Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Aharoni Rami et al (US 10088685B1)
Regarding Claim 1,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) an optical waveguide arrangement comprising: at least one light source (4301,2,3) arranged to transmit light signals to one optical waveguide (420) of the optical waveguide arrangement; and said one optical waveguide (420), wherein said one optical waveguide is arranged to receive the light signals from the at least one light source (4301,2,3) and to convey the light signals, to generate a waveguide-based display (column 8, lines 27-35), said one optical waveguide being further arranged to generate a first image at a first focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the received light signals have a first set of first spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-52, column 8, lines 3-35) and to generate a second image at a second focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the received light signals have a second set of second spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35), wherein at least one spectral characteristic of the first set of first spectral characteristics is different compared to the second set of second spectral characteristics.
Regarding Claim 2,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the optical waveguide arrangement is such that a perceived focal plane of an image produced by the optical waveguide arrangement is shifted from the first focal plane to the second focal plane when the spectral characteristics of the transmitted light signals are shifted from the set of first spectral characteristics to the set of second spectral characteristics.(column 22, lines 54-56)
Regarding Claim 3,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the set of first spectral characteristics comprises a first set of at least three distinct spectral characteristics and the set of second spectral characteristic comprises a second set of at least three distinct spectral characteristics. (column 6, lines 9-14)
Regarding Claim 4,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein one spectral characteristic of the first set of distinct spectral characteristics is the same as one spectral characteristic of the second set of distinct spectral characteristics. (column 7, lines 13 to column 18, lines 2)
Regarding Claim 5,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein all spectral characteristic of the first set of distinct spectral characteristics are different compared to the second set of distinct spectral characteristics. (column 7, lines 13 to column 18, lines 2)
Regarding Claim 6,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the first set of distinct spectral characteristics is interleaved with the second set of distinct spectral characteristics. (column 7, lines 13 to column 18, lines 2)
Regarding Claim 7,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein each spectral characteristic in the first set of spectral characteristics and each spectral characteristic in the second set of spectral characteristics is a distinct spectral peak in visible spectrum. (column 7, lines 13 to column 18, lines 2)
Regarding Claim 8,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein gamuts corresponding to the first set of spectral characteristics and the second set of spectral characteristics together with the waveguide arrangement comprise a Region of Interest, ROI, representing full color images. (column 7, lines 43 to column 8, line 2 to column 8, line 2)
Regarding Claim 9,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the first and the second sets of distinct spectral characteristics comprise the same white point of interest. (column 7, lines 43 to column 8, line 2 to column 8, line 2)
Regarding Claim 10,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 10) wherein the optical waveguide arrangement is arranged to provide the waveguide- based display as a head-mounted display.
Regarding Claim 11,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 10) A head-mounted display or a head-up display comprising an optical waveguide arrangement according to any of the preceding claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) A method for an optical waveguide arrangement, comprising: transmitting, by at least one light source (4301,2,3), light signals to one optical waveguide of an optical waveguide arrangement; receiving, by said one optical waveguide, the light signals from the at least one light source and conveying the light signals to a human eye, to generate a waveguide-based display (column 8, lines 27-35); and generating, by said one optical waveguide, a first image at a first focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the received light signals have a set of first spectral characteristics(column 6, lines 9-14,42-52, column 8, lines 3-35) and a second image at a second focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the received light signals have a set of second spectral characteristics, at least one spectral characteristic of the set of first spectral characteristics being different compared to the set of second spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Regarding Claim 13,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) An apparatus comprising at least one processing core (1104), at least one memory (column 21, lines 3-35) including computer program code (column 24, lines 31-60), the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processing core, cause the apparatus at least to (column 24, lines 31-60): transmit light signals to one optical waveguide of an optical waveguide arrangement, to generate a waveguide-based display and a first image at a first focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the transmitted light signals have a set of first spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-52, column 8, lines 3-35, column 21, lines 50-53)) and a second image at a second focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the transmitted light signals have a set of second spectral characteristics, at least one spectral characteristic of the set of first spectral characteristics being different compared to the set of second spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35, column 21, lines 50-53).
Regarding Claim 14,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) A computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit light signals to one optical waveguide of an optical waveguide arrangement, to generate a waveguide-based display (column 8, lines 27-35) and a first image at a first focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the transmitted light signals have a set of first spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-52, column 8 lines 3-35) and a second image at a second focal plane of the optical waveguide arrangement when at least some of the transmitted light signals have a set of second spectral characteristics, at least one spectral characteristic of the set of first spectral characteristics being different compared to the set of second spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35)
Regarding Claim 15,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the set of first spectral characteristics comprises a first set of at least three distinct spectral characteristics and the set of second spectral characteristic comprises a second set of at least three distinct spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Regarding Claim 16,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the first set of distinct spectral characteristics is interleaved with the second set of distinct spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Regarding Claim 17,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein the first set of distinct spectral characteristics is interleaved with the second set of distinct spectral characteristics (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Regarding Claim 18,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein each spectral characteristic in the first set of spectral characteristics and each spectral characteristic in the second set of spectral characteristics is a distinct spectral peak in visible spectrum (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Regarding Claim 19,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein each spectral characteristic in the first set of spectral characteristics and each spectral characteristic in the second set of spectral characteristics is a distinct spectral peak in visible spectrum. (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Regarding Claim 20,
Aharoni Rami et al discloses (Fig. 1-Fig. 4) wherein each spectral characteristic in the first set of spectral characteristics and each spectral characteristic in the second set of spectral characteristics is a distinct spectral peak in visible spectrum. (column 6, lines 9-14,42-63, column 8, lines 3-35).
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871