DETAILED ACTION
2. The specification, the abstract and the drawings are all acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111082735A to Wang.
As to claim 1, Wang teaches a switchover asymmetric H-Bridge circuit for operation of a switched reluctance motor (figs. 2, 11) comprising: a plurality of windings arranged on each phase of a switched reluctance motor(fig. 2: “A1, A2, B1, B2 …”); and wherein the plurality of windings of each phase of the SRM motor comprises of a plurality of sub-windings or segments of equal turns(fig. 2: “A1, A2, B1, B2 …”); and wherein each of the plurality of sub-windings is controlled individually by an asymmetric H-Bridge circuit(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2); wherein the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit comprises a plurality of switches configured with a plurality of diodes; and wherein the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit, configuring each of the plurality of sub-windings is connected to each other through a plurality of cross-over switches(paragraphs [0040] – [0046] & fig. 2 wherein fig. 2 teaches the three crossover switches used to connect the H-bridge circuits to each other); and wherein the connection between the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit, configuring the plurality of sub-windings with the plurality of cross-over switches is established by connecting an end of one segment of the plurality of sub-windings and a start of the next segment of the plurality of sub-windings(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2); and wherein the connection between the plurality of sub-windings through the plurality of cross-over switches provides an option to perform both series and parallel mode of operation for each phase of the SRM to vary the inductance and torque or speed performance; and wherein the each of the series-parallel combination of the plurality of sub-windings with the plurality of cross-over switches is considered as a gear setting(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1), and wherein the gear setting with the plurality of sub-windings in series is considered as a lower gear and the gear setting with the plurality of sub-windings in parallel is considered as a higher gear(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 2, Wang teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit with the plurality of cross-over switches is configured to achieve higher inductance and torque at lower speeds, and lower inductance and torque at higher speeds of operation(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 5, Wang teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of switches in the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit includes MOSFETs, Power BJTs, IGBTs, SiC MOSFETs or GaN MOSFETs and wherein the plurality of diodes is used in the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit to conduct current in one direction(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 6, Wang teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub-windings connected through the plurality of cross-over switches in series mode, achieves higher effective inductance or torque at lower speeds; and wherein the effective inductance of the plurality of windings in series mode is twice the inductance of each of the plurality of sub-windings(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 7, Wang teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub-windings connected through the plurality of cross-over switches in parallel mode, achieves lower effective inductance or torque at higher speeds; and wherein the effective inductance of the plurality of windings in parallel mode is half the inductance of each of the plurality of sub-windings(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 8, Wang teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit with the plurality of cross-over switches is configured to connect the plurality of sub-windings in the series or parallel mode to achieve a wider range of inductance variation; and wherein the number of sub-windings is selected/chosen based on user requirement; and wherein the number of plurality of sub-windings, connected in series or parallel are increased, by using additional asymmetric H-Bridge circuits and the plurality of cross-switches(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 9, Wang teaches a method for operation of a switched reluctance motor using switchover asymmetric H-Bridge circuit (figs. 2, 11) comprising the steps of: a. configuring a plurality of windings on each phase of a SRM motor (fig. 2: “A1, A2, B1, B2 …”); and wherein the plurality of windings of each phase of the SRM comprises of a plurality of sub-windings or segments of equal turns (fig. 2: “A1, A2, B1, B2 …”); b. controlling individually each of the plurality of sub-windings by an asymmetric H-Bridge circuit (paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2); c. configuring the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit with a plurality of switches and a plurality of diodes (paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2); d. connecting the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit, configuring each of the plurality of sub-windings through a plurality of cross-over switches (paragraphs [0040] – [0046] & fig. 2 wherein fig. 2 teaches the three crossover switches used to connect the H-bridge circuits to each other); and wherein the connection between the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit, configuring plurality of sub-windings through the plurality of cross-over switches is established by connecting an end of one segment of the plurality of sub-windings and a start of the next segment of the plurality of sub-windings (paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2); and e. performing both series and parallel mode of operation for each phase of the SRM to vary the inductance and torque or speed performance; and wherein the each of the series-parallel combination of the plurality of sub-windings with the plurality of cross-over switches is considered as a gear setting (paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1), and wherein the gear setting with the plurality of sub-windings in series is considered as a lower gear and the gear setting with the plurality of sub-windings in parallel is considered as a higher gear; and wherein the different gear settings are switched mutually to achieve the application demands of the SRM motor in an optimal manner (paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 10, Wang teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the required inductance or torque is achieved by: a. measuring current torque and speed, and estimating a commanded torque; b. evaluating and continuing to function normally, when the commanded torque and speed is within the capability of current inductance; c. increasing inductance by determining whether the commanded torque level is above maximum torque at current speed level, and the current speed level is below a maximum speed limit at next higher gear; and d. reducing inductance by determining whether the current speed level is above the maximum speed limit at the current torque level, and the commanded torque level is below the maximum torque level at next lower gear(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 11, Wang teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of sub-windings connected through the plurality of cross-over switches in series mode, helps to achieve higher effective inductance or torque at lower speeds; and wherein the effective inductance of the plurality of windings in series mode is twice the inductance of each of the plurality of sub-windings(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 12, Wang teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of sub-windings connected through the plurality of cross-over switches in parallel mode, helps to achieve lower effective inductance or torque at higher speeds; and wherein the effective inductance of the plurality of windings in parallel mode is half the inductance of each of the plurality of sub-windings(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
As to claim 13, Wang teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit with the plurality of cross-over switches is configured to connect the plurality of sub-windings in the series or parallel mode to achieve a wider range of inductance variation(paragraphs [0040] – [0046], fig. 2, paragraphs [0037]-[0039] & fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3-4, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111082735A to Wang, and in view of Mohamed Abdalla Hussein et al “Reconfigurable Modular fault Tolerant Converter Topology for Switched Reluctance Motors”, IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics, Vol. 10, No. 3, 23 November 2021, pages 2890-2902, Piscataway, NJ, USA, ISSN: 2168-6777.
As to claim 3, Wang teaches the system according to claim 1. Wang does not teach an apparatus wherein the plurality of cross-over switches used to connect asymmetric H-Bridge circuit to support series and parallel mode of operation for each phase of SRM, comprises two cross-over switches; and wherein the plurality of cross-over switches includes MOSFETs, SCR, Thyristor or Solid-state relays.
Hussein teaches an apparatus wherein the plurality of cross-over switches used to connect asymmetric H-Bridge circuit to support series and parallel mode of operation for each phase of SRM, comprises two cross-over switches; and wherein the plurality of cross-over switches includes MOSFETs, SCR, Thyristor or Solid-state relays(Section III; figs 4 & 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hussein into Wang since Wang suggests a motor control system and Hussein suggests the beneficial use of a switchover asymmetric H-bridge circuit in the analogous art of motor control power electronics technology.
The motivation for this comes from the fact that Hussein teaches a switchover asymmetric H-bridge circuit which can be used to improve the motor control system disclosed by Wang.
As to claim 4, Wang in view of Hussein teaches a power electric circuit wherein the plurality of cross-over switches is used as bi-directional blocking devices and slow switching devices; and wherein the use of the plurality of cross-over switches as bi-directional blocking devices, is achieved by coupling the two cross-over switches in opposite directions(Hussein Section III; figs 4 & 5).
As to claim 14, Wang in view of Hussein teaches a power electric circuit wherein the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit supporting series and parallel mode of operation for each phase of SRM, using the plurality of cross-over switches comprises two cross-over switches; and wherein the plurality of cross-over switches includes MOSFETs, SCR, Thyristor or Solid-state relays(Hussein Section III; figs 4 & 5).
As to claim 15, Wang in view of Hussein teaches a power electric circuit wherein the plurality of cross-over switches is used as bi-directional blocking devices and slow switching devices; and wherein the use of the plurality of cross-over switches as bi-directional blocking devices is achieved by using two cross-over switches in opposite directions(Hussein Section III; figs 4 & 5).
As to claim 16, Wang in view of Hussein teaches a power electric circuit wherein the plurality of switches in the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit includes MOSFETs, Power BJTs, IGBTs, SiC MOSFETs or GaN MOSFETs; and wherein the plurality of diodes is used in the asymmetric H-Bridge circuit to conduct current in one direction(Hussein Section III; figs 4 & 5).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 9,991,837 to Vaks discloses a motor control system.
/DAVID LUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846