DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/05/24 and 06/26/25 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 04/05/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sugiyo et al 2021/0057777.
As to claims 17 and 33:
Sugiyo et al disclose that it is known in the art to make an all-solid-state battery (see Abstract). 1st Examiner's note: it is noted that the instant claims are being construed as product-by-process claims (i.e. the method limitation “an all-solid-state battery manufacture using the method…" has not been given patentable weight) and that the product itself does not depend on the process of making it. Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In that, it is further noted that the product in the instant claims is the same as or obvious over the product of the prior art. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product. And, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Therefore, the present claims are unpatentable over a reference that satisfies the claimed compositional or physical or property or structural limitations, and/or a reference that discloses a product made by a process that reasonably substantially comprises every limitation of the claimed process. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974);See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by Sugiyo et al. However, if the claims are not anticipated the claims are obvious as it has been held similar products claimed in product-by-process limitations are obvious. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Claim(s) 17 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fujino et al 2020/0044284.
As to claims 17 and 33:
Fujino et al disclose that it is known in the art to make an all-solid-state battery (see Abstract). 1st Examiner's note: it is noted that the instant claims are being construed as product-by-process claims (i.e. the method limitation “an all-solid-state battery manufacture using the method…" has not been given patentable weight) and that the product itself does not depend on the process of making it. Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In that, it is further noted that the product in the instant claims is the same as or obvious over the product of the prior art. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product. And, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Therefore, the present claims are unpatentable over a reference that satisfies the claimed compositional or physical or property or structural limitations, and/or a reference that discloses a product made by a process that reasonably substantially comprises every limitation of the claimed process. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974);See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by Fujino et al. However, if the claims are not anticipated the claims are obvious as it has been held similar products claimed in product-by-process limitations are obvious. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Claim(s) 17 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Onodera et al 2016/0233510.
As to claims 17 and 33:
Onodera et al disclose that it is known in the art to make an all-solid-state battery (see Abstract). 1st Examiner's note: it is noted that the instant claims are being construed as product-by-process claims (i.e. the method limitation “an all-solid-state battery manufacture using the method…" has not been given patentable weight) and that the product itself does not depend on the process of making it. Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In that, it is further noted that the product in the instant claims is the same as or obvious over the product of the prior art. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product. And, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Therefore, the present claims are unpatentable over a reference that satisfies the claimed compositional or physical or property or structural limitations, and/or a reference that discloses a product made by a process that reasonably substantially comprises every limitation of the claimed process. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974);See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by Onodera et al. However, if the claims are not anticipated the claims are obvious as it has been held similar products claimed in product-by-process limitations are obvious. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972) and In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); See also In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) [prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics] & Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (BPAI 1989) [needs to show that the claimed process imparts unexpected property or structure](Refer to MPEP 2113: Product-by-Process Claims).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a detailed search for the prior art failed to reveal or fairly suggest what is instantly claimed, in particular: the apparatus for manufacturing an all-solid state battery comprising all of the claimed components/elements satisfying the specific structural and functional interrelationship as recited in independent claims 1 and 18, respectively; additionally, the methods of manufacturing the all-solid state battery as recited in claims 13 and 29, respectively, are not taught in the prior art.
Claims 1-16 and 18-32 are allowed.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752