DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 9-19, 21-24 remain pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
With respect to Applicant’s traversal of the restriction requirement, Applicant’s arguments are based on the presently amended claims having a technical feature not taught by the references cited in the restriction requirement set forth in the office action mailed 7/16/2026. However, the restriction requirement was properly made with respect to the claims presented at the time of the previous office action (i.e., the claims as originally presented) and Applicant has not presented any arguments directed to the original claims. Also, even with respect to the newly amended claims, the amended claims do not make a contribution over the prior art (i.e., Groups I-V still lack the same or corresponding special technical feature) because the groups do not make a contribution over the prior art, namely Paolini as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2022/0111387, hereinafter Paolini.
Regarding claim 1, Paolini teaches a drive method of a digital microfluidic device (item 100), an array element of the digital microfluidic device having drive electrodes (items 101 and 105) and a reference electrode (item 106), the drive method comprising: applying a first reference voltage to the reference electrode (paragraph [0051]); and addressing the drive electrode according to a set of data (paragraph [0051]), comprising: (i) when a first scan voltage is applied (paragraph [0068]), a first data voltage is written to a corresponding drive electrode in an array to define a voltage difference with a magnitude equal to or greater than an actuation voltage between two ends of the array element (paragraphs [0068] and [0081]), and the array element is in an actuated state; (ii) when a second scan voltage is applied (paragraph [0082]), the first data voltage is electrically isolated from the corresponding drive electrode in the array to define a voltage difference with a magnitude less than the actuation voltage between the two ends of the array element (paragraph [0082]), and the array element is in a non-actuated state; (iii) alternately writing the first scan voltage and the second scan voltage to the array element to make the array element be alternately in the actuated state and the non-actuated state (paragraphs [0081] and [0082]); wherein in the actuated state, the array element is configured to actuate a droplet in the array element (paragraphs [0068] and [0081]), and in the non-actuated state, the array element is configured not to actuate the droplet in the array element (paragraph [0082]); the droplet in the array element is processed into a target droplet having a diameter smaller than a diameter of the droplet by alternately performing actuation and non-actuation processing (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 2, Paolini teaches the first scan voltage is a valid level (paragraphs [0068] and [0081]); and the second scan voltage is an invalid level (paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Paolini teaches forming the droplet in the digital microfluidic device (paragraph [0041]); the array element is made to be alternately in the actuated state and the non-actuated state (paragraphs [0081] and [0082]) to make a solid-liquid contact surface at a position where the droplet is located vary between hydrophilic/hydrophobic states (paragraphs [0081] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Paolini teaches heating the droplet by using a temperature control module to reduce the diameter of the droplet to obtain the target droplet (paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 10, Paolini teaches wherein treatment time t for processing the droplet is less than 1 min (paragraph [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paolini in view of United States Application Publication No. 2018/0164577, hereinafter Dryfe.
Regarding claim 5, Paolini teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Paolini fails to teach the diameter of the target droplet is less than or equal to 10 m; or the diameter of the target droplet is 20 m to 50 m; or the diameter of the target droplet is less than or equal to 100 m; or a frequency F at which the drive electrodes alternate between turned-on and turned-off is less than or equal to 50 Hz.
Dryfe teaches an electrowetting device in which the droplet 10 to 500 µm (Dryfe, paragraph [0172]) so that the droplet can be selected based upon the desired application (Dryfe, paragraph [0169]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum diameter of the target droplet to a range of less than or equal to 100 µm which would allow for the droplet to be used for the desired application (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paolini in view of United States Application Publication No. 2009/0203063, hereinafter Wheeler.
Regarding claim 9, Paolini is silent with regards to specific temperature the system is incubated at, therefore, it would have been necessary and thus obvious to look to the prior art for conventional temperatures for incubators. Wheeler provides this conventional teaching showing that it is known in the art to use an incubator at 37°C (Wheeler, paragraph [0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the incubated (heated) temperature at 37°C motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of Wheeler.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Paolini fails to teach two scan voltages and therefore does not teach the first and second scanning voltage as claimed is not found persuasive. Firstly, the claims does not state that the first and second voltages are different voltages, just that the first scan voltage actuates the device and the second scan voltage does not actuate the device. Paolini discloses holding a droplet in a specified location by alternating pulses of voltage to hold the droplet in position. This alternating pulses can be considered to be the “second scanning voltage.” Additionally, as the device alternates the pulses with being on and off, when the voltage is off could also be the second scanning voltage.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796