DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, Figs. 1-9, Shaft Portion Species I, Fig. 5 in the reply filed on January 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 29, 2026. The Applicant argues that claims 1-15 read on the elected Species. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 9 recites “the prevention portions have a substantially polygonal shape.” Paragraphs [0090]- [0091] discloses “FIG. 9 is a view of a cleaner nozzle 1B according to a second modification…shaft portion 22B and a hole 13B that constitute prevention portions have a substantially polygonal shape. The “substantially polygonal shape” is basically a polygonal shape…” Clearly, Fig. 9 is not an elected Species in the Applicant’s election. Independent claim 10 recites “a protruding portion protruding in a radial direction of the cylinder.” Paragraphs [0094]- [0115] discloses “the protruding portion 126” of a non-elected Species in Figs. 11-15. Clearly, Figs. 11-15 are not an elected Species in the Applicant’s election. Claims 9-15 are therefore withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “prevention portions” in claim 1, where the “portion” is the placeholder and “prevention” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ringler et al. (DE102018220582. Ringler hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Ringler discloses a cleaner nozzle (Figs. 1-12) comprising:
a cylinder (2, 9) extending in an axial direction (A); and
a piston (3) having an ejection port (5) and being displaceable in the axial direction in the cylinder, wherein
the piston and the cylinder are provided with respective prevention portions (7-7’’’, 8-8’’’ and 25) that prevent relative displacement of the cylinder and the piston about an axis by coming into contact with each other.
With respect to claim 2, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 1, wherein the prevention portions include a piston side flat surface portion in the piston (7-7’’’’. Figs. 6-9c) and a cylinder side flat surface portion in the cylinder (8-8’’’. Figs. 10-12) that faces the piston side flat surface portion.
With respect to claim 3, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 1, wherein the cylinder includes a cover portion (18) covering at least a part of an opening (occupied by 3), the cover portion is provided with a hole (at 25) through which the piston is inserted, and a portion (hole at 25) of the cover portion that constitutes the hole and a portion (25) of the piston that is in contact with the hole constitute the prevention portions.
With respect to claim 4, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 2, wherein the cylinder includes a cylindrical portion (body of 2) and a cover portion (9) that is separate from the cylindrical portion and covers at least a part of an opening of the cylindrical portion (at 28), the cover portion is provided with a guide (cylindrical) portion extending to a side opposite to the ejection port, and the guide portion has a flat surface facing the piston side flat surface portion (Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 5, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 2, wherein at least two cylinder side flat surface portions (left and right sides of 9 or flat surfaces of 8-8’’’) and at least two piston side flat surface portions (flat surfaces of 7-7’’’) are provided.
With respect to claim 6, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 5, wherein at least two cylinder side flat surface portions (flat surfaces portions of 8-8’’’) are provided and have the axis sandwiched (by surrounding axis A) in between when viewed from the axial direction (Same as the Applicant’s configuration).
With respect to claim 7, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 3, wherein the piston includes a seal portion (17) in water-tight contact with an inner wall of the cylinder (Fig. 5) and an internal flow path (24, 13, 4), the cylinder is divided into a spring accommodating chamber (encasing 19) defined between the cover portion and the seal portion and a hydraulic pressure chamber (24) that is provided on a (upstream) side opposite to the cover portion relative to the seal portion and communicates with the internal flow path, and the spring accommodating chamber is provided with a coil spring (19) therein that moves the piston away from the cover portion.
With respect to claim 8, Ringler discloses the cleaner nozzle according to claim 1, wherein the prevention portions have a flat shape (of 7-7’’’, 8-8’’’ and 25) when viewed from the axial direction of the cylinder.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a cleaner nozzle: Witty et al., Orth, Bristwo, Camier, Epple et al., Orth et al., Lind et al., Hartick et al., Dinant, Suhring et al. and Nuber et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 February 17, 2026