DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: anus spray part - line 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 3 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12485066. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader than the patent claims in at least one aspect.
Regarding claim 1, the following table compares application claim 1 to patent claim 1.
Instant Application 18/699320
US Patent 12485066
Claim 1
Claim 1
A vulvar sterilization dryer for women, comprising:
An individually controllable vulvar fumigator for women, comprising:
a curved plate-like base member (110) adapted to cover a user’s genital area and anus and having an anus spray hole (110a) formed on one side thereof;
a curved plate-like base member (110) adapted to cover a user’s genital area and anus and having a genital area spray hole (110a) and an anus spray hole (110b) formed on one side and the other side thereof;
a controller (120) disposed on one side of one surface of the base member (110) and having an operating button (121), a power supply part (122), and a PCB (123) adapted to control operations thereof;
a controller (120) disposed on one side of one surface of the base member (110) and having an operating button (121), a power supply part (122), and a PCB (123) adapted to control operations thereof according to the control of a smartphone having a Bluetooth function or the control of a remote controller;
an irradiation part (130) fixedly disposed onto the other surface of the base member (110) in such a way as to operate controllable in wavelength under the control of the controller (120) to allow light emitted from LEDs (132) to be irradiated onto the genital area and the anus;
an irradiation part (150) fixedly disposed on the other surface of the base member (110) in such a way as to be controllable in wavelength under the control of the controller (120) to allow light emitted from LEDs to be irradiated onto the genital area and the anus; and
an anus spray part (140) disposed close to the controller (120) on one surface of the base member (110) in such a way as to operate under the control of the controller (120) to allow outside air or hot air to be sprayed into the anal area through the anus spray hole (110a); and
an anus hot air spray part (140) disposed close to the hot air and fume spray part (130) on one surface of the base member (110) in such a way as to operate under the control of the controller (120) to allow the hot air to be sprayed into the anus through the anus spray hole (110b);
a covering member (150) configured to allow one end thereof to be detachably coupled to one surface of the base member (110) to coveringly protect the controller (120) and the anus spray part (140) from the outside.
a covering member (160) configured to allow one end thereof to be detachably coupled to one surface of the base member (110) in such a way as to coveringly protect the controller (120), the hot air and fume spray part (130), and the anus hot air spray part (140) from the outside.
Patent claim 1 further limits and/or includes additional elements which encompass application claim 1. Therefore, patent claim 1 anticipates application claim 1.
Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Regarding claim 3, the following table compares application claim 3 to patent claim 3.
Instant Application 18/699320
US Patent 12485066
Claim 3
Claim 3
The vulvar sterilization dryer according to claim 1, wherein the anus spray part (140) comprises an anus spray housing (141) fixedly disposed onto one surface of the base member (110), an anus heater (142) located at one side of the interior of the anus spray housing (141) in such a way as to emit heat under the control of the controller (120), an anus blower (143) disposed close to the anus heater (142) at the inside of the anus spray housing (141) in such a way as to blow air toward the anus heater (142) under the control of the controller (120), and an anus supply pipe (144) having one end connected to the anus spray housing (141) and the other end connected to the anus spray hole (110a) to allow the outside air or hot air to be supplied to the anus spray hole (110a).
The individually controllable vulvar fumigator according to claim 1, wherein the anus hot air spray part (140) comprises an anus spray housing (141) disposed close to the hot air and fume spray part (130) in such a way as to be fixed to one surface of the base member (110), an anus heater (142) located at one side of the interior of the anus spray housing (141) in such a way as to emit heat under the control of the controller (120), an anus blower (143) disposed close to the anus heater (142) at the inside of the anus spray housing (141) in such a way as to blow air toward the anus heater (142) under the control of the controller (120), and an anus supply pipe (144) having one end connected to the anus spray housing (141) and the other end connected to the anus spray hole (110b) in such a way as to allow the hot air to be supplied to the anus spray hole (110b).
Patent claim 3 further limits and/or includes additional elements which encompass application claim 3. Therefore, patent claim 3 anticipates application claim 3.
Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR102076466B1), in view of No (KR1020170138269A).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a system comprising:
a curved plate-like base member (150) adapted to cover a user’s genital area and anus and having an anus spray hole (154a) formed on one side thereof ([0045], Fig. 2); injection member (150) is formed into a curved shape and divided into sections with a partition plate that includes a lower section containing an anus spray hole;
a controller (130) disposed on one side of one surface of the base member (150) and having an operating button, a power supply part (131), and a PCB (130) adapted to control operations thereof ([0029], Fig. 2);
an irradiation part (160) fixedly disposed onto the other surface of the base member (150) in such a way as to operate controllable in wavelength under the control of the controller (130) to allow light emitted from LEDs (162) to be irradiated onto the genital area and the anus ([0029], Fig. 2);
an anus spray part (140) disposed close to the controller (130) on one surface of the base member (150) in such a way as to operate under the control of the controller (130) to allow outside air or hot air to be sprayed into the anal area through the anus spray hole (150, at least bottommost hole 154a) ([0035], Fig. 2); Examiner interprets anus spray part as a means for spraying fluid through the anus spray hole (154a); invoking 112(f) and under broadest reasonable interpretation, anus spray part includes fumigation mechanisms that are capable of performing the claimed functions; anus injection nozzle (154b) is attached to fumigator (140) and understood to blow smoke, vapor, or air through anus spray hole (Fig. 1-3).
a covering member (110) configured to allow one end thereof to be detachably coupled to one surface of the base member (150) to coveringly protect the controller (130) and the anus spray part (140) from the outside ([0058], Fig. 2).
Park does not disclose an operating button.
However, No teaches a system comprising:
a controller (117) disposed on one side of one surface of the base member (110) and having an operating button (Fig. 2, See Switch), a power supply part (114), and a PCB (117) adapted to control operations thereof ([0012], Fig. 4); Examiner interprets controller as a generic computing device or component which necessarily includes a PCB to perform its intended function.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park with the operating switch as taught by No. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve ease of use by allowing direct control over heating and cooling functions (No, [0001]).
Claim(s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR102076466B1), in view of No (KR1020170138269A).
Regarding claim 2, Park, in view of No, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the irradiation part (160) comprises a curved plate-shaped substrate (161) having an anus communication hole (161c) formed thereon in such a way as to communicate with the anus spray hole (150, at least bottommost hole 154a), when fixed to the other surface of the base member (150), and the LEDs (162) located on the front surface of the substrate (161) in such a way as to emit light having a sterilization function of removing harmful bacteria to prevent occurrence of diseases toward the genital area and the anus ([0046], Fig. 1); anus communication hole (161c) forms communication path with anus spray hole (154a) when base member (150) is fixed to back side of irradiation substrate (161); anus injection nozzle (154b) and controller (130) are disposed on opposite surface of base member.
Regarding claim 3, Park, in view of No, teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the anus spray part (140) comprises an anus spray housing (110) fixedly disposed onto one surface of the base member (150), an anus heater (145) located at one side of the interior of the anus spray housing (110) in such a way as to emit heat under the control of the controller (130), an anus blower (146) disposed close to the anus heater (145) at the inside of the anus spray housing in such a way as to blow air toward the anus heater under the control of the controller, and an anus supply pipe (151) having one end connected to the anus spray housing and the other end connected to the anus spray hole to allow the outside air or hot air to be supplied to the anus spray hole ([0042-0043], Fig. 3); spray housing is a sub-housing of covering member (110) when fixed to base member (150); covering member includes back door (111) access to anus spray housing at middle part of covering member [0036]; anus blower (146) blows air through anus heater or heating pipe (145), filter, and anus supply pipe (151).
Conclusion
/DWANE COLLARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3792 /William J Levicky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796