DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In that response, claims 12, 21, and 23-25 were amended and claim 22 was cancelled. Claims 12, 21, and 23-27 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Astaxanthin” should be in lowercase (the capitalized abbreviation “ASX” is acceptable).
Claims 21, 26, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the composition” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 21, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “an effective amount of a component (A), wherein: the component (A) Astaxanthin (ASX) and a group of esters of the Astaxanthin; and ….the ester of astaxanthin comprises a monoester and a diester and the mass ratio…”. In the underlined phrase one or more words comprising a verb is missing, e.g., “is”, “is selected from a group consisting of”, etc. As written now it is ambiguous whether claim 12 requires component (A) to comprise just one of astaxanthin or “a group” of esters thereof, or both astaxanthin and “a group of” esters thereof.
For the purposes of examination now this claim term is deemed to require either one or both of astaxanthin and its esters.
None of the dependent claims resolves this issue and therefore they are also rejected on this ground.
Claim 24 recites “wherein component (B) is administered at a dose…”. Because component (B) was deleted from claim 12, component (B) in claim 24 lacks antecedent basis and is entirely indefinite regarding what it is. Claim 24 should recite component (B) is “further” administered, i.e., in addition to component (A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Nagaki (Nagaki, Y., et al., Effects of astaxanthin on accommodation, critical flicker fusion, and pattern visual evoked potential in visual display terminal workers, J. Trad. Med. 19, 170-173, 2002).
Nagaki teaches significantly (p<0.01) improved accommodation amplitude in visual display terminal workers from supplementing with oral astaxanthin at 5 mg/day for 4 weeks (title; abstract; Table II and accompanying text). The workers wore glasses for correction during VDT work (p.171 left col.). Complaints of eye strain was reduced also (p.171 right col.). “Astaxanthin was prepared from the extract of Haematococcus pluvialis” (p.171 left col.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 21, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Nagaki, Y., et al., Effects of astaxanthin on accommodation, critical flicker fusion, and pattern visual evoked potential in visual display terminal workers, J. Trad. Med. 19, 170-173, 2002) in view of Jensen (US 2018/0055788).
Nagaki does not expressly teach the content of astaxanthin in a composition or a food or food additive in claims 21, 26, and 27.
Jensen is drawn to eye health compositions comprising astaxanthin and astaxanthin monoester with a C18-1 fatty acid (title; abstract; see paras.0015, 0017, 0029, 0032, 0051, 0061, 0094, 120-26; claims 18, 22, 28). Jensen teaches astaxanthin may comprise 0.1 to 30% by weight of the composition, depending on the form of the composition (para.0094). The compositions may include tocopherol, and used as food of food supplement (abstract; paras.0084, 0094). Recommended dose is 0.1 to 50 mg/kg body weight (para.0112), or about 7 mg for a typical 70kg adult.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Nagaki and Jensen and use Nagaki’s method in food or as an additive in various concentrations. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to improving eye health by administering astaxanthin and Jensen teaches incorporating it into food is an effective method.
It is also noted that Jesen further teaches “astaxanthin compositions according to the invention comprise predominantly, i.e. to at least 50% by weight, … or at least 90% by weight, the monoester of a C18-1 fatty acid,” and “the total amount of unesterified astaxanthin, diesters and monoesters of an acid other than C18-1 fatty acids, does not exceed, in accordance with the invention, 50% by weight, … or 10% by weight, based on the total weight of astaxanthin and astaxanthin derivatives in the composition” (para.0051 (emphasis added)). Thus Jensen teaches a ratio of the monoester to diester of astaxanthin including 50-100 : 50-0, e.g., 50:10. Furthermore monoesters of astaxanthin offer better oral bioavailability than nonesterified astaxanthin or corresponding diesters (para.0029).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12, 21, and 23-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
H. SARAH PARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1614