DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the driving means (claim 37), controller means (claim 37), at least two cables (claim 39), at least two carriages (claim 39), adjustment medium (claim 40), at least one compartment (claims 43, 53, 55) turning elements (claim 51), locator device (claim 53), energy storage means (claim 53), video camera (claim 55), thermographic chamber (claim 55), position sensor (claim 55), communication means (claim 55), braking means (claims 55-56) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification does not provide antecedent basis for the at least one thermographic chamber that is recited in claim 55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cleaning element” in claim 37 (corresponds to a brush, paragraph [59]), “adjustment medium” in claim 40 (no corresponding structure in specification), “height regulation elements” in claims 43-44 (corresponds to pistons in paragraph [57] or bushings in paragraph [59]), “coupling element” in claims 44 and 50 (no corresponding structure in specification), “height adjustment element” in claim 46 (no corresponding structure in specification), “displacement element” in claims 46 and 48 (corresponds to bushings in paragraph [59]), “turning elements” in claims 51-52 (no corresponding structure in specification), “locator device” in claim 53 (corresponds to a GPS in paragraph [60]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40, 42, 44-54, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the upper frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the “upper frame” the same as the “upper framework” recited in claim 39?
Claim 42 lines 2-3 recites “at least an additional driving means and at least an additional controller, to mobilize and control the operation of at least two wheels and at least two additional wheels” and in lines 4-6 recites “at least three additional driving means and at least three additional controlling means to mobilize and control the operation of each of the at least two wheels and each of the at least two additional wheels.” It is unclear whether the three additional driving means and the at least three additional controlling means of lines 4-6 are in addition to the ones recited in lines 2-3 in addition to the driving means and controlling means recited in claim 1 for a total of at least five driving means and at least five additional controlling means. Also, in line 2 is “controller” meant to be “controlling means” or is this a distinct controller separate from the controlling means?
Claim 45, which depends from claim 42, additionally requires “at least one additional driving means and at least one additional controlling means”. These appear to be in addition to the at least five driving means and at least five additional controlling means of claim 42. Was claim 45 meant to depend from claim 42? Are these additional driving means and controlling means different than the ones used to mobilize and control operation of the wheels? There is confusion surrounding the number of driving means and controlling means required.
Claim 45 recites the limitations "the operation" and “the least two or four height regulation elements in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "the at least one central bar" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 47, which depends from claims 42 and 45, additionally requires “at least one additional driving means and at least one additional controller means”. These appear to be in addition to the at least five driving means and at least five additional controlling means of claim 42 and the at least one additional driving means and at least one additional controlling means of claim 45. Is claim 47 meant to depend from claim 46? Are these additional driving means and controlling means different than the ones used to mobilize and control operation of the wheels and height regulation elements? There is confusion surrounding the number of driving means and controlling means required. Also, is the phrase “controller means” in line 2 meant to be “controlling means”?
Claim 47 recites the limitations "the operation", “the height adjustment element” and “the displacement elements” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "the at least one central bar" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the coupling element" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 53 line 5 recites “…the at least two energy storage means correspond to…”. What is meant by the phrase “correspond to”? Does this list include alternatives of what the energy storage means can consist of? Or simply structure that corresponds to it in some manner?
Claim 54 recites the limitation "the surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim limitations “driving means” (claim 37), “controller means” (claim 37), “adjustment medium” (claim 40), “coupling element” (claims 44 and 50), “height adjustment element” (claims 46-47), “turning elements” (claims 51-52) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function of an adjustment medium as recited in claim 40. The disclosure is devoid any structure that performs the function of a coupling element as recited in claim 44. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37-38 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee, KR 20100138698 A (see English translation).
Regarding claim 37, Lee discloses an automated solar panel cleaning system in a solar plant (see English translation of Background of the Invention, Figures), comprising: at least one chassis (includes mounting unit 2 and frame 40), which comprises: at least two vertical bars (2 which includes 21, Figures 1-2); and at least one upper longitudinal bar (one of the two longitudinal bars of frame 40, see Figure 1), which joins the at least two vertical bars (Figures 1-2); at least two wheels arranged at one end of each of the at least two vertical bars (each of roller R, see Figures); at least one cleaning element (41, Figures 1-4); at least one driving means to mobilize at least two wheels (motor M1, see English translation and Figures 1 and 5); and at least one controller means to control the operation of each of the at least two wheels (not shown, see English translation Abstract and also in the description that states “…the driving motor M1 is driven according to the signal of the controller, the frame 40 and the mounting part 2 are moved…”; the controller via the driving motor M1 controls the operation of each of the at least two wheels). Regarding claim 38, the system also comprises at least one additional driving means (motor M2), which allows at least one cleaning element to turn (see English translation relating to M2 and Figures 1 and 3); wherein the chassis also comprises at least two additional vertical bars (there are a total of four shown in Figures 1-4); and wherein the system also comprises at least two additional wheels (also R, there are a total of four shown in Figures 1-4), arranged at one of the ends of each of the at least two additional vertical bars (Figures 1-4). Regarding claim 43, the system also comprises at least one compartment to accommodate the at least one driving means and the at least one controller means (housing of M1, Figure 1); and at least two height regulation elements arranged in at least two vertical bars (each 25, Figures 1-3; see English translation discussion of 25).
Claim(s) 37, 41, and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behr et al., WO 2012/168070 A2 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 37, Behr et al. disclose an automated solar panel cleaning system in a solar plant (Abstract), comprising: at least one chassis (4), which comprises: at least two vertical bars (unlabeled vertical bars that extend vertically from wheels 5, see Figures); and at least one upper longitudinal bar (two longitudinal bars shown best in Figure 2), which joins the at least two vertical bars (Figures 1-2); at least two wheels arranged at one end of each of the at least two vertical bars (5); at least one cleaning element (tool 6 can be a brush, see English translation); at least one driving means to mobilize at least two wheels (motors 21 drive wheels 5, see English translation, Figure 4); and at least one controller means to control the operation of each of the at least two wheels (not shown, see English translation relating to the control unit). Regarding claim 41, the system also comprises at least one additional driving means (each of the wheels can include electric motors 21, see English translation “…all wheels 5 of the vehicle 1 may be equipped with such electric motors 21…”) and at least one additional controller means, to mobilize and control the operation of each of the at least two wheels (controller means includes hydraulic cylinders on each wheel to be steered, see English translation relating to Fig. 4 describing driverless automatic control). Regarding claim 51, there are at least two turning elements, arranged at the end of at least two vertical bars, and united to the at least two wheels (see English translation; embodiments of turning elements include four-wheel steering, hydraulic cylinders; telescoping rods 8, Figure 3a; hydrostatic steering, individual wheel drives actuated asymmetrically).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, KR 20100138698 A (see English translation) in view of Gantenhammer, DE 202010010541 U1 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 39, Lee further discloses that the system also comprises: an additional upper longitudinal bar (the other of the two longitudinal bars in frame 4, Figures 1 and 4) and at least two upper crossbars (unlabeled two crossbars in frame 4, Figures 1 and 4), forming the four upper bars in an upper framework (Figures 1 and 4). Regarding claim 54, the system also comprises at least one photovoltaic panel arranged on the surface that make up at least four upper bars of at least one chassis (S, Figure 1; see also English translation relating to S). Lee fails to disclose at least two cables connected to the ends of the at least one cleaning element and connected to at least two carriages arranged in any of the at least four upper bars.
Gantenhammer teaches a system for cleaning solar modules (Title) that includes at least one cleaning element (brushes 15) connected to upper bars for movement (rails 7, 8; see Figures 1-2 and the English translation). Further regarding claim 39, the cleaning system further comprises at least two cables connected to the ends of the at least one cleaning element (21, 22; connected indirectly, see Figures and English translation relating to “The second embodiment…”; alternatively the belts 6 can be considered as cables in that it can be formed as a rope, see English translation) and connected to at least two carriages (9, 10) arranged in two bars (rails 7, 8); and at least one arm connected to one of the end of the at least one cleaning element and one of the at least two carriages (arms 11 or 12). This arrangement is to assist in guiding the cleaning elements of brushes over the surface of the solar panel (Abstract, see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the four upper bars of the system of Lee to further include at least two cables connected to the ends of its cleaning element and connected two at least two carriages arranged in any of the upper bars, as Gantenhammer teaches, so that the placement of the cleaning element can be guided as needed over the area defined by the upper bars for improved cleaning.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behr et al., WO 2012/168070 A2 (see English translation) in view of Grossman et al., WO 2015/187693 A2.
Behr et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above and regarding claim 53 teaches at least two energy storage means arranged in at least one compartment, wherein the at least two energy storage means correspond to batteries built from any element capable of storing energy (see English translation, includes photovoltaic energy, rechargeable battery; the compartment is the entire chassis 4). Behr et al. fail to disclose at least one locator device, arranged in the at least one compartment.
Grossman et al. teach a cleaning system for solar modules (Title) including a chassis (see Figures) having at least one upper longitudinal bar (210), at least two wheels (Figure 8), at least one cleaning element (brush, 413). Regarding claim 53, the automated cleaning system also comprises at least one locator device (GPS receiver, part of control board and may provide measurements to the controller to power the device on or to determine the end of the row; see paragraph [0106], [0112]). The locator device, a GPS, allows the cleaning system to monitor its position and include a log of information (see paragraph [0106]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Behr et al. to further include a locator device within at least one compartment, as taught by Grossman et al., so that the automated cleaning system is able to be remotely monitored and include a log of data of its cleaning activities.
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behr et al., WO 2012/168070 A2 (see English translation) in view of Grossman et al. WO 2015/187693 A2, and in view of Chinchurreta, EP 2695683 A1.
Behr et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above. Regarding claim 55, Behr et al. additionally discloses at least one video camera (see English translation, to monitor contamination of the solar module). Behr et al. fail to disclose that the system also comprises at least one thermographic chamber, at least one position sensor, a communication means, arranged in at least one compartment, and at least one braking means, arranged in two wheels.
Grossman et al. teach a cleaning system for solar modules (Title) including a chassis (see Figures) having at least one upper longitudinal bar (210), at least two wheels (Figure 8), at least one cleaning element (brush, 413). Regarding claim 55, the automated cleaning system also comprises at least one position sensor (GPS receiver, part of control board and may provide measurements to the controller to power the device on or to determine the end of the row; see paragraph [0106], [0112]) and at least one communication means arranged in a compartment so that the system can provide data to a remote server with information relating to cleaning schedules and site maps (paragraph [0100]) . The position sensor, a GPS, allows the cleaning system to monitor its position and include a log of information (see paragraph [0106]).
Chinchurreta also teach a system for solar panel maintenance (Title) including a chassis (6, 6’) and driven by wheels (Figures 2A-3B). Regarding claim 55, the system includes means for braking the driven chassis to correct its movement (paragraph [0019]) and also includes at least one thermographic chamber (thermographic unit, to detect defective photovoltaic panels, paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Behr et al. to further include a position sensor and communication means within at least one compartment, as taught by Grossman et al., so that the automated cleaning system is able to be remotely monitored and include a log of data of its cleaning activities and to transmit data related to cleaning back to a remote server. Further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also modify the system of Behr et al. to further include at least one thermographic chamber and at least one braking means arranged in two of the wheels, as Chinchurreta teach that its desirable to provide braking at the wheels in order to correct or adjust the movement of the chassis during use and the thermographic chamber allows the system to detect when a photovoltaic cell is defective during cleaning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40, 42, 44-50, 52, and 56 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg