DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 4/5/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5, 13, 20-21, and 28 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: change “identifies a” in line 1 to “identifies the” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3, 5, 11, 13, 18, 20, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 2. Furthermore, it is unclear what “the slot” in line 4 is referring to since there are two instances “a slot” in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 10. Furthermore, it is unclear what “the slot” in line 4 is referring to since there are two instances “a slot” in claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 17. Furthermore, it is unclear what “the slot” in line 5 is referring to since there are two instances “a slot” in claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in line 4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 17.
Regarding claim 26, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 25. Furthermore, it is unclear what “the slot” in lines 4-5 is referring to since there are two instances “a slot” in claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, it is unclear what “the PRS hop” in lines 3-4 are referring to since there are two instances of “a PRS hop” in claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15-20, 22-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190037525 by Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) (IDS filed 4/5/24) in view of US 20190178976 by Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong) (IDS filed 4/5/24).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches a network entity (¶ 156, Device 1405 may be an example of or include the components of base station 105; ¶ 53, base station 105 may be a serving base station for UE 115), comprising:
a memory (fig. 14, memory 1425);
at least one transceiver (fig. 14, transceiver 1435);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (fig. 14, shows processor 1420 communicatively coupled to memory 1425 and transceiver 1435),
the at least one processor configured to (¶ 157):
determine a positioning reference signal (PRS) frequency hopping configuration that specifies a plurality of PRS hops within a PRS resource set (¶ 41, The serving base station may generate a PRS configuration. The PRS configuration may include a set of hopping frequencies for one or more PRS transmissions from the serving base station and one or more neighboring base stations; ¶ 129, at least one PRS transmission during a PRS occasion including a set of repetitions of PRS subframes. Examiner correspond a PRS occasion to the PRS resource set),
and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the PRS frequency hopping configuration to at least one user equipment (UE) (¶ 41, The UE may receive the PRS configuration from the serving base station; ¶ 171, At block 1705 the base station 105 may transmit a PRS configuration to a UE…aspects of the operations of block 1705 may be performed by a configuration component as described with reference to FIGS. 11 through 14, which may operate in cooperation with a transmitter 1120 or 1220 as described with reference to FIG. 11 or 12, or antenna(s) 1440 and transceiver(s) 1435 as described with reference to FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s teachings with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
Although Liu teaches each PRS hop, PRS frequency hopping configuration, and PRS hops, Liu does not explicitly disclose each PRS hop occupying a specified set of one or more contiguous physical resource blocks and PRS frequency hopping configuration further specifying a time gap between PRS hops.
Xiong in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches each PRS hop occupying a specified set of one or more contiguous physical resource blocks (¶ 59, Position reference signals are transmitted as multiple PRS blocks; ¶ 60, frequency hopping is used such that multiple PRS blocks are transmitted in different subframes within a PRS occasion each being transmitted in a different frequency range; ¶ 85, PRS blocks in this embodiment hop…; ¶ 94, frequency hopping between PRS blocks transmitted; ¶ 86, One PRS block could include one or more PRBs (physical resource blocks)) and PRS frequency hopping configuration further specifying a time gap between PRS hops (¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE in FIG. 1 could include one or more sets for PRS carrier frequency indications. One set indicates one group of PRS carrier frequencies; ¶ 76, one set for PRS carrier frequency indication include partial or all of PRS frequency hopping pattern and hopping gap information; ¶ 15, a time gap between broadcast of the position reference signals where frequency hopping is involved…; ¶ 32, reference signal configuration information includes at least one of…a number of subframes forming a gap between broadcast of adjacent position reference signals within said position reference signal time period; ¶ 35, position reference signal configuration information comprises an indication of a number of times within said position reference signal time period said position reference signal is to be broadcast and a time gap between said broadcasts; ¶ 77, PRS frequency hopping pattern could be indicated by partial or all of following information; ¶ 80, Number of subframes per hopping gap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s teachings with Xiong’s above teachings. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Xiong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Liu prior art) based on design incentives (increase the accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 16, wherein, to transmit the PRS frequency hopping configuration (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 157) transmit information that identifies a location of a PRS hop in a time domain, information that identifies a location of a PRS hop in a frequency domain, or a combination thereof (Xiong ¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE in FIG. 1 could include one or more sets for PRS carrier frequency indications. One set indicates one group of PRS carrier frequencies; ¶ 32, frequencies where position reference signals are broadcast; ¶ 61, the broadcast of a first PRS block…across a frequency range…the subsequent PRS block is broadcast but in a different frequency range…This change in frequency range means that the position reference signal received at the user equipment is received across two different frequencies…This frequency hopping can be repeated multiple times. Thus, PRS blocks…are broadcast at different frequencies are used; ¶ 100-101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to transmit information that identifies a location of a PRS hop in a frequency domain. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 17, wherein, to transmit information that identifies the location of the PRS hop in the time domain, the at least one processor is configured to transmit information that indicates a slot that contains the PRS hop, a starting symbol of the PRS hop within a slot, a number of contiguous symbols occupied by the PRS hop within the slot, a number of repetitions of PRS per PRS resource, or a combination thereof (given non-patentable weight since this claim further narrows a non-chosen alternative).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 17, wherein, to transmit information that identifies the location of the PRS hop in the time domain, the at least one processor is configured to transmit an index into a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, wherein each entry of the TDRA table identifies a location of one of a plurality of PRS hops in the time domain (given non-patentable weight since this claim further narrows a non-chosen alternative).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 17, wherein, to transmit information that identifies a location of the PRS hop in the frequency domain (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 157) transmit information that indicates a starting physical resource block (PRB) of the PRS hop, a number of contiguous PRBs occupied by the PRS hop (Xiong ¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE…; ¶ 75, PRS Bandwidth; ¶ 97, bandwidth of the PRS blocks; fig. 3a, shows a PRS block being contiguous in frequency and contiguous in time; ¶ 60, frequency hopping is used such that multiple PRS blocks are transmitted in different subframes within a PRS occasion each being transmitted in a different frequency range; ¶ 85, PRS blocks in this embodiment hop…; ¶ 94, frequency hopping between PRS blocks transmitted; ¶ 86, One PRS block could include one or more PRBs (physical resource blocks); ¶ 100-101), a range of frequency hopping in terms of PRBs, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to transmit information that indicates a number of contiguous PRBs occupied by the PRS hop. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 22, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 16, wherein the network entity comprises a location server (Liu ¶ 156, Device 1405 may be an example of or include the components of base station 105; Xiong ¶ 66, Node 1 (for example eNB) and Node 2 (for example a location server)…Note that Node 1 and Node 2 might be in one device or different devices), and wherein, to transmit the PRS frequency hopping configuration (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to transmit the PRS frequency hopping configuration to the UE directly or via a base station (Liu ¶ 157; ¶ 41, The UE may receive the PRS configuration from the serving base station; Xiong fig. 1, shows Node 2 directly transmitting PRS configuration information to UE; ¶ 26, the network node transmits position reference signal configuration information…this information is sent by the location server to the user equipment. The location server may be on the network node itself or it may be remote from it. When the location server transmits the configuration information to the user equipment it may transmit it via the network node; ¶ 100-101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of a network entity comprises a location server and at least one processor is configured to transmit PRS frequency hopping configuration to a UE directly or via a base station. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 23, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 16, wherein the network entity comprises a base station (Liu ¶ 156, Device 1405 may be an example of or include the components of base station 105), wherein, to determine the PRS frequency hopping configuration (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 157) receive the PRS frequency hopping configuration from a location server (Liu ¶ 41, a PRS configuration; Xiong ¶ 66, Node 1 (for example eNB) and Node 2 (for example a location server)…Note that Node 1 and Node 2 might be in one device or different devices; ¶ 26, the network node transmits position reference signal configuration information…this information is sent by the location server to the user equipment. The location server may be on the network node itself or it may be remote from it. When the location server transmits the configuration information to the user equipment it may transmit it via the network node; ¶ 74 and 76-77; ¶ 100-101), and wherein, to transmit the PRS frequency hopping configuration (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to transmit the PRS frequency hopping configuration to the UE directly (Liu ¶ 157; ¶ 41, The UE may receive the PRS configuration from the serving base station; fig. 5, shows base station transmitting PRS configuration directly to UE; Xiong ¶ 26, the network node transmits position reference signal configuration information…this information is sent by the location server to the user equipment. The location server may be on the network node itself or it may be remote from it. When the location server transmits the configuration information to the user equipment it may transmit it via the network node; ¶ 74 and 76-77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to receive PRS frequency hopping configuration from a location server and to transmit the PRS frequency hopping configuration to a UE directly. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches a user equipment (UE) (¶ 137, Device 1005 may be an example of or include the components of…a UE 115), comprising:
a memory (fig. 10, memory 1025);
at least one transceiver (fig. 10, transceiver 1035);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (fig. 10, processor 1020 communicatively coupled to memory 1025 and transceiver 1035),
the at least one processor configured to (¶ 138):
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) frequency hopping configuration that specifies a plurality of PRS hops within a PRS resource set (¶ 41, The serving base station may generate a PRS configuration. The PRS configuration may include a set of hopping frequencies for one or more PRS transmissions from the serving base station and one or more neighboring base stations…The UE may receive the PRS configuration from the serving base station; ¶ 129, at least one PRS transmission during a PRS occasion including a set of repetitions of PRS subframes; ¶ 162, At block 1505 the UE 115 may receive a PRS configuration…aspects of the operations of block 1505 may be performed by a configuration component as described with reference to FIGS. 7 through 10, which may operate in cooperation with a receiver 710 or 810 as described with reference to FIG. 7 or 8, or antenna(s) 1040 and transceiver(s) 1035 as described with reference to FIG. 10. Examiner correspond a PRS occasion to the PRS resource set),
and perform PRS frequency hopping according to the PRS frequency hopping configuration (¶ 42, UE may also receive the plurality of PRS transmissions over the shared radio frequency spectrum according to the PRS configuration; ¶ 43, UE may receive and measure all PRS transmissions on non-anchor hopping frequencies or anchor hopping frequencies based on the PRS configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s teachings with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
Although Liu teaches each PRS hop, PRS frequency hopping configuration, and PRS hops, Liu does not explicitly disclose each PRS hop occupying a specified set of one or more contiguous physical resource blocks and PRS frequency hopping configuration further specifying a time gap between PRS hops.
Xiong in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches each PRS hop occupying a specified set of one or more contiguous physical resource blocks (¶ 59, Position reference signals are transmitted as multiple PRS blocks; ¶ 60, frequency hopping is used such that multiple PRS blocks are transmitted in different subframes within a PRS occasion each being transmitted in a different frequency range; ¶ 85, PRS blocks in this embodiment hop…; ¶ 94, frequency hopping between PRS blocks transmitted; ¶ 86, One PRS block could include one or more PRBs (physical resource blocks)) and PRS frequency hopping configuration further specifying a time gap between PRS hops (¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE in FIG. 1 could include one or more sets for PRS carrier frequency indications. One set indicates one group of PRS carrier frequencies; ¶ 76, one set for PRS carrier frequency indication include partial or all of PRS frequency hopping pattern and hopping gap information; ¶ 15, a time gap between broadcast of the position reference signals where frequency hopping is involved…; ¶ 32, reference signal configuration information includes at least one of…a number of subframes forming a gap between broadcast of adjacent position reference signals within said position reference signal time period; ¶ 35, position reference signal configuration information comprises an indication of a number of times within said position reference signal time period said position reference signal is to be broadcast and a time gap between said broadcasts; ¶ 77, PRS frequency hopping pattern could be indicated by partial or all of following information; ¶ 80, Number of subframes per hopping gap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s teachings with Xiong’s above teachings. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Xiong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Liu prior art) based on design incentives (increase the accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 25, the combination teaches the UE of claim 24, wherein, to receive the PRS frequency hopping configuration (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 138) receive information that identifies a location of a PRS hop in a time domain, information that identifies a location of a PRS hop in a frequency domain, or a combination thereof (Xiong ¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE in FIG. 1 could include one or more sets for PRS carrier frequency indications. One set indicates one group of PRS carrier frequencies; ¶ 32, frequencies where position reference signals are broadcast; ¶ 61, the broadcast of a first PRS block…across a frequency range…the subsequent PRS block is broadcast but in a different frequency range…This change in frequency range means that the position reference signal received at the user equipment is received across two different frequencies…This frequency hopping can be repeated multiple times. Thus, PRS blocks…are broadcast at different frequencies are used; ¶ 100-101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to receive information that identifies a location of a PRS hop in a frequency domain. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 26, the combination teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein, to receive information that identifies the location of the PRS hop in the time domain, the at least one processor is configured to receive information that indicates a slot that contains the PRS hop, a starting symbol of the PRS hop within a slot, a number of contiguous symbols occupied by the PRS hop within the slot, a number of repetitions of PRS per PRS resource, or a combination thereof (given non-patentable weight since this claim further narrows a non-chosen alternative).
Regarding claim 27, the combination teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein, to receive information that identifies the location of the PRS hop in the time domain the at least one processor is configured to receive an index into a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, wherein each entry of the TDRA table identifies a location of one of a plurality of PRS hops in the time domain (given non-patentable weight since this claim further narrows a non-chosen alternative).
Regarding claim 28, the combination teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein, to receive information that identifies a location of the PRS hop in the frequency domain (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 138) receive information that indicates a starting physical resource block (PRB) of the PRS hop, a number of contiguous PRBs occupied by the PRS hop, a range of frequency hopping in terms of PRBs, or a combination thereof (Xiong ¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE…; ¶ 75, PRS Bandwidth; ¶ 97, bandwidth of the PRS blocks; fig. 3a, shows a PRS block being contiguous in frequency and contiguous in time; ¶ 60, frequency hopping is used such that multiple PRS blocks are transmitted in different subframes within a PRS occasion each being transmitted in a different frequency range; ¶ 85, PRS blocks in this embodiment hop…; ¶ 94, frequency hopping between PRS blocks transmitted; ¶ 86, One PRS block could include one or more PRBs (physical resource blocks); ¶ 100-101), a range of frequency hopping in terms of PRBs, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to receive information that indicates a number of contiguous PRBs occupied by the PRS hop. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 30, the combination teaches the UE of claim 24, wherein, to receive the PRS frequency hopping configuration (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to receive the PRS frequency hopping configuration from a location server or a base station (Liu ¶ 41, The serving base station may generate a PRS configuration. The PRS configuration may include a set of hopping frequencies for one or more PRS transmissions from the serving base station and one or more neighboring base stations…The UE may receive the PRS configuration from the serving base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15 recite similar limitations of claims 16-20, 22-28, and 30 respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 21, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Xiong and in further view of US 20210160879 by Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches the network entity of claim 17, wherein, to transmit information that identifies a location of the PRS hop in the frequency domain (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 157) transmit an index into a frequency domain resource allocation table, wherein each entry of the frequency domain resource allocation table identifies a location of one of a plurality of PRS hops in the frequency domain (Xiong ¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE in FIG. 1 could include one or more sets for PRS carrier frequency indications; ¶ 76, one set for PRS carrier frequency indication include partial or all of PRS frequency hopping pattern and hopping gap information; ¶ 77, The PRS frequency hopping pattern could be indicated by partial or all of following information, so as to align with the target narrowband UE:; ¶ 83, Index of PRS frequency hopping pattern in a pre-defined PRS frequency hopping pattern table. For the latter indication the standard might define a frequency hopping pattern table and in this case the frequency hopping pattern could simply be indicated by indicating an entry in the table; ¶ 27, an indication of a position in a table, the location server and the network node storing corresponding tables with frequency patterns stored within them, the indicator indicating a location in the table and therefore a corresponding frequency pattern; ¶ 25, a pattern of frequency locations of said position reference signals; ¶ 100-101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to transmit an index into a frequency domain resource allocation table, wherein each entry of the frequency domain resource allocation table identifies a location of one of a plurality of PRS hops in the frequency domain. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Although the combination teaches a frequency domain resource allocation table, the combination does not explicitly disclose a FDRA table.
Lin in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a FDRA table (¶ 303, FDRA table can either be defined in the specification of system operation or provided to a UE by higher layers, for example, as part of system information or as part of the configuration). By modifying the combination’s teachings of a frequency domain resource allocation table with Lin’s teachings of a FDRA table, the combination teaches a FDRA table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Lin’s above teachings. The motivation is increasing the efficiency in (time-frequency) resource utilization (Lin ¶ 81). Known work in one field of endeavor (Lin prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Liu prior art) based on design incentives (increasing the efficiency in (time-frequency) resource utilization) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 29, the combination teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein, to receive information that identifies the location of the PRS hop in the frequency domain (see rejection above), the at least one processor is configured to (Liu ¶ 138) transmit an index into a frequency domain resource allocation table, wherein each entry of the frequency domain resource allocation table identifies a location of one of a plurality of PRS hops in the frequency domain (Xiong ¶ 74, PRS configuration information transmitted…between Node 2 and UE in FIG. 1 could include one or more sets for PRS carrier frequency indications; ¶ 76, one set for PRS carrier frequency indication include partial or all of PRS frequency hopping pattern and hopping gap information; ¶ 77, The PRS frequency hopping pattern could be indicated by partial or all of following information, so as to align with the target narrowband UE:; ¶ 83, Index of PRS frequency hopping pattern in a pre-defined PRS frequency hopping pattern table. For the latter indication the standard might define a frequency hopping pattern table and in this case the frequency hopping pattern could simply be indicated by indicating an entry in the table; ¶ 27, an indication of a position in a table, the location server and the network node storing corresponding tables with frequency patterns stored within them, the indicator indicating a location in the table and therefore a corresponding frequency pattern; ¶ 25, a pattern of frequency locations of said position reference signals; ¶ 100-101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Liu’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is improving methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that supports positioning techniques in wireless communication systems (Liu ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xiong’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to transmit an index into a frequency domain resource allocation table, wherein each entry of the frequency domain resource allocation table identifies a location of one of a plurality of PRS hops in the frequency domain. The motivation is increasing accuracy of positional measurement for user equipment without undue resources (Xiong ¶ 5).
Although the combination teaches a frequency domain resource allocation table, the combination does not explicitly disclose a FDRA table.
Lin in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a FDRA table (¶ 303, FDRA table can either be defined in the specification of system operation or provided to a UE by higher layers, for example, as part of system information or as part of the configuration). By modifying the combination’s teachings of a frequency domain resource allocation table with Lin’s teachings of a FDRA table, the combination teaches a FDRA table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Lin’s above teachings. The motivation is increasing the efficiency in (time-frequency) resource utilization (Lin ¶ 81). Known work in one field of endeavor (Lin prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Liu prior art) based on design incentives (increasing the efficiency in (time-frequency) resource utilization) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 6 and 14 recite similar limitations of claims 21 and 29, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see form PTO-892.
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476