DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robbin U.S. Patent No. 10,359,234.
Claim 1, Robbin teaches conveyor device 10 for conveying workpieces 12,18, optionally vehicle bodies 12,18 Fig. 1, the conveyor device 10 comprising: one or more conveyor units 20, wherein the one or more conveyor units 20 each include: a carriage Fig. 3 comprising a drive 48.1,48.2 by which each of the conveyor units 20 can be moved along a main conveyor direction of 24 of the conveyor device 10 Fig. 2 C5 L15-25; a receiving unit 26 for receiving at least one workpiece 12,18 C4 L20-35; a transfer unit 120 by which the at least one workpiece 12,18 can be moved in a transverse direction Fig. 9 oriented transverse to the main conveyor direction of 24, optionally to a further conveyor device 120 and/or from a further conveyor device 120 C9 L30-50.
Claim 2, Robbin teaches the receiving unit 26 is movable via 20 relative to a chassis (support of 10 Fig. 1) of the corresponding conveyor unit 10,120 by the transfer unit 120, wherein the receiving unit 120 optionally is movable by a motor via 46 in the transverse direction C5 L5-20.
Claim 3, Robbin teaches the transfer unit 120 includes a transfer frame of 120 on which at least one conveyor element 52.1 of the receiving unit 26 is movably fastened, and wherein the transfer frame of 120 is movable relative to the chassis (support of 10 Fig. 1) by an extension drive of 46 of the transfer unit 120, optionally can be displaced in the transverse direction by a motor 48.1,48.2.
Claim 4, Robbin teaches the receiving unit 26 includes at least one conveyor element 27, optionally at least one conveyor belt and/or at least one conveyor chain, onto which the at least one workpiece 12,18 can be placed and which can be moved via 10 and/or driven by a transfer drive 52.1 and/or an extension drive 52.1 of the transfer unit 120.
Claim 5, Robbin teaches the transfer unit 120 includes an extension device 52.1 by which the receiving unit 26 is movable via 48.1,48.2, optionally linearly displaceable, as a whole and/or relative to a chassis (support of 10 Fig. 1) of the carriage Fig. 3.
Claim 6, Robbin teaches the conveyor device 10 includes a housing which surrounds an interior which conveys the workpieces 12,18 Fig. 1 Abstract.
Claim 7, Robbin teaches a transfer drive 52.1 of the transfer unit 120, an extension drive 52.1 of an extension device 52.1, and/or a traction drive 52.1 of the carriage Fig. 3 are arranged outside an interior surrounded by the housing (along conveying path).
Claim 9, Robbin teaches conveyor device 10 according to claim 6, wherein the receiving unit 26 of each conveyor unit 10,120 is arranged in the interior and is movable completely within the housing by the transfer drive 52.1 and/or the transfer unit 120, optionally an extension drive 52.1 of the transfer unit 120 (in housing during drying treatment).
Claim 10, Robbin teaches treatment system 10 Abstract for treating workpieces 12,18, optionally for cleaning and/or coating and/or heating/cooling vehicle bodies, wherein the treatment system includes a plurality of treatment stations and at least one conveyor device 10,120 designed as a main conveyor device 10 according to claim 1 C2 L1-25 Fig. 1.
Claim 11, Robbin teaches one or more of the treatment stations 12 each includes one or more station conveyor devices 10,120, wherein the at least one conveyor device 10,120 is a main conveyor device 10 by which the workpieces 12,18 can be conveyed along the main conveyor direction of 10, and wherein the workpieces 12,18 can be transferred by means of the transfer units 120 of the conveyor units 10,120 to the one or more station conveyor devices 16, and/or can be taken from the one or more station conveyor devices 10,120 C6 L15-25 C3 L65-67; C4 L1-10 Figs. 1-11.
Claim 12, Robbin teaches a free space or gap at 134 is arranged between the at least one conveyor device 10,120 including a main conveyor device 10 and the one or more station conveyor devices 134, which free space or gap at 134 can be bridged by moving, optionally displacement by motor 48.1,48.2, of the receiving unit 26, optionally the transfer frame of 120 of the transfer unit 120 Fig. 11.
Claim 13, Robbin teaches treatment system 16,70 according to claim 10, wherein the workpieces 12,18 can be conveyed along the main conveyor direction of 10 in a transverse orientation at 120 by the at least one conveyor device 120 including a main conveyor device 10 Fig. 9, and can be introduced into one or more treatment stations 16,70 without change in orientation, and/or can be transferred to one or more station conveyor devices 120 without change in orientation Fig. 9.
Claim 14, Robbin teaches method for treating workpieces 12,18, optionally for cleaning and/or coating and/or heating/cooling vehicle bodies, wherein at least one conveyor device 10,120 according to claim 1 is used Abstract.
Claims 15 and 17, Robbin teaches method according to claim 14, further including the following: conveying at least one workpiece 12,18 by the conveyor device 11010,120 along the main conveyor direction of 10; introducing the at least one workpiece 12,18 into a treatment chamber 16,70 of one of the treatment stations Abstract, wherein the at least one workpiece 12,18 is transferred by the transfer unit 120 to a station conveyor device 134 of the treatment station Fig. 11; carrying out a treatment step in the treatment chamber 16; and discharging the at least one workpiece 12,18 from the treatment chamber 16 and transferring the at least one workpiece 12,18 to the receiving unit and/or transfer unit 120 of the conveyor device 10,120 C9 L30-50.
Claim 16, Robbin teaches method for treating workpieces 12,18, optionally for cleaning and/or coating and/or heating/cooling vehicle bodies, wherein at least one treatment system according to claim 10 is used Abstract.
Claim 18, Robbin teaches the drive 48.1,48.2 includes a traction drive 44.1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robbin U.S. Patent No. 10,359,234 in view of Iglio U.S. Patent No. 10,870,125.
Claim 8, Kim does not teach as Iglio teaches conveyor device 10 according to claim 6, wherein the housing 11 includes a feedthrough opening, optionally a feedthrough slot, through which the one or more conveyor units 13 extend, wherein the feedthrough opening, optionally the feedthrough slot, extends at least approximately parallel to the main conveyor direction, and wherein the one or more conveyor units 13 can be moved along the feedthrough opening, optionally along the feedthrough slot of 11 Fig. 1 C2 L35-50. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Robbin with the housing taught in Iglio with a reasonable expectation of success because
Conclusion
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS