This office action will replace previously filed Non-Final dated March 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2015/0304016 A1, hereinafter Choi) in view of Bangolae et al. (US 10,904,933 B2).
Regarding claim1, Choi discloses a wireless relay system comprising:
a plurality of radio relay apparatuses that relays radio communication (110027]), wherein the radio relay apparatus includes a first software radio device that performs radio communication with a radio control device and a second software radio device that performs radio communication with a radio terminal which is under control of the radio control device (9[0033], 110037], wherein the Uu processing unit configured to communicate with a terminal device through an access link), wherein the first software radio device captures, as iq data, a radio signal received from the radio control device (9[0040], wherein the base station receives signals processed by baseband circuity within the relay node before retransmission, the baseband processing of received wireless signals involves processing the signal as I and Q components which represent the received radio signal in digital form),
transfers the captured iq data to the second software radio device in real time (910042], wherein forwarding of the received signal between communication interfaces corresponds to transferring the captured IQ data to the second software radio device in real time), converts the iq data transferred from the second software radio device into a radio signal, and transmits the radio signal to the radio control device (9[0044], wherein the processed signal is transmitted through the Un link to the base station, the relay node converts baseband signal data into a radio signal for transmission wherein the second software radio device captures, as iq data, a radio signal received from the radio terminal transfers the captured iq data to the first software radio device in real time (1|0042]), converts the iq data transferred from the first software radio device into a radio signal, and transmits the radio signal to the radio terminal (10044]), wherein the plurality of radio relay apparatuses includes an aggregating radio relay apparatus and a radio relay apparatus other than the aggregating radio relay apparatus). Choi does not disclose wherein the aggregating radio relay apparatus includes a first transfer destination control circuitry that controls the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparat us to transfer a data signal to and from the second software radio device included in the other radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus, and a first monitor unit that activates the first transfer destination control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied, and wherein the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus includes a second transfer destination control circuitry that controls the second software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus totransfer a data signal to and from the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus, instead of the first software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus, and a second monitor unit that activates the second transfer destination control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied. .ocr_line, .ocr_header { display:block; }
Application/Control Number: 18/699,334
Page 4
Art Unit: 2412
Bangolae discloses wherein the aggregating radio relay apparatus includes a first transfer destination control circuitry that controls the first software radio function(column 21, lines 60-67) unit included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus to transfer a data signal to and from the second software radio device included in the other radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus (column 4, lines 55-65, wherein the UE relay is the aggregating the relay UE is connected to the NodeB 206 and the UE 202 that is out of the coverage),
and a first monitor unit that activates the first transfer destination control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied (column 4, lines 28-45, the relay UE determines whether traffic is forwarded between the remote UE and the network thereby controlling the destination of transmitted data signals, wherein the relay UE is selecting another relay based upon the channel quality (monitoring, includes the decision to selection and is included in the relay UE), and wherein the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus includes a second transfer destination control circuitry that controls the second software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus totransfer a data signal to and from the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus (column 4, lines 28-45, wherein the remote UE is selecting or connecting to a relay (when the coverage is poor, The relay UE aggregates communications between the remote UE and the network by receiving traffic from one endpoint and forwarding it to another endpoint , figure 2), instead of the first software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus (figure 2), and a second
monitor unit that activates the second transfer destination
control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied (column 28-45 wherein the remote UE performs relay selection and connection, the communication via the relay includes the data transfer and the second transfer control circuitry is included in the relay selection logic in the remote UE, the relay UE controls forwarding of data between the network and the remote UE, thereby determining the .
destination of the transmitted data signals). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention tom make the proposed modification of the aggregating radio relay as disclosed by Bangolae along with the system of Choi to improve relay communication by enabling threshold-based relay operation within relay node architectures.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses a wireless relay method performed by a plurality of radio relay apparatuses (110027]), including a first software radio device that performs radio communication with a radio control device and a second software radio device that performs radio communication with a radio terminal which is under control of the radio control device (9[0033], 110037], wherein the Uu processing unit configured to communicate with a terminal device through an access link), , the wireless relay method comprising:
capturing, as iq data, a radio signal received by the first software radio device from the radio control device (10040], wherein the base station receives signals processed by baseband circuity within the relay node before retransmission, the baseband processing of received wireless signals involves process the signal as I and Q components which represent the received radio signal in digital form) and transferring the captured iq data to the second software radio device in real time (¶|0042], wherein forwarding of the received signal between communication interfaces corresponds to transferring the captured IQ data to the second software radio device in real time); capturing, as iq data, a radio signal received by the second software radio device from the radio terminal which is under the control of the radio control device (¶[0033], ¶[[0037], wherein the Uu processing unit configured to communicate with a terminal device through an access link and transferring the captured iq data to the first software radio device in real time (9|0042], wherein forwarding of the received signal between communication interfaces corresponds to transferring the captured IQ data to the second software radio device in real time); converting the iq data transferred into a radio signal and transmitting the radio signal to the radio control device (¶[0042], wherein forwarding of the
received signal between communication interfaces corresponds to transferring the captured IQ data to the second software radio device in real time); converting the iq data transferred into a radio signal (9[0042])and transmitting the radio signal to the radio terminal terminal (10044]), wherein the plurality of radio relay apparatuses includes an aggregating radio relay apparatus and a radio relay apparatus other than the aggregating radio lay apparatus). Choi does not disclose controlling the first software radio device included in an aggregating radio relay apparatus among the plurality of radio relay apparatuses to transfer a data signal to and from the second software radio device included in the other radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus, when a predetermined condition is satisfied; and controlling the second software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus to transfer a data signal to and from the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus instead of the first software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus when a predetermined condition is satisfied.
Bangolae discloses controlling the first software radio device included in an aggregating radio relay apparatus among the plurality of radio relay apparatuses to transfer a data signal to and from the second software radio device included in the other radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus , when a predetermined condition is satisfied (column 4, lines 28-45, the relay UE determineswhether traffic is forwarded between the remote UE and the network thereby controlling the destination of transmitted data signals, wherein the relay UE is selecting another relay based upon the channel quality (monitoring), includes the decision to selection and is included in the relay UE); and controlling the second software radio device included
in the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus to transfer a data signal to and from the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus instead of the first software radio device included in the radio relay apparatus that is not the aggregating radio relay apparatus when a predetermined condition is satisfied(column 28-45 wherein the remote UE performs relay selection and connection, the communication via the relay includes the data transfer and the second transfer control circuitry is included in the relay selection logic in the remote UE, the relay UE controls forwarding of data between the network and the remote UE, thereby determining the destination of the transmitted data signals). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention tom make the proposed modification of the aggregating radio relay as disclosed by Bangolae along with the system of Choi to improve relay communication by enabling threshold-based relay operation within relay node architectures.
2. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Bang in view of Badic (WO 2019/133048 A1, hereinafter Badic).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the aggregating radio relay apparatus further includes a first communication control circuitry that performs control to reduce a dedicated bandwidth by changing a modulation scheme of radio communication between the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus and the radio control device to a modulation scheme having a smaller number of symbols, and wherein the first monitor unit activates the first communication control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied. Bangolae discloses wherein the aggregating radio relay apparatus further includes a first communication control circuitry that performs control to reduce a dedicated bandwidth by changing of radio communication between the first software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus and the radio control device, and wherein the first monitor unit activates the first communication control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied .
(column 4, lines 28-45, the relay UE determines whether traffic is forwarded between the remote UE and the network thereby controlling the destination of transmitted data signals, wherein the relay UE is selecting another relay based upon the channel quality (monitoring/control), includes the decision to selection and is included in the relay UE.
Bangolae does not disclose changing a modulation scheme to a modulation scheme having a smaller number of symbols. Badic discloses disclose changing a modulation scheme to a modulation scheme having a smaller number of symbols (1|0114]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to change the modulation scheme in the system of Bangolae and Choi to provide the relay node with the desired quality in the aggregate communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the aggregating radio relay apparatus includes a second communication control circuitry that performs control to reduce a dedicated bandwidth by changing a modulation scheme of radio communication between the radio terminal and the second software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay apparatus to a modulation scheme having a smaller number of symbols, and a monitor circuitry that activates the second communication control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied.
Bangolae discloses wherein the aggregating radio relay apparatus includes a second communication control circuitry that performs control to reduce a dedicated bandwidth of radio communication between the radio terminal and the second software radio device included in the aggregating radio relay and a monitor circuitry that activates the second communication control circuitry when a predetermined condition is satisfied (column 4, lines 28-45, the relay UE determines whether traffic is forwarded between the remote UE and the network thereby controlling the .destination of transmitted data signals, wherein the relay UE is selecting another relay based upon the channel quality (monitoring/control ), includes the decision to selection and is included in the relay UE. Bangolae does not disclose changing a modulation scheme to a modulation scheme having a smaller number of symbols. Badic discloses disclose changing a modulation scheme to a modulation scheme having a smaller number of symbols (¶|0114]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to change the modulation scheme in the system of Bangolae and Choi to provide the relay node with the desired quality in the aggregate communication system.
Conclusion
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412