DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 10-11 recite abbreviation “CSV” where full text is not present. Applicant is advised to write full text first and then abbreviation in parenthesis at least once [i.e. media access control (MAC)]. Examiner suggests replacing “CSV” in claim 10 with --Comma Separated Value (CSV)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilshire et al., “FlowJo Basic Tutorial”.
Regarding claim 1, Wilshire discloses a cell image analysis system comprising:
a data tree creator configured to create a plurality of data trees relating to cell images by classifying the cell images into a plurality of groups each of which includes the cell images that have common classification information (page 10: "Hierarchical Description of Sample Subsets" and pages 13-14, section 3: "Copy gates and statistics to all samples.");
a data tree storage configured to store the plurality of data trees created by the data tree creator (page 13: “Drag and Drop Gates and Statistics.");
a graph creator configured to create a graph relating to a first data tree that is selected by a user, and having classification information of a bottom layer or a second layer from the bottom layer of the first data tree as a horizontal axis parameter and analysis results of the cell images that are included in the first data tree as a vertical axis parameter (pages 19-22, section 5: "Generate a graphical report of all samples."); and
a display controller configured to display the graph created by the graph creator (pages 19-22, section 5: "Generate a graphical report of all samples."), wherein
the display controller is configured to display a second data tree that is different from the first data tree and has common horizontal and vertical axis parameters to the first data tree in the plurality of data trees stored in the data tree storage to be selectable by the user, and, when the second data tree is selected by the user, to update the graph by adding the analysis results of the cell images that are included in the second data tree selected by the user to the graph (pages 20-21, section 5.2: "2) Histogram Overlay'').
Regarding claim 2, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses comprising a data tree searcher configured to search for the second data tree in the plurality of data trees stored in the data tree storage, wherein the display controller is configured to display the second data tree searched by the data tree searcher so as to be selectable by the user (pages 13-14, section 3: "Copy gates and statistics to all samples.").
Regarding claim 3, the cell image analysis system according to claim 2, Wilshire further discloses wherein the data tree searcher is configured to be able to search for the second data tree in the plurality of data trees stored in the data tree storage with at least one of a project and a cultivation condition relating to cell cultivation being specified as a search criterion; and the display controller is configured to display the second data tree searched by the data tree searcher with the search criterion being specified to be selectable by the user (pages 13-14, section 3: "Copy gates and statistics to all samples.").
Regarding claim 4, the cell image analysis system according to claim 3, Wilshire further discloses wherein the data tree searcher is configured to be able to search for the second data tree in the plurality of data trees stored in the data tree storage with a cultivation condition that is common to the first data tree being specified as the search criterion; and the display controller is configured to display the second data tree, which corresponds to the cultivation condition that is common to the first data tree, searched by the data tree searcher with the cultivation condition that is common to the first data tree being specified as the search criterion (pages 13-14, section 3: "Copy gates and statistics to all samples.").
Regarding claim 5, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses wherein the display controller is configured to update the graph by adding the analysis results of the cell images that are included in the second data tree selected by the user in a color different from the analysis results of the cell images that are included in the first data tree to the graph (pages 20-21, section 5.2: "2) Histogram Overlay'', second paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses wherein the display controller is configured to update the graph, when the user provides an instruction to delete the analysis results that are included in the second data tree and have been added to the graph, by deleting the analysis results of the cell images that are included in the second data tree and have been added to the graph from the graph (page 13, section 3: "Copy gates and statistics to all samples.", second paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses wherein the horizontal axis parameter is accessory information on cell cultivation or imaging (pages 6-7: "Graph Options").
Regarding claim 8, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses wherein the vertical axis parameter corresponds to feature amounts based on the cell images (pages 6-7: "Graph Options").
Regarding claim 9, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses wherein the data tree is formed as a virtual data tree having a hierarchical structure on a display screen (page 10: "Hierarchical Description of Sample Subsets").
Regarding claim 10, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses comprising a file output configured to output the cell images that serve as a basis for the graph including the added analysis results of the cell images that are included in the second data tree, and the graph that includes the added analysis results of the cell images that are included in the second data tree as a CSV file (page 22: “Drawing Tools” and page 24, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, the cell image analysis system according to claim 10, Wilshire further discloses wherein the file output is configured to output the CSV file with additional information including information on at least one of a project and a cultivation condition relating to cell cultivation (page 22: “Drawing Tools” and page 24, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, the cell image analysis system according to claim 1, Wilshire further discloses wherein the display controller is configured to display a third data tree that is different from the first data tree and has a common horizontal axis parameter to the first data tree and a vertical axis parameter different from the first data tree in the plurality of data trees stored in the data tree storage to be selectable by the user, and, when the third data tree is selected by the user, to update the graph by adding the analysis results of the cell images that are included in the third data tree selected by the user to the graph (pages 19-22, section 5: "Generate a graphical report of all samples.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Devarajan et al., US 2015/0262396 discloses a method of automatically sharing data between graph elements.
Wakui, US 2023/0016958 discloses a cell culture evaluation device.
Foncubierta Rodriguez et al., US 2020/0401798 discloses computer-implemented methods are provided for generating a data structure representing tabular information in a scanned image.
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665