DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 5/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-23, 25, and 26 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 12-15, 17, 22-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US20210051653A1; “Park”) in view of Wu (US20220132575A1; “Wu”).
Regarding claims 1 and 22,
Park (Title: Sidelink Communications) discloses a network entity for wireless communication (i.e. Fig. 15A, base station 1504; Fig. 25, base station 2504) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 15A, processing systems 1508), at least one memory (Fig. 15A, memory 1514) coupled with the at least one processor, and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor (paragraph 205; computer program instructions/code stored in memory and executed by the processing system) to cause the network entity to perform a method comprising receiving, from a first UE and one or more second UEs, a plurality of first messages (Fig. 25, uplink messages 2520/2524 from first UE 2512 to base station 2504 comprising sidelink capability information associated with one or more other wireless devices) indicating that the first UE (Fig. 25, Device 2512) and the one or more second UEs (Fig. 25, Device 2516) each have a UE capability for sidelink communications over an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 249-255; sidelink capability of one or more devices indicating support for unlicensed band communication).
Park further discloses transmitting, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of messages, an indication (Fig. 25, configuration parameters 2528) for the first UE to use the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for the transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs (Fig. 25; paragraph 255; base station 2504 sends configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication between the first and second devices based on the configuration parameters).
Though strongly implied, Park does not expressly disclose receiving a second message indicating that the first UE is requesting a resource for a transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs.
Wu discloses sidelink resource collision handling and resource allocation through UE coordination (Title) including receiving a message indicating that the first UE is requesting a resource for a transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs (Fig. 8, 802; paragraph 92-96, 104-107, 114-121; UE sends messages to the base station that can be used later for resolving collision and evaluating UEs sidelink capabilities to determine resource mode operation and allocation via grants or random selection in Tx pool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park by receiving a second message indicating that the first UE is requesting a resource for a transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs, as shown by Wu, thereby enabling efficient resource allocation and collision handling for sidelink communication in unlicensed spectrum.
Regarding claims 12 and 26,
Park discloses a first UE for wireless communication (Fig. 15A, Device 1502; Fig. 25, device 2512) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 15A, processing system 1518), at least one memory (Fig. 15A, memory 1524) coupled with the at least one processor, and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (paragraph 205; computer program instructions/code stored in memory and executed by the processing system) to cause the first UE to perform a method comprising transmitting a first message indicating that the first UE has a capability for sidelink communications over an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Fig. 25, uplink messages 2524 from first UE 2512 to base station 2504 comprising sidelink capability information associated with one or more other wireless devices; paragraph 249-255; sidelink capability of one or more devices indicating support for unlicensed band communication).
Park further shows receiving, based at least in part on transmitting the message, an indication (Fig. 25, configuration parameters 2528) for the first UE to use the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for the transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs (Fig. 25; paragraph 255; device 2512 receives configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication with second device 2516 based on the configuration parameters) and initiating a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure to evaluate, based at least in part on receiving the indication for the first UE to use the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for the transmission of sidelink communications, an availability of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band to support the transmission of sidelink communications (Fig. 25-29; paragraph 176, 285, 300; configuration parameters include support for clear channel assessment such as listen-before-talk operation).
Though strongly implied, Park does not expressly show transmitting a second message indicating that the first UE is requesting a resource for a transmission of sidelink communications to one or more second UEs.
Wu discloses sidelink resource collision handling and resource allocation through UE coordination (Title) including transmitting a message indicating that the first UE is requesting a resource for a transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs (Fig. 8, 802; paragraph 92-96, 104-107, 114-121; UE sends messages to the base station that can be used later for resolving collision and evaluating UEs sidelink capabilities to determine resource mode operation and allocation via grants or random selection in Tx pool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park by transmitting a second message indicating that the first UE is requesting a resource for a transmission of sidelink communications to the one or more second UEs, as shown by Wu, thereby enabling efficient resource allocation and collision handling for sidelink communication in unlicensed spectrum.
Regarding claims 2, 13, 23, and 27,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses to transmit/receive an additional indication of resources of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, in the time/frequency domain, or both, for use by the first UE to initiate a LBT procedure associated with the transmission of sidelink communications (Park: Fig. 25-29; paragraph 176, 285, 300; configuration parameters include support for clear channel assessment such as listen-before-talk operation).
Regarding claims 3 and 24,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses to determine to transmit the indication based at least in part on a QoS associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 71, 83, 223, 259-260; QoS considerations), a latency configuration associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 91, 216, 260; latency/delay requirement), a priority associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 87, 222-226, 235, 260; priority handling between logical channels), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses to determine to transmit the indication based at least in part on a throughput associated with the sidelink communications (Park: channel utilization; paragraph 235), a periodicity associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 138, 146-154; periodicity of SS/PBCH blocks, CSI-RS, etc.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 28,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses receive/transmit an additional indication of a characteristic of the sidelink communications and determine to transmit the indication based at least in part on receiving the additional indication (Park: paragraph 235, 344; indication of channel conditions such as CBR/CR provided by the device to the base station).
Regarding claims 6 and 15,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses the characteristic of the sidelink communications comprises one or more of QoS associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 71, 83, 223, 259-260; QoS considerations), a latency configuration associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 91, 216, 260; latency/delay requirement), a priority associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 87, 222-226, 235, 260; priority handling between logical channels), a throughput associated with the sidelink communications (Park: channel utilization; paragraph 235) or a periodicity associated with the sidelink communications (Park: paragraph 138, 146-154; periodicity of SS/PBCH blocks, CSI-RS, etc.).
Regarding claims 8, 17, 25, and 30,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses receive/transmit a first additional indication of a channel occupancy time (COT) associated with the transmission of sidelink communications using the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band and transmit, to the one or more second UEs, a second additional indication of the COT associated with the transmission of sidelink communications using the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Park: paragraph 235, 344; indication of channel occupancy ratio (CR) provided by the device to the base station; Fig. 25, configuration parameters 2528 based on CR).
Claims 7, 16, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Wu, and further in view of Lim et al. (US20220095176A1; “Lim”).
Regarding claims 7, 16, and 29,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses to receive/transmit a first additional indication of an availability of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, a second additional indication of an availability of a licensed radio frequency spectrum band, or both (paragraph 182; licensed vs unlicensed spectrum type) but does not expressly disclose the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band satisfying a first threshold and the licensed radio frequency spectrum band satisfying a second threshold.
Lim discloses analogous art (Title: Measurement and Reporting and Cell Reselection for Unlicensed Band Operation) including the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band satisfying a first threshold and the licensed radio frequency spectrum band satisfying a second threshold (paragraph 31-32; different priority for cell reselection in licensed/unlicensed carrier including different thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park and Wu by providing for the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band satisfying a first threshold and the licensed radio frequency spectrum band satisfying a second threshold, as shown by Lim, thereby improving spectrum utilization.
Claims 9, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Wu, and further in view of Bang et al. (US20230122786A1; “Bang”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18,
The combination of Park and Wu does not expressly disclose a request for capability information associated with communications over the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band.
Bang discloses analogous art (Title: Channel Access Procedure in Wireless Communication System) including sidelink/unlicensed band (paragraph 247) and a request for capability information associated with communications over the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 182-183; terminal receives a UE capability request from the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park and Wu by providing a request for capability information associated with communications over the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, as shown by Bang, thereby enabling multi-radio dual connectivity resource allocation. when applicable.
Regarding claim 19,
The combination of Park and Wu discloses to receive an additional indication that the one or more second UEs have the capability for sidelink communications over the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Fig. 25, uplink message 2520/2532 comprising sidelink capability information of device 2516).
The combination of Park and Wu does not expressly disclose a request for capability information associated with communications over the unlicensed band.
Bang discloses analogous art (Title: Channel Access Procedure in Wireless Communication System) including sidelink/unlicensed band (paragraph 247) and a request for capability information associated with communications over the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 182-183; terminal receives a UE capability request from the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park and Wu by providing a request for capability information associated with communications over the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, as shown by Bang, thereby enabling multi-radio dual connectivity resource allocation when applicable.
Claims 10, 11, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Wu, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20190141696A1; “Kim”).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 20, and 21,
The combination of Park and Wu does not expressly disclose the first/second messages or indications are received/transmitted using a licensed radio frequency spectrum band.
Kim discloses analogous art showing licensed/unlicensed spectrum and sidelink communication including the messages and indications are received/transmitted using a licensed radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 190, 262; licensed assisted access for use in carrier selection of unlicensed spectrum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park and Wu by communicating the messages and indications using a licensed radio frequency spectrum band, as shown by Kim, thereby enabling sidelink communication through dual connectivity using different schemes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 12-14 of the Amendment, Applicant contends Park does not teach a network entity receiving, from a first UE, a plurality of first messages” as now claimed. Applicant contends Park only shows conveying the sidelink capability of a second device/UE but multiple indications of sidelink capability of the first UE and one or more second UEs.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As now shown in the rejection, Park shows multiple messages (Fig. 25, at least messages 2524, 2520) are received by the network entity (base station 2504) comprising sidelink capability of one or more devices (i.e. devices 2512 and 2516, respectively; paragraph 249). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from Park’s cited disclosure that devices conventionally have the ability to send their own sidelink capability to the base station, with inventive concept in Park extending that principle to provide a device with the ability to convey the sidelink capability of other UEs to the network as well, congruent with the contested claim limitations, as amended. Therefore, the rejections based on the combination of Park and Wu are properly maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477