DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/01/2026.
Claims 16, 10-11 and 13 amended by the applicants.
Claim 12 cancelled by the applicants.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
Please note that Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirely as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an assignment and monitoring unit configured to determine the vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle… in claim 13,
wherein the assignment and monitoring unit is further configured to at least one of monitoring the vehicle computing units… in claim 14 and
wherein the assignment and monitoring unit is further configured to at least one of monitoring the vehicle computing units, or implementing a fail-operational concept by transferring sub-functions in claim 19.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1, this claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directing to a method claim under Step 1.
1. (Currently amended) A method for starting up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle, the method comprising:
loading the program package from a central archive;
storing the program package in a vehicle-specific archive;
validating the program package in the vehicle-specific archive;
determining a vehicle computing unit from a multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria;
providing the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit; and
starting the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, wherein the program package performs a vehicle function;
wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “validating the program package in the vehicle-specific archive; determining a vehicle computing unit from a multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. For example, a person is capable of validating the program package with some input/output with the aid of pen and paper to see if the program is valid for the entered input. In the same manner, a person is capable of determining/choose a vehicle computing unit based on output of validation program package with the aid of pen and paper to pick the vehicle computing unit from multiple computing units. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, the additional elements “loading the program package from a central archive; storing the program package in a vehicle-specific archive;” and “providing the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit” is recited recite insignificant extra solution activity such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). For the additional elements “starting the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, wherein the program package performs a vehicle function wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle” merely applying the judicial exception or abstract idea. Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “loading the program package from a central archive; storing the program package in a vehicle-specific archive;” and “providing the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit” the courts have identified functions such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368, 125 USPQ2d 1649, 1654 (Fed. Cir. 2018)), thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(d). For the additional elements “starting the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, wherein the program package performs a vehicle function wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle” amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or abstract idea. Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Lastly, for the additional elements, “method for starting up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle” merely link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, thus does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
2. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the validation of the program package comprises a simulation and/or emulation of functions that are not executable on an archive processor of the vehicle-specific archive.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
3. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the loading of the program package is triggered by at least one of a request from a user, a request from an assignment and monitoring unit, or version control.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
4. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determination of the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a list of criteria comprising at least one of: determining a type of the vehicle computing unit; determining a function of the vehicle computing unit; determining computing power of the vehicle computing unit; determining at least one of memory size and/or memory performance of the vehicle computing unit; or determining energy consumption of the vehicle computing unit.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
5. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determination of the vehicle computing unit comprises a selection of an alternative function of the program package.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
6. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the determination of the vehicle computing unit or provision of the validated program package comprise(s) storing information about the program package in a vehicle register.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
7. The method as claimed in claims 1, further comprising: at least one of stopping or uninstalling the vehicle function on another vehicle computing unit.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
8. The method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the stopping of the vehicle function of another vehicle computing unit comprises evaluating a criticality of the vehicle function.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
9. The method as claimed in claims 1, wherein the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a start trigger.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2B.
10. The method as claimed in claims 1, wherein at least one of the loading of the program package, the storing of the program package, testing of the program package, the provision of the validated program package or the starting of the validated program package involve(s) an authentication.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program element comprising instructions that when executed on one or more computing units of a vehicle system of a vehicle and/or on another computing unit, instructs the at least one computing unit to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1.
The limitation for this claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2 step 2A.
Claim 13, this claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directing to a system claim under Step 1.
13. (Currently amended) A vehicle system configured to start up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle, the vehicle system comprising:
a vehicle-specific archive configured to store a program package from a multiplicity of program packages and to test the program package;
a multiplicity of vehicle computing units configured to execute vehicle-specific commands; and
an assignment and monitoring unit configured to determine the vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria, provide the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, and start the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit;
wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, the limitations “an assignment and monitoring unit configured to determine the vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. For example, a person is capable of determining/choose a vehicle computing unit based on output of validation program package with the aid of pen and paper to pick the vehicle computing unit from multiple computing units. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, the additional elements “a vehicle-specific archive configured to store a program package from a multiplicity of program packages and to test the program package; a multiplicity of vehicle computing units configured to execute vehicle-specific commands;” and “provide a validated program package on the vehicle computing unit” is recited recite insignificant extra solution activity such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). For the additional elements “start the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit” and “wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle” merely applying the judicial exception or abstract idea. Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a vehicle-specific archive configured to store a program package from a multiplicity of program packages and to test the program package; a multiplicity of vehicle computing units configured to execute vehicle-specific commands;” and “provide a validated program package on the vehicle computing unit” the courts have identified functions such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368, 125 USPQ2d 1649, 1654 (Fed. Cir. 2018)), thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(d). For the additional elements “start the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit” and “wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle” amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or abstract idea. Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Lastly, for the additional elements, “vehicle system configured to start up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle” merely link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, thus does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
14. The vehicle system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the assignment and monitoring unit is further configured to at least one of monitoring the vehicle computing units, or implementing a fail-operational concept by transferring sub-functions, and/or wherein the assignment and monitoring unit further comprises a vehicle register comprising information relating to which vehicle function is assigned to which vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
15. The vehicle system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the vehicle-specific archive comprises a test unit which is configured to at least one of test, simulate or emulate vehicle functions.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
16. A system for starting up a new program package on at least one target processor of a vehicle, the system comprising: a central archive configured to store a multiplicity of program packages for a vehicle; and a vehicle system as claimed in claim 13.
The limitations “starting up a new program package on at least one target processor of a vehicle” for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 2 step 2B. The limitations “a central archive configured to store a multiplicity of program packages for a vehicle” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A. The limitations “A system” and “a vehicle system” for this claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2 step 2A.
17. A vehicle with a vehicle system as claimed in claim 13.
The limitations for this claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2 step 2A.
18. The use of a vehicle system as claimed in claim 13, for starting up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle, for at least one of updating, upgrading, load balancing correcting errors or implementing a fail-operational concept of at least one vehicle function.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 2 step 2B.
19. The vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the assignment and monitoring unit is further configured to at least one of monitoring the vehicle computing units, or implementing a fail-operational concept by transferring sub-functions.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2 step 2A.
20. The vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the assignment and monitoring unit further comprises a vehicle register comprising information relating to which vehicle function is assigned to which vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 20180152341A1 to Maeda et al. in view of USPN 20200225930A1 to Teraoka et al.
Per claim 1:
Maeda discloses:
1. A method for starting up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle, the method comprising:
loading the program package from a central archive (Paragraph [0062] “server 500 (i.e., central archive) that acts as an external device located externally to the vehicle is a computer that includes a function of delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d”);
storing the program package in a vehicle-specific archive (Paragraph [0059] “memory (i.e., to store) is memory such as ROM and RAM, and is able to store a control program (a computer program as software) executed by the processor. The firmware is all or part of the control program, and is stored in non-volatile memory (designated the boot ROM) such as electrically erasable read-only memory (EEPROM)” also, FW update processing unit 370 functions as an update processing unit that receives FW update information including FW data such as updated firmware, see paragraph [0082]);
validating the program package in the vehicle-specific archive (Paragraph [0084] “FW update processing unit 370 requests the signature verifying unit 373 for a signature verification of FW update information including FW data such as updated firmware” also see Fig. 22 and related discussion);
determining a vehicle computing unit from a multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle (Paragraph [0038] “a gateway device connected to a bus used in communication by a plurality of electronic control units provided on-board a vehicle… acquiring system configuration information indicating a type of each of the plurality of electronic control units connected to the bus, and performing a controlling operation to update firmware of the relevant electronic control unit on a basis of the updated firmware”);
providing the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit (Paragraph [0040] “the firmware update information includes verified configuration information indicating the type of each of the plurality of electronic control units used in the operation verification of the updated firmware”); and
starting the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit, (note here that after the updates are verified/validated successfully then start (resets) the ecu to execute new firmware, see Paragraph [0103] “FW update processing unit 160 requests the signature verifying unit 163… if the signature verification is successful, updates (rewrites) the firmware inside the boot ROM of the ECU 100a… firmware to be executed after a reset (i.e., start) by the processor of the ECU 100a”) wherein the program package performs a vehicle function (Paragraph [0102] “ECU 100a connected to the engine 101 is equipped with a function of emitting an alarm sound”);
wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit (Paragraph [0135] “the FW operation verifying unit 530 of the server 500 conducts an operation verification of the updated firmware”), the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle (Paragraph [0135] “in the case in which an update applying (i.e., program package executes) the updated firmware to each relevant target ECU (i.e., vehicle function) in an environment made up of the types of ECUs is performed, and each ECU is confirmed to operate appropriately after updating, the delivery data generating unit 570 of the server 500 generates FW update information”).
Maeda does not explicitly discloses including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria.
However, Teraoka discloses in an analogous computer system including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria (Paragraph [0217] “amount of resources needed for the process is determined by the type of the ECU… a resource identified by the recovery data URI 50215 may be differential data used to roll back from updated software to the current software… gateway 10 executes a process compatible (i.e., predetermined criteria) with received data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria as taught by Teraoka into the method of updates firmware in an electronic control unit as taught by Maeda. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria to provide an efficient technique to prevent the system from being affected with the proper available resources for the update to perform so as to avoid any abnormality from the system to run as expected as suggested by Teraoka (paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 2:
Maeda discloses:
2. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the validation of the program package comprises a simulation and/or emulation of functions that are not executable on an archive processor of the vehicle-specific archive (Paragraph [0046] “firmware update information includes verified configuration… confirming that the same types as all of the types indicated by the system configuration information are not indicated by the verified configuration information, executing a simulation of operation of the updated firmware using respective electronic control units of the same types as all of the types indicated by the system configuration information”).
Per claim 3:
Maeda discloses:
3. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the loading of the program package is triggered by at least one of a request from a user, a request from an assignment and monitoring unit, or version control (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Maeda teaches Paragraph [0044] “identification information regarding a version of firmware implemented in each electronic control unit for specifying the type” also see Paragraphs [0096, 0103]).
Per claim 4:
Maeda discloses:
4. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determination of the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a list of criteria comprising at least one of: determining a type of the vehicle computing unit; determining a function of the vehicle computing unit; determining computing power of the vehicle computing unit; determining at least one of memory size and/or memory performance of the vehicle computing unit; or determining energy consumption of the vehicle computing unit (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Maeda teaches Paragraph [0096] “system configuration information in this example is a list of ECU information for each ECU… ECU-ID is an identifier (identification information) such as a serial number unique to each ECU… multiple ECUs of different types are multiple ECUs having mutually different functions related to such operation”).
Per claim 5:
Maeda discloses:
5. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determination of the vehicle computing unit comprises a selection of an alternative function of the program package (note here the pre-update (i.e., alternative) is selected upon unsuccessful boot, see Paragraph [0153] “if the reboot in step S1307 is unsuccessful (step S1308), the ECU 100a boots from the pre-update firmware saved in the FW cache storing unit 161”).
Per claim 6:
Maeda discloses:
6. The method as claimed in claim, 1 wherein at least one of the determination of the vehicle computing unit or provision of the validated program package comprise(s) storing information about the program package in a vehicle register (Paragraph [0200] “FW update information including information such as the registered updated firmware and verified ECU configuration information indicating each ECU used in the operation verification of the firmware, and delivers the FW update information”).
Per claim 7:
Maeda discloses:
7. The method as claimed in claims 1, further comprising:
at least one of stopping or uninstalling the vehicle function on another vehicle computing unit (note here that if an error occurs, the previous version is restored, i.e., the current update is stopped and uninstalled, see Paragraph [0103] “enable recovery to the pre-update state if the update fails”).
Per claim 8:
The rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and further, Maeda does not explicitly disclose wherein the stopping of the vehicle function of another vehicle computing unit comprises evaluating a criticality of the vehicle function.
However, Teraoka discloses in an analogous computer system wherein the stopping of the vehicle function of another vehicle computing unit comprises evaluating a criticality of the vehicle function (note here that the evolution of critical error is done by dealer, see Paragraph [0251] “software has been aborted by a critical error and that recovering the update needs making contact with the dealer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of wherein the stopping of the vehicle function of another vehicle computing unit comprises evaluating a criticality of the vehicle function as taught by Teraoka into the method of updates firmware in an electronic control unit as taught by Maeda. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of wherein the stopping of the vehicle function of another vehicle computing unit comprises evaluating a criticality of the vehicle function to provide an efficient technique to prevent the system from being affected when the abnormality in update occurs so as the system is running as expected as suggested by Teraoka (paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 10:
Maeda discloses:
10. The method as claimed in claims 1, wherein at least one of the loading of the program package (Paragraph [0062] “server 500 that acts as an external device… delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100 a to 100 d”), the storing of the program package (Paragraph [0059] “firmware is all or part of the control program, and is stored in non-volatile memory”), testing of the program package (Paragraph [0195] “FW operation verifying unit 530… determined to have a successful operation verification exists among the tested verification sequence patterns”), the provision of the validated program package (Paragraph [0195] “FW operation verifying unit 530 a records the verification sequence pattern having the successful operation verification as update sequence information”) or the starting of the validated program package involve(s) an authentication (Paragraph [0103] “FW update processing unit 160 requests the signature verifying unit 163 for a signature verification (i.e., authentication) of FW data received… if the signature verification is successful, updates (rewrites) the firmware… firmware to be executed after a reset (i.e., start) by the processor of the ECU 100a”).
Per claim 11:
Maeda discloses:
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program element comprising instructions that when executed on one or more computing units of a vehicle system of a vehicle and/or on another computing unit, instructs the at least one computing unit to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 (Paragraph [0059] “memory is memory such as ROM and RAM, and is able to store a control program (a computer program as software) executed by the processor”).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 20180152341A1 to Maeda et al. in view of USPN 20200225930A1 to Teraoka et al. and further in view of USPN 20180048473 to Miller et al.
Per claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further, neither Maeda nor Teraoka explicitly disclose wherein the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a start trigger
However, Miller discloses in an analogous computer system wherein the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a start trigger (Paragraph [0032] “requesting the authentication key 302 of the ECU 114 from the ECU 114 via the in-vehicle network 102… authentication key request may be triggered responsive to input provided to the user interface 112 from a user/technician requesting initiation of the update process”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of wherein the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a start trigger as taught by Miller into the method of updates firmware in an electronic control unit as taught by the combination system of Maeda and Teraoka. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of wherein the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit is controlled by a start trigger to provide an efficient technique controlling the validated program by a start trigger for securing the system from being tampered and have an authenticator installed software as suggested by Miller (paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 20180152341 to Maeda et al. in view of USPN 20240419429 to Mesde et al. and further in view of in view of USPN 20200225930A1 to Teraoka et al.
Per claim 13:
Maeda discloses:
13. A vehicle system configured to start up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle, the vehicle system comprising:
a vehicle-specific archive configured to store a program package from a multiplicity of program packages (Paragraph [0059] “memory (i.e., to store) is memory such as ROM and RAM, and is able to store a control program (a computer program as software) executed by the processor. The firmware is all or part of the control program, and is stored in non-volatile memory (designated the boot ROM) such as electrically erasable read-only memory (EEPROM)” also, FW update processing unit 370 functions as an update processing unit that receives FW update information including FW data such as updated firmware, see paragraph [0082]) and;
a multiplicity of vehicle computing units (Paragraph [0059] “on-board network system 10 is configured to include ECUs 100 a to 100 d”) configured to execute vehicle-specific commands (Paragraph [0059] “ECU is a device that includes components such as a processor (microprocessor)… plural combination of instruction codes indicating commands to the processor in order to achieve a designated function”); and
an assignment and monitoring unit configured to determine the vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units of the vehicle (Paragraph [0223] “multiple virtual machines 805 (equal to the number of ECUs constituting the operating environment) may be generated and made to run on the virtual machine monitor 801”),
provide the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit (Paragraph [0040] “the firmware update information includes verified configuration information indicating the type of each of the plurality of electronic control units used in the operation verification of the updated firmware”), and start the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit (note here that after the updates are verified/validated successfully then start (resets) the ecu to execute new firmware, see Paragraph [0103] “FW update processing unit 160 requests the signature verifying unit 163… if the signature verification is successful, updates (rewrites) the firmware inside the boot ROM of the ECU 100a… firmware to be executed after a reset (i.e., start) by the processor of the ECU 100a”);
wherein, upon the starting of the validated program package on the vehicle computing unit (Paragraph [0135] “the FW operation verifying unit 530 of the server 500 conducts an operation verification of the updated firmware”), the program package executes as an active software function on the target vehicle computing unit and thereby performs the vehicle function by controlling at least one corresponding vehicle subsystem or component of the vehicle (Paragraph [0135] “in the case in which an update applying (i.e., program package executes) the updated firmware to each relevant target ECU (i.e., vehicle function) in an environment made up of the types of ECUs is performed, and each ECU is confirmed to operate appropriately after updating, the delivery data generating unit 570 of the server 500 generates FW update information”).
Maeda does not explicitly disclose to test the program package.
However, Mesde discloses in an analogous computer system to test the program package (Paragraph [0029] “testing to certify the vehicle software and it may be necessary to install the software modules in the same sequence as was used in testing in order to satisfy certification requirements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of to test the program package as taught by Mesde into the method of updates firmware in an electronic control unit as taught by Maeda. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of to test the program package to provide an efficient that software module be compatible with an execution environment of a particular ECU that the vehicle software module will be deployed in as suggested by Mesde (paragraph [0001]).
Neither Maeda nor Mesde explicitly disclose including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria.
However, Teraoka discloses in an analogous computer system including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria (Paragraph [0217] “amount of resources needed for the process is determined by the type of the ECU… a resource identified by the recovery data URI 50215 may be differential data used to roll back from updated software to the current software… gateway 10 executes a process compatible (i.e., predetermined criteria) with received data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria as taught by Teraoka into the method of updates firmware in an electronic control unit as taught by the combination system of Maeda and Mesde. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of including analyzing a current processing load or available resources of the computing units based on predetermined criteria to provide an efficient technique to prevent the system from being affected with the proper available resources for the update to perform so as to avoid any abnormality from the system to run as expected as suggested by Teraoka (paragraph [0003]).
Per claim 14:
Maeda discloses:
14. The vehicle system as claimed in claim 13,
wherein the assignment and monitoring unit is further configured to at least one of monitoring the vehicle computing units, or implementing a fail-operational concept by transferring sub-functions (Paragraph [0223] “virtual machine monitor 801 may be configured to simulate the bus-mediated communication between ECUs by communicating between the multiple virtual hardware configurations running on the virtual machine monitor 801”), and/or
wherein the assignment and monitoring unit further comprises a vehicle register comprising information relating to which vehicle function is assigned to which vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units (Paragraph [0225] “which firmware is registered in the server 500 a, an operation verification is conducted in advance, in an environment corresponding to the ECU configuration of the vehicle model… which includes verified ECU configuration information including information related to the ECUs used in the operation verification for the firmware registered via operation verification, as well as the firmware itself, to the gateway 300 a of each vehicle”).
Claims 15 is/are the vehicle system claim corresponding to method claim 2 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 2 as noted above.
Per claim 16:
Maeda discloses:
16. A system for starting up a new program package on at least one target processor of a vehicle, the system comprising:
a central archive configured to store a multiplicity of program packages for a vehicle; and
a vehicle system as claimed in claim 13 (Paragraph [0110] “server 500 is a computer located externally to the vehicle in which the on-board network system 10 is installed on-board, and includes components such as a storage medium like memory or a hard disk, a processor, and a communication circuit… Presupposing that multiple ECUs related to an on-board network are installed on-board each of multiple vehicles, the server 500 includes a function of managing the firmware provided by the manufacturing companies or the like of various ECUs, conducting a firmware operation verification, and delivering FW update information including updated firmware to each vehicle”).
Per claim 17:
Maeda discloses:
17. A vehicle with a vehicle system as claimed in claim 13 (Fig. 1 and related discussion).
Per claim 18:
Maeda discloses:
18. The use of a vehicle system as claimed in claim 13, for starting up a new program package on at least one vehicle computing unit of a vehicle, for at least one of updating, upgrading, load balancing correcting errors or implementing a fail-operational concept of at least one vehicle function (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Maeda teaches Paragraph [0103] “firmware to be executed after a reset by the processor of the ECU 100a… updating the firmware inside the boot ROM, the FW update processing unit 160 stores the existing firmware in the FW cache storing unit 161, for example, to enable recovery to the pre-update state if the update fails”).
Per claim 19:
Maeda discloses:
19. The vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the assignment and monitoring unit is further configured to at least one of monitoring the vehicle computing units, or implementing a fail-operational concept by transferring sub-functions (Since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, Maeda teaches Paragraph [0223] “virtual machine monitor 801 may be configured to simulate the bus-mediated communication between ECUs by communicating between the multiple virtual hardware configurations running on the virtual machine monitor 801”).
Per claim 20:
Maeda discloses:
20. The vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the assignment and monitoring unit further comprises a vehicle register comprising information relating to which vehicle function is assigned to which vehicle computing unit from the multiplicity of computing units (Paragraph [0225] “which firmware is registered in the server 500 a, an operation verification is conducted in advance, in an environment corresponding to the ECU configuration of the vehicle model… which includes verified ECU configuration information including information related to the ECUs used in the operation verification for the firmware registered via operation verification, as well as the firmware itself, to the gateway 300 a of each vehicle”).
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
None of the cited references discloses or suggests using a centralized controller that monitors the processing load or resource availability of multiple vehicle computing units to determine a target computing unit for deploying a new software function as is being claimed.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is not clear from the above augments that which particular limitations applicants are ageing for. Although, it appears from the language above that applicants are talking about claim 3, 13 and some dependent claims, which recites “an assignment and monitoring unit.” However, as per revisiting the art and the rejection, Maeda teaches virtual machine monitor 801, which monitors multiple ECUs, see paragraph [0223]. Further, virtual machine monitor 801 includes functions such as a virtual machine control function that controls the virtual machines 802 to 805 to run independently of each other, see paragraph [0215]. Thus, Maeda in this case teaches the above argued limitations. In related to claim 3, since this appears to be MARKUSH type language requiring at a minimum just one from the list, and as Maeda teaches Maeda teaches Paragraph [0044] “identification information regarding a version of firmware implemented in each electronic control unit for specifying the type” also see Paragraphs [0096, 0103] to fulfill the at least on from the list.
Maeda teaches updating firmware of an already-associated ECU using a gateway and pre- existing "system configuration information" (identifying ECU types), but does not teach analyzing real-time processor load or memory usage to dynamically select a computing unit.
The arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejections is used for these limitations. See the rejection above.
Teraoka relates to software updates and error handling in vehicles (e.g., contacting a dealer if a critical error occurs), but does not disclose any mechanism for autonomously reallocating or choosing among different ECUs based on their current operating metrics.
Miller focuses on authenticating and triggering updates via user input (start triggers), not on optimizing where in the vehicle to run a function.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., mechanism for autonomously reallocating or choosing among different ECUs based on their current operating metrics) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Finally, Mesde is concerned with verifying or testing software modules, not with selecting target processing units at runtime. Since at least one claimed feature is not taught or suggested by the references, the claims are allowable.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., selecting target processing units at runtime) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In addition, there is no suggestion to modify any static, predetermined firmware update approaches (as in Maeda) with the dynamic resource-based allocation taught by the Applicant's invention. In fact, any modification of Maeda to include the claimed subject matter would rely on the applicant's own teachings as providing the motivation and this would amount to an improper hindsight reconstruction of the claimed invention. The claims are allowable for these additional reasons.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First of all, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., dynamic resource-based allocation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Second, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
With respect to arguments related to rejection under 101. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First of all, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., dynamic selection of a target computing unit by an assignment and monitoring unit, which actively monitors computing resources of multiple ECUs and chooses an optimal unit for execution of the new function… a runtime resource allocation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, applicants’ cites a section of paragraph [0019 and 0021] and states that claim 1 provides a specific improvements to existing technology, and is not an abstract concept. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the rejection under 101 is maintained herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Satish Rampuria/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193
*****