent top subpanels (4); and
an interstitial layer (see examiner comments; 6) disposed between (Fig. 3) the bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments) and the top segmented layer (see examiner comments), the interstitial layer (see examiner comments; 6) comprising a plurality of elongate interstitial ribs (6) oriented generally in line with (Fig. 3) the longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 8) of the structural panel (8), and defining a space (14) between the bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments) and the top segmented layer (see examiner comments), each of the plurality of interstitial ribs (see examiner comments; 6) spanning over (Fig. 3) two or more of the plurality of bottom subpanels (4) and over two or more of the plurality of top subpanels (4), and fixedly connected to ([0029]) the bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments) and to the top segmented layer (see examiner comments);
wherein the first plane (plane of the bottom segmented layer per the examiner comments) and the second plane (plane of the top segmented layer per the examiner comments) are parallel with each other (Fig. 3);
wherein the structural panel (8) is for use as a flooring panel or wall panel ([0032]) for a multi-storey building [0002] disclosing a building, 8 being capable of use with a multi-storey building); and
wherein the bottom subpanels (4 on the bottom segmented layer per examiner comments) and top subpanels (4 on the top segmented layer per examiner comments) are made substantially from mass timber ([0032] disclosing CLT),
but fails to disclose wherein each bottom subpanel is fixedly connected to its adjacent bottom subpanels by one or more bottom spline connections, wherein each of the one or more bottom spline connections comprise a bottom spline overlapping said bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel and the bottom spline is fixedly connected to the bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel with adhesive; wherein each top subpanel is fixedly connected to its adjacent top subpanels using a plurality of crossing nail connections or optionally using one or more top spline connections.
However, Schilcher discloses wherein each bottom subpanel (bottom 2) is fixedly connected to its adjacent bottom subpanels (bottom 2) by one or more bottom spline connections (10), wherein each of the one or more bottom spline connections (10) comprise a bottom spline (10) overlapping (being inserted into the grooves therein, 10 overlaps the planes of 2) said bottom subpanel (2) and its adjacent bottom subpanel (2) and the bottom spline (10) is fixedly connected to (Fig. 15) the bottom subpanel (2) and its adjacent bottom subpanel (2) with adhesive ([0052]; claim 8 also disclosing securement with glue; as no contact between the adhesive, subpanel and/or spline is required).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural panel of Epinosa wherein each bottom subpanel is fixedly connected to its adjacent bottom subpanels by one or more bottom spline connections, wherein each of the one or more bottom spline connections comprise a bottom spline overlapping said bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel and the bottom spline is fixedly connected to the bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel with adhesive as disclosed by Schilcher in order to prevent gapping between panels ([0014]).
In addition, Conboy discloses wherein each top subpanel (Fig. 7) is fixedly connected to its adjacent top subpanels (Fig. 7) using a plurality of crossing nail connections ([0088]) or optionally using one or more top spline connections (this being optional/conditional language).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural panel of Epinosa wherein each top subpanel is fixedly connected to its adjacent top subpanels using a plurality of crossing nail connections or optionally using one or more top spline connections as disclosed by Conboy in order to increase holding strength and resistance to pull-out, both being well-known benefits of cross-nailing.
Re claim 2, Epinosa as modified discloses the structural panel of claim 1, Schilcher discloses wherein each of the bottom spline connections (10) comprise a first bottom spline pocket (7) disposed proximate a side edge (edge of 2) of the bottom subpanel (2), a corresponding second bottom spline pocket (7) disposed proximate an adjacent side edge (edge of 2) of the adjacent bottom subpanel (2), and a bottom spline insert (11), wherein the first bottom spline pocket (7) and second bottom spline pocket (7) are configured to receive the bottom spline insert (11); wherein the bottom spline insert (11) overlaps (being inserted into the grooves therein, 10 overlaps the planes of 2) said bottom subpanel (2) and its adjacent bottom subpanel (2) and is fixedly connected to the bottom subpanel (2) and its adjacent bottom subpanel (2) with adhesive ([0052]; claim 8 also disclosing securement with glue; as no contact between the adhesive, subpanel and/or spline is required).
Re claim 3, Epinosa as modified discloses the structural panel of claim 2, Schilcher discloses wherein a top surface (top of 11) of the bottom spline insert (11) is flush (Fig. 9) with a top surface (top of 2) of the bottom segmented layer (2).
Re claim 4, Epinosa as modified discloses the structural panel of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the interstitial ribs are fixedly connected to the bottom segmented layer and the top segmented layer using nails.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural panel of Epinosa wherein the interstitial ribs are fixedly connected to the bottom segmented layer and the top segmented layer using nails, such as by utilizing nails instead of adhesive, in order to provide speed of installation (through no need to wait for curing), durability in high traffic areas, and to provide ease of disassembly for repair. It has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(B).
Re claim 6, Epinosa as modified discloses the structural panel of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of bottom subpanels and plurality of top subpanels is 6-20 feet in length, 1-8 feet in width, and 2-6 inches in thickness.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural panel of Epinosa wherein each of the plurality of bottom subpanels and plurality of top subpanels is 6-20 feet in length, 1-8 feet in width, and 2-6 inches in thickness in order to provide desired strength and rigidity of the assembled panel without over utilizing materials. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art ([0031]), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Claim(s) 7, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epinosa (US 2020/0299962) in view of Dittrich et al (“Dittrich”) (US 2022/0010608), Schilcher (US 2018/0355604) and Conboy (US 2019/0171998).
Re claim 7, Epinosa discloses a method (Fig. 3 showing 8 constructed) for constructing a structural panel (8) made substantially from mass timber ([0032] disclosing CLT, [0043] of Applicant’s specification including CLT) for use as a flooring panel or wall panel ([0032]), the structural panel (8) having a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 8) and a transverse axis (transverse axis of 8), the method comprising the steps of:
providing (Fig. 3 showing 4 provided) a plurality of mass timber ([0032]) bottom subpanels (4; see examiner comments);
orienting (Fig. 3 showing orientation) the plurality of bottom subpanels (4; see examiner comments) in line with (Fig. 3) a transverse axis (transverse axis of 8) of the structural panel (8) and positioning (Fig. 3 showing positioning) the plurality of bottom subpanels (4; see examiner comments) side-by-side (Fig. 3) in a first plane (plane of bottom 4 per examiner comments);
fixedly connecting ([0029]) each of the plurality of bottom subpanels (4; see examiner comments) to one or more of its respective adjacent bottom subpanels (4; see examiner comments) to form a bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments),
positioning (Fig. 3 showing positioning) a plurality of elongate interstitial ribs (see examiner comments; 6) atop the bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments) to form an interstitial layer (see examiner comments), each one of the interstitial ribs (see examiner comments) oriented generally in line with (Fig. 3) a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 8) of the structural panel (8) and spanning over (Fig. 3) two or more of the plurality of bottom subpanels (see examiner comments; 4);
fixedly connecting ([00209]) the plurality of interstitial ribs (see examiner comments; 6) to the bottom segmented layer (see examiner comments);
providing (Fig. 3 showing 4 provided) a plurality of mass timber ([0032]) top subpanels (4, see examiner comments);
orienting (Fig. 3 showing orientation) the plurality of top subpanels (see examation comments; 4) in line with (Fig. 3) the transverse axis (transverse axis of 8) of the structural panel (8), and positioning (Fig. 3 showing positioning) the plurality of top subpanels (see examation comments; 4) atop (Fig. 3) the interstitial layer (see examation comments; 6), side-by-side (Fig. 3) in a second plane (plane of 4 of the top subpanels per the examiner comments), wherein the second plane (plane of 4 of the top subpanels per the examiner comments) is parallel with (Fig. 3) the first plane (plane of 4 of the bottom subpanels per the examiner comments);
fixedly connecting ([0029]) the plurality of interstitial ribs (see examation comments; 6) to the top segmented layer (see examation comments; 4); and
fixedly connecting ([0029]) each of the plurality of top subpanels (see examation comments; 4) to one or more of its respective adjacent top subpanels (4) to form a top segmented layer (see examation comments), by (i) applying crossing nail connections along a respective seam between each top subpanel and its respective adjacent top subpanel or optionally by (ii) using one or more top spline connections and applying adhesive to the top spline connections using gluing means,
but fails to disclose placement of the plurality of bottom subpanels on an assembly table, the plurality of bottom panels connected together using one or more bottom spline connections, by applying adhesive to the spline connections using gluing means, wherein the step of fixedly connecting each of the plurality of bottom subpanels to one or more of its respective adjacent bottom subpanels to form a bottom segmented layer, using one or more bottom spline connections, comprises: providing a first bottom spline pocket disposed proximate a side edge of the bottom subpanel, and providing a corresponding second bottom spline pocket disposed proximate an adjacent side edge of the adjacent bottom subpanel, and providing a bottom spline insert, wherein the first bottom spline pocket and second bottom spline pocket are configured to receive the bottom spline insert; applying adhesive using gluing means to one or more of the first bottom spline pocket, the second bottom spline pocket and the bottom spline insert; and affixing the bottom spline insert to the first bottom spline pocket and the second bottom spline pocket such that the bottom spline insert overlaps the bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel and is fixedly connected to the bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel with adhesive, the interstitial ribs connected to the bottom segmented layer by applying nails through the interstitial ribs and the bottom segmented layer using nailing means, the interstitial ribs connected to the top segmented layer by applying nails through the interstitial ribs and the top segmented layer using nailing means, and the top subpanels connected to adjacent top subpanels by (i) applying crossing nail connections along a respective seam between each top subpanel and its respective adjacent top subpanel or optionally by (ii) using one or more top spline connections and applying adhesive to the top spline connections using gluing means.
However, Dittrich discloses placement of the plurality of bottom subpanels (Espinosa: see examation comments) on an assembly table ([0097]; 138).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Epinosa with placement of the plurality of bottom subpanels on an assembly table as disclosed by Dittrich in order to provide a stable, standard location for ease of assembly.
In addition, Schilcher discloses the plurality of bottom panels (2) connected together using one or more bottom spline connections (10), by applying adhesive ([0052]) to the spline connections (10) using gluing means (any means therefor, as [0052] must be applied), wherein the step of fixedly connecting each of the plurality of bottom subpanels (2) to one or more of its respective adjacent bottom subpanels (2) to form a bottom segmented layer (Fig. 9), using one or more bottom spline connections (10), comprises: providing (Fig. 7 showing 7 provided) a first bottom spline pocket (7) disposed proximate a side edge (edge of 2) of the bottom subpanel (2), and providing (Fig. 7 showing 7 provided) a corresponding second bottom spline pocket (7) disposed proximate an adjacent side edge (edge of 2) of the adjacent bottom subpanel (2), and providing (Fig. 7 showing 11 provided) a bottom spline insert (11), wherein the first bottom spline pocket (7) and second bottom spline pocket (7) are configured to receive the bottom spline insert (11); applying adhesive ([0052]) using gluing means (any means therefor) to one or more of ([0052] discloses application to 11, thus constituting “one or more of”) the first bottom spline pocket, the second bottom spline pocket and the bottom spline insert (11); and affixing (Fig. 9) the bottom spline insert (11) to the first bottom spline pocket (7) and the second bottom spline pocket (7) such that the bottom spline insert (11) overlaps (being inserted into the grooves therein, 10 overlaps the planes of 2) the bottom subpanel (2) and its adjacent bottom subpanel (2) and fixedly connected to (Fig. 15) the bottom subpanel (2) and its adjacent bottom subpanel (2) with adhesive ([0052]; claim 8 also disclosing securement with glue; as no contact between the adhesive, subpanel and/or spline is required).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Epinosa with the plurality of bottom panels connected together using one or more bottom spline connections, by applying adhesive to the spline connections using gluing means, wherein the step of fixedly connecting each of the plurality of bottom subpanels to one or more of its respective adjacent bottom subpanels to form a bottom segmented layer, using one or more bottom spline connections, comprises: providing a first bottom spline pocket disposed proximate a side edge of the bottom subpanel, and providing a corresponding second bottom spline pocket disposed proximate an adjacent side edge of the adjacent bottom subpanel, and providing a bottom spline insert, wherein the first bottom spline pocket and second bottom spline pocket are configured to receive the bottom spline insert; applying adhesive using gluing means to one or more of the first bottom spline pocket, the second bottom spline pocket and the bottom spline insert; and affixing the bottom spline insert to the first bottom spline pocket and the second bottom spline pocket such that the bottom spline insert overlaps the bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel and is fixedly connected to the bottom subpanel and its adjacent bottom subpanel with adhesive as disclosed by Schilcher in order to prevent gapping between panels ([0014]).
In addition, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Epinosa with the interstitial ribs connected to the bottom segmented layer by applying nails through the interstitial ribs and the bottom segmented layer using nailing means, the interstitial ribs connected to the top segmented layer by applying nails through the interstitial ribs and the top segmented layer using nailing means, such as by utilizing nails instead of adhesive, in order to provide speed of installation (through no need to wait for curing), durability in high traffic areas, and to provide ease of disassembly for repair. It has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(B).
In addition, Conboy discloses the top subpanels (Fig. 7) connected to adjacent top subpanels (Fig. 7) by (i) applying crossing nail connections ([0088]) along a respective seam (between panels in Fig. 7; [0088]) between each top subpanel (Fig. 7) and its respective adjacent top subpanel (Fig. 7) or optionally by (ii) using one or more top spline connections and applying adhesive to the top spline connections using gluing means (as this language is optional/conditional).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Espinosa with the top subpanels connected to adjacent top subpanels by (i) applying crossing nail connections along a respective seam between each top subpanel and its respective adjacent top subpanel or optionally by (ii) using one or more top spline connections and applying adhesive to the top spline connections using gluing means as disclosed by Conboy in order to increase holding strength and resistance to pull-out, both being well-known benefits of cross-nailing.
Re claim 8, Espinosa as modified discloses the method of claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of bottom subpanels and plurality of top subpanels is 6-20 feet in length, 1-8 feet in width, and 2-6 inches in thickness.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Epinosa wherein each of the plurality of bottom subpanels and plurality of top subpanels is 6-20 feet in length, 1-8 feet in width, and 2-6 inches in thickness in order to provide desired strength and rigidity of the assembled panel without over utilizing materials. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art ([0031]), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 11, Espinosa as modified discloses the method of claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the steps of orienting, position, nailing and applying adhesive are carried out by a robot equipped with one or more of a gripping means, effector means, nailing means and gluing means, the robot configured to move along a track disposed alongside the assembly table for assembling the structural panel.
However, Dittrich discloses wherein the steps of orienting (Fig. 1), position (Fig. 1), nailing ([0067]) and applying adhesive ([0107]) are carried out by a robot (110) equipped with one or more of a gripping means (113, 115), effector means, nailing means and gluing means (as 113, 115 constitute “one or more of), the robot (110) configured to move along a track (138) disposed alongside the assembly table ([0097]) for assembling the structural panel (Espinosa: 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Espinosa wherein the steps of orienting, position, nailing and applying adhesive are carried out by a robot equipped with one or more of a gripping means, effector means, nailing means and gluing means, the robot configured to move along a track disposed alongside the assembly table for assembling the structural panel as disclosed by Dittrich in order to allow for automatic programmatic configuration of members during assembly for specific applications based on span, load, and/or governing code requirements ([0016]).
Re claim 12, Espinosa as modified discloses the method of claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the steps of orienting, position, nailing and applying adhesive are carried out by a robot equipped with one or more of a gripping means, effector means, nailing means and gluing means, the robot configured to move along a track disposed alongside the assembly table for assembling the structural panel.
However, Dittrich discloses wherein the steps of orienting (Fig. 1), position (Fig. 1), nailing ([0067]) and applying adhesive ([0107]) are carried out by a first robot (110) and a second robot (120), where each of the first robot (110) and the second robot (120) is equipped with one or more of a gripping means (113/115, 125), effector means, nailing means and gluing means (as 113/115, 125constitute “one or more of), wherein the robot (110) configured to move along a track (138) disposed alongside the assembly table ([0097]) for assembling the structural panel (Espinosa: 8), wherein the second robot (120) configured to move along a track (126) disposed alongside the assembly table ([0097]) for assembling the structural panel (Espinosa: 8), the second side (Fig. 1) opposite to (120 and 110 being opposite) the first side (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Espinosa wherein the steps of orienting, position, nailing and applying adhesive are carried out by a robot equipped with one or more of a gripping means, effector means, nailing means and gluing means, the robot configured to move along a track disposed alongside the assembly table for assembling the structural panel as disclosed by Dittrich in order to allow for automatic programmatic configuration of members during assembly for specific applications based on span, load, and/or governing code requirements ([0016]).
Re claim 13, Espinosa as modified discloses a structural panel (8) constructed in accordance with the method of claim 7 (see above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner Comments
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635