DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 12-29-25. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2017 /0349053 to Landseadel to (“Landseadel”).
Regarding claim 1, Landseadel teaches an electronic circuit (fig. 4) for a motor (12) vehicle, the electronic circuit comprising: a first branch (left 17 and left 18) comprising a first switch (left 20 within the left 17) and at least a second switch (middle 20 within the left 17), which are connected in parallel between a high point (middle 17 upper portion line # 10) and a first midpoint (Node between left 17 and left 18), and a third switch (left 20 within left 18) and at least a fourth switch (middle 20 within left 18), which are connected in parallel between a low point (Bottom terminal of left 18) and the first midpoint; a second branch (Since there are only two 17 and 18, as left and right) comprising a fifth switch (Both 17 are on the top half of the figure. 4) and at least a sixth switch (middle 20 within right 17), which are connected in parallel (fig. 4) between the high point and a second midpoint (line between middle # 17 and # 18), and a seventh switch (left 20 within right 18) and at least an eighth switch (middle 20 within right 18) which are connected in parallel between the low point and the second midpoint (as understood by examination of Figure 4); and a coil (fig. 4, top 23) electrically connected to a first electrical connection terminal (top portion 27) of one of an electrical networks and an item (an alternating current (AC) source 15) of electrical equipment external to the motor vehicle, wherein the first midpoint is electrically connected to the first electrical connection terminal (top coil 23 connected to line between right 17 and right 18) of one of the electrical network and the item of electrical equipment connected to a charger (fig. 4) of the motor vehicle via the coil, and wherein the second midpoint is electrically connected to a second connection terminal (bottom coil 23 connected to line between left 17 and left 18) of the one of the electrical networks and the item of electrical equipment connected to the charger of the motor vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Landseadel teaches each of the switches is a transistor (fig. 4, [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Landseadel teaches the motor vehicle comprises at least one supply battery (fig. 4, 11), and the circuit is configured to be connected to the electrical network [0006] that is external to the vehicle [0035] and able to supply a voltage ([0006], voltage from the electric utility grid and charge the battery), and to the at least one supply battery (11), the electrical network comprising the first electrical connection terminal and a second electrical connection terminal (lower portion 27), said circuit being able to convert the voltage supplied by the electrical network into a DC voltage in order to charge the at least one supply battery [0006].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2017 /0349053 to Landseadel to (“Landseadel”) in view of US 2010/0027305 to Oyobe et al. (“Oyobe”).
Regarding claim 5, Landseadel teaches to be connected between the at least one supply battery (11), the item of electrical equipment,
But, Landseadel fails to teach distinctly teaches said circuit is bidirectional and configured and the circuit being configured to convert the voltage supplied by the at least one supply battery into an AC voltage able to supply power to said item of electrical equipment.
However, Oyobe teaches said circuit is bidirectional ([0053]) and configured
the circuit being configured to convert the voltage supplied by the at least one supply battery (storage device B) into an AC voltage (inverters 10 and 20 generate an AC voltage) to supply power to said item of electrical equipment (When it is requested to supply the power to load 90 serving as the AC electric load).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Landseadel by add bidirectional power converter teaches by Oyobe in order to allowing energy storage to charge and discharge while maintaining the ability to operate motor to provide drive to the vehicle and also recharging of battery.
Furthermore, the particular known technique of modifying the circuit with bidirectional converter circuit to allow energy flows between the motor and the storage recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Oyobe.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2017 /0349053 to Landseadel to (“Landseadel”) in view of US 2018/0254732 to Smolenaers (“Smolenaers”).
Regarding claim 6, Landseadel teaches electrical system (fig. 4) for a motor vehicle (motor 12), said electrical system comprising:
But, Landseadel fail teaches a microcontroller configured to drive each of the switches of the circuit to close and open.
However, Smolenaer teaches a microcontroller ([0109], Module 20 includes a microprocessor associated hardware such as memory) configured to drive each of the switches of the circuit to close and open ([0109] controlling the state of switch).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Landseadel by add a controller module with microprocessor teaches by Smolenaers in order to control voltage and current inputs and for executing operations base on control signals.
Furthermore, the particular known technique of modifying the circuit with a microprocessor with memory and for executing operations that result in control signals recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Smolenaers.
Regarding claim 7, Landseadel teaches at least one battery (fig. 4, 11); and at least one electrical system (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Landseadel teaches a method for controlling (fig. 4) the electronic circuit for the motor vehicle (fig. 4, motor 12), and the at least one second switch (20) connected in parallel (fig. 4) close ([0012], [0043])
But, Landseadel fails to distinctly teaches said method comprising: implemented by the microcontroller when it is necessary to drive the first switch a first switching phase, comprising: a first step of closing the first switch, after a predefined period with respect to closure of the first switch, a second step of closing the at least one second switch connected in parallel with the closed first switch, after a predefined duration after the second closure step, a first step of opening the closed first switch, and after a predefined period with respect to the opening of the first switch, a second step of opening the at least one second switch connected in parallel with the open first switch.
However, Smolenaers teaches said method comprising: implemented by the microcontroller [0109] when it is necessary to drive the first switch
a first switching phase [0133, switch controlled in a phase shifted manner], comprising: a first step of closing the first switch ([0133], switch 48 is open/close),
after a predefined period ([0103], first drive circuit 31 and a second drive circuit 32, a first state and a second state during the first period and the second period respectively) with respect to closure of the first switch, a second step ([0136], Module 20 controls the operation of circuits 31, 32 and 63) of closing the at least one second switch ([0103], a second drive circuit 32) connected in parallel with the closed first switch, after a predefined duration after the second closure step, a first step of opening the closed first switch, and after a predefined period ([0103], first drive circuit 31 and a second drive circuit 32, both operate in a first state and a second state during the first period and the second period respectively) with respect to the opening of the first switch, a second step ([0136], Module 20 controls the operation of circuits 31, 32 and 63) of opening the at least one second switch ([0136], module 20 is able to operate in the second state by having switch 48 in its open state and operating circuit 32 and one or both of circuits 31 and 63 to allow recharging of batteries) connected in parallel with the open first switch.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Landseadel by add switching drive conditions within a given period teaches by Smolenaers in order to allowing drive current to the motor in first state or state [0111] and the control signals for receiving load current and energizing winding to create torque in motor.
Furthermore, the particular known technique of modifying Switch operates state based on the control signals by the microprocessor recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Smolenaers.
Regarding claim 9, Landseadel teaches all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Landseadel fails to distinctly teaches claim 9;
However, Smolenaers teaches after the first switching phase, a second switching phase ([0133], switch phase shifted manner) comprising: a first step of closing ([0133], switch 48 is open) the at least one second switch closed during the second closure step of the first phase, after a predefined period ([0103], first drive circuit 31 and a second drive circuit 32, both operate in a first state and a second state during the first period and the second period respectively) with respect to closure of the at least one second switch during the second phase, a second step ([0136], operation of circuits 31, 32 and 63) of closing the first switch closed during the first closure step of the first phase, after a predefined duration [0133] after the second closure step of the second phase, a first step of opening the at least one second switch closed during the first closure step of the second phase, and after a predefined period ([0103], first drive circuit 31 and a second drive circuit 32, shown bounded in variable broken lines, both operate in a first state and a second state during the first period and the second period respectively) with respect to the opening of the at least one second switch during the second phase, a second step ([0136], Module 20 controls the operation of circuits 31, 32 and 63) of opening the first switch closed during the second closure step of the second phase ([0133], phase shifted manner).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Landseadel by add switching drive conditions within a given period teaches by Smolenaers in order to allowing drive current to the motor in first state or state [0111] and the control signals for receiving load current and energizing winding to create
torque in motor.
Furthermore, the particular known technique of modifying Switch operates state based on the control signals by the microprocessor recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Smolenaers.
Regarding claim 10, Landseadel teaches the claimed invention except for “the period is predefined by a duration of between 50 and 100 ns.”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular switching period used would depend on the desired switching period of the particular system/components used.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide Landseadel switching system to prevent switching losses those in the states between the off and on states and the on and off states of the semiconductor providing sufficient current to drive the traction motor.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 12-29-25 with respect to claims 1-10 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TRAINER et al. US 2024/0413763 A1- The disclosure relates to power electronics converters having circuit breaker protection for use in case of faults. Example embodiments include a power electronics converter for converting an input AC supply having a plurality of phases to an output DC supply, the converter comprising: a plurality of AC input terminals connectable to the plurality of phases of the AC supply; first and second DC output terminals.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849