DETAILED ACTION
Applicants amended claims filed on 4/5/2024 are acknowledged and entered into the record.
Accordingly, Claims 43-53, 55-56, and 58-64 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 43-53, 55-56, and 58-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Belk et al. (WO2021207597) in view of Adler et al. (US PgPub20110158987).
The applied reference, Belk et al., has a common assignee (Invivyd) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical formulation comprising an isolated antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof, which binds to the spike protein of a coronavirus (CoV-S) wherein the antibody comprising VH CDR1-3 having SEQ ID NOs: 52, 54, and 56 and VL CDR1-3 having SEQ ID NOs: 252, 254, and 256 and VH having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 258 and a VL having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 58. The claims are further drawn to wherein the formulation comprising a histidine buffer, sucrose, arginine hydrochloride and polysorbate 80 at specific concentrations. The claims are drawn to methods of treatment comprising administering said pharmaceutical formulations to a human subject.
Belk et al. teach antibodies and antigen binding fragments thereof that specifically bind to the S protein of coronaviruses (CoV-S) and therapeutic and diagnostic uses of said antibodies. Belk et al. teach, with 100% identity, the instantly claimed antibody sequences. Belk et al. teaches intramuscularly, intravenously, or subcutaneous administration at varying monthly administrations. Belk et al. disclose pharmaceutical formulations comprising said antibody with appropriate buffers and reagents, however does not explicitly disclose the instantly claimed reagents. This deficiency is made up for by Adler et al.
Adler et al. teach pharmaceutical formulations for a therapeutic antibody comprising 15-30mM of a buffering agent such as histidine, a 0.05% w/v surfactant such as polysorbate 80, sucrose and arginine hydrochloride. Alder et al. teach 1 to 200 mg/ml of antibody and the pH range of 4.0-7.0. Adler et al. disclose the formulation is stable at refrigerator temperatures (2-8 degrees) for more than 1 year.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the anti-CoV-S antibody pharmaceutical formulation using the buffer and reagents taught by Alder et al. for a stable therapeutic antibody formulation. One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Alder et al. of a stable antibody pharmaceutical formulation for methods of treatment.
Double Patenting
Claims 43-53, 55-56, and 58-64 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,192,940 in view of Adler et al. (US PgPub20110158987).
The instant claims and those of US Patent 11,192,940 are both drawn to the same antibody which binds to CoV-S spike protein having the same CDR/VH/VL sequences in a pharmaceutical formulation. The claims of US Patent 11,192,940 do not recite the instantly claimed buffers or reagents. This deficiency is made up for by Adler et al. The teachings of Adler et al. are presented in the 103(a) rejection set forth above. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the anti-CoV-S antibody pharmaceutical formulation using the buffer and reagents taught by Alder et al. for a stable therapeutic antibody formulation. One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Alder et al. of a stable antibody pharmaceutical formulation for methods of treatment.
Conclusion
Claims 43-53, 55-56, 58-64 are rejected.
No Claim is allowed.
/Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643