DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner's Note
The instant application has a lengthy prosecution history and the examiner encourages the applicant to have a telephonic interview with the examiner prior to filing a response to the instant office action. Also, prior to the interview the examiner encourages the applicant to present multiple possible claim amendments, so as to enable the examiner to identify claim amendments that will advance prosecution in a meaningful manner.
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 6/17/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1-26, 35, 38, 42, and 44 were canceled. They are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 27 and 46, amended on 6/17/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 27, 28, 46, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the drawing objection, in the argument filed on 6/17/2026 the Applicant stated that “The drawings stand objected to under 37 C.F.R. § l.83(a), the Examiner contending that the drawings must show every claimed feature and identifying "eyetracking hardware," "the user's gaze," "atlas image," "pre-existing contours," "deformable/affine/rigid registration," and "machine learning" as features that must be illustrated or canceled from claims 27-46. To address the objection, independent system claim 46 has been amended to recite its components using the part names illustrated in FIG. 4, namely, a display screen, a signal processing module, and a guidance display component." However, the display screen, the signal processing module, and the guidance display are not the “eye-tracking hardware”, the “users gaze”, the “atlas image”, the “pre-existing contours”, the “deformable registration”, the “affine registration”, the “rigid registration”, and the “machine learning”. As a result, the drawing objection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is a signal processing module in claim 46.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “eye-tracking hardware”, “users gaze”, “atlas image”, “pre-existing contours”, “deformable registration”, “affine registration”, “rigid registration”, “machine learning” must be shown or the feature(s) must be canceled from the claims 27-34, 36-37, 39-41, 43, 45-46. No new matter should be entered.
The amendment to the claims filed on 6/17/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because limitations “the contouring system” and “in response to the determination of the structure being contoured” in claim 27 were added without any underlining mark. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Since the reply filed on 6/17/2026 appears to be bona fide, applicant is given a TIME PERIOD of ONE (1) MONTH or THIRTY (30) DAYS from the mailing date of this notice, whichever is longer, within which to submit an amendment in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121 in order to avoid aban-donment. EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-29, 32-33, 36, 40, 43, and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piper (US Patent 10,930,002 B2), (“Piper”).
Regarding claim 27, Piper meets the claim limitations as follows:
A method for contouring a medical image in a contouring system (systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract] comprising (An example method may include the following steps) [Piper: col. 1, line 51-52]:providing at least one medical image ((receiving a source image from the set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 52-53]; (The contour transformation engine may be configured to receive source contour data that identifies the one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 41-44]) to be contoured by a user (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; determining that the user (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13] has initiated contouring ((For instance, the initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]) of a structure on the medical image ((contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; (At decision step 410, a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour. If the automatically generated contour is accepted, then the method proceeds to step 412. Otherwise, if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited at step 414 before the method proceeds to step 412. The dotted line between steps 414 and 404 signifies that if a target contour is manually edited, then during the next iteration of the contouring method (if any), the manually edited contour may be used as the source contour for the next target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-36]);
the contouring system (systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract] determining the structure (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55] that is being contoured (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19];in response to the determination of the structure being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], displaying (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9], responsive to determining of the structure being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], guidance for the contouring of the structure ((receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7]; (With reference again to FIG. 1, the image and contour reslicing block 104 generates resliced image and contour data, which is received by the seed grid generator 106. At the seed grid generator 106, seed grid template data is received from the seed grid template database 114 along with an input for selecting one or more of the seed grid templates from the seed grid template database 114. The seed grid template database 114 includes seed grid templates that may be used to create a seed grid 402 on the resliced image, as shown in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates a seed grid 402 overlaid on a resliced contoured image slice, such as the example from FIG. 3B. The image contour slices portrayed in FIG. 3B are also represented in FIG. 4. For example, a clinical target volume contour 404, a planning target volume contour 406, and a chest wall contour 408 are each illustrated. The seed grid 402 is centered at the isocenter 410. Each image slice that has been resliced may include a seed grid 402. Including a seed grid 402 at each possible image slice allows for a treatment plan to be accurately planned at different depth levels of a target volume) [Piper: col. 4, line 45-65; Figs 1, 4]; (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram of another example method 400 for contouring a set of medical images. In step 402, the method is initialized with an initial source image along with associated source contour data. Then, in step 404, a target image is identified for contouring based on the source image and source contour. In step 406, a deformation algorithm is applied to the source and target images to generate deformation field data that indicates how one or more objects within the images have changed from the source image to the target image. The deformation field data is then applied to the source contour data in step 408 to automatically generate contour data for the target image by transforming the source contour to match the changes from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-15; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7] – Note: Figs 4, as well as Figs. 2, 6-7, display the guidance for contouring the image); contouring the structure in accordance with the guidance (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64],wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] comprises clinical guidelines for contouring the structure ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) or at least one atlas image showing at least one example contour for the structure ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]),wherein the at least one atlas image is displayed concurrently with the medical image being contoured as a visual reference for the user ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]).
Regarding claim 28, Piper meets the claim limitations as follows:
A method for reviewing contours on a contoured medical image ((systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]) comprising (An example method may include the following steps) [Piper: col. 1, line 51-52]:providing at least one medical image ((receiving a source image from the set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 52-53]; (The contour transformation engine may be configured to receive source contour data that identifies the one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 41-44]) annotated with one or more pre-existing contours (a set of contoured images has been generated) [Piper: col. 5, line 4];
displaying the at least one medical image annotated with the one or more pre-existing contours ((the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]); determining that a user has initiated reviewing ((The initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27]; (the source image and contour data may be selected from a database of stored images and contours or may otherwise be provided or selected by the user) [Piper: col. 5, line 12-14]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]) a one of the one or more pre-existing contour on the at least one medical image ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (At decision step 410, a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour. If the automatically generated contour is accepted, then the method proceeds to step 412. Otherwise, if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited at step 414 before the method proceeds to step 412. The dotted line between steps 414 and 404 signifies that if a target contour is manually edited, then during the next iteration of the contouring method (if any), the manually edited contour may be used as the source contour for the next target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-36]);
determine a structure associated with the one of the one or more pre-existing contour ((The initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; (the source image and contour data may be selected from a database of stored images and contours or may otherwise be provided or selected by the user) [Piper: col. 5, line 12-14]); displaying (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9], in response to the determination of the structure being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], guidance for the contouring of the structure ((receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7]; (With reference again to FIG. 1, the image and contour reslicing block 104 generates resliced image and contour data, which is received by the seed grid generator 106. At the seed grid generator 106, seed grid template data is received from the seed grid template database 114 along with an input for selecting one or more of the seed grid templates from the seed grid template database 114. The seed grid template database 114 includes seed grid templates that may be used to create a seed grid 402 on the resliced image, as shown in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates a seed grid 402 overlaid on a resliced contoured image slice, such as the example from FIG. 3B. The image contour slices portrayed in FIG. 3B are also represented in FIG. 4. For example, a clinical target volume contour 404, a planning target volume contour 406, and a chest wall contour 408 are each illustrated. The seed grid 402 is centered at the isocenter 410. Each image slice that has been resliced may include a seed grid 402. Including a seed grid 402 at each possible image slice allows for a treatment plan to be accurately planned at different depth levels of a target volume) [Piper: col. 4, line 45-65; Figs 1, 4]; (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram of another example method 400 for contouring a set of medical images. In step 402, the method is initialized with an initial source image along with associated source contour data. Then, in step 404, a target image is identified for contouring based on the source image and source contour. In step 406, a deformation algorithm is applied to the source and target images to generate deformation field data that indicates how one or more objects within the images have changed from the source image to the target image. The deformation field data is then applied to the source contour data in step 408 to automatically generate contour data for the target image by transforming the source contour to match the changes from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-15; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7]; (receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7] – Note: Figs 4, as well as Figs. 2, 6-7, display the guidance for contouring the image);
wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] comprises clinical guidelines for contouring the structure ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) or at least one atlas image showing at least one example contour for the structure ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]).
Regarding claim 29, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 28. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
further comprising completing the review of the one of the one or more pre-existing contour or editing the one of the one or more pre-existing contour in accordance with the displayed guidance ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11] ; (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]).
Regarding claim 32, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
outputting (The image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9], responsive to contouring the structure that is being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], the user-initiated a contour structure ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (The image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9]).
Regarding claim 33, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the determination that the user has initiated contouring or reviewing of a contour is determined ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]) when the user starts to draw or edit a contour of the structure on the at least one medical image (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31].
Regarding claim 36, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the determination of the structure (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55] being reviewed or contoured is made ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11] ; (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]) by finding a mapping between the at least one medical image and at least one atlas image; wherein the mapping is done using image registration (The image deformation engine 102 may, for example, utilize a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm that maps similar tissues from the source image to the target image by matching intensity values from one image to the next. More specifically, a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm is a type of deformation algorithm that generates deformation field data in the form of an x-y mapping for each pixel in the target image. For each pixel in the target image, the x-y mapping identifies the pixel in the source image that most likely corresponds to similar anatomy in the target image based on the pixel intensities. In this way, pixel positions along the edge of an object ( e.g., a piece of anatomy) in the source image may be mapped to corresponding pixel positions along the edge of the same object in the target image, showing how the object (e.g., anatomy) has changed from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 3, line 4-20]; wherein the image registration comprises one or more of: deformable registration (The image deformation engine 102 may, for example, utilize a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm that maps similar tissues from the source image to the target image by matching intensity values from one image to the next. More specifically, a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm is a type of deformation algorithm that generates deformation field data in the form of an x-y mapping for each pixel in the target image. For each pixel in the target image, the x-y mapping identifies the pixel in the source image that most likely corresponds to similar anatomy in the target image based on the pixel intensities. In this way, pixel positions along the edge of an object ( e.g., a piece of anatomy) in the source image may be mapped to corresponding pixel positions along the edge of the same object in the target image, showing how the object (e.g., anatomy) has changed from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 3, line 4-20], affine registration or rigid registration.
Regarding claim 40, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the contouring of the determined structure by the user ((the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55]; (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) is one of manual (if the user chooses to
modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31], semi-automatic or automatic contouring (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 43, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 28. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the one or more pre-existing contours displayed to the user are either manual contours from a previous contouring session (At decision step 410, a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour. If the automatically generated contour is accepted, then the method proceeds to step 412. Otherwise, if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited at step 414 before the method proceeds to step 412. The dotted line between steps 414 and 404 signifies that if a target contour is manually edited, then during the next iteration of the contouring method (if any), the manually edited contour may be used as the source contour for the next target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-36] or automatically produced contours (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 45, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the at least one medical image is one a CT scan (FIGS. 8-12 are illustrations of contoured image slices from a CT scan of a patient's pelvic region) [Piper: col. 8, line 59-60; Figs. 8-12], an MRI scan, a PET scan, a SPECT scan or an ultrasound scan (Medical images, such CT (computed tomography), MR (magnetic resonance), US (ultrasound), or PET (positron emission tomography) scans, are regularly contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image.) [Piper: col. 1, line 13-17].
Regarding claim 46, Piper meets the claim limitations as follows:
A system for contouring at least one medical image (systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract] comprising:
a display screen (a display device) [Piper: col. 6, line 2; Fig. 3] for displaying the at least one medical image (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-8; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7] to be contoured by a user (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; a signal processing module (a processor to perform the methods' operations and implement the systems described herein) [Piper: col. 11, line 58-59; Fig. 3] for determining that the user has initiated contouring (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13] of a structure on the at least one medical image (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; the signal processing module (a processor to perform the methods' operations and implement the systems described herein) [Piper: col. 11, line 58-59; Fig. 3] determining the structure that is being contoured ((the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55]; (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]); and
in response to the determination of the structure, (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55] the system displaying, via a guidance display component on the display screen (a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 3-6], guidance to the user for the contouring of the determined structure ((receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7]; (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram of another example method 400 for contouring a set of medical images. In step 402, the method is initialized with an initial source image along with associated source contour data. Then, in step 404, a target image is identified for contouring based on the source image and source contour. In step 406, a deformation algorithm is applied to the source and target images to generate deformation field data that indicates how one or more objects within the images have changed from the source image to the target image. The deformation field data is then applied to the source contour data in step 408 to automatically generate contour data for the target image by transforming the source contour to match the changes from the source image to the target image.) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-15; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7] – Note: Figs 4, as well as Figs. 2, 6-7, display the guidance for contouring the image) so that the determined structure can be contoured in accordance with the displayed guidance (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64];wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] comprises clinical guidelines for contouring the structure ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) or at least one atlas image showing at least one example contour for the structure ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-34, 36-37, 39-41, 43, 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper (US Patent 10,930,002 B2), (“Piper”), in view of Boddington et al. (US Patent 10,973,590 B2), (“Boddington”).
Regarding claim 27, Piper meets the claim limitations as follows:
A method for contouring a medical image in a contouring system (systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract] comprising (An example method may include the following steps) [Piper: col. 1, line 51-52]:providing at least one medical image ((receiving a source image from the set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 52-53]; (The contour transformation engine may be configured to receive source contour data that identifies the one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 41-44]) to be contoured by a user (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; determining that the user (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13] has initiated contouring ((For instance, the initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]) of a structure on the medical image ((contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; (At decision step 410, a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour. If the automatically generated contour is accepted, then the method proceeds to step 412. Otherwise, if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited at step 414 before the method proceeds to step 412. The dotted line between steps 414 and 404 signifies that if a target contour is manually edited, then during the next iteration of the contouring method (if any), the manually edited contour may be used as the source contour for the next target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-36]);
the contouring system (systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract] determining the structure (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55] that is being contoured (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19];in response to the determination of the structure being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], displaying (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9], responsive to determining of the structure being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], guidance for the contouring of the structure ((receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7]; (With reference again to FIG. 1, the image and contour reslicing block 104 generates resliced image and contour data, which is received by the seed grid generator 106. At the seed grid generator 106, seed grid template data is received from the seed grid template database 114 along with an input for selecting one or more of the seed grid templates from the seed grid template database 114. The seed grid template database 114 includes seed grid templates that may be used to create a seed grid 402 on the resliced image, as shown in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates a seed grid 402 overlaid on a resliced contoured image slice, such as the example from FIG. 3B. The image contour slices portrayed in FIG. 3B are also represented in FIG. 4. For example, a clinical target volume contour 404, a planning target volume contour 406, and a chest wall contour 408 are each illustrated. The seed grid 402 is centered at the isocenter 410. Each image slice that has been resliced may include a seed grid 402. Including a seed grid 402 at each possible image slice allows for a treatment plan to be accurately planned at different depth levels of a target volume) [Piper: col. 4, line 45-65; Figs 1, 4]; (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram of another example method 400 for contouring a set of medical images. In step 402, the method is initialized with an initial source image along with associated source contour data. Then, in step 404, a target image is identified for contouring based on the source image and source contour. In step 406, a deformation algorithm is applied to the source and target images to generate deformation field data that indicates how one or more objects within the images have changed from the source image to the target image. The deformation field data is then applied to the source contour data in step 408 to automatically generate contour data for the target image by transforming the source contour to match the changes from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-15; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7] – Note: Figs 4, as well as Figs. 2, 6-7, display the guidance for contouring the image); contouring the structure in accordance with the guidance (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64],wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] comprises clinical guidelines for contouring the structure ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) or at least one atlas image showing at least one example contour for the structure ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]),wherein the at least one atlas image is displayed concurrently with the medical image being contoured as a visual reference for the user ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]).
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
displaying, …, guidance for the contouring of the determined structure that is being contoured ((Module 7 is an image annotation module that includes image processing algorithms or advanced Deep Learning based techniques for detecting anatomical landmarks in a medical image and identifying contours or boundaries of anatomical objects in a medical image, such as bone or soft tissue boundaries. Anatomical Landmark detection stands for the identification of key elements of an anatomical body part that potentially have a high level of similarity with the same anatomical body part of other patients. The Deep Learning algorithm encompasses various conventional layers and its final output layer provides self-driven data, including, but not limited to, the system coordinates of important points in the image. In the current invention, landmark detection can be also applied to determine some key positions of anatomical parts in the body, for example, left/right of the femur, and left/right of the shoulder.) [Boddington: col. 11, line 51-66; Figs. 5A- 12B]; (a visual display configured to provide the intra-operative surgical guidance to the orthopedic surgeon conducting an alignment or fixation procedure) [Boddington: col. 3, line 65-67; Figs. 5A- 12B] – Note: Please see contours and guidance displayed in Figs. 5A- 12B; (The computing platform 100 includes a plurality of software modules 103 to receive and process medical image data, including modules for image distortion correction, image feature detection, image annotation and segmentation, image to image registration, three-dimensional estimation from two-dimensional images, medical image visualization, and one or more surgical guidance modules that use artificial intelligence models to classify images as predictive of optimal or suboptimal surgical outcomes) [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-9; Figs. 5A- 31]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 28, Piper meets the claim limitations as follows:
A method for reviewing contours on a contoured medical image ((systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]) comprising (An example method may include the following steps) [Piper: col. 1, line 51-52]:providing at least one medical image ((receiving a source image from the set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 52-53]; (The contour transformation engine may be configured to receive source contour data that identifies the one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 41-44]) annotated with one or more pre-existing contours (a set of contoured images has been generated) [Piper: col. 5, line 4];
displaying the at least one medical image annotated with the one or more pre-existing contours ((the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]); determining that a user has initiated reviewing ((The initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27]; (the source image and contour data may be selected from a database of stored images and contours or may otherwise be provided or selected by the user) [Piper: col. 5, line 12-14]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]) a one of the one or more pre-existing contour on the at least one medical image (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11];
determine a structure associated with the one of the one or more pre-existing contour ((The initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; (the source image and contour data may be selected from a database of stored images and contours or may otherwise be provided or selected by the user) [Piper: col. 5, line 12-14]); displaying (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device, along with an overlay of the source contour data 302 on the displayed source image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-9], in response to the determination of the structure being contoured (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55], guidance for the contouring of the structure ((receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7]; (With reference again to FIG. 1, the image and contour reslicing block 104 generates resliced image and contour data, which is received by the seed grid generator 106. At the seed grid generator 106, seed grid template data is received from the seed grid template database 114 along with an input for selecting one or more of the seed grid templates from the seed grid template database 114. The seed grid template database 114 includes seed grid templates that may be used to create a seed grid 402 on the resliced image, as shown in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates a seed grid 402 overlaid on a resliced contoured image slice, such as the example from FIG. 3B. The image contour slices portrayed in FIG. 3B are also represented in FIG. 4. For example, a clinical target volume contour 404, a planning target volume contour 406, and a chest wall contour 408 are each illustrated. The seed grid 402 is centered at the isocenter 410. Each image slice that has been resliced may include a seed grid 402. Including a seed grid 402 at each possible image slice allows for a treatment plan to be accurately planned at different depth levels of a target volume) [Piper: col. 4, line 45-65; Figs 1, 4]; (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram of another example method 400 for contouring a set of medical images. In step 402, the method is initialized with an initial source image along with associated source contour data. Then, in step 404, a target image is identified for contouring based on the source image and source contour. In step 406, a deformation algorithm is applied to the source and target images to generate deformation field data that indicates how one or more objects within the images have changed from the source image to the target image. The deformation field data is then applied to the source contour data in step 408 to automatically generate contour data for the target image by transforming the source contour to match the changes from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-15; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7]; (receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7] – Note: Figs 4, as well as Figs. 2, 6-7, display the guidance for contouring the image);
wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] comprises clinical guidelines for contouring the structure ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) or at least one atlas image showing at least one example contour for the structure ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]).
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
displaying, …, guidance for the contouring of the determined structure that is being contoured ((Module 7 is an image annotation module that includes image processing algorithms or advanced Deep Learning based techniques for detecting anatomical landmarks in a medical image and identifying contours or boundaries of anatomical objects in a medical image, such as bone or soft tissue boundaries. Anatomical Landmark detection stands for the identification of key elements of an anatomical body part that potentially have a high level of similarity with the same anatomical body part of other patients. The Deep Learning algorithm encompasses various conventional layers and its final output layer provides self-driven data, including, but not limited to, the system coordinates of important points in the image. In the current invention, landmark detection can be also applied to determine some key positions of anatomical parts in the body, for example, left/right of the femur, and left/right of the shoulder.) [Boddington: col. 11, line 51-66; Figs. 5A- 12B]; (a visual display configured to provide the intra-operative surgical guidance to the orthopedic surgeon conducting an alignment or fixation procedure) [Boddington: col. 3, line 65-67; Figs. 5A- 12B] – Note: Please see contours and guidance displayed in Figs. 5A- 12B; (The computing platform 100 includes a plurality of software modules 103 to receive and process medical image data, including modules for image distortion correction, image feature detection, image annotation and segmentation, image to image registration, three-dimensional estimation from two-dimensional images, medical image visualization, and one or more surgical guidance modules that use artificial intelligence models to classify images as predictive of optimal or suboptimal surgical outcomes) [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-9; Figs. 5A- 31]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 29, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 28. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
further comprising the step of completing the review of the pre-existing contour or editing the pre-existing contour in accordance with the displayed guidance ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11] ; (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]).
Regarding claim 30, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 29. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein completing the review the one or more pre-existing contours comprises (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11] providing feedback on the one or more pre-existing contours (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27].
Regarding claim 31, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 30. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the feedback is provided as comments (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27] or annotations.
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
annotations (accepting or rejecting the preoperative image based on quality score generated by a Pose Guide Module, if the at least one preoperative image is accepted; correcting for distortion in the at least one preoperative image; annotating an at least one anatomical landmark in the preoperative image using an Image Annotation Module to provide an at least one annotated preoperative image) [Boddington: col. 3, line 1-7]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 32, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
further comprising the step of outputting the user-initiated contour (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11].
Regarding claim 33, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein determining that the user has initiated contouring of the structure on the medical image comprises ((The initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]) determining the user to draw or edit a contour of the structure on the at least one medical image (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31].
Regarding claim 34, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 28. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein determining that a user has initiated reviewing ((The initial contour data may be provided by manually contouring one of the image slices 108 using one of a variety of know manual contouring software applications) [Piper: col. 3, line 42-45; Fig. 1]; (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27]; (the source image and contour data may be selected from a database of stored images and contours or may otherwise be provided or selected by the user) [Piper: col. 5, line 12-14]; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]; (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]) the one of the one or more pre-existing contour on the at least one medical image (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11] comprises using eye-tracking hardware and/or software to identify a location of the users gaze on the at least one medical image.
Piper does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
using eye-tracking hardware and/or software to identify a location of the users gaze on the at least one medical image.
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
using eye-tracking hardware and/or software to identify a location of the users gaze on the at least one medical image (A user such as a surgeon, selects at least one
anatomical landmark in the anatomical image on the graphical user interface 151. Anatomical landmark selection can be accomplished by a various methods including but not limited to: auto-segmentation where the software of the computing platform 100 uses feature/pattern recognition process to auto-detect known and targeted anatomical landmarks; use of a remote infrared device, such as a gyro mouse; voice command; air gestures; gaze (surgeon uses gaze and direction of eye or head motion to control targeting) or touching the visualization screen at the selected anatomical landmarks) [Boddington: col. 18, line 60 – col. 19, line 4]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 36, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] for the contouring of the structure comprises that at least one atlas image ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]) and wherein determining the structure (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55] that is being contoured comprises ((Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11] (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31]) finding a mapping between the at least one medical image ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) and the at least one atlas image ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]); wherein the mapping is done using image registration (The image deformation engine 102 may, for example, utilize a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm that maps similar tissues from the source image to the target image by matching intensity values from one image to the next. More specifically, a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm is a type of deformation algorithm that generates deformation field data in the form of an x-y mapping for each pixel in the target image. For each pixel in the target image, the x-y mapping identifies the pixel in the source image that most likely corresponds to similar anatomy in the target image based on the pixel intensities. In this way, pixel positions along the edge of an object ( e.g., a piece of anatomy) in the source image may be mapped to corresponding pixel positions along the edge of the same object in the target image, showing how the object (e.g., anatomy) has changed from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 3, line 4-20]; andwherein the image registration comprises one or more of: deformable registration (The image deformation engine 102 may, for example, utilize a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm that maps similar tissues from the source image to the target image by matching intensity values from one image to the next. More specifically, a free-form intensity-based deformable registration algorithm is a type of deformation algorithm that generates deformation field data in the form of an x-y mapping for each pixel in the target image. For each pixel in the target image, the x-y mapping identifies the pixel in the source image that most likely corresponds to similar anatomy in the target image based on the pixel intensities. In this way, pixel positions along the edge of an object ( e.g., a piece of anatomy) in the source image may be mapped to corresponding pixel positions along the edge of the same object in the target image, showing how the object (e.g., anatomy) has changed from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 3, line 4-20], affine registration or rigid registration.
Regarding claim 37, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
using machine learning to predict the structure that is being contoured (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19].
Piper does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
machine learning.
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
machine learning ((These automated artificial intelligence models include: Deep Learning, machine learning and reinforcement learning based techniques. For example, a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) is trained using annotated/labeled images which include good and bad images to learn local image features linked to low-resolution, presence of noise/artifact, contrast/lighting conditions, etc. The CNN model uses the learning features to make predictions about a new image) [Boddington: col. 10, line 19 – 26]; (When an image is acquired, the artificial intelligence intra-operative surgical guidance system 1 uses the hip application segmentation machine learning module to identify the relevant anatomical, instrument, and implant features such as the nail alignment jig, and nail and lag-screw) [Boddington: col. 26, line 9-14]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 39, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein determining of the structure that is being contoured comprises (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27] ; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]) using eye-tracking hardware and/or software to identify a location of the users gaze on the at least one medical image.
Piper does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
using eye-tracking hardware and/or software to identify a location of the users gaze on the at least one medical image.
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
using eye-tracking hardware and/or software to identify the location of the users gaze on the at least one medical image (A user such as a surgeon, selects at least one
anatomical landmark in the anatomical image on the graphical user interface 151. Anatomical landmark selection can be accomplished by a various methods including but not limited to: auto-segmentation where the software of the computing platform 100 uses feature/pattern recognition process to auto-detect known and targeted anatomical landmarks; use of a remote infrared device, such as a gyro mouse; voice command; air gestures; gaze (surgeon uses gaze and direction of eye or head motion to control targeting) or touching the visualization screen at the selected anatomical landmarks) [Boddington: col. 18, line 60 – col. 19, line 4]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 40, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein contouring the structure comprises: ((the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55]; (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) manual contouring (if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited) [Piper: col. 6, line 29-31], semi-automatic contouring, or automatic contouring (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 41, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
receiving (a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-27] ; (Then, once the target contour 314 is generated, it may be displayed as an overlay on the target image for the user to review and possibly edit) [Piper: col. 6, line 9-11]) using a contour name (At decision step 410, a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour. If the automatically generated contour is accepted, then the method proceeds to step 412. Otherwise, if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited at step 414 before the method proceeds to step 412. The dotted line between steps 414 and 404 signifies that if a target contour is manually edited, then during the next iteration of the contouring method (if any), the manually edited contour may be used as the source contour for the next target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-36] (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; and
identifying, using a look-up table ((The computer components, software modules, functions, data stores and data structures described herein may be connected directly or indirectly to each other in order to allow the flow of data needed for their operations.) [Piper: col. 11, line 60-63] – Note: Look up table is one form of the data structure) a standardized name of the structure.
Piper does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a standardized name of the structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
a standardized name of the structure (Please see look up tables with standardized names in Figs. 12A-B) [Boddington: Figs. 12A-B]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Regarding claim 43, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 28. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the pre-existing contours displayed to the user are either manual contours from a previous contouring session (At decision step 410, a user input is received to either accept or modify the automatically generated target contour. If the automatically generated contour is accepted, then the method proceeds to step 412. Otherwise, if the user chooses to modify the automatically generated target contour, then the contour is manually edited at step 414 before the method proceeds to step 412. The dotted line between steps 414 and 404 signifies that if a target contour is manually edited, then during the next iteration of the contouring method (if any), the manually edited contour may be used as the source contour for the next target image) [Piper: col. 6, line 26-36], or automatically produced contours (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64].
Regarding claim 45, Piper meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 27. Piper further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the at least one medical image is one a CT scan (FIGS. 8-12 are illustrations of contoured image slices from a CT scan of a patient's pelvic region) [Piper: col. 8, line 59-60; Figs. 8-12], an MRI scan, a PET scan, a SPECT scan or an ultrasound scan (Medical images, such CT (computed tomography), MR (magnetic resonance), US (ultrasound), or PET (positron emission tomography) scans, are regularly contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 13-17].
Regarding claim 46, Piper meets the claim limitations as follows:
A system for contouring at least one medical image (systems and methods for contouring a set of medical images) [Piper: col. 1, line 30-31; Title, Abstract] comprising:
a display screen (a display device) [Piper: col. 6, line 2; Fig. 3] for displaying the at least one medical image (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-8; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7] to be contoured by a user (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13]; a signal processing module (a processor to perform the methods' operations and implement the systems described herein) [Piper: col. 11, line 58-59; Fig. 3] for determining that the user has initiated contouring (the user may use the source and target identifications 120, 122 to dictate which source contour is applied to which target image) [Piper: col. 4, line 11-13] of a structure on the at least one medical image (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]; the signal processing module (a processor to perform the methods' operations and implement the systems described herein) [Piper: col. 11, line 58-59; Fig. 3] determining the structure that is being contoured ((the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55]; (contoured to identify certain pieces of anatomy within the image. For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]); and
in response to the determination of the structure, (the source contour data identifying one or more objects within the source image) [Piper: col. 1, line 54-55] the system displaying, via a guidance display component on the display screen (a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 3-6], guidance to the user for the contouring of the determined structure ((receiving instructions identifying a target image in the set of medical images to contour; using a deformation algorithm to generate deformation field data from the source image and the target image, the deformation field data indicative of changes between the one or more objects from the source image to the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 57-61; Figs 2, 4, 6-7]; (the image rendering engine 322 may display one or both of the selected source and target images 318, 320 on the display device. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram of another example method 400 for contouring a set of medical images. In step 402, the method is initialized with an initial source image along with associated source contour data. Then, in step 404, a target image is identified for contouring based on the source image and source contour. In step 406, a deformation algorithm is applied to the source and target images to generate deformation field data that indicates how one or more objects within the images have changed from the source image to the target image. The deformation field data is then applied to the source contour data in step 408 to automatically generate contour data for the target image by transforming the source contour to match the changes from the source image to the target image.) [Piper: col. 6, line 5-15; Figs. 2, 4, 6-7] – Note: Figs 4, as well as Figs. 2, 6-7, display the guidance for contouring the image) so that the determined structure can be contoured in accordance with the displayed guidance (using the deformation field data and the source contour data to generate automatic target contour data, the automatic target contour data identifying the one or more objects within the target image) [Piper: col. 1, line 61-64];wherein the guidance (a virtual guide) [Piper: col. 5, line 5-6] comprises clinical guidelines for contouring the structure ((Each insertion point 412 on the seed grid 402 may represent a location for a seed needle during the radiation therapy procedure. Thus, providing a seed grid 402 on a medical image slice that corresponds to a physical seed template allows a medical practitioner to have a virtual guide to each needle insertion point) [Piper: col. 5, line 1-6]; (For example, a radiologist or oncologist may contour a medical image to identify a tumor within the image) [Piper: col. 1, line 16-19]) or at least one atlas image showing at least one example contour for the structure ((a common atlas, which could then be registered to a patient planning image) [Piper: col. 11, line 8-9]; (One such task is transforming contours from a source image to a target image. These images could be individual slices or 3D medical images (e.g., for atlas-based segmentation)) [Piper: col. 9, line 28-31]).
In the same field of endeavor, Boddington further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
displaying, …, guidance for the contouring of the determined structure that is being contoured ((Module 7 is an image annotation module that includes image processing algorithms or advanced Deep Learning based techniques for detecting anatomical landmarks in a medical image and identifying contours or boundaries of anatomical objects in a medical image, such as bone or soft tissue boundaries. Anatomical Landmark detection stands for the identification of key elements of an anatomical body part that potentially have a high level of similarity with the same anatomical body part of other patients. The Deep Learning algorithm encompasses various conventional layers and its final output layer provides self-driven data, including, but not limited to, the system coordinates of important points in the image. In the current invention, landmark detection can be also applied to determine some key positions of anatomical parts in the body, for example, left/right of the femur, and left/right of the shoulder.) [Boddington: col. 11, line 51-66; Figs. 5A- 12B]; (a visual display configured to provide the intra-operative surgical guidance to the orthopedic surgeon conducting an alignment or fixation procedure) [Boddington: col. 3, line 65-67; Figs. 5A- 12B] – Note: Please see contours and guidance displayed in Figs. 5A- 12B; (The computing platform 100 includes a plurality of software modules 103 to receive and process medical image data, including modules for image distortion correction, image feature detection, image annotation and segmentation, image to image registration, three-dimensional estimation from two-dimensional images, medical image visualization, and one or more surgical guidance modules that use artificial intelligence models to classify images as predictive of optimal or suboptimal surgical outcomes) [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-9; Figs. 5A- 31]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Piper with Boddington to program the system to implement of Boddington’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Piper with Boddington will enable the system to assist a surgeon to make predictive of optimal or sub-optimal surgical outcomes. [Boddington: col. 9, line 1-10].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Philip P. Dang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488