DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 7/16/2026, in which claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11-12 is/are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicants argues that Venkataraman teaches access type check during de-registration request and not the registration request (See pg. 5-6 of the remarks filed on 2/26/2026)
Although Venkataraman teaches a de-registration process; however, the a request message using NAS security context with access type 3GPP access and Non 3GPP access function is the purpose of the citation and combination. Since Nair-Lim combination teaches a registration request using NAS message indicates NAS security context. Venkataraman teaches request message with NAS security context and access type 3GPP access and Non 3GPP access. It would have been obvious to combine Nair-Lim combination registration request message with Venkataraman request message with NAS security context and access type 3GPP access and Non 3GPP access during registration and de-registration since a registration for the 3GPP access may be ongoing, the UE may use the same NAS signaling connection in order to send the de-registration request for non-3GPP over 3GPP access by indicating “follow-on request pending” in a registration request message. In some embodiments, the UE may use information from a 5G MM of the non-3GPP access and make a decision on indicating “follow-on request pending” in the registration request message based on the information from the 5G MM of the non-3GPP access [Venkataraman; ¶134] and further to help avoid collision [Venkataraman; ¶10].
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims rejected under prior art have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US 20180309575 A1) in view of Lim et al. (US 20240214902 A1; hereinafter Lim) further in view of Venkataraman et al. (US 20200008167 A1; hereinafter Venkataraman).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Nair discloses a method of a communication apparatus comprising:
receiving a message, [[wherein the message includes a registration request message and an access type parameter indicating an access type]] (receives, at the mobility management node, a first NAS message from the given user equipment. The first NAS message indicates that the given user equipment has experienced an RLF with the source access node, and is protected using a cryptographic key (e.g., NAS integrity key) created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node [Nair; ¶70-73; Figs. 4-5B and associated text]); and
performing an integrity check of the registration request message using a Non Access Stratum (NAS) security context include an NAS integrity key (verifies, at the mobility management node, the given user equipment using the cryptographic key, initiates, at the mobility management node, set up of a signaling interface (e.g., S1AP) with the target access node, and sends, from the mobility management node, a second NAS message to the given user equipment through the target access node. The second NAS message indicates an acknowledgment of the RLF, and is protected using the cryptographic key (e.g., NAS integrity key) created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node. The second NAS message contains data associated with the data transfer. The data is previous buffered data and/or new data. The data is encrypted using another cryptographic key created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node [Nair; ¶30-36, 70-73; Figs. 4-5B and associated text]). Nair teaches the NAS-SC usage during establishing of communication. Nair does not explicilty discloses the using a Non Access Stratum (NAS) security context to perform an integrity check related to a registration request message, however, in a related and analogous art, Lim teaches this feature.
In particular, Liam teaches if the registration request message (e.g., the AMF associated with the 5G-GUTI), a request message (e.g., Namf_Communication_UEContext Transfer message) for requesting the transfer of the UE context and the registration request message may include information for identifying the UE (e.g., 5G-GUTI or SUCI). In an embodiment, the registration request message may further include network slicing information (e.g., requested NSSAI(s)) indicating the network slice(s) [Lim; ¶65, 254]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nair in view of Lim with the motivation to easier identifier and authenticate the UE.
Nair-Lim combination discloses a registration request message with integrity check using a NAS security context such as an integrity key. Nair-Lim combination discloses does not explicilty discloses wherein the message includes an access type parameter indicating an access type, wherein the access type is 3GPP access or Non-3GPP access, and wherein the NAS security context includes an uplink NAS COUNT value corresponding to the access type parameter; however, in a related and analogous art, Venkataraman teaches these features.
In particular, Venkataraman teaches a UE sending a message with access type parameter, the request for an access type “A” is transmitted over an access type “B” and indicating connection specific parameters include a pair of NAS COUNTs for uplink and downlink and unique NAS connection identifier, value of the unique NAS connection identifier shall be set to ‘0’ for 3GPP access and set to ‘1’ for non-3GPP access [Venkataraman; ¶120-130, 154; Figs. 9-10, 12 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nair-Lim combination in view of Venkataraman NAS access type parameter with the motivation to avoid collisions between procedures associated with the first and second access types [Venkataraman; ¶10].
Regarding claim 2, Nair-Lim-Venkataraman combination discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication apparatus is an Access and Mobility Management Function (MME 106 [Nair; Fig. 2 and associated text], AMF 120 [Lim; Fig. 1 and associated text]). The motivation to easier identifier and authenticate the UE.
Regarding claim 3, Nair-Lim-Venkataraman discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the message is an Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer message (a request message (e.g., Namf_Communication_UEContext Transfer message) [Lim; ¶65, 254]. The motivation to easier identifier and authenticate the UE.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Nair discloses the method of a first communication apparatus comprising:
communicating with a second communication apparatus (receives, at the mobility management node, a first NAS message from the given user equipment. The first NAS message indicates that the given user equipment has experienced an RLF with the source access node, and is protected using a cryptographic key (e.g., NAS integrity key) created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node [Nair; ¶70-73; Figs. 4-5B and associated text]); and
sending a message, [[wherein the message includes a registration request message and an access type parameter indicating an access type]] (verifies, at the mobility management node, the given user equipment using the cryptographic key, initiates, at the mobility management node, set up of a signaling interface (e.g., S1AP) with the target access node, and sends, from the mobility management node, a second NAS message to the given user equipment through the target access node. The second NAS message indicates an acknowledgment of the RLF, and is protected using the cryptographic key created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node. The second NAS message contains data associated with the data transfer. The data is previous buffered data and/or new data. The data is encrypted using another cryptographic key created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node [Nair; ¶70-73; Figs. 4-5B and associated text]);
performing an integrity check of the registration request message using a Non Access Stratum (NAS) security context include an NAS integrity key (verifies, at the mobility management node, the given user equipment using the cryptographic key, initiates, at the mobility management node, set up of a signaling interface (e.g., S1AP) with the target access node, and sends, from the mobility management node, a second NAS message to the given user equipment through the target access node. The second NAS message indicates an acknowledgment of the RLF, and is protected using the cryptographic key (e.g., NAS integrity key) created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node. The second NAS message contains data associated with the data transfer. The data is previous buffered data and/or new data. The data is encrypted using another cryptographic key created during previous establishment of the NAS security context between the given user equipment and the mobility management node [Nair; ¶30-36, 70-73; Figs. 4-5B and associated text]). Nair teaches the NAS-SC usage during establishing of communication. Nair does not explicilty discloses the using a Non Access Stratum (NAS) security context to perform an integrity check related to a registration request message, however, in a related and analogous art, Lim teaches this feature.
In particular, Liam teaches if the registration request message (e.g., the AMF associated with the 5G-GUTI), a request message (e.g., Namf_Communication_UEContext Transfer message) for requesting the transfer of the UE context and the registration request message may include information for identifying the UE (e.g., 5G-GUTI or SUCI). In an embodiment, the registration request message may further include network slicing information (e.g., requested NSSAI(s)) indicating the network slice(s) [Lim; ¶65, 254]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nair in view of Lim with the motivation to easier identifier and authenticate the UE.
Nair-Lim combination discloses a registration request message with integrity check using a NAS security context such as an integrity key. Nair-Lim combination discloses does not explicilty discloses wherein the message includes an access type parameter indicating an access type, wherein the access type is 3GPP access or Non-3GPP access, and wherein the NAS security context includes an uplink NAS COUNT value corresponding to the access type parameter; however, in a related and analogous art, Venkataraman teaches these features.
In particular, Venkataraman teaches a UE sending a message with access type parameter, the request for an access type “A” is transmitted over an access type “B” and indicating connection specific parameters include a pair of NAS COUNTs for uplink and downlink and unique NAS connection identifier, value of the unique NAS connection identifier shall be set to ‘0’ for 3GPP access and set to ‘1’ for non-3GPP access [Venkataraman; ¶120-130, 154; Figs. 9-10, 12 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nair-Lim combination in view of Venkataraman MAS access type parameter with the motivation to avoid collisions between procedures associated with the first and second access types [Venkataraman; ¶10].
Regarding claim 5, Nair-Lim-Venkataraman combination discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the communication apparatus is an Access and Mobility Management Function (MME 106 [Nair; Fig. 2 and associated text], AMF 120 [Lim; Fig. 1 and associated text]). The motivation to easier identifier and authenticate the UE.
Regarding claim 6, Nair-Lim-Venkataraman combination discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the message is an Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer message (a request message (e.g., Namf_Communication_UEContext Transfer message) [Lim; ¶65, 254]. The motivation to easier identifier and authenticate the UE.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432