DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Graf et al. does not describe or suggest, among other features, "an exterior cage mounted in free rotation with respect to the roller" or a configuration including "a rotating coupling between the rotating roller and the rotation axis with teeth radial to the axis of rotation"” and concludes “at least these two deficiencies render Graf et al. incapable of supporting a rejection for obviousness”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, examiner maintains one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant in reference to the obviousness rejection Swiss Patent to Graf et al. (CH 707421) in view of European Patent to Russell (EP 2908902), argues “there is no motivation to modify the device described by Graf et al. to include a friction reducing element, because Graf et al. already has one”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner maintains the primary reference identifies friction as an issue and provides a means of overcoming it. Examiner further maintains there are a several means of addressing friction and the secondary reference addresses it by another means. As was noted in the office action, it was a substitution of the one known element for another to obtain predictable result.
Applicant further regarding US Patent to Stice (4,919,563) argues regarding Lovejoy coupling “no discussion of any toothed connection, let alone one incorporating radial teeth”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lovejoy couplings are notoriously well-known method of coupling two shafts for rotational motion.
As shown above, Lovejoy couplings comprise two radially toothed elements and spider in-between to accommodate misalignment between shaft. These are ubiquitous in their use. The claims does not require direct power transmission between the radial teeth of the driver and the driven couplings. Examiner maintains the primary reference has a driver and a driven shaft and Lovejoy couplings are used very commonly to accommodate for shaft misalignment. Examiner further maintains the claims only require coupling with radial teeth and the combination of references read on all the limitations of the claimed subject matter.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 overcomes the 35 USC 112 (b) rejection of the previous office action. 35 USC 112 (b) rejection of claim 1 is hereby withdrawn.
Based on the foregoing the rejection of the claims 4 and 5 of the previous office action is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swiss Patent Document to Graf et al. (CH 707421) in view of European Patent to Russell (EP 2908902) in further view of US Patent to Stice (4,919,563).
Regarding claim 1, as far as it is definite, Graf et al. pressure control pinch valve for a single flexible tube comprising a fixed support (24, Fig. 1) working in conjunction with one side of a flexible tube to be controlled, a dynamic pressure arranged on the side opposite the fixed support and capable of pinching the single tube to control the pressure, the dynamic pressure being provided by a roller (16, Fig. 1) rotating around an axis which is eccentric to the center of the roller and provided with a peripheral contact surface exerting a force directly on the tube (14, Fig. 1) so as to gradually compress the tube against the fixed support during a rotation of the roller in the clamping direction and gradually open the tube during a rotation in the release direction capable of pressure regulation of the tube.
Graf et al. do not disclose the fixed support comprising an active surface capable of compressing the tube, said active surface being plane or concave with a width (Lar) equal to or greater than 1.4 times the external diameter DE of the tube. Graf et al. also do not disclose an exterior cage.
However, Russell also teaching an apparatus for pinching a flexible tubing, teaches the fixed support (272, Fig. 2) comprising an active surface capable of compressing the tube (27-F, Fig. 2), said active surface being plane or concave with a width (Lar) equal to the external diameter DE of the tube (27-F, Fig. 2) at rest [para. 15] to avoid undue stress and premature failure. Russell teaches a cage supported by needle bearings (423, Fig. 4A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have modified the valve disclosed by Graf et al. with the dimensions taught by Russell to avoid undue stress and premature failure of the tubing. Further it would obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application have replaced the friction membrane with the cage as a simple substitution of one of one known element for another to obtain predictable results to address unwanted effects of friction during operation.
In the combination of the prior art elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the elements to maintain their respective properties or functions.
Graf et al. inherently disclose a drive and a driven shaft. Graf et al. do not explicitly disclose a coupling with radial teeth.
However, coupling drive shaft and driven shaft by means of a coupling with radial teeth is well known as taught by Stice. Stice teaches a coupling (50, Fig. 8) for coupling a motor shaft (51, Fig. 8) and a driven shaft (60, Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have adapted the well-known method of coupling motor and driven shaft taught by Stice to the valve disclosed by Graf et al. as a means of coupling shafts that is capable of accommodating shaft misalignment and lessen any vibration effects.
Regarding claim 2, any contact surface length of the fixed support taught by Russell will be meet the flat length or the concave length limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Graf et al. disclose an electric motor (20, Fig. 1) for the pinch valve.
Regarding claims 6 – 7, Graf et al. disclose a flexible tube which inherently resumes its shape after the compression and release of the punching force. Further, Graf et al. disclose fully closed and eccentricity necessarily will have to be claimed dimensions in order for the pinching force to fully close the tube.
Claim 8 – 11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swiss Patent Document to Graf et al. (CH 707421) European Patent to Russell (EP 2908902) and in further view of US Patent to Stice (4,919,563) and Applicant admitted prior art.
Regarding claims 8 – 11, Applicant in the specification [para. 71 – 73] discloses a tangential membrane filter, a pump, a BPCV and a closed loop control system for controlling pressure. Applicant notes that manual control of the system is prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have adapted the valve disclosed by Graf et al. to the Applicant admitted prior art as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
In the combination of the prior art elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the elements to maintain their respective properties or functions.
Conclusion
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753