DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/05/2024 and 06/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 04/05/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 04/05/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 16-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strutt et al. (GB 2590615 A, hereinafter Strutt), cited in IDS filed 06/27/2025.
Regarding Claim 1, Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (Strutt, plurality of battery cells, Abstract), each of the battery cells comprising a positive terminal and a negative terminal (Strutt, positive and negative terminals of the battery cell, Abstract),
the battery cells being arranged in groups, which are located in at least two module sections (Strutt, a plurality of battery cells arranged in rows to from a plurality of banks 150a-f, Abstract, Figure 5); and
a plurality (Strutt, battery module comprises a plurality of busbars, Abstract) of monolithic interconnect structures connected to the battery cells (Strutt, busbars electrically connect the battery cells, and the busbars may be formed/ stamped out of a single sheet from a repeating template, Abstract, Page 5, Lines 21-22),
the interconnect structures are formed from a conductive metal (Strutt, busbars are manufactured from a sheet of conductive material, such as copper, Page 30, Lines 23-30) and comprise a plurality of positive tabs connected to the positive terminals of the battery cells (Strutt, bus bar comprising a positive connection portion connected to positive terminals of at least two battery cells, Abstract) and a plurality of negative tabs connected to the negative terminals of the battery cells (Strutt, bus bar comprising a negative connection portion connected to negative terminals of at least two battery cells, Abstract),
the interconnect structures being connected to the battery cells to have electrical current flow in a first direction in one of the module sections (Strutt, each cell group 110 is connected in series to other cell groups 110 in the same row, so that an aggregate current flows in the second, major dimension 12 of the battery pack 10, Page 13, Lines 28-32) and
flow in an opposing second direction in another one of the module sections (Strutt, battery modules 100a-100c are connected so that an aggregate current in each row flows in a direction opposite to that in each adjacent and over and underlying row, Page 21, Lines 4-10); and wherein
the interconnect structures are arranged in a single layer (Strutt, the cell group 110 comprises a single layer of busbars 160, Figure 5, Page 23, Lines 27-29).
Regarding Claim 2, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein each group of battery cells comprises four or more battery cells (Strutt, there may be any number of such banks 150a-150e and any number of battery cells 130 in each bank 150a-150e, which may be eight or nine battery cells, Page 14, Lines 25-30, Figure 5; the disclosed eight or nine battery cells falls within the claimed range of four or more battery cells) that are connected together in parallel by a pair of the interconnect structures (Strutt, the busbar 160a is configured to electrically connect the positive terminals 133 of the battery cells 130 in one bank 150a of battery cells 130 in parallel, and the negative terminals 134 of the battery cells 130 in an adjacent bank 150b of battery cells 130 in parallel, Page 23, Lines 18-22, Figure 5); and wherein
the groups of battery cells are connected in series by the interconnect structures (Strutt, the busbar 160a is configured to electrically connect the first and second banks 150a, 150b in series, Page 23, Lines 18-22, Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract) further comprising positive and negative terminals connected to different ones of the module sections (Motokawa, the busbar 160a is configured to electrically connect the positive terminals 133 of the battery cells 130 in one bank 150a of battery cells 130 in parallel, and the negative 20 terminals 134 of the battery cells 130 in an adjacent bank 150b of battery cells 130, Page 23, Lines 18-22).
Regarding Claim 17, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract) wherein the positive terminal is integral with a first one of the interconnect structures (Strutt, the positive and negative contacts may be welded to respective battery cell terminals to maintain an electrical contact, Page 6, Lines 31-32; the Examiner notes that welded corresponds to the claimed integral) and
the negative terminal is integral with a final one of the interconnect structures (Strutt, a busbar 160 on a periphery of the cell group 110 is configured to connect the battery cells 130 of a respective peripheral bank 150a, 150e of battery cells 130 to one another in parallel, Page 17, Lines 1-7); wherein
the first one of the interconnect structures has only positive tabs connected to positive terminals of battery cells (Strutt, the positive connection portion 163a of one busbar 160a is connected to positive terminals 133 of battery cells 130 in different rows of one bank 150a of battery cells 130, Page 23, Lines 11-23); wherein
the final one of the interconnect structures has only negative tabs connected to negative terminals of battery cells (Strutt, a busbar 160 on a periphery of the cell group 110 is configured to connect the battery cells 130 of a respective peripheral bank 150a, 150e of battery cells 130 to one another in parallel, Page 17, Lines 1-7); and wherein
other ones of the interconnect structures each have positive tabs connected to positive terminals of battery cells (Strutt, the positive connection portion 163a of one busbar 160a is connected to positive terminals 133 of battery cells 130 in different rows of one bank 150a of battery cells 130, Page 23, Lines 11-23) and negative tabs connected to negative terminals of battery cells (Strutt, the negative connection portion 163b is connected to negative terminals 134 of battery cells 130, Page 23, Lines 16-23).
Regarding Claim 18, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the positive and negative terminals are located on the same side of the battery module (Strutt, the positive and negative terminals of the battery cells are provided at the same end, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 21, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the conductive metal of the interconnect structures comprises copper (Strutt, busbars are manufactured from a sheet of conductive material, such as copper, Page 30, Lines 23-30), and wherein the interconnect structures are formed by stamping (Strutt, stamping the one or more busbars 160 from the sheet of conductive material using the at least one tool, which may be a die, Page 30, Lines 23-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strutt et al. (GB 2590615 A, hereinafter Strutt), cited in IDS filed 06/27/2025, as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the battery cells are arranged in a matrix having ten or more rows and ten or more columns of battery cells (Strutt, there may be any number of such banks 150a-150e and any number of battery cells 130 in each bank 150a-150e, Page 14, Lines 25-30, Figure 5); and wherein
the module sections are disposed at least partially side-by-side (Strutt, the second bank of battery cells may be adjacent to the first bank, Page 2, Lines 8-9) and wherein each module section comprises at least three groups of battery cells (Strutt, there may be any number of such banks 150a-150e and any number of battery cells 130 in each bank 150a-150e, Page 14, Lines 25-30, Figure 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of battery cells and a plurality of rows of battery cells would encompass the claimed ten or more rows and 10 or more columns of battery cells, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Regarding Claim 4, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein each group of battery cells has at least one battery cell in each of four rows of battery cells (Strutt, each battery cell group comprising a plurality of rows of battery cells electrically connected by a respective at least one bus bar, Page 3, Lines 11-15).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of rows of battery cells would encompass the claimed four rows, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Regarding Claim 5, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein each group of battery cells has at least five battery cells in each of two rows of battery cells (Strutt, five banks 150a-150e of parallel-connected battery cells 130, each bank 150a-150e comprising eight or nine battery cells 130, Page 14, Lines 25-28).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of battery cells and plurality of rows of battery cells would encompass the claimed at least five battery cells in each of two rows of battery cells, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Regarding Claim 6, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein each group of battery cells has at least eleven battery cells connected together (Strutt, there may be any number of such banks 150a-150e and any number of battery cells 130 in each bank 150a-150e, Page 14, Lines 27-28) in parallel (Strutt, parallel-connected battery cells 130, Page 14, Lines 25-28).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of battery cells would encompass the claimed at least eleven battery cells, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Regarding Claim 7, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the number of interconnect structures is greater than the number of groups of battery cells (Strutt, there may be more than six or fewer than six banks 150 of battery cells, and more than five or fewer than five busbars 160, Page 22, Lines 24-25; the Examiner notes that Strutt is not limited to a certain number of banks nor busbars).
Strutt teaches that the battery cells 130 in each bank 150a-150f are electrically connected in parallel, and the banks 150a-150f are electrically connected in series, by a plurality of bus bars 160 (Strutt, Page 22, Lines 22-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to routinely design the battery module so the number of interconnect structures is greater than the number of groups of battery cells, as Strutt allows for a plurality of banks and bus bars, in order to ensure that all battery cells in the battery bank are electrically connected.
Regarding Claim 9, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the interconnect structures comprise a plurality of trunk bars (Strutt, busbar 160a comprising a generally straight, elongate spine, Page 28, Lines 4-5, Figure 7), and wherein
in each group of battery cells, a trunk bar is connected to and extends along at least a portion of a row of battery cells (Strutt, each busbar is connected to the negative terminal of eight battery cells on one side of the spine, Page 25, Lines 25-30).
Regarding Claim 10, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein in each group of battery cells, the trunk bar is connected to and extends along at least five adjacent battery cells (Strutt, each busbar is connected to the negative terminal of eight battery cells on one side of the spine, Page 25, Lines 25-30).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of battery cells would encompass the claimed at least five battery cells, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Regarding Claim 11, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein each trunk bar is connected to a plurality of the negative terminals or a plurality of positive terminals of the at least five adjacent battery cells (Strutt, each busbar is connected to the negative terminal of eight battery cells on one side of the spine, Page 25, Lines 25-30).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of battery cells would encompass the claimed at least five battery cells, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Regarding Claim 12, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein each group of battery cells comprises at least four battery cells (Strutt, each battery cell group comprising a plurality of rows of battery cells electrically connected by a respective at least one bus bar, Page 3, Lines 11-15), wherein
each module section comprises at least three groups of battery cells (Strutt, battery modules 100, each comprising more than or fewer than four cell groups 110, Page 30, Lines 9-12), and wherein
the module sections are disposed side-by-side (Strutt, the second bank of battery cells may be adjacent to the first bank, Page 2, Lines 8-9).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the disclosed plurality of battery cells and cell groups would encompass the claimed at least four battery cells and at least three groups of battery cells, as it is merely a duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B.)).
Claim(s) 8, 13, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strutt et al. (GB 2590615 A, hereinafter Strutt), cited in IDS filed 06/27/2025, in view of Motokawa et al. (US 20120244401 A1, hereinafter Motokawa).
Regarding Claim 8, Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract). Strutt is silent regarding a housing having a body closed by a lid, the body containing the battery cells and the interconnect structures.
Motokawa discloses a battery module (Motokawa, battery module, Abstract) further comprising a housing having a body (Motokawa, case, [0037]) closed by a lid (Motokawa, the battery module is covered with a lid, [0016]), wherein
the body containing the battery cells and the interconnect structures (Motokawa, battery blocks are accommodated in the case, and the battery blocks comprises battery cells and current conduction members connecting the electrode terminals of the plurality of battery cells, ([0037], Claim 1).
Motokawa teaches that the block formation technique has various advantages such as improvement of workability in assembling battery modules and improvement of flexibility in mounting the battery modules in areas of limited space, such as a vehicle (Motokawa, [0002]).
Strutt and Motokawa are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the battery module of Strutt to be accommodated in a case covered with a lid, in order to improve workability in assembling battery modules and improve flexibility in mounting the battery modules in areas of limited space, such as a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the battery module comprises first, second and third module sections (Strutt, plurality of battery cell groups, Page 3, Lines 11-15), with the second module section being disposed between the first module section and the third module section (Strutt, cell groups 160a-160e are adjacent to each other, Figure 5), and wherein
current flows in the first direction in the first module section and the third module section and flows in the opposing second direction in the second module section (Motokawa, the current conduction member includes a parallel section including two members which are opposite in direction of a current flowing therethrough and are arranged substantially parallel to each other, Abstract, Figure 5; the Examiner notes that the current of parallel battery groups flow opposite of each other).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein the battery module further comprises a fourth module section (Strutt, plurality of battery cell groups, Page 3, Lines 11-15) disposed adjacent to the third module section (Strutt, cell groups 160a-160e are adjacent to each other, Figure 5) such that
the third module section is disposed between the second module section and the fourth module section (Strutt, cell groups 160a-160e are adjacent to each other, Figure 5), and wherein
current flows in the first direction in the first module section and the third module section and flows in the opposing second direction in the second module section and the fourth module section (Motokawa, the current conduction member includes a parallel section including two members which are opposite in direction of a current flowing therethrough and are arranged substantially parallel to each other, Abstract, Figure 5; the Examiner notes that the current of parallel battery groups flow opposite of each other).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein electric current flows in an approximately serpentine path (Motokawa, the current conduction member including the parallel section and the connection section 46 has a U-shaped structure, [0042], Figure 3) from the positive terminal to the negative terminal (Motokawa, the terminal sections are electrically connected to each other via connection members 34a, 34b, 34c, 34d. Moreover, ends on one side of the rows are connected to each other via a connection section 146, and the ends on the other side of the rows are connected to output terminals 143, 145, [0050], Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Strutt discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Strutt discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Strutt, battery module, Abstract), wherein electric current flows in a channel-shaped path (Motokawa, the current conduction member including the parallel section and the connection section 46 has a U-shaped structure, [0042], Figure 3) from the positive terminal to the negative terminal (Motokawa, the terminal sections are electrically connected to each other via connection members 34a, 34b, 34c, 34d. Moreover, ends on one side of the rows are connected to each other via a connection section 146, and the ends on the other side of the rows are connected to output terminals 143, 145, [0050], Figure 9).
Conclusion
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752