DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Schuck does not disclose the optical waveguide arrangement is configured to modulate the wavelength of the light source based on an angle of incidence of the light in the waveguide onto the notch filter element and/or based on an angle of incidence of the light to the waveguide: First, these limitations are functions of the claimed structure and while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971);< In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). All of the structure of claim 1 has been meet, so there are no functional limitations that distinguish from the art.
Regarding the argument that Schuck only teaches spatial modulation of an image and not a modulation of the wavelength of the source based on an angle of incidence on the filter or waveguide: As seen in Fig. 13, RBG light from a source are modulated (block or transmitted) by the filters (1324, 1334) of the stack (1305, 1310, 1320, 1330), which reads on modulating light source based on the angle of incidence (perpendicular) of light on those gratings (P0115-0118).
Regarding the argument that Shuck does not disclose wherein the modulating comprises adjusting the wavelengths of the light sources according to a mapping of an angular part of light field to a stop-band of the notch-filter: First, these limitations are functions of the claimed structure and while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971);< In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). All of the structure of claim 1 has been meet, so there are no functional limitations that distinguish from the art.
Regarding the argument the Shuck does not disclose mapping of an angular part of light field to a stop-band of the filter: Polarization is based on angular parts of a light field so filters that function based on polarization can be considered mapping an angular part (polarization) of the light field. Therefore, given this claim adds no structure, polarization mapping and the filters involved in such (P0089) is enough to anticipate given the claim is purely functional and claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schuck, III et al (US 2018/0231771 A1). Schuck teaches:
1/13/20/21. An optical waveguide arrangement (Figs. 10A-B, 13) or a method, comprising operating an optical waveguide arrangement or a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a set of computer readable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (part of computer image display/projector, P0004-0008), cause an apparatus to at least: comprising:
comprising:
an optical system (1000) configured to generate a configurable image encoded in a light field (Fig. 10A-B);
optical waveguides (1310, 1320, 1330), arranged to receive light from the light field (P0115) and to convey the light to plural locations in the optical waveguides (1310, 1320, 1330) for release, generating a waveguide-based display (eyepiece),
the optical system comprises a light source with wavelength λ1 (R, G, B), wherein
the optical waveguides (1310, 1320, 1330), comprises a notch filter (1324, 1334, 1336) element with a stop-band at wavelength λ1’ (R, G or B) (P0116-0118), disposed on an outer surface of the optical waveguides (1310, 1320, 1330) to prevent leakage of light from the light field (light is guided into waveguides, not leaked), wherein the stop-band at wavelength λ1’ filters light of wavelength λ1 incident on the notch filter element at a first angle of incidence (P0115-0118),
wherein the optical waveguide arrangement (Figs. 10A-B, 13) is configured to modulate the wavelength of the light source (via 1030 and the waveguides with the filters and gratings) based on an angle of incidence of the light to the waveguide (1310, 1320, 1330) (P0099, 0106-0108, 0115-0118).
2/14. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 1/13, wherein the optical system (1000) further comprises a light source with wavelength λ2 (other of R, G or B from λ1), and wherein the notch filter element (1324, 1334, 1336) further has a stop-band at wavelength λ2', wherein the stop-band at wavelength λ2' filters light of wavelengths λ2, incident on the notch filter element (1324, 1334, 1336) at the first, or a second, angle of incidence (P0115-0118).
3/15. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 2/14, wherein the optical system (1000) further comprises a light source with wavelength λ3 (other of R, G or B from λ1 and λ2), and wherein the notch filter element (1324, 1334, 1336) has a stop-band at wavelength λ3', wherein the stop-band at wavelength λ3' filters light of wavelength λ3, incident on the notch filter element (1324, 1334, 1336)at the first angle, the second angle, or a third angle of incidence (P0115-0118).
4/16. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 1/13, wherein the modulating (at SLM 1030) comprises adjusting the wavelengths of the light sources according to a mapping of an angular part of light field (spatial light modulating, P0089) to a stop-band of the notch-filter (1324, 1334, 1336).
5/17. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 2/14, wherein the light sources comprise laser light sources (P0099).
6/18. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 2/14, wherein the light sources comprise light emitting diode light sources (P0067, 0073).
7/19. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 1/13, wherein the optical waveguide arrangement is configured to provide the display as a head-mounted display (P0004-0005).
9/11. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 1/2, wherein the notch filters are reflective notch filters (P0119).
12. The optical waveguide arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the notch filter (1336) element is configured with more than one stop-band (stops Blue & Green) for each light source in the optical waveguide arrangement (P0118).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuck as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Schowengerdt et al (US 2018/0239147 A1).
Schuck teaches the optical waveguide arrangement previously discussed.
Schuck does not teach expressly the notch filter stopband having a width of at most 2 nm.
Schowengerdt teaches an optical waveguide arrangement (Figs. 10A-B) wherein notch filters with a stopband width of 0.1 to 2 nm may be used on a side of the waveguide (P0169).
Schuck and Schowengerdt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical waveguide arrangements.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filters taught by Schuck to include notch filters with a stopband of 2 nm or less as taught by Schowengerdt.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow most visible wavelengths of light to pass (Schowengerdt, P0169).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874