DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to papers submitted on 8 April 2024.
Claims 1-12 are pending and presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are made. The claim language is for an information processing device for a cooking profile or process. The title should reflect the intended invention more so than a common generic element of the claim language.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 10 is stated as “the information processing device according to claim 9, wherein the processor associates a plurality of pieces of information included in the reproduction data with a pitch, a volume, and a rhythm, and expresses a deviation between the reproduction data and the reference data as a deviation in the pitch, the volume, and the rhythm.” Yet the pieces of information included in the reproduction data with a pitch, a volume, and a rhythm express[ing] a deviation in the these three elements is not properly described or explained in the instant disclosure. The iterations of these elements is a mere restatement of the language as presented verbatim in the claim. It is further unclear how these elements correlate and/or correspond with the cooking environment and profile of the intended invention. One of ordinary skill would not be able to reproduce this aspect of the instant invention without undue experimentation. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0219655 A1 to Hirukawa et al..
The reference of prior art to Hirukawa et al. (herein after “Hirukawa”) teaches of a cooking assistance device for providing information that assists cooking using a cooking appliance based on a measurement result of power consumption of the cooking appliance. In doing so, the reference teaches/fairly suggests the limitations of the instant invention as follows.
Claim 1 is directed to an information processing device comprising a processor that presents reproduction data indicating a cooking profile of a dish during cooking to a cook in real time in a format that can be compared with reference data. In paragraph [0097], Hirukawa teaches the use of a processor “for processing information which is input from the outside, and an output information generating section 913B for generating information …”.
Regarding claim 2, the information processing device according to claim 1, states wherein the processor performs real-time determination of a cooking step performed by the cook and compares the reproduction data with the reference data for each cooking step. Hirukawa teaches of this step in paragraph [0117] as “additional information which indicates a given evaluation with respect to content of the current cooking” which is commensurate with the reproduction data. The reference data is taught in paragraph [0124] as “the recipe information includes data common to the recipe (common data), and data of each of the plurality of procedures (procedure 1, procedure 2, procedure 3, . . .) which are included in the recipe (menu).”
As per claim 3, the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the processor determines the cooking step in progress by using sensor data and recipe information stated. In paragraph [0136], the presence of a sensor is taught by Hirukawa as “linking the sensor unit 500 and the cooking appliance.”
In claim 4 the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the processor aligns start times of corresponding cooking steps so as to compare the reproduction data with the reference data is recited. The alignment of the start times of the cooking steps is explained in paragraph [0129] by Hirukawa as “information which specifies elapsed time after the cooking is started based on the recipe information which is exemplified in FIG. 10.”
Claim 7 is steered to the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor presents the reproduction data and the reference data as visualized data that can be visually compared by the cook. Hirukawa teaches this in paragraphs [0083] and [0107] as the tablet terminal. In paragraph [0083] the hardware configuration is described, then in paragraph [0107] a description of the display on the tablet terminal is given.
Regarding claim 8 the information processing device according to claim 7, wherein the processor expresses a deviation between the reproduction data and the reference data by a time series graph, a histogram, or a heat map is stated. In paragraphs [0113] – [0114] in relation to Fig. 9, Hirukawa teaches the display of a graph where “the time from the start up of display of the explanation of the first procedure to the current display target procedure in the current cooking. The display column 1142 indicates the power consumption from the start up of display of the explanation of the first procedure to the current display target procedure.”
As per claim 9, the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor presents the reproduction data and the reference data as sound data that can be auditorily compared by the cook. The use of sound or speech recognition is taught by Hirukawa in paragraph [0156] as “[a] known speech recognition means is mounted in the tablet terminal 100. Thereby, the CPU 110 is able to determine whether the speech which is input via the mic 180 includes a specific message. In step S40, in a case where determination is realized by detecting whether specific speech is input or not, the CPU 110 utilizes the speech recognition means.”
In claim 11 an information processing method to be executed by a computer, the method comprising presenting reproduction data indicating a cooking profile of a dish during cooking to a cook in real time in a format that can be compared with reference data is recited. Hirukawa teaches this aspect of the instant invention in paragraphs [0165] – [0166] wherein the procedures for the cooking menu is detailed.
Claim 12 is directed to a program that causes a computer to implement processes comprising presenting reproduction data indicating a cooking profile of a dish during cooking to a cook in real time in a format that can be compared with reference data.
The use of software algorithms to indicating a cooking profile is taught by Hirukawa in paragraph [0056] where the use of a program is stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0219655 A1 to Hirukawa et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2023/0252103 A1 to Lin et al..
Claim 5 states the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the reference data includes a cooking video showing a cooking process, and the processor extracts a video at the end of the cooking step from the cooking video as a reference image to the cook. Hirukawa teaches the display of images as explained in paragraph [0138], the reference of prior art falls short of teaching a video showing a cooking process. For this reason, the prior art of Lin et al. (here in after “Lin”) is introduced. In paragraph [0099] where it is stated that video demonstrations and cooking steps are included. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Hirukawa with the video aspect of Lin so that a more visual cooking assistance may be provided for better progress and performance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0219655 A1 to Hirukawa et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent No. US 12,389,498 B2 to Kikuchi.
Claim 6 is directed to the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the reproduction data includes time series information regarding a heating temperature, a heating time, and a weight of a cooking object. Although, the prior art of Hirukawa teaches the use of time information as stated in paragraph [0129], the reference does not mention heating temperature or weight of a cooking object. The prior art of Kikuchi is used to address these elements. In column 24 line 64 to column 25 line 26, Kikuchi teaches the control of the heating unit and in column 5 at lines 26-45 teaches the use of a weight sensor. Overall, the art of Kikuchi teaches of a cooking system with a temperature detection unit and a weight detection unit so as to be able to collect data regarding temperature, time and weight to be used with the reproduction and reference data of Hirukawa as per claim 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Hirukawa with Kikuchi so as to collect data in all the realms as claimed for proper tabulations.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2016/0219655 A1 to Hirukawa et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. US 2021/0385917 A1 to Kuchler et al..
Regarding claim 10 the information processing device according to claim 9, recites wherein the processor associates a plurality of pieces of information included in the reproduction data with a pitch, a volume, and a rhythm, and expresses a deviation between the reproduction data and the reference data as a deviation in the pitch, the volume, and the rhythm. Having given the best reasonable interpretation in view of the aforementioned rejection of this claim, Hirukawa does not address the inclusion of data with regard to a deviation in pitch, volume or rhythm as claimed. Although Hirukawa teaches of a sound/speech recognition means as taught in paragraph [0156], the deviation aspect is not disclosed. Hence, the prior art of Kuchler et al. (herein after “Kuchler”) is presented. In published claim 28, the aspect of a deviation between two values is calculated. Thus, teaching the deviation aspect of the instant invention of two different data types. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Hirukawa with Kuchler so that the cook is able to modify time used in the steps of cooking for faster processing.
For the reasons stated above, the limitations of the instant invention are taught and/or fairly suggested by the prior arts of record; thereby, rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. US 2017/0017248 A1 Armstrong et al.
Relates to systems and methods which utilize previously determined cooking profiles for preparing such food items.
/Sheela Rao/Examiner, Art Unit 2119 September 2, 2026
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119