DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 5-7 and 11-12) in the reply filed on 7/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 9 have been canceled, claims 1-3, 8, 10 and 13-14 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 5-7 and 11-12 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 12 disclose the various “variants” or “derivatives” of the above-mentioned transposons.
Applicant generically claims the mammalian cell comprising the “derivatives” of transposons listed in the claims. However the specification does not contain an adequate description for the entire scope of this limitation and thus the claims. The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
There is no specific variants or derivatives of each transposon in the instant specification, and the specification fails to provide how to prepare variants and/or derivatives of the listed transposons.
In the absence of such description, it is considered that the instant specification fails to provide sufficient written description for the “derivatives” or “variants” of the transposon such that the invention had possession on the entire scope of the claimed genus.
Claims 5-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is dependent on the withdrawn claim 1, and thus, the limitation directed to “the method of claim 1” renders claim 5 and its dependent claims indefinite.
Applicant is advised to disclose the subject matter of claim 1 in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by George, JR. et al. (US2009/0042297A1) and as evidenced by Lentivirus Packaging Cell Line (2026, Bioinnovatise).
George, JR. et al. teach the use of transposon such as PiggyBac for simultaneous stable delivery of multiple genes in vivo or in mammalian cells in vitro such as HEK-293 cells, and this approach allows for stable cell line generation and regulate transgene expression in vivo (para. 316, 322). The plasmid comprising a transposon system taught by George, JR. et al. is considered to integrate into the genome.
George, JR. et al. also teach the use of two transposons comprising SB12/pT3 combination in HEK293 cells (para. 303, 309). SB12 is a hyperactive Sleeping Beauty transposase, and pT3 is a hyperactive SB transposon with identical IR elements (para. 9), and the combination of SB12 and pT3 is considered to meet the two transposons selected from SB transposon and its variants or derivatives in claim 7 because SB12 and pT3 are variants of SB transposon.
As it appears that SB12 and pT3 might overlap the sequence as they are variants of SB, this teaching does not address the limitation of claim 6.
However, George, JR. et al. also teach that multiple rounds of delivery such as piggy-Bac followed by SB and then phiC31 can also achieve the same end products (para. 323), and this teaching would meet the two transposon systems (piggy-Bac and SB) stably transfected into HEK-293 cells and their sequences should not be overlapping each other as they are two different transposon systems. Thus, this teaching would meet the limitations of claims 5-7 and 12.
Regarding claim 11 directed to the lentivirus producing cell line, George, JR. et al. teach HEK-293 cells and HeLa cells for expressing the plasmids comprising transposons. It is considered that these cell lines would meet the limitation as HEK293 cells and HeLa cells are known in the art for lentivirus packaging cell lines according to Lentivirus Packaging Cell line (p.4).
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George, JR. et al. (supra) in view of Pule et al. (US2019/0055568A1; of record).
George, JR. et al. teach the subject matter of claims 5-7 and 11-12 as discussed above, and thus, render them obvious.
Regarding the lentivirus packaging cell line, although claim 11 does not particularly limits the type of cell line, it is extremely well known in the art that 293T cells which are derived from HEK-293 cells are used for transfecting piggyBAC transposase expression plasmid according to Pule et al. (Example 2; para. 270) In fact, the instant specification discloses 293T cells as an example of a lentivirus packaging cell line.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use 293T cells for the expression of multiple transposons (e.g. piggyBac and SB) taught by George, JR. et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-7 and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 17/766,684 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘684 application are directed to a method for preparing a producer cell for producing a retroviral vector carrying a nucleic acid fragment of interest, thus, a mammalian cell for packaging retrovirus including lentivirus, and the viral genome carrying the nucleic acid fragment of interest into the genome of a host cell using a Sleeping Beauty transposon system and a PiggyBac transposon system. Thus, the resulting cells would comprise two different transposons integrated into the genome of the host cells. While the host cells are not particularly disclosed as a lentivirus packaging cell line, however, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use a lentivirus packaging cell line for the lentiviral vector producing cells. The two PB and SB transposon systems integrated into the host cells produced by the method of the ‘684 application anticipate the claimed product of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631