DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III in the reply filed on 19 March 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Examiner rejoins Group IV to Group III and examines them together as indistinct processes for manufacturing a dental implant.
Claims 1-11, now cancelled, are considered withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 14, 17-19, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 101853646B1).
Regarding Claims 12, 14, and 19, Lee et al. (KR’646) teach a method of modifying the surface of a zirconia material (e.g. dental implant made of zirconia), including the steps of: (a) filling a plasma generating device with a carrier gas; (b) generating plasma in the plasma generating device; and (c) irradiating the generated plasma to zirconia [0026-0028,0048-0049].
Regarding Claims 17 and 23, KR’646 teaches that the plasma is radiated at room temperature and at atmospheric pressure [0001].
Regarding Claims 18 and 24, KR’646 teaches that the plasma is irradiated to the implant for 60 to 300 seconds (i.e. 60 seconds to 5 minutes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 101853646B1) in view of Ruan et al. (CN 108380890).
Regarding Claims 13 and 20, KR‘646 fails to teach carbon content. Ruan et al. (CN’890) is analogous art in the field of dental implants and treatments thereof (Abstract). CN’890 suggests controlling carbon and oxygen content to ensure uniform composition, high relative density, and no impurity phases and to avoid biocompatibility issues [0025]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of KR’646 to provide a surface-modified zirconia material with a surface ratio of carbon to oxygen within the recited range through routine optimization to avoid impurities and issues with biocompatibility.
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 101853646B1) in view of Ahn et al. (KR 20200047062A).
Regarding Claims 15 and 21, KR’646 teaches an argon primary inert gas [0048]. KR’646 fails to teach N2 gas. Ahn et al. (KR’062) is analogous art in the field of treating implants with plasma (Abstract), recognizing, in particular, plasma treatment of zirconia implants [0003], and suggests that either argon or nitrogen gas can be used as a carrier gas for a discharge gas used in a plasma treatment [0015-0016]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of KR’646 either by substituting nitrogen for argon or by using both nitrogen and argon as carrier gases, because KR’062 suggests that argon and nitrogen can both be used as a carrier gas for a treatment plasma in an analogous process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 16 and 22, KR’646 teaches a voltage of 27 V and a frequency of 900 MHz. No prior art has been identified which teaches a voltage and a frequency within the recited ranges.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712