DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/5/2024 has been entered. Claims 42-60 are pending in the Application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BICYCLE WITH LIGHT MODULE WITH INDEPENDENTLY CONTROLLABLE LIGHT SOURCES
Claim Objections
Claims 42-60 are objected to because of the following informalities: the second time and additional times the element is recited should be preceded by “the”. For example and not limited to:
Claim 42, line 3, “at least one independently controllable light source” should be “at least one of the independently controllable light sources”
Claim 42, line 7, “at least one light module” should be “the at least one light module”
Claim 42, line 9, “at least one independently controllable light source” should be “the at least one independently controllable light source”
Claim 42, line 12 “at least one light module” should be “the at least one light module”
Claim 42, line 13, “at least two light sources of at least one light module are grouped” should be “the at least two light sources of the at least one light module are grouped”
Claim 43, line 1, “a plurality of bicycle control units” should be “a plurality of the bicycle control units”
Claim 43, line 2, “at least one bicycle control unit” should be “at least one of the bicycle control units”
Claim 44, line 1, “at least one light module control unit” should be “the at least one light control unit”
Claims 42-60 are objected to because they contain this informality or are dependent on a claim that does.
Claim 50 objected to because of the following informalities: “a number of the plurality of independently controllable grouped light sources” should be “a number of a plurality of independently controllable grouped light sources”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 51 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“at least two, light sources of said plurality of independently controllable grouped light sources” should be “at least two light sources of said plurality of independently controllable grouped light sources”
“one group of light sources encloses at least one of group of light sources” should be “one group of light sources encloses another group of light sources”
“at least two groups of independently controllable light sources of at least one light module are mutually separated at least by at least one mechanical part” should be “at least two groups of independently controllable light sources of the at least one light module are mutually separated by at least one mechanical part”
“mutually separated at least by at least one mechanical part, of the bicycle” should be “mutually separated at least by at least one mechanical part of the bicycle”
Claim 53 is objected to for the following: at least one bicycle related characteristic, which includes a bicycle acceleration, a bicycle steering direction, a status of a bicycle lock, and a status of a bicycle power source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 59-61 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 51 recites “at least one light module comprises a plurality of groups of independently controllable light sources, wherein the main emittance direction of at least two groups mutually differs”. It is unclear whether this is the same plurality of groups previously recited in claim 50, from which claim 51 depends from. For the purposes of claim examination, the Examiner will interpret the groups as separate and different.
Claim 59 recites “A light module for use in a bicycle according to claim 43.” This claim is unclear whether this is referring to a different bicycle, a different light module, or both different bicycle and light module from the claims that they depend from. For the purposes of claim examination, the Examiner will interpret them as being the same as the elements recited in claim 43.
Claims 60-61 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 59.
Claim 59-61 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 59 only positively recites a light module, not necessarily the bicycle of claim 43 from which it depends upon by turning the required bicycle of claim 43 into an intended use. Claim 60 only positively recites a bicycle control unit. Claim 61 only positively recites an assembly and a bicycle control unit. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 43-53, 55-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlier, US 2021/0237820 A1.
Regarding claim 42, Carlier discloses “A bicycle, comprising:
- at least one light module (15, Fig. 3) said light module comprising:
- a plurality of independently controllable light sources (24, Fig. 3; the LEDs present a graphic or image, and so are independently controllable; ¶ [0006, 0047]), wherein at least one independently controllable light source is, directly or indirectly, controllable based on at least one light source control signal (signal from the light control unit, ¶ [0007, 0041]),
- at least one bicycle control unit configured to independently control at least two light sources of at least one light module by providing at least one light source control signal to said light sources ( ¶ [0041] bicycle subsystems) and
- at least one power connection, and connected to at least one independently controllable light source, for providing electric power to at least one independently controllable light source (¶ [0041] control unit 14 generates the light), ,
wherein at least two light sources of at least one light module are oriented in different directions to emit light in different directions (seen in Fig. 1 and 6), and/or wherein at least two light sources of at least one light module are grouped and configured to collectively generate at least one dynamic light pattern dependent on the control of said light sources by said bicycle control unit (¶ [0041] graphic or text).
Regarding claim 43, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 42, as cited above, and further discloses “the bicycle comprises a plurality of bicycle control units (¶ [0041] subsystems connected to a bicycle lock, a bicycle motor, a ref counter, a bell button or a contact lock function; ), wherein at least one bicycle control unit is formed by a central bicycle control unit, and wherein at least one other bicycle control unit is formed by at least one light module control unit connected to said central bicycle unit, wherein said light module control unit is configured for independently controlling at least one light source of at least one associated light module and/or wherein the at least one light module control unit is configured for converting the primary light source control signal received from the central bicycle control unit into at least one secondary light source control signal for independently controlling at least one light source (¶ [0022]).
Regarding claim 44, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least one light module control unit makes part of at least one light module (seen in Fig. 3, 14 is part of the light module).
Regarding claim 45, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least one bicycle control unit is configured to generate at least one light source control signal which comprises at least one dynamic light pattern definition, wherein said at least one light source control signal which comprises at least one dynamic light pattern definition, is configured to sequentially and/or simultaneously illuminate a plurality of light sources of at least one light module in a predefined order and/or for a predefined period of time (¶ [0021] “the light function preferably comprises a light effect comprises at least one of: continuous illumination, alternating illumination, an animation, such as a ticker effect; as well as information elements for the purpose of for example a contact lock function, wheel lock function such as for locking and unlocking, bell function, horn function, engine level, startup sequence, feedback for the purpose of a code input sequence and, charging function for a battery, error function, switching on of an alarm, switching off of an alarm, alarming”).”
Regarding claim 46, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 45, as cited above, and further discloses “said at least one light source control signal which comprises at least one dynamic light pattern definition, is configured to vary the light intensity and/or colour temperature over time of at least one light source of at least one light module and/or wherein at least two light sources of at least one light module are grouped, and configured to collectively generate at least one dynamic light pattern based upon said at least one light source control signal which comprises at least one dynamic light pattern definition (¶ [0021] alternating illumination and ticker effect will change the light intensity of the LEDs).”
Regarding claim 47, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least one light source control signal comprises light source specific instructions for at least one specific light source, which are readable by said specific light source (¶ [0041] the LEDs of the LED module can present graphical and text from instructions of the light control unit, so each LED can be individually controlled by instructions).”
Regarding claim 48, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least one light source control signal comprises a string of light source specific instructions, wherein at least two independently controllable light source retrieves and/or extracts a predefined instruction associated with said light source out of the string of light source specific instructions (¶ [0041] the LEDs of the LED module can present graphical and text from instructions of the light control unit, so each LED can be individually controlled by instructions and multiple LEDs will receive instructions for presenting the graphic/text).
Regarding claim 49, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least two independently controllable light sources are directed in substantially opposing directions respectively and/or wherein the bicycle comprises a plurality of light modules, each light module comprising a plurality of independently controllable light sources (seen in Fig. 1 and 6, 44 and 41).
Regarding claim 50, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least two light sources of at least one light module are grouped, and wherein light sources of said group of light sources are independently, controllable by at least one bicycle control unit, wherein a number of the plurality of independently controllable grouped light sources is arranged to form at least a part of a circle and/or at least a part of a polygon (seen in Fig. 3, the LEDs 24 are arranged such that they can form a circle or a polygon).
Regarding claim 51, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least two, light sources of said plurality of independently controllable grouped light sources are oriented in different emittance directions, wherein at least two emittance directions enclose an angle of between 60 and 120 degrees (seen in Fig. 6, the two 41 and 45 are 90 degrees from each other) and/or wherein at least one light module comprises a plurality of groups of independently controllable light sources, wherein the main emittance direction of at least two groups mutually differs (seen in Fig. 3, the curved substrate means some are in different directions) and/or wherein at least one light module comprises a plurality of groups of independently controllable light sources, wherein one group of light sources encloses at least one of group of light sources and/or wherein at least two groups of independently controllable light sources of at least one light module are mutually separated at least by at least one mechanical part, of the bicycle (seen in Fig. 1, on the handlebar) and/or wherein the emittance patterns generated by at least two groups of independently controllable light sources at least partially overlap and/or coincide (Fig. 1, handlebar, Fig. 6, two on the rear and two on the front).”
Regarding claim 52, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least two independently controllable light sources are arranged on a substrate, wherein said substrate is a curved substrate (15, Fig. 3).”
Regarding claim 53, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “the bicycle control unit is configured to generate at least one light source control signal based upon input received from a user (¶ [0021] such as lock/unlock) and/or a portable device carried by said user (¶ [0023] Bluetooth)
and/or wherein the bicycle control unit is configured to generate at least one light source control signal based upon at least one bicycle related characteristic, the bicycle acceleration, the bicycle steering direction, the status of a bicycle lock, and the status a bicycle power source (¶ [0023]).”
Regarding claim 55, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “at least one power source, to provide power to said at least one power connection (¶ [0023] “drive battery”).
Regarding claim 56, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “the light module comprises at least one light module housing (15, Fig. 3), said housing defining at least one accommodating space for at least partially accommodating one or more light sources (seen in Fig. 3).”
Regarding claim 57, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “the bicycle comprises a frame comprising a plurality of interconnected frame elements (¶ [0045] “a frame with mutually fixed tube elements”), which frame elements are formed by at least a seat tube element, a top tube element, a down tube element, a head tube element, at least one seat stay, at least one handlebar, and/or at least one chain stay (seen in Fig. 1 and 6),
wherein the at least one light module is at least partially received by at least one frame element (seen in Fig. 3), wherein at least a part of at least one frame element, comprises at least one recessed channel, for accommodating therein the at least one strip shaped light module (seen in Fig. 2-4), wherein said recessed channel is provided on an exterior side of the top tube element and/or bottom tube element (seen in Fig. 2-4), and wherein the at least one light module accommodated in said recessed channel is at least partially covered by a substantially transparent or translucent covering material (17, Fig. 3), such that an exterior surface of said covering material is substantially flush with respect to an exposed adjacent exterior surface of the top tube element and/or bottom tube element (seen in Fig. 1, 2, 4, and 6).
Regarding claim 58, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “the bicycle comprises at least one sensor, wherein at least one bicycle control unit, is configured for generating at least a part of the light source control signal based on data from the at least one sensor (¶ [ 0023] feedback information).”
Regarding claim 59, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “A light module for use in a bicycle according to claim 43 (see rejection of claim 43 above).”
Regarding claim 60, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “A bicycle control unit programmed to independently control a plurality of light sources of at least one light module for use in a bicycle according to claim 43 (see rejection of claim 43 above).”.
Regarding claim 61, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, and further discloses “An assembly of at least one light module according to claim 59 and at least one bicycle control unit (see rejection of claim 43 above).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlier in view of Yun, 11014623 B1.
Regarding claim 54, Carlier discloses the invention of claim 43, as cited above, except “the bicycle control unit is configured to generate at least one light source control signal based upon at least one environmental related characteristic.”
Yun discloses a bicycle with a luminance sensor that detects ambient light, which is an environmental related characteristic, and alters a generated light (129, Fig. 2, col. 9, ln. 27-42).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include a sensor to detect light to activate/deactivate the light, such as taught by Yun, to the bicycle light apparatus as taught by Carlier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include ambient light sensing and light control for knowing when there is a need to activate and deactivate the emitted light (Yun, col. 19, ln. 12-25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gonzalez et al., US 12384489 B2 discloses a bicycle with a status indicator
Ebrahemi, US 2023/0029461 A1 discloses a bicycle with light incorporated into tubular members
Ebrahemi, US 2020/0039594 A1 discloses a bicycle with light incorporated into tubular members
Peterson et al., US 9610994 B2 discloses a bicycle with light incorporated into tubular members
Lin et al., US 2011/0156894 A1 discloses a turn lamp system for vehicles with an LED array for dynamic pattern generation
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875