DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of J. Perry et al., US 18/698,990 (Oct. 24, 2022) are pending. Claims 4, 7, 8, 11, 12 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, as being drawn to the non-elected invention of Group (II) or not reading on the elected species. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 are under examination on the merits and are rejected.
Restriction
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372. This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group (I) Claims 1-13 drawn to dual-use coolant comprising a fluid, the fluid having the chemical formula listed in claim 1;
Group (II) Claims 14-20 drawn to a method, comprising: providing a cooled solution; adding a feedstock to the cooled solution to form a tertiary alcohol; and.
Election of Species Requirement
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 for the reasons given below. The species are as follows:
the chemical formula listed in claim 1
Applicant is required to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally found allowable. Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Claims 4, 7, 8, 11 and 12 are withdrawn as not reading on the elected species.
Election by Telephone
In a telephone communication on October 14, 2026, Applicant’s representative Marshall Brown elected without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group (I), claims 1-13. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, as being drawn to the non-elected invention of Group (II). 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Pursuant to the election of species requirement, in second telephone communication with Marshall Brown on October 19, 2026, Applicant elected, without traverse, 3-ethyl-2,5-dimethyl-hexadecan-3-ol:
,
for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The elected species was searched and determined to be free of the art of record. The search/examination was extended to the species cited in the art-based rejection(s) below MPEP § 803.02 (III)(C)(2). The search was not further extended. The provisional election of species requirement is given effect and claims 4, 7, 8, 11, and 12 are withdrawn from consideration as not reading on the elected species. MPEP § 803.02(III)(A).
Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Lack of Unity of Invention
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons.
According to PCT Rule 13.2, unity of invention exists only when there is a shared same or corresponding special technical feature among the claimed inventions. The “Instructions Concerning Unity of Invention” (MPEP, Administrative Instructions Under the PCT, Annex B, Part 1(b)) state, “The expression 'special technical features' is defined in Rule 13.2 as meaning those technical features that define a contribution which each of the inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.” Thus, unity of invention exists only when the shared same or corresponding technical feature is a contribution over the art. The technical feature that unites the groups is not a contribution over the art.
Unity of Invention Is Lacking between Groups (I) and (II)
In the instant case, Groups (I) and (II) lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the common technical feature of a compound of tertiary alcohol of structure (I) this common technical feature is not special technical feature because it does not make a contribution over the art as set forth in the art-based rejection(s) below.
Rejoinder
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Interpretation
During examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2173.01(I); § 2111.01. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification.
Interpretation of the Claim 1 Preamble
Claim 1 recites as follows:
1. A dual-use coolant comprising: a fluid, the fluid having the following chemical formula:
.
The preamble phrase “dual-use coolant” is interpreted merely as an intended use (i.e., is not given patentable weight) because the body of claim 1 sets forth all of the limitations, and the cited preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations.1 MPEP § 2112.02(II) (citing Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
This interpretation is consistent with the specification, which teaches the following:
[0012] Following below are more detailed descriptions of various concepts related to a dual-use coolant and lubricant and methods of manufacturing thereof. The methods, apparatuses, and systems introduced herein may be implemented in various ways, as the described concepts are not limited to any particular manner of implementation. Examples of specific implementations and applications are provided primarily for illustrative purposes.
Specification at page 2, [0012] (emphasis added).
Furthermore, claim 1 is broadly and reasonably interpreted consistently with the specification as reading on compositions comprising or consisting of only the drawn alcohol formula. Respecting the preamble phrase “dual-use coolant”, the specification teaches that the organic fluid itself (i.e., the drawn alcohol) can function as the coolant or lubricant. Specification at page 4, lines 2-4; Id. at page 5, [0020] (stating “[i]n such embodiments, the formed tertiary alcohol may be a fluid referred to as X-500, and X-500 may be suitable for use as a dual-use coolant”). Therefore, while the claim 1 transitional phrase “comprising” is open-ended, and permits the presence of additional elements, claim 1 does not require such additional elements; that is, claim 1 reads on one-component compositions. In other words, a prior art alcohol (alone or in a further composition) meeting the claim 1 chemical formula limitations, will anticipate claim 1.
Interpretation of the Claim 13 ‘Wherein’ Clause
Claim 13 recites the following bolded ‘wherein’ clause.
13. The coolant of claim 1, wherein the coolant is also used2 as base fluid for a lubricant.
Whether such a ‘wherein’ clause is interpreted as a claim limitation (must be met by the prior art) depends on the specific facts of the case. MPEP § 2111.04(I) (citing Griffin v. Bertina, 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps"); In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (where the court noted that a "whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited’). Note also, that claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. MPEP § 2111.04 (citing In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (a ‘whereby clause’ in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited).
Here, similar to the preamble discussion above, the subject ‘wherein’ clause is interpreted merely as an intended use and not a patentable limitation because is does not structurally limit claim 13 in any manner.3
Rejections 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the claim must apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of its scope so as to provide clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement. MPEP 2173.02(II); Solomon v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 216 F.3d 1372, 1379, 55 USPQ2d 1279, 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2000). A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. MPEP § 2173.05(e) (citing In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1314, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Undefined Chemical Structure Variables
Claims 1-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite because variables R1, R2 and R3 are not all defined within a single claim. The rejection is provisional with respect to the withdrawn claims.
Respecting R1, the specification teaches that:
[0026] In some embodiments, R1 in Structure I comprises, consists essentially of, or is selected from a group consisting of a branched or unbranched C(3-20) alkyl or allyl group. In such embodiments, R1 may comprise, consist essentially of, or is selected from a group consisting of at least one hydrogen atom within the branched or unbranched C(3-20) alkyl or allyl group.
Specification at page 7, [0026]; see also, Id. at [0027] (further expanding upon the definition of R1).
Respecting R2 and R3, the specification teaches that:
[0032] In the fluid in the dual-use coolant, R2 in Structure I may be a C(1-20) alkyl group and in any combination of R1 as previously described herein.
Further, R3 in Structure I may also be a C(1-20) alkyl group and comprise any combination of R1.
In some embodiments, the R1, R2, and R3 groups in Structure I may be the same or different from each other.
Specification at page 9, [0032].
However, in view of the specification’s alternative language, it is not clear which specification embodiment(s) of R1, R2 and R3 are incorporated into the claims. MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Similarly, dependent claim 4-10 are rejected for the additional reason that R4, R5, R6 and/or R7 are not defined within these claims or their respective base claims.
In sum, each chemical-structure variable should be fully defined within the claim itself. MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Unclear Claim Language
Claims 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for the recitation respectively defining R1, R2 or R3 as either of the following two alternatives:
Claim 5, 9 and 10 . . . unsubstituted alkanes; [or]
saturated alkanes;
An “unsubstituted alkane” is by definition a “saturated alkane”, thus these two alternatives have the exact same meaning under a plain language interpretation. The language is at best superfluous. The § 112(b) issue is that by reciting the same alternative alkane using slightly different language, the meaning of the base term “alkane” is rendered unclear. For instance, since the plain meaning of “alkane” (in the absence of modifying language) is an unsubstituted saturated alkane, it is unclear if Applicant intends that the base term “alkane” has a broader meaning; for example, encompassing both substituted and unsubstituted saturated alkanes. See specification at page 7, [0027] (“R1 may comprise, consist essentially of, or is selected from a group consisting of at least one of unsubstituted alkanes, saturated alkanes, unsaturated alkanes, substituted alkanes, cyclic alkanes, or heterocyclic alkanes as well as aryl or heteroaryl groups”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
§ 112(d) Rejection of Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. See MPEP § 608.01(n)(III).
Claim 3 recites:
3. The coolant of claim 2, wherein R1 comprises at least one hydrogen atom.
However, claim 2 defines R1 as a C(3-20) alkyl group, which necessarily comprises at least one hydrogen. Therefore, claim 3 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 2 upon which it depends
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (AIA )
§ 102(a)(1)/(2) Rejection over US 2008/0166615 (2008) (“Egawa”)
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by H. Egawa et al., US 2008/0166615 (2008) (“Egawa”). Egawa discloses a coolant composition for fuel cells characterized by containing at least one aliphatic alcohol having unsaturated bonds in the molecules thereof. Egawa at page 1, [0014]. Egawa teaches that the aliphatic alcohols that anticipate the instant claims. Egawa at page 1, [0020]. For example, Egawa teaches the aliphatic alcohol may be either of 3,6-dimethyl-1-heptyne-3-ol or 3,7-dimethyl-6-octene-3-ol.
Egawa at page 1, [0020].
Prior art compound 3,6-dimethyl-1-heptyne-3-ol meets every chemical structure limitation of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13, where R1 is 2-methylbutane (a branched, unsubstituted alkane), R2 is methyl and R3 is ethyne (i.e. an unsaturated alkane, per dependent claim 10. Since the preamble is not given patentable weight (see Claim Interpretation above), claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 are anticipated.
Note that per Claim Interpretation above, the claim 13 recitation of “wherein the coolant is also used as base fluid for a lubricant” is also not given patentable weight but is interpreted merely as an intended use.
Prior art compound 3,7-dimethyl-6-octene-3-ol meets every chemical structure limitation of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13, where R1 is 2-methyl-2-pentene (an unsaturated alkane), R2 is methyl and R3 is ethyl.
Note that compound 3,7-dimethyl-6-octene-3-ol meets the following claim 6 alternative:
Claim 6 . . . R1 comprises a branched C(3-20) chain comprising at least one of unsubstituted alkanes, or substituted alkanes substituted up to five times with any combination of at least two hydrogen atoms . . .
Because the bolded terms “comprises” and “comprising” are open ended and do not exclude unrecited chemical structure. MPEP § 2111.03(I). The 2-methyl-2-pentene unit corresponding to R1 (while comprising a double bond and is thus not in its entirety an “alkane”) still “comprises” branching and “comprises” an unsubstituted alkane. The 2-methyl-2-pentene unit corresponding to R1 therefore meets the above-cited claim 6 R1 alternative.
§ 102(a)(1)/(2) Rejection over . Hughes et al., US 6,123,950 (2006) (“Hughes”)
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by I. Hughes et al., US 6,123,950 (2006) (“Hughes”).
Hughes teaches a flavor, perfume, coolant, antimicrobial or other lipophilic composition comprising a dimethicone copolyol Selected from alkyl- and alkoxy-dimethicone copolyols having the formula (I). Hughes at col. 2, lines 40-55.
Hughes teaches that tetrahydromyrcenol is suitable additive. Hughes at col. 4, line 42.
Tetrahydromyrcenol meets every chemical structure limitation of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13, where R1 is 3-methylhexane, R2 is methyl and R3 is methyl. Since the preamble is not given patentable weight (see Claim Interpretation above), claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 are anticipated.
Note that per Claim Interpretation above, the claim 13 recitation of “wherein the coolant is also used as base fluid for a lubricant” is also not given patentable weight but is interpreted merely as an intended use.
§ 102(a)(1)/(2) Rejection over . W. Bonrath et al., WO 2020/239720 (2020) (“Bonrath”)
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by W. Bonrath et al., WO 2020/239720 (2020) (“Bonrath”)
Bonrath teaches selective alkynol hydrogenation to the respective alkenol. Bonrath at page 4, lines 1-2.
In selective hydrogenation series 3, Bonrath teaches the following three chemical compounds, 3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadec-1-yn-3-ol; 3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadec-1-en-3-ol; and 3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadecan-3-ol. Bonrath at pages 16-17.
Bonrath at pages 16-17. These species anticipate 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 13 under a similar analysis as given above.
Subject Matter Free of the Art of Record
The elected species of:
is free of the art of record.
Obviousness of a claimed compound can also be supported where there is motivation to substitute particular chemical moieties in a prior art compound for others so as to arrive at a claimed compound. MPEP § 2143(I)(B). For example, in the chemical arts, the rationale is stated as motivation to select a known compound and also motivation to structurally modify the selected compound in a particular way to achieve a claimed compound. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) (see for example, MPEP § 2143(I)(B) Example 9, citing Eisai Co. Ltd. v. Dr. Reddy’s Labs., Ltd., 533 F.3d 1353, 87 USPQ2d 1452 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
The closest art of record is W. Bonrath et al., WO 2020/239720 (2020) (“Bonrath”). Bonrath discloses the following compound 3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadecan-3-ol as hydrogenation side product.
Prior art compound 3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadecan-3-ol differs from the elected species in several methyl group substitutions.
The elected species is not obvious because one of ordinary skill is not motivated to select 3,7,11,15-tetramethylhexadecan-3-ol for further development or to make the necessary structural modifications so as to arrive at the elected species.
Conclusion
ALEXANDER R. PAGANO
Examiner
Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692
1 As a general rule preamble language is not treated as limiting. Arctic Cat Inc. v. GEP Power Prods., Inc., 919 F.3d 1320, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2019). Exceptions arise where, for example, the preamble (1) recites essential structure or steps; (2) provides antecedent basis for terms in the claim body; or (3) was relied on during prosecution to distinguish the claimed invention from prior art. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Cool savings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808 (Fed. Cir. 2002). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP § 2112.02(II) (citing Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")).
2 With respect to the claim 13 term “is also used”, where a single claim which claims both the product (i.e., “dual-use coolant”) and the method steps of using the claimed product, the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). MPEP § 2173.05(p) (citing Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990); In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011)). Here, however, the claim 13 term “is also used” is not interpreted as a positive method step, but rather as an intended use for the claimed “dual-use coolant”. As such, no § 112(b) rejection is not made in this regard.
3 Note that no § 112(d) rejection is made of claim 13 respecting its further limitation of base claim 1. The claim 13 “is also used” appears to be of questionable significance as a further structural limitation of base claim 1. However, “the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are related to matters of form”. MPEP § 608.01(n)(III). Even though the instant claim 13 language does not substantively limit claim 1, it can still meet the formal requirements of 112(d). MPEP § 2103(I)(C).